Once bitten, twice shy

Posted By Staff Writer On June 12, 2014 @ 5:01 am In Editorial | 

President Donald Ramotar’s statement at the press conference he held last Saturday was surprising in its candour, while at the same time raising questions that his party needs to answer. The directness of the President’s response to a question on local government elections also served to highlight that previous statements bandied about by other Cabinet members skirted the real issue.

President Ramotar said on Saturday: “This is something I don’t want. I would prefer to go to the local government elections, but I can’t shut my eyes to the political reality that exists and make a bland promise that I will go to local government elections tomorrow as I would have done had we had the majority in the parliament at this point in time, and we would not have been in this position at this point and time.”

Earlier this year, in February, Mr Clement Rohee, wearing the hat of the PPP General Secretary, had said that the Guyana Elections Commission was not ready to run off local government polls. On the heels of that statement, in early March, Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development Norman Whittaker had posited that Guyanese were not ready for local government elections. His excuse was that public education programmes were needed to prepare the electorate and that Gecom had a duty to conduct such programmes.

Gecom disagreed in two subsequent statements, asserting that it can be ready to run off the local polls but would need to be given the mandate by the Minister. Gecom advised too that public education would be undertaken during the preparation for the elections, but only after a date is signalled by the minister which would allow for the release of the necessary funds. On Tuesday last, Gecom restated its readiness to members of the private sector at a forum hosted by the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

In the midst of this, we have the President candidly stating that local government elections cannot be called “tomorrow as I would have done had we had the majority in parliament…” And in that statement lies the crux of the matter. The issue is not whether the Gecom is ready. It is not about whether the general public is educated enough. It is about power.

It must have been a quite shock to the PPP in 1994 when, riding high on its 1992 general elections victory and holding a majority in the House, it could not secure control of Georgetown. It must have needed liniment for the burn it received when it turned out that the winner was not its closest rival the PNC, but Hamilton Green’s cobbled-together party A Good and Green Guyana, which has since almost faded away to nothingness with two of its prominent members Odinga Lumumba and Kwame McCoy defecting to the PPP.

So is it a case of once bitten, twice shy? These are the facts: The ruling party has been in government since 1992 and has only run off local government elections once, in 1994. Between 1994 and 2011, when the joint opposition won the majority in parliament, there ought to have been five local government elections. None were held.

Instead, the government has presided over a rapidly deteriorating local government system in which minimal and in some cases no services are provided to citizens, not just in Georgetown, but around the entire country. Its response? A flexing of political muscle, replacing duly elected councils with interim management committees top heavy with politicos and a smattering of locals to make up the numbers.

The result is what can be referred to as an epic failure. None of these interim bodies have succeeded in turning things around. There is no model village, community or NDC that can be held up as a best practice. Instead, what has happened in the last 20 years is that a new learned behaviour developed, littering.

It has taken a massive and sustained effort, not by the government, not by any of our local leaders, but by the United States Embassy under Ambassador Brent Hardt to cut through the apathy and infuse pride with its ‘Guyana Shines’ project. Significantly, the move to have Guyana shine again has been taken up by our young people many of whom were born in the early nineties.

Local community clean-ups, however, can only solve a minute part of the problem. The larger issues, like maintaining drainage canals and outfalls, timely road repairs, proper zoning and parking, street lighting, the markets and vending among others can only be addressed effectively by properly functioning local government organs.

Contrary to what President Ramotar said, there is absolutely no need for the PPP to have “the majority in the parliament at this point in time” to hold local government elections. Such a stance ignores the needs of the people and panders to the fears of the party. It is to be abhorred.

SN COMMENTS: 

I wonder if the Guyanese population stop reading the news? These are serious eye openers to the voting public, this clearly shows that from the President, right down, are people who the truth, does not exists. Guyanese, like Randy Jackson, from American idol would say "this is a hottttt one" use facts like these stated in the editorial, and the PNC part 1&2 letter in the letters column to educate yourselves, and make conscious decisions, when any elections are called, kick the habit of race voting, that is what created all of this country's ails and opened the doors for corruption,discrimination and absolute power.

MR TK on FB: Interesting that many keep harping about rigged elections of PNC part 1, while today PPP not only rigs its internal party elections, but also it denies the people elections and democracy.

CARL on SN: 

The PNC rigged elections in its quest for power, while the PPP simply refuses to hold elections because of its quest for power. Guyanese should do a lot more than what the PPP did when it was protesting the PNC's refusal to observe democratic norms.

