A four-hour `bubble session’ under the label `Phagwah Cultural Evening’ ended at the Enmore Blossom Scheme playfield. The organizer was a Hindu priest in the area and the event was underwritten by a very prominent resident.

The event was characterized by about four dances performed by children between 6 and 10 years old. These dances were far from culture and were gyrations of the top order. A DJ was specially flown in from Jamaica to blight the occasion with `I am a womanizer’  and `I gon be single forever’ and a number of chutney and wedding house tunes – truly great Phagwah hits, Jamaican style. Only three Phagwah songs dotted the entire four hours. The impressionable minds cannot but conclude that Phagwah is abut `wining up’ and getting a prize for it.

And this Hindu priest and others like him would be responsible.

I am a practising Hindu and I felt extremely insulted that a Hindu priest could be the lead person in such a degrading display of what should be an occasion for clean entertainment with a religion/cultural bias. I wonder if it is not time that a central body be set up in Guyana to sanction the conduct of Hindu priests.

Many of them, in their pursuit of economic reward, are dragging Hindus into an abyss of ignorance. Now bubble session.

Little wonder the ever growing migration of Hindus to Christianity! You would not see a Muslim or a Christian `wining up’ at their cultural events. But, under the stewardship of this Hindu priest, a Phagwah Cultural event was carnivalised into a big bubble session.

(Letter by T. Jadunauth in STABROEK NEWS)

Nothing to do with what Phagwah stands for at all just another reason to party. I always wanted to go to NY to see their celebration then I looked at it on Youtube and its the same idea...so never mind.

When I question why people are allowed towine up in a Mandir yard, I was told that dance and music is part and parcel of the Hindu religion.As  matter of fact many Hindi film songs are sung in Mandirs that has nothing to do with the scriptures from the Bhagwat Gita.

Originally Posted by Cher:

Nothing to do with what Phagwah stands for at all just another reason to party. I always wanted to go to NY to see their celebration then I looked at it on Youtube and its the same idea...so never mind.

So if it has nothing to do with Phagwah why the Pandits and Hindu religious leaders  are allowing such behaviour on Liberty Ave?

Why are you asking me? As far as I know being Hindu and all...thats not the way to celebrate Phagwah so I will celebrate the way I know how and they can celebrate the way they know how. Religious leaders like religion are just out of convenience.

Chief, according to traditions in India  and exported, it's Holi, Bhang aur Sex.

Ranga Barse is a very promiscuous song and yet it's one of the most popular Holi songs. Holi is a  time of shedding inhibitions: People smear each other with red and yellow powder and shower each other with colored water. Restrictions of caste, sex, age, and personal differences are ignored. Bhang, an intoxicating drink made from the same plant that produces marijuana, is imbibed and yes sex is part of the celebration in various parts of India.

Chief, according to traditions in India  and exported, it's Holi, Bhang aur Sex.

Ranga Barse is a very promiscuous song and yet it's one of the most popular Holi songs. Holi is a  time of shedding inhibitions: People smear each other with red and yellow powder and shower each other with colored water. Restrictions of caste, sex, age, and personal differences are ignored. Bhang, an intoxicating drink made from the same plant that produces marijuana, is imbibed and yes sex is part of the celebration in various parts of India.

Wow!!! This is the first time I am learning that the Hindu religion allow their worshipers to get high,  have sex and then doused each other with powder and color to hide the extent of their drunkenness.

Mitwah are you sure this is from the Bhagwat Geeta? So what our late President Burnham did during his term of office was in keeping with the great tradition from India.During the Burnham days it was allowed to play Phagwah(feel up) in girl you want.

Mits if what you are stating is true then the man from Enmore did nothing immoral , he is just following the great teachings of Hinduism, get high have sex and enjoy Phagwah.

, is imbibed and yes sex is part of the celebration in various parts of India.

I have an insatiable curiosity  to learn  new things, can you please Enlighten Me , tell me which part of India is sex part of the holi celebration?

Wow!!! This is the first time I am learning that the Hindu religion allow their worshipers to get high,  have sex and then doused each other with powder and color to hide the extent of their drunkenness.

Mitwah are you sure this is from the Bhagwat Geeta? So what our late President Burnham did during his term of office was in keeping with the great tradition from India.During the Burnham days it was allowed to play Phagwah(feel up) in girl you want.

Mits if what you are stating is true then the man from Enmore did nothing immoral , he is just following the great teachings of Hinduism, get high have sex and enjoy Phagwah.

Chief,Holi it is a traditional festival attached to the Gods and celebration of victory over evil. The colors bring about joy, good luck and festivities and bonding among neighbors and relatives. you will get to see a lot of worshiping and devotional practices...It is wonderful enjoyabl time ,but unfortunately ,many have been mislead and the purpose is misunderstood. !!

What's wrong with dancing and a little sex? Isn't religion practical? I thought God made both man and woman to do the deed. As far as I know, historically Phagwah has always been a time of celebration, dancing, frolicking, and flirting. Religious prudes always want to spoil people's fun.
Originally Posted by TI:
What's wrong with dancing and a little sex? Isn't religion practical? I thought God made both man and woman to do the deed. As far as I know, historically Phagwah has always been a time of celebration, dancing, frolicking, and flirting. Religious prudes always want to spoil people's fun.

Phagwah celebrations has always been an excuse to get closer to the girl yuh afraid of speaking to

Chief, I said Traditions not Hiduism. I can't judge what the Bhaiji did at Enmore. Guyana has become a very promiscuos place compared to prior to the late 70's. 

It is said that the naughty and mischievous Lord Krishna started the trend of playing colours. He applied colour on her beloved Radha to make her one like him. The trend soon gained popularity amongst the masses. No wonder, there is no match to the Holi of Mathura, Vrindavan and Barsana - the places associated with the birth and childhood of Radha and Krishna.

Lovers too long to apply colours on their beloved.  

The song Ranga Barse captures the true essence of Holi celebration by lovers, not the religious aspect per se.

Two lines from Ranga Barse

Aray belaa chamelii kaa sej bichhaayaa (A bed of marigold and jasmine is spread out )

Soe gorii kaa yaar, balam tarase ra.ng barase ( The girl's lover(Nehru) sleeps, while her husband pines away)

A four-hour `bubble session’ under the label `Phagwah Cultural Evening’ ended at the Enmore Blossom Scheme playfield. The organizer was a Hindu priest in the area and the event was underwritten by a very prominent resident.

The event was characterized by about four dances performed by children between 6 and 10 years old. These dances were far from culture and were gyrations of the top order. A DJ was specially flown in from Jamaica to blight the occasion with `I am a womanizer’  and `I gon be single forever’ and a number of chutney and wedding house tunes – truly great Phagwah hits, Jamaican style. Only three Phagwah songs dotted the entire four hours. The impressionable minds cannot but conclude that Phagwah is abut `wining up’ and getting a prize for it.

And this Hindu priest and others like him would be responsible.

I am a practising Hindu and I felt extremely insulted that a Hindu priest could be the lead person in such a degrading display of what should be an occasion for clean entertainment with a religion/cultural bias. I wonder if it is not time that a central body be set up in Guyana to sanction the conduct of Hindu priests.

Many of them, in their pursuit of economic reward, are dragging Hindus into an abyss of ignorance. Now bubble session.

Little wonder the ever growing migration of Hindus to Christianity! You would not see a Muslim or a Christian `wining up’ at their cultural events. But, under the stewardship of this Hindu priest, a Phagwah Cultural event was carnivalised into a big bubble session.

(Letter by T. Jadunauth in STABROEK NEWS)

Wow!

Now is navartri, I hope they behave for these 10 days.