PNC Chair Volda Lawrence gets $100k bail on fraud charge, to return to court on Sept 11

Former Government Minister Volda Lawrence this morning appeared before the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court to answer to private criminal fraud charges.

The charges were filed in March by Charles Ramson Jr – who is now Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport.

The charges were filed against the Lawrence and Region Four Returning Officer Clairmont Mingo in relation to the unverified declaration of results for Region Four.

They are accused of forging official electoral documents in an effort to defraud the country.

The Guyana Times understands that Mingo did not make a court appearance because he was never served.

The particulars of the charge state that Mingo, having been procured by Lawrence on or about March 5 at the Command Centre for the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on High and Hadfield Streets, uttered to the Chief Elections Officer (CEO), Keith Lowenfield, the election results for Region Four, knowing it to be forged, with intent to defraud the people of Guyana.

The Guyana Elections Commission, despite being barred by an injunction, went ahead and published the Form 24s [which the election declaration] for all regions on its website. This included the Region Four unverified declaration. On the form, there is the signature of Mingo and that of Lawrence.

All of the Form 24s that were published by GECOM on its website had GECOM’s stamp with the RO’s signature. However, a close examination of Region Four’s form shows that Lawrence’s signature was affixed below that of the RO.

Lawrence was placed on $100,000 bail and is expected to return to court on September 11.

Lawrence is the Chairperson of the People’s National Congress Reform – the largest party in the APNU/AFC Coalition which was refusing to accept electoral defeat and has been accused of attempting to undermine the will of the people.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/pnc-...to-court-on-sept-11/

I see jail time for some people.

Her pompous affixing of her signature on that document will guarantee her some time in jail to contemplate her attempt to rob the voters of their rights to chose their government.

Mingo, Lolo, Vulgar Volda and Lampy.

Make no mistake. The list will get much longer. The PPP will drain the PNC swamp.

Her pompous affixing of her signature on that document will guarantee her some time in jail to contemplate her attempt to rob the voters of their rights to chose their government.

Imagine Volda and Lampy sharing a jail cell. 

@Mitwah posted:

Hi Tommy, there are no witnesses to the signatures, 

Mitwah, there are no members of the alias, Tommy. If you're talking to yourself, it's ok. If not, please don't kick up a storm. 

@Sheik101 posted:

How yuh like meh uniform deh on meh Avatar? 

nice, Rohan Kanhai.    i have some relatives in Richmond Hill who are in a cricket team; they play on weekends. maybe they're in your group

Which team, soft ball of hard ball cricket? I may know them. 

@Totaram posted:

Sean prapa like Lolo.

Not nice, Totaram.  Only when the word Lolo aimed at you or anyone else then its time for moderators warning What you said to Sean is in direct violation to him. Please take this as a warning. Ty

Not nice, Totaram.  Only when the word Lolo aimed at you or anyone else then its time for moderators warning What you said to Sean is in direct  violation to Sean. Please take this as a warning. Ty

In order to resolve this problem, why isn't this and other hidden swear  words restricted on this forum ?  

Not nice, Totaram.  Only when the word Lolo aimed at you or anyone else then its time for moderators warning What you said to Sean is in direct  violation to Sean. Please take this as a warning. Ty

Lolo means Grandfather in Philipino. Is Jam Lolo banned?

Please ask him to use the man's proper name.  If he incessantly calls the man Lolo can't one say he likes Lolo or dislikes Lolo?  Of course, my use of Lolo is in reference to Mr. Lowenfield.

@Totaram posted:

Please ask him to use the man's proper name.  If he incessantly calls the man Lolo can't one say he likes Lolo or dislikes Lolo?  Of course, my use of Lolo is in reference to Mr. Lowenfield.

How about Baba Nanda in reference to the current AG?  Why Lolo upset you so much. 

Lolo is befitting for a man you tried to screw the nation. That’s a Lolo.

@Totaram posted:

As of now, how he described the people in the discussion topic doesn't warrant a moderator's action, but when he directed such word to you or any member on the forum, its something to warrant a warning. 

Note: I did raise the concern before and I will raise it again and hope we can come to some agreement. But for not, let's leave it at that. ok. 

As of now, how he described the people in the discussion topic doesn't warrant a moderator's action, but when he directed such word to you or any member on the forum, its something to warrant a warning. 

Note: I did raise the concern before and I will raise it again and hope we can come to some agreement. But for not, let's leave it at that. ok. 

I see worse names used to refer to PPP officials, even the owner of this site is guilty and no one reacts. Totaram is a lil complainer. 

How about Baba Nanda in reference to the current AG?  Why Lolo upset you so much. 

Lolo is befitting for a man you tried to screw the nation. That’s a Lolo.

I never called Nandlall Nanda Baba.  I called him a bully.

What you are doing is censoring and you will kill the forum.

@Mitwah posted:

i'm hanging on till the US Election, and the Covid Vaccine. after that, if this place gets boring, I have lots of exciting books to read

This is a focused Guyanese forum ... not a Philippines' one.

@Mitwah posted:

and lolo is a Guyanese word.  I was just educating you about the word Lolo.

You are miscued on your mission to educate someone.

@Mitwah posted:

I am going to level with you, Mitwah. You are one of Sean's biggest rivals and you would like the freedom to call him every name in the book without being censored. Today, you keep taunted Baseman to reveal the meaning of MS when you automatically spit out the meaning of MS. Even that wasn't enough for you. GNI has been here for years to provide a platform for members to discuss interesting topics of your beloved country and more. If the rules of the forum are caused for you to leave, it's your choice. The rules will always be there. You have rules in your home and your dinner table, why GNI cannot have rules. As I recalled, you have broken GNI record for suspensions. I guess all GNI moderators before me don't know what they are doing, right? I am telling you like a friend when you start discussing people, that's when you run into trouble. There are many topics to discuss without getting personal. GNI rules are set to maintain a clean forum for new members and old members to support. 

@Mitwah posted:

I am going to level with you, Mitwah. You are one of Sean's biggest rivals and you would like the freedom to call him every name in the book without being censored. Today, you keep taunted Baseman to reveal the meaning of MS when you automatically spit out the meaning of MS. Even that wasn't enough for you. GNI has been here for years to provide a platform for members to discuss interesting topics of your beloved country and more. If the rules of the forum are caused for you to leave, it's your choice. The rules will always be there. You have rules in your home and your dinner table, why GNI cannot have rules. As I recalled, you have broken GNI record for suspensions. I guess all GNI moderators before me don't know what they are doing, right? I am telling you like a friend when you start discussing people, that's when you run into trouble. There are many topics to discuss without getting personal. GNI rules are set to maintain a clean forum for new members and old members to support.