By the way, I wonder what the PPP would say if the PNC said rigging was necessary because the PPP was not ready to govern an independent Guyana?

Andycapp on Sn:

In any democratic jurisdiction, this admission by a head of state to the deliberate denial of citizens constitutional rights as a means of holding on to power would have been followed by a referendum for his immediate removal from that office. But no, not dear Guyana. The racial division that afflicts this country has made it a political absurdity, where travesties such as these are just blown away by the wind. A truly sad, and disgraceful state of affairs in this enlightened age.

but Hamilton Green’s cobbled-together party A Good and Green Guyana, which has since almost faded away to nothingness with two of its prominent members Odinga Lumumba and Kwame McCoy defecting to the PPP.

Now Gerhard in bed with Hammie?

Kishan, Gerhard is still an Executive member of the AFC.

CARL on SN: 

By the way, I wonder what the PPP would say if the PNC said rigging was necessary because the PPP was not ready to govern an independent Guyana?

And they did an outstanding job.

That is not what I have been advised.  I was advised he is in official talks with Garnger.

MR TK on FB: Interesting that many keep harping about rigged elections of PNC part 1, while today PPP not only rigs its internal party elections, but also it denies the people elections and democracy.

He is a clown.

I agree with you on this one Baseman - 100%, a town clown who know very little about politics.  Just hungry for a PNC phira on the back benches.

You see we can agree now and then.  

SOLD his ancestors out for pennies.

He is a clown.

Baseman.....yuh messing up TK...JB and Redux.

He is a clown.

All of them is one human being with three different computers.  

He is a clown.

Sir I tell you 20 time I am not Mr TK. 

That is not what I have been advised.  I was advised he is in official talks with Garnger.

Hey Hey Hey...like yuh spy gee yuh lil info. How yu bai rosie and de fake pole? Hey Hey Hey

He is a clown.

I agree with you on this one Baseman - 100%, a town clown who know very little about politics.  Just hungry for a PNC phira on the back benches.

You see we can agree now and then.  

SOLD his ancestors out for pennies.

Bai is betta dan sellin thundabolt flour. Hey Hey Hey.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

PNC part 2 also rigged and were the worst riggers in Guyana.

Hey Hey Hey. Everybady know da? Columbus.

Every but you and Gerhard does not know this or else you would not have written that cockish letter to try to spin the PNC in a good light.

POLITICAL opportunist.  Sell out your ancestors for lil power when the real power lies in the PPP.

You all did not learn from your Mentor Peter Ramsaroop - you want power - try the PPP.

PNC got opposition back bench and is an immoral political force.

PNC part 2 also rigged and were the worst riggers in Guyana.

Hey Hey Hey. Everybady know da? Columbus.

Every but you and Gerhard does not know this or else you would not have written that cockish letter to try to spin the PNC in a good light.

POLITICAL opportunist.  Sell out your ancestors for lil power when the real power lies in the PPP.

You all did not learn from your Mentor Peter Ramsaroop - you want power - try the PPP.

PNC got opposition back bench and is an immoral political force.

You want them follow you? Me read the letter on SN and many people like it. You envy?

Looking back thank goodness the PNC rigged the election. Jagan and his communist nonsense would have introduced famine into Guyana beyond anything we have seen.

The facts are Jagan supported Burnham banning the import of food items and the seizure of foreign owned businesses in Guyana. If Burnham and Jagan had encouraged Bookers and other companies to remain in Guyana just think what a different place GY would have been today.

Jagan was instrumental in supporting many of Burnham's policies. Malcolm Harripaul is one of the few people who writes frequently about this.

Looking back thank goodness the PNC rigged the election. Jagan and his communist nonsense would have introduced famine into Guyana beyond anything we have seen.

The facts are Jagan supported Burnham banning the import of food items and the seizure of foreign owned businesses in Guyana. If Burnham and Jagan had encouraged Bookers and other companies to remain in Guyana just think what a different place GY would have been today.

Jagan was instrumental in supporting many of Burnham's policies. Malcolm Harripaul is one of the few people who writes frequently about this.

TK is on record saying "thank goodness the PNC rigged the election....".

Speak for yourself since this is the most morally bankrupt school of thought I have come across in years.

He tun like Gowkarran Sharma who said HOYTE was like LORD RAM.

Today TK say rigged elections was GOOD.  Desperation time for CAMP PNC.

TK is on record saying "thank goodness the PNC rigged the election....".

Speak for yourself since this is the most morally bankrupt school of thought I have come across in years.

