Millions being lost in questionable Jamaica rice deal

…“this is a crime against Guyana, a crime against the farmers” – Dr Turhane Doerga

The lack of Government consultations with rice millers has led to a reported “corrupt contract” being signed between the

Dr Turhane Doerga

Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB) and the Jamaican Rice Milling Company.
This is according to Dr Turhane Doerga, former Chief Executive Officer and senior official of Alesie Rice Company, who in an interview with Guyana Times on Tuesday described the recent Guyana-Jamaica rice deal as an example of “the most disgusting corruption going on in the agriculture sector.”
The Government through the GRDB inked the deal between the Jamaican Rice Milling Company on March 1, 2016, committing to purchase 40,000 metric tonnes per annum. The deal has a life span of three years and can be reviewed every quarter.
The deal gives the buyer the option to purchase 10,000 metric tonnes per quarter and it was agreed that any unused portion could be taken up by another buyer so designated to work with the GRDB in Jamaica.
Giving his assessment of the deal and the price agreed upon, Doerga, who also serves as Rice Producers Association Action Committee Co-Chairman said the “in between” mark-up on the contract is corrupt as US$75 will be made per metric tonne for the broker.
“When you look at the price bracket, you will see that they are selling to Jamaica for US$400 but anybody who wants to sell there has to sell minimum 1500 metric tonnes at US$475… so the US$75 per metric tonne is what the boys will be splitting among each other,” he explained.
He further pointed out that “75x 80.000×3” equates to US$18 million that will be allocated to “the boys” and not rice farmers who have been facing hardships in the deteriorating rice industry.
“Having a broker in between is the same thing like other deals, the money will be split outside of it… this is a crime against Guyana, a crime against the farmers,” he posited.
Doerga disclosed that the broker (name withheld) who did not actually sign the contract had her signature borne on the price schedules document. Guyana Times understands that the broker is an overseas-based Guyanese and a close associate of an official at the GRDB.

No consultations
“They should have consulted the millers before they signed this agreement but they were so convinced that nobody would find this thing so they went ahead and signed it,” Doerga stated.
Doegra is alleging that the deal was not authorised by the GRDB Board as such, it can be deemed “illegal”.
This publication understands that some Board members reportedly questioned the deal since they were not consulted about the contract’s signing. Additionally, another Board member said they (the Board) were “not going to take responsibility” for the deal being inked.
Doerga is of the opinion that the Government, through the GRDB is “robbing farmers”.

Parent company
Jamaica Rice Milling’s parent entity, Archer Daniels Midland (ADM) Company has had a number of legal issues over the years.
This publication came across a New York Times article published October 15, 1996 under the headline: “Archer Daniels agrees to big fine for price fixing” and had paid $100 million in fines which at that time, was the largest ever the Justice Department had obtained.
“The risk that Guyana runs is that if they don’t supply this rice over a three-year period, we might have a claim in a court in America and we will have to pay it because the company is connected to the United States,” Doegra said with respect to the parent company’s past infringements.
To this end, Doerga is calling for resignations of the GRDB Board General Manager and Agriculture Minister Noel Holder.
“I am calling on the President to call [Minister Holder] and fire him; the man is absolutely incompetent… I am calling for their dismissal and prosecution,” he noted.

"This is according to Dr Turhane Doerga, former Chief Executive Officer and senior official of Alesie Rice Company, who in an interview with Guyana Times on Tuesday described the recent Guyana-Jamaica rice deal as an example of “the most disgusting corruption going on in the agriculture sector.”

"To this end, Doerga is calling for resignations of the GRDB Board General Manager and Agriculture Minister Noel Holder.
“I am calling on the President to call [Minister Holder] and fire him; the man is absolutely incompetent… I am calling for their dismissal and prosecution,” he noted.:

Base,

Notice how the usual AFC boys who were hollering about corruption quite now.

This corrupt AFC/PNC administration will destroy Guyana beyond recognition. It has been only 10 months and they emptied the treasury.

Where is Moses and Ramjattan commenting on this corruption, cat bite their tongue ?

baseman posted:

Hmm, the new start to the "transfer" of Indian wealth to the PNC constituency!!  Granger following the old PNC model to the T.  As they say, you cannot teach an old dog new tricks!!  And the "collaborators" will get a lil "husk" as consolation prize!!

Carib has been fighting for this "transfer" of wealth. 

And yes, the Butlers are quite content with their husk. 

I am still trying to figure out what is exactly said in the announcement, versus what is claimed. So the deal is for 40,000 metric tonnes at U$400. The minimum requirement is 1500 metric tonnes, which would be at U$475. If the above is correct, what exactly is then the issue? It is quite normal that if you buy a smaller quantity, you pay a higher price.

