As a former student of Indian Education Trust College, I remember Odeen Ishmail well. He will long be remembered for his contributions, to Guyana, both as an educator and as a diplomat. May his soul rest in peace.
I also attended Indians, but I can't remember him teaching there. Mahase Singh[Mad Singh} was the Head Master and Richard Ishmael was the Principal Owner.
kp posted:I also attended Indians, but I can't remember him teaching there.
Perhaps you went there August month.
kp posted:I also attended Indians, but I can't remember him teaching there. Mahase Singh[Mad Singh} was the Head Master and Richard Ishmael was the Principal Owner.
Rohee noted that Ishmael who was a trained teacher attended the University of Guyana where he graduated with a Diploma in Education before earning his PhD in Education while overseas.
âHe taught at the New Amsterdam Multilateral School, then at the Bygeval Multilateral School and later, at the Richard Ishmael Secondary School in Georgetown,â Rohee shared, adding that former President and current leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo was one of his students at Bygeval.
Mitwah posted:kp posted:I also attended Indians, but I can't remember him teaching there.
Perhaps you went there August month.
I was there from form one to sixth form, finished my "A" levels and was head Prefect.
I went to Indians between 1975 and 1981...when did you go KP?
I also went to IETC but donât remember Ishmail nor anything they tried to teach me.
The Singhs dominated the hierarchy at IETC.
Ray posted:I went to Indians between 1975 and 1981...when did you go KP?
Probably finished school, you are far younger than kp.
Maybe some people confusing Richard Ishmael with Odeen
Ray posted:I went to Indians between 1975 and 1981...when did you go KP?
I was there 69 to 71, left for my home school because I missed hot Dhal and Rice for lunch. I got tired of Strawberry Milk and Sardine and bread opposite the Train Station at Kingston.
Nehru posted:Ray posted:I went to Indians between 1975 and 1981...when did you go KP?
I was there 69 to 71, left for my home school because I missed hot Dhal and Rice for lunch. I got tired of Strawberry Milk and Sardine and bread opposite the Train Station at Kingston.
Banna, that was before Burnham fâed up the country.
Ray posted:Maybe some people confusing Richard Ishmael with Odeen
Richard Ishmail owned the school as well as Belvedere Hotel where we used to party on Saturday nights.
ksazma posted:Nehru posted:Ray posted:I went to Indians between 1975 and 1981...when did you go KP?
I went 66 to71, do you remember Fat Joe at the snack bar. One of Richard Ishmael's daughter was in one of my class, she prappa dunce.
ksazma posted:I also went to IETC but donât remember Ishmail nor anything they tried to teach me.
Dabbie Singh, Himancal Singh, Dabbie was in charge of the library he also taught Geography.
ksazma posted:Ray posted:Maybe some people confusing Richard Ishmael with Odeen
Richard Ishmail owned the school as well as Belvedere Hotel where we used to party on Saturday nights.
Most Saturday nights the Belvedere would have live bands, I saw many there, Combo -7, Bumble and the Saints,Young Ones.
kp posted:ksazma posted:Ray posted:Maybe some people confusing Richard Ishmael with Odeen
Most Saturday nights the Belvedere would have live bands, I saw many there, Combo -7, Bumble and the Saints,Young Ones.
Young Ones!!
I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
I acted a lot and one of the girls I acted with was the daughter of Evil Eyes owner....I was younger than her...one of the scene we practice for I had to hold her hand...I almost fainted
kp posted:ksazma posted:Nehru posted:I was there 69 to 71, left for my home school because I missed hot Dhal and Rice for lunch. I got tired of Strawberry Milk and Sardine and bread opposite the Train Station at Kingston.
I went 66 to71, do you remember Fat Joe at the snack bar. One of Richard Ishmael's daughter was in one of my class, she prappa dunce.
Yuh baad!!
kp posted:I also attended Indians, but I can't remember him teaching there. Mahase Singh[Mad Singh} was the Head Master and Richard Ishmael was the Principal Owner.
I attended that school from 1971 to 1976. Ganesh Singh (Big Singh) was the deputy to Richard Ishmail. Regarding Odeen, when I met him in Los Angeles, my home town. I conformed that he teached geography during that period.
Ray posted:I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
The Chemistry teacher name was Dr.Boopdeo Singh ,he used to teach at QC then came over to Indians, he also blinks a lot and can you remember the Ramkirat's brothers, Bharrat and Jaggernauth the short maths teacher. Bharrat was the Prefect master, tall fair skin guy.
Ray posted:I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
I think you are thinking about Mr. Barker. He is the fellow who made his Ovaltine in a beaker on a bunson burner during his lunch time.
Dabbie Singh was a really nice guy although he seemed so strict at school.
Baseman posted:kp posted:ksazma posted:Nehru posted:I was there 69 to 71, left for my home school because I missed hot Dhal and Rice for lunch. I got tired of Strawberry Milk and Sardine and bread opposite the Train Station at Kingston.
Yuh baad!!
She drives a jaguar sports car to school, I had a bicycle with no fenders.
ksazma posted:I also went to IETC but donât remember Ishmail nor anything they tried to teach me.
Richard Ismail was the older brother of Big Singh the school principal . They had the same mother but different father.
Was that hot teacher really fair with curly hair?
Reza R. Rahaman posted:Ray posted:I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
I think you are thinking about Mr. Barker. He is the fellow who made his Ovaltine in a beaker on a bunson burner during his lunch time.
I think you are correct, Barker was in charge of Chemistry, Dr. Boop was in charge of Physics dept.
kp posted:Baseman posted:kp posted:ksazma posted:Nehru posted:I was there 69 to 71, left for my home school because I missed hot Dhal and Rice for lunch. I got tired of Strawberry Milk and Sardine and bread opposite the Train Station at Kingston.
Yuh baad!!
You should have offered her lessons in return for a riding the Jag!
Prashad posted:ksazma posted:I also went to IETC but donât remember Ishmail nor anything they tried to teach me.
Richard Ismail was the older brother of Big Singh the school principal . They had the same mother but different father.
No relation.
Ray posted:I acted a lot and one of the girls I acted with was the daughter of Evil Eyes owner....I was younger than her...one of the scene we practice for I had to hold her hand...I almost fainted
Eh-eh you almost fainted to hold a girl's hand ??
Baseman posted:kp posted:Baseman posted:kp posted:I went 66 to71, do you remember Fat Joe at the snack bar. One of Richard Ishmael's daughter was in one of my class, she prappa dunce.
Yuh baad!!
You should have offered her lessons in return for a riding the Jag!
Badruddeen Khan who lived at Lamaha Street had two daughters who also owned jaguar sports cars.
Is/was that Boop Singh ?
Demerara_Guy posted:Ray posted:I acted a lot and one of the girls I acted with was the daughter of Evil Eyes owner....I was younger than her...one of the scene we practice for I had to hold her hand...I almost fainted
Eh-eh you almost fainted to hold a girl's hand ??
Upto now he does.
Back when we was lil, we gat wan book name Thoughts for Teens. Me used to study dah book wid me neiba using real body parts.
Demerara_Guy posted:Badruddeen Khan who lived at Lamaha Street had two daughters who also owned jaguar sports cars.
Dem Jaguars extinct now or wha? The last Jaguar I saw was owned by Ravi Dev. 23 years ago.
Gilbakka posted:Demerara_Guy posted:Badruddeen Khan who lived at Lamaha Street had two daughters who also owned jaguar sports cars.
Dem Jaguars extinct now or wha? The last Jaguar I saw was owned by Ravi Dev. 23 years ago.
Those were school days in the 1960's.
Reza R. Rahaman posted:Ray posted:I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
yes...Mr. Barker...thanks
Demerara_Guy posted:Ray posted:I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
Is/was that Boop Singh ?
sorry...Mr. Barker
ksazma posted:Ray posted:I remember Fat Joe, Big Mac, Ms Mittlehozer (sp), SHanti SIngh, Tribawand SIngh, there was one hot Geography teacher in form 4, Mr. Majeed (poor fella)...and the Chemestry teacher...Mr. Boob I think...
Was that hot teacher really fair with curly hair?
yeah man...yuh remember her too
Gilbakka posted:Demerara_Guy posted:Badruddeen Khan who lived at Lamaha Street had two daughters who also owned jaguar sports cars.
2019 Jaguar F-Type
They are around, Pricey in the US.