He tun like Gowkarran Sharma who said HOYTE was like LORD RAM.

Today TK say rigged elections was GOOD.  Desperation time for CAMP PNC.

LOL like Mr TK have magic powers to be 5 people at once. Go see the doctor please for mental helth. 

Mr HM_REDUX my mamoo have all Mr Harripaul writing on file. Mr Harripaul teach us many things.

My friend, having "official talks" with Granger doesn't mean Gerhard is no longer an executive AFC member. I know he still is.

Talk to any AFC executive member as I did two days ago and you will get confirmation that Gerhard is still an AFC executive member.

And you vex Mr Granger have no talk with you? If your rumor is true Mr Ramsaroop is a very respectable man. Mr Granger will do well to discuss guyana matters with him. 

Any sensible East Indian will never talk to granger, he is contaminated stuff plus quite a novice for a politician.

if I have no choice I prefer talking to donald than granger.

that is how low down he is in my books.

he is an extremely weak politicians.

aubrey Norton will make a much more effective leader.

I wonder.  Given that the PNC will most likely lose the next election, given our race based politics, what has GR to gain other than the open hostility from the PPP/Indo elite who will harass him for daring to leave that Indian plantation.  You are no better than the PNC/Afro elites who called Rodney a traitor because he fought and gave his life against an African dictator.

When granger get another fine licking in 2016, let it be known that kb told you so.

he does not know how to win.

Hey Hey Hey...abie political genius juss wake up. Tell abie wah yuh alternative foh win am. Hey Hey ...

When granger get another fine licking in 2016, let it be known that kb told you so.

Hey Hey Hey...abie political genius juss wake up. Tell abie wah yuh alternative foh win am. Hey Hey ...

answer ravi

Part II of “Part II

…of PNC”

After a famous dinner in Richmond Hill involving David Granger (what was the menu? hassar curry?) some of the latter’s acolytes decided they couldn’t get rid of the ghost (stench?) of Burnham. To rehabilitate their hero, they figured maybe they could create an analytic break from the dictator. So they introduced the fable of “PNC Part I and PNC Part II”. So guess who’s the jettisoned “main man” via Part I PNC?? No prize for guessing – Burnham.

So through this sleight of hand, we’re supposed to not connect the horrors of Burnhamism to Granger because he’s the successor to Hoyte, the founder of PNC Part II!!! Wouldn’t it be nice if we could just use words to change reality?? But the messiness of “reality” never really goes away, does it? With their words, all the PNC revisionists can hope for is that our PERCEPTION of the PNC reality would be changed.

So let’s look at the reality of PNC Part II once again. Right off the bat, Hoyte didn’t drop full blown from heaven at the death of Burnham. He was an integral part of the PNC dictatorship from the very beginning. Remember the first rigging of elections in Guyana in 1968?? Yes – the one where horses grazing in an English field voted. Guess who facilitated this from within the Electoral Commission? Take a bow!! Hoyte himself!!

Hoyte was Minister of Education, Home Affairs, Finance, Communications, Production, Works and Transport, Economic Planning and Economic Development under Burnham. Was he in a coma during that time? That’s the excuse of many Nazis under Hitler. Or was he a simpleton? At best he was a cringing, sniveling Burnham “yes man”. His life – this “democrat” declared – was to “ensure Jagan never got into power”. By any means necessary including “kith and kin” politics that revived the bitter racial wars of the 1960s.

Remember his accusations of “ethnic cleansing” against Jagan and his calls for his supporters to use guns? The man rigged the one election he “won” by a margin greater than Burnham ever allowed himself. And he’s the break with Burnham’s nastiness? Gimme a break!!

And not only that,he extended his illegal term of office by two years as he flailed around trying to stop the tide of history occasioned by the fall of the Russian empire. As he launched his “mo fyaah, slow fyaah” strategy, didn’t he signal what that was going to be about when he draped the coffin of the notorious criminal Blackie London with the flag of Guyana?

Which part of Part II of the PNC is that?

…same ole same ole

And we can’t forget that Andrew Douglas, of Buxton’s”Freedom Five” fame was a member of Blackie’s gang. And he then begat Fineman Rawlings. And that the child soldiers begat by those sterling members of PNC Part II are being kept in reserves for the next assault. The beat goes on. But let’s look at Granger himself. What claims can he muster as representing a break from Burnham?

He was Burnham’s handpicked nominee sent to Mons to be trained to bypass the earlier Guyanese officers selected by the British to head the new Army. He also was there from the beginning. Wasn’t he the chief promulgator of Burnham’s ideology in the Army – along with his buddy, Elvin Mc David?