I am also not clear why the rice farmers would be losing out. Do they want to sell more rice or not? I can understand why the millers would be upset. For a long time under the PPP, the millers refused to pay the rice farmers for months on end. With this arrangement with the millers in Jamaica, the uncertainty of payments to the farmers will be removed. There will be no need to beg the Guyanese millers to pay the rice farmers the money owed.

baseman posted:
Mr.T posted:

I am still trying to figure out what is exactly said in the announcement, versus what is claimed. So the deal is for 40,000 metric tonnes at U$400. The minimum requirement is 1500 metric tonnes, which would be at U$475. If the above is correct, what exactly is then the issue? It is quite normal that if you buy a smaller quantity, you pay a higher price.

I am also not clear why the rice farmers would be losing out. Do they want to sell more rice or not? I can understand why the millers would be upset. For a long time under the PPP, the millers refused to pay the rice farmers for months on end. With this arrangement with the millers in Jamaica, the uncertainty of payments to the farmers will be removed. There will be no need to beg the Guyanese millers to pay the rice farmers the money owed.

Take your good sweet time.  By this hour of the day in the UK, you may have run out of processing capacity!

you're a smart guy...explain where is the corruption

These are interesting remarks from Dr. Tourhane Doerga.  A year ago, this was the same man along with his compadre, Jinnah Rahaman who said he backed the AFC in the national elections because the PPP couldn't manage the rice industry and the AFC would do a better job.

Doerga carried out one of he nastiest hate campaigns against the PPP by telling lies and spreading propaganda about who thief and who nah thief. He even brought on his best buddy Nagga who said that if the coalition won he Nagga would be Agriculture Minister, and when that happens, Nagga would give the rice farmers 9 thousand dollars a bag for their paddy.   Well who is the Thief and Liar now???

Me glad he ketch himself quick and is now identifying the corruption going on with the coalition government.  He is a rice miller and he is losing money big time. 

As for his call for Noel Holder to resign, I support that 100%.  Between his medical problems and his gross incompetency, he is unfit for the job. 

Dunno why anyone in their right mind willing to discuss crap from Guyana Times, I won't. It seems that's akin to gargling with shit water.

Cain - Dr. Doerga was on TV two nights ago saying all of this.  He even said on TV that he was going to sue the coalition.  This is not crap from Guyana Times!!!!

Dunno why anyone in their right mind willing to discuss crap from Guyana Times, I won't. It seems that's akin to gargling with shit water.

Cain - Dr. Doerga was on TV two nights ago saying all of this.  He even said on TV that he was going to sue the coalition.  This is not crap from Guyana Times!!!!

Then it is crap from Doerga and Gy Times...full bodied flavour

so, when he speaking for the AFC vs the PPP, he was lying, but now he telling the truth

btw, GTimes is crap

RiffRaff posted:

so, when he speaking for the AFC vs the PPP, he was lying, but now he telling the truth

btw, GTimes is crap

Good timing.

He lied when he said that Nagamootoo was going to be Agriculture Minister and they would give the people $9000 a bag for paddy!!!!  If he is lying now, I don't know.  He is filing a lawsuit and the courts will decide.

The best figure that  I can get on the weight of a bag of padi is 100Kg. The Jamaican contract based on 40,000 tonnes is U$400 per tonne. That is  10 bags of padi. At the current exchange rate that works out at $82000 per tonne, or GUY$8200 a bag. Not far off from the projected $9000 a bag.

Mr.T posted:

The best figure that  I can get on the weight of a bag of padi is 100Kg. The Jamaican contract based on 40,000 tonnes is U$400 per tonne. That is  10 bags of padi. At the current exchange rate that works out at $82000 per tonne, or GUY$8200 a bag. Not far off from the projected $9000 a bag.

I was about to ask if you are stupid but realized no need for a question!!!

That Doarge banna sounds confused, is like he dunno whether to shit or wind his watch.

He is not as confused as you think.  He got you all nuff votes last May when he and Naga man told the rice farmers that they will get $9000 a bag for the paddy.  Now they turn on him and he is screaming bloody murder and he is ready to expose them.

US $400 per metric ton is a good price for rice based on current prices. It is below US $375 on the Commodities Exchange.

http://www.indexmundi.com/comm...y=rice&months=60

This Doerga guy is probably complaining now because he can no longer carry on with the same corrupt practices he was used to during PPP days.

That Doarge banna sounds confused, is like he dunno whether to shit or wind his watch.

He is not as confused as you think.  He got you all nuff votes last May when he and Naga man told the rice farmers that they will get $9000 a bag for the paddy.  Now they turn on him and he is screaming bloody murder and he is ready to expose them.

Yall vex at the man when he linked up with Naga...he is oneadem Duttycoolies, but suddenly now he mouth twist, he's loved by you people.  Yall just love dem liars eh?

I don't love him.  I don't trust him one minute.  But how come he wasn't lying before May when y'all were loving him to get coalition votes.  All of a sudden he is a bad guy?

I can ask you the same question about Naga the big time PPP man, suddenly he's a dutty Indian now. How come?

Teacha, teacha, me know de ansa. If you don't contribute to the PPP's Wealth Fund, you dutty.