Kadir, Defreitas lose appeal for terror plot

Former People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Member of Parliament Abdul Kadir and his Guyanese counterpart Russell Defreitas on Friday lost their appeal against a 2010 conviction for plotting to blow up the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Airport (JFK) in New York.

Abdul Kadir

Abdul Kadir

A U.S. appeals court on Friday upheld the convictions of two Islamic militants charged with participating in a plot to bomb the New York airport.  The second U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in New York declined to throw out the 2010 jury verdict against Defreitas, 69, and Kadir, 61, who were found guilty of conspiracy to carry out acts of terrorism. The court also upheld the life sentences for the men, both from Guyana, saying neither provided a persuasive argument the prison terms were unreasonable in light of their convictions of conspiring to explode pipelines and jet fuel tanks at the airport.

“The gravity of the crimes for which they were convicted easily justifies the life sentences that were imposed,” Judge John Walker wrote for a three-judge panel. Lawyers for the defendants did not comment on the ruling. Prosecutors say the conspiracy to blow up the airport began in 2005 or 2006. Much of the evidence was gathered by an informant who was recruited into the conspiracy after meeting Defreitas, who had worked at the airport as a cargo handler.

Authorities say the idea to attack Kennedy airport originated with Defreitas. He conducted surveillance in January 2007 and videotaped potential targets, prosecutors say. In a recorded telephone call, Defreitas said the attacks would be “worse than the World Trade Centre”, a comparison to the attacks of September 11, 2001.

Russell Defreitas

Defreitas, Kadir, and two other defendants, Abdel Nur and Kareem Ibrahim Ibrahim, were arrested in June 2007. Nur pleaded guilty before trial, while Ibrahim was convicted and received a life sentence in January 2012. On appeal, Defreitas and Kadir challenged the use of an anonymous jury.

The second circuit court found no fault in the district judge’s decision to allow for an anonymous jury, noting that they were charged in a plot that “had the potential to kill hundreds or thousands of people”. The appeals court panel also upheld decisions to allow prosecutors to introduce photos of Kadir posing with