The more things change, the more they remain the same. Even in Part II PNC!

…chutzpah

The PNC is demanding that expenses of the former President Jagdeo be laid before the house. This has nothing to do with accounting and everything to do with spite. For instance, the promulgators of Part II PNC extol Hoyte’s”austere” lifestyle.

They forget (?) to mention that his annual clothing allowance was $900,000 – larger at that time than the entire budget of the Guyana Defence Force!!! Some difference!

Ravi Dev just put all his Chickens to sleep.

Now TK and all his Jumbies Sleeping Quietly.

"PART TWO of PART TWO…of PNC

After a famous dinner in Richmond Hill involving David Granger (what was the menu? hassar curry?) some of the latter’s acolytes decided they couldn’t get rid of the ghost (stench?) of Burnham.

To rehabilitate their hero, they figured maybe they could create an analytic break from the dictator.

So they introduced the fable of “PNC Part I and PNC Part II”.

So guess who’s the jettisoned “main man” via Part I PNC??

No prize for guessing – Burnham.

So through this sleight of handwe’re supposed to not connect

the horrors of Burnhamism to Granger

because he’s the successor to Hoyte,

the founder of PNC Part II!!!

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could just use words to change reality??

But the messiness of “reality” never really goes away, does it?

With their words,

all the PNC revisionists can hope for

is that our PERCEPTION of the PNC reality would be changed.

TK hiding....and writing as Jumbies....

But Ravi Dev...Put all De Jumbies to sleep now...

soooo . . . ravi dev, an unreconstructed racist and paid jagdeo propagandist, is kishan/jalil's 'new' guru

u know, these bannas really can't help being what they are

all you have to do is listen carefully beneath the noise . . .

Just look at TK "De Grass-hopper"
You can fool Granger & Corbin
but we know Taron Kemraj
was one of Ravi Lil Boys

soooo . . . ravi dev, an unreconstructed racist and paid jagdeo propagandist, is kishan/jalil's 'new' guru.Never Join or Support Ravi Dev racism.

TK cut the crap...and accept yuh sins

Yuh Lef Ravi and Join PNC....

Corbin say he looking for

some more softie Ravi followers....

but he cannot find no one

TK "De Grass-hopper"

ONE OF A KIND

A Jihaji PNC

jalil, i understand that u shrinking from the EXPOSURE; but the record doan lie . . . unless sumbady hijack u and kishan handle(s)

look bai, conscience/albert dem got plenty 'material' from Donald's Chronicle that y'all could have used and saved yuhselves all this aggravation

you really didn't need the loud embrace of RAVI DEV/JAGDEO to affirm yuh tribal bona fides . . .

this 'thing' y'all trying to hide is not really a secret . . . shhhhhh

You can fool Granger & Corbin
but we know Taron Kemraj
was one of Ravi Lil Boys

soooo . . . ravi dev, an unreconstructed racist and paid jagdeo propagandist, is kishan/jalil's 'new' guru.Never Join or Support Ravi Dev racism.

TK cut the crap...and accept yuh sins

Yuh Lef Ravi and Join PNC....

Corbin say he looking for

some more softie Ravi followers....

but he cannot find no one

TK "De Grass-hopper"

ONE OF A KIND

A Jihaji PNC

Jalil yu too much for TK and his five jumbies especially Jumbie No. 1 Redux.

dat's rale nice of u to run lil 'interference' for yuh fren

keeping up morale is important . . .

Besides TK....who else left Ravi & Join PNC.

Please Do not tell us Dr Rose

he is a more respected fella.

Ravi will understand Dr Rose Joining PNC.

But not Taron Kemraj....

Ravi expected Better from TK

But TK Shock everyone.

TK yuh forget all them thing yuh have

Documented About Hoyte..Slow Fire ...Mo Fire

Is wha wrong with yuh Bhai

Corbin or Kwame Kiss you

Besides TK....who else left Ravi & Join PNC.

Please Do not tell us Dr Rose

he is a more respected fella.

Ravi will understand Dr Rose Joining PNC.

But not Taron Kemraj....

Ravi expected Better from TK

But TK Shock everyone.

TK yuh forget all them thing yuh have

Documented About Hoyte..Slow Fire ...Mo Fire

Is wha wrong with yuh Bhai

Corbin or Kwame Kiss you

perhaps u and Ravi Dev can tell we all about "tyrone" bai