India must take Taliban threat seriouslyPDFPrintE-mail
Written by SUSHIL VAKIL   
Sunday, 02 December 2012 19:25

AFTER a gap of two years, the Pakistan Taliban threat to attack Indian targets has sent the Indian security establishment into an alert mode. The Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan has vowed to avenge the execution of Ajmal Kasab- the only survivor of the 2008 Mumbai blasts. Ajmal Kasab - a former labourer and small-time criminal, admitted to being a member of the Pakistan-based militant group Lashkar-e-Taioba and one of the gunmen who laid siege to the city. He was charged with 86 offences, including murder and waging war against the Indian state, in a charge-sheet running to more than 11,000 pages.  Kasab was hanged on 22nd November in a secret operation at Pune's Yervada jail.
A moot question arises: Should India take the Taliban threat seriously or not? So far  the striking capacity of Pakistan Taliban and its association with ISI and Al-Qaeda etc. is concerned India should not only take the threat seriously but also put its security  in full gear to meet any eventuality. In the meantime,  India should also ask Pakistan to dismantle the Taliban network from its soil before it causes huge damage to life and property.
It is surprising that India offered no official comment on the Taliban’s threat. Though an Indian government official said it will be a test for the Pakistani government to see whether it will allow its soil to be used again for an attack on India. Whether the threats are real or imaginative, India must get ready to defend itself by boosting its entire security set up, from top to bottom.
Not surprisingly, the Pakistan Taliban has claimed responsibility and has been blamed for hundreds of suicide and gun attacks in Pakistan since the beginning of the insurgency in 2007 against the US-allied government. The Taliban, who are close to al Qaeda, are seen as one of the biggest security threats in Pakistan and are blamed for many of the suicide bombings across the country. They have not carried out major attacks abroad.A few months back it warned Myanmar with attacks on killing of Rohingya Muslims.
Undeniably, Taliban forces have created havoc in Pakistan by launching suicide attacks, not only on religious congregations, places of worship, and political leaders, but also on teenage girls.
The Taliban men recently seriously injured Mallala - a girl activist and her two girl friends, saying any girl seeking an education will be targeted in the same way. After that a PT suicide bomber wounded a senior Taliban commander and killed six people  in a market in a north-western Pakistani region on the Afghan border.
In another attack at least six persons were killed and nearly 90 others injured when Pakistani Taliban targeted a Shia procession with a bomb at Dera Ismail Khan in the restive northwest, on Ashura, the holiest day for the minority community.
Ironically, after the execution of Ajmal Kasab, the Pakistani Taliban demanded that Kasab's body be returned to Pakistan for an Islamic burial. But it is strange that neither the Pakistani government nor Kasab's family made any demand for handing over his body. Pakistani security and intelligence agencies on Wednesday barred journalists and television cameramen from entering Ajmal Kasab's hometown in Punjab province.
There was celebration on the streets of Mumbai and other cities as news of the execution spread, but there was no response from people of Pakistan except angry reaction from certain terrorist groups. LeT founder, Hafiz Mohammad Saeed, led a gathering of thousands in offering funeral prayers for Ajmal Kasab. Saeed, mastermind of the 2008 assault on Mumbai, offered 'ghayabana namaz-e-janaza' (funeral prayers in absentia) for Kasab at the conclusion of a two-day training session of the Jamaat-ud-Dawah at its headquarters at Muridke near Lahore.
Pakistan's inability to make substantive gains against the Taliban illustrates not only military recalcitrance but political impotence. In order to show the world that Pakistan is genuinely committed to fighting terrorism, the country should accelerate its process of trying the accused and it should begin with Jamaat-ud-Dawa (JuD) chief Hafiz Saeed.
Let Taliban prepare for revenge and India prepare to face it. India should now focus on the larger evil like LeT & TTP and confront them head-on with whatever force they can, because if they don't these terrorist organisations will always find ways to kill innocent Indians.
It is time for the Muslim world to stand up to these terror groups that are misrepresenting their religion. Perhaps the people of Pakistan need to shake up their government and demand a stop to this crime going on in their country. Indeed, terrorists have no religion, their only intent is to kill people and divide the world, using the weakest and most sensitive issues.

Chief, You are a BLOODy Hypocrit. You usually come here and preach about civility and other BULLSHIT , yet you post the most vile things here. You should be very SHAME of yourself.

