Congrats to the young man and the proud parents..

my eldest daughter applied to three, but her first choice is Baruch.

That's right, children accomplishment like this really bring parents to the point of tears.

my baby is doing very good as well in HS she has a 98.6 average. my hubby and I feel very bless and thank god.

Originally Posted by sita:

That's right, children accomplishment like this really bring parents to the point of tears.

my baby is doing very good as well in HS she has a 98.6 average. my hubby and I feel very bless and thank god.

With an average of 98.6 and a high score on the SAT, he should apply to Harvard, NYU and Columbia also. She may get a full Scholarship.

With the competition out there, you need over 100 GPA (AP courses take you over 100), dynamite essays, some serious volunteer work, SAT around 2300...and still you may not get in to IVY League. If you do get in, most of these scholarships cover maybe 70% of tuition.

St John's and Hofstra offered my son 25K (tuition around 40K). He liked NYU, but felt that with the tuition being 60K, the highest they were going to give was around 40K. He thought he could get a similar education at Baruch for a lot less and do his MBA at NYU when that time comes.

My son's college essay

Ryan Mohamed 

Apostate

Was I ever religious? No, I can’t say I ever was. I was never the pious type. I never prayed before bed, I was never a frequent attendee of the congregation; I couldn’t even be bothered with scripture. I was, at best, a casual believer. However, I was a believer nevertheless. I believed in the God spoken of by the imams and the pandits. The few times I prayed, I prayed to God, believing all the while that He was listening. I was what I referred to as a Hindu-Islamic syncretic, finding no better word to describe the two faiths that had been taught to me as a child. Yet despite all that I believed, there was that itching feeling in the back of my mind about the whole thing. The thought sat there, always in the back, eyeballing my faith as it took center stage in my thoughts on the divine. Perhaps that thought was there the whole time, waiting until it had the spotlight, and it eventually did. Once it did, it wasted no time sowing the seeds of doubt. As soon as that happened, I couldn’t help but start asking: was it all really true?

My first memory of doubt I think was at the age of 15. Most forum frequenters and internet surfers can tell you about the active atheist community online. Some of them take to posting videos on YouTube.  I don’t even remember how I stumbled onto one of them. All I know is that it taught me to think spiritually beyond what I knew. Now, it’s not like I made a jump from theist to atheist. I had a spiritual fistfight with myself for 2 years.  God is real, God is fake, the scriptures are divinely inspired, they are the works of men, the faith is the only true one, the other faiths have legitimate points. Nobody else say this sparring match but me. Two voices were in my head. One told me that what I already believed was true as it was. The other said otherwise. I didn’t know what to believe. I had to sit down for a proverbial while. Regardless, after a while I thought less not of God, but religion. Perhaps that’s not what the goal of the original video was, but it got me somewhere. How could man claim to know what the divine wanted? I suppose before that I never took the time to question the various practiced I practiced and the prayers I prayed. Why did God care so much about the specifics of how we worshipped Him? Was He out to play a practical joke on all of creation by giving each religion a different doctrine to follow, no matter how much they clashed with each other?  It seemed that whenever I sat or thought, the questions started beating me over the head again. So I sat, I thought, and a year after I had first seen that now-forgotten video, I could no longer call myself a theist. The doubt was too much. Remember when I said the thought had sown its seeds? Well, apparently it also reaped a hundred bales as well. As awkward as it was to declare it to myself, it made up a part of my identity that I had a hard time ignoring anyway. I no longer believed.

Faith is a funny thing. It asks us to accept what were given on thought alone. Our minds justify the rest. When doubt sets in (and I can assure you it does for everyone at some point) it can be hard to get it out. A year after my apostasy I still stand behind what I said, and I don’t see that changing in the near future. Now, I’m not omniscient. I may be wrong, you may be wrong. I can’t know for sure. Still, a little thought into everything never hurt.

Very nice work.

Abstract thoughts put togeher very well. I am sure some of these thoughts pased through our minds growing up. We could not do this at his age. Congratulations again Ryan. You make your parents proud.   

Even I was surprised...you never know what's in the minds of your children

Very nice work.

Abstract thoughts put togeher very well. I am sure some of these thoughts pased through our minds growing up. We could not do this at his age. Congratulations again Ryan. You make your parents proud.   

Riff, the difference between these kids and us, is that we were taught WHAT to think and learn. These kids are taught HOW to think and learn. We can see their critical thinking in your son's essay. 

With the competition out there, you need over 100 GPA (AP courses take you over 100), dynamite essays, some serious volunteer work, SAT around 2300...and still you may not get in to IVY League. If you do get in, most of these scholarships cover maybe 70% of tuition.

St John's and Hofstra offered my son 25K (tuition around 40K). He liked NYU, but felt that with the tuition being 60K, the highest they were going to give was around 40K. He thought he could get a similar education at Baruch for a lot less and do his MBA at NYU when that time comes.

RAY, Did he/you negotiated with them. I know a Mom where I worked was offered 85% for her son Medical Degree, I advised her to write them telling them you cant afford the difference and they gave him a full scholarship.  I am not saying this will always work. Maybe you making too much.

no comment bai

Very nice work.

Did not know your son's name is Ryan. That is my son's name. Cannot say I selected it. His mother did. I had to go along.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Love the accomplishments on this thread!!

Joining in the celebration...our daughter scored 2140 on the SAT...she has 2 more attempts, not going to college till 2016...I am not one of those parents who scream at my kids for perfect scores..so thankful for little blessings. 

Congratulations to your daughter, Alena! I salute you for letting your children know that the SAT score does not define their level of intelligence.

Very nice work.

You is done did your part you mek them, you is cyant think for them or mek them mind fo them, only hope them choose the right path whichever one it is, I am still looking for the right path.   

ball
Last edited by ball
Originally Posted by Miraver:
Originally Posted by alena06:

Love the accomplishments on this thread!!

Joining in the celebration...our daughter scored 2140 on the SAT...she has 2 more attempts, not going to college till 2016...I am not one of those parents who scream at my kids for perfect scores..so thankful for little blessings. 

Congratulations to your daughter, Alena! I salute you for letting your children know that the SAT score does not define their level of intelligence.

Miraver, we are pleased with her score.  She has 2 more attempts.  The art of test taking is a special skill.  She is well rounded - Editor of her school newspapers and manager of the girls swim team.  She has also done lots of volunteering.

If she does not make it to Ivy League next year, she will definitely go to NYU.

Hope you are enjoying the great weather down south.