THE HISTORY OF BUKTA:
But it would be Sportswear that Bukta would become known for, making most of the Kits and Teamwear for UK Football and Rugby teams. Bukta dominated this right up until the 1960s. George Best famously wore Bukta when he played for Manchester United - the iconic long sleeve Red Jersey he wore being a Bukta Football Shirt. Bukta has also been worn by other sports and Football stars such as Jimmy Greaves and Diego Maradonna. Today Bukta is also worn by many Pop and Rock Stars such as Noel and Liam Gallagher.
2009 sees Bukta's 130th anniversary and the launch of the Bukta Vintage collection.
Hope yuh have ah bukta on while reading
Nahhhhh...Iman prefer to Offside.
Interesting history of Buckta. It just happens I started wearing one when I joined the Boy's Scout. I now see why the Scoutmaster insisted his troop was well clothed.
Which troop?
Uitvlugt Community Centre. I can't remember the Number. Scoutmaster was Henry Ramkeerat. I was the top Tenderfoot. Midway through Second Class my Dad ruled that I should stay home and burn the midnight oil studying schoolwork. Before I left the troop, however, I had the honour of receiving a prize [compass] from Commissioner of Scouts Lawrence Thompson.
Cool! StMary's Troop here.
I was also Lions Club Liaison to the Toronto 6th troop (now 106 years old..as old as scouting)
I still shake with my left hand...(shake hands I meant )
Cool! StMary's Troop here.
I was also Lions Club Liaison to the Toronto 6th troop (now 106 years old..as old as scouting)
I still shake with my left hand...(shake hands I meant )
And salute with left hand too.
Once a Scout, always a Scout. I remember reading SCOUTING FOR BOYS by Lord Baden-Powell. I was taking de ting real serious man and me old man was getting bassidy. Real paglee coolie, though a chatree.
I still remember a campfire song or two: "Ging gang goollee goollee goollee..."
Hailla Hailla shayla,, hehehe that was one silly ass song no? hehehehe
Camp fire burning.... look yonder
The bear went over the mountain
Either one of you went to the jamboree in '74 at Jubilee?
how did his topic go from bukta to scouting...like yall got yuh buktas in ah knot
In '74 I had become a big man and was jamming other boree.
I was in the Scouts in '64.
how did his topic go from bukta to scouting...like yall got yuh buktas in ah knot
Riff, you're forgetting what you posted: "Bukta began making uniforms for Scouts and Guides when the Scout movement was founded and became the official uniform supplier."
That's how I brought in the Scouts.
Riff, you're forgetting what you posted: "Bukta began making uniforms for Scouts and Guides when the Scout movement was founded and became the official uniform supplier."
That's how I brought in the Scouts.
oh shucks
I would have been around then also, left Guyana in '73. I wonder if anta gonna get dat as a no?
rass...I was born in '63
What about "yattin boots"
Read it came from "yatching shoes"
What about "yattin boots"
Read it came from "yatching shoes"
Yachting shoes.
rass...I was born in '63
So, me an Gilly look bettr an younger dan u rass, wanna bet? Scouting and fresh air does that to Body and Soul.