Baseman was right when he said Chief's heroes are terrorists. Just look at his response toward baseman. He has no respect for people's mother. Could you believe this fella when to hajj?

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Chief, You are a BLOODy Hypocrit. You usually come here and preach about civility and other BULLSHIT , yet you post the most vile things here. You should be very SHAME of yourself.

Baseman was right when he said Chief's heroes are terrorists. Just look at his response toward baseman. He has no respect for people's mother. Could you believe this fella when to hajj?

Going to Hajj could be just a Vacation for some!!!

OSAMA BIN LADEN WENT TO HAJJ!!!!

You see this is what I am talking about. It's ok for all you  to curse muslims, label every muslim a terrorist and every bad name .

Now all you a cry long long eye water because o of  a moder cuss. All you two toally ignore who bring it on first.  

Buddy Nehru you and Adiha can jam lolo as much as all you want. 

sEE YOU JUST PROVED MY POINT. STUPIDITY AND IGNORANCE GETS YOU NOWHERE!!

You see this is what I am talking about. It's ok for all you  to curse muslims, label every muslim a terrorist and every bad name .

Now all you a cry long long eye water because o of  a moder cuss. All you two toally ignore who bring it on first.  

Wow, coming from a Hajji.

Look yuh a recite wan bajan dey. Yoh nah attack de Chief in person.

If you had any respect for your mother you would not be posting the filth that you allow yourself to be fed.

Mitwah,

You are grossly ignorant of what was posted. LOL. Did you read the entire post ?

Read again. I forgive your ignorance.

Mitwah,

You are grossly ignorant of what was posted. LOL. Did you read the entire post ?

Idiot, Chief responded. He did not start it.

I said to you before, if you're gonna be a smartass, first you have to be smart. Otherwise you're just an ass.

Mitwah,

I said to you before, if you're gonna be a smartass, first you have to be smart. Otherwise you're just an ass.

LOL, you now catch sense. You are not too smart. I forgive you now. 

BTW, stop copy and pasting and pen some of your own posts and you will have some respect. Until then, you are like the rest in the AFC, the top brass decides what you say and write.

Animal Farm will be a good read for you. BTW, you have aged a lot since the trip to Ottawa. I guess old age has made you into an angry old man.

You are forgiven.  Off to bed now.

Mitwah,

BTW, stop copy and pasting and pen some of your own posts and you will have some respect. Until then, you are like the rest in the AFC, the top brass decides what you say and write.

Animal Farm will be a good read for you. BTW, you have aged a lot since the trip to Ottawa. I guess old age has made you into an angry old man.

LOL!!! You know if you swallow an aloo ball, you might look pregnant.  I know you are a Hindutwa bigot and you are attacking Chief because he is a Muslim.

Mitwah,

LOL!!! You know if you swallow an aloo ball, you might look pregnant.  I know you are a Hindutwa bigot and you are attacking Chief because he is a Muslim.

Where did I attack Chief ?

Just like how you like to play stupidy and ignorant when it comes to the PPP.

Have a good evening and remeMber the times when you use to get freenes from the Guyanese taxpayers, through Bharat JAGDEO GOV'T ISSUED CREDIT CARD.

I will always remember. It was indeed a great time.

Ow buddy it's the taxpayers money you were having a good time on, dem poor people who making $5 us per day.

Have a good evening and remeMber the times when you use to get freenes from the Guyanese taxpayers, through Bharat JAGDEO GOV'T ISSUED CREDIT CARD.

Ow buddy it's the taxpayers money you were having a good time on, dem poor people who making $5 us per day.

Bhai, We were not all born equal. Some of us get to enjoy life a little more.

Some enjoy life with their own money, and some like you and the PPP boys, enjoy life with other people money. 

Chief you farget dem days wen yu parents gat free food from PNC? Yu farget ah dem tax payers' money use fu buy yu family food, clothes and all yu needs? De PNC card bin betta dan wan credit card. Ah yu eat out all ah money and put Guyana on de poverty list. Jagdeo bin ah go beg fu clear all de credit. Yu should tank Jagdeo de man fu help mind yu an yu family. Gad bless am!!!

You do not know who I am and I will not be baited to respond to you. I can lick you up, but I feel sorry for you by your admission as to how you grew up.

I strongly suggest that you desist from   posting nonsense about anyone here, given your circumstances.

Thne again you are a product of your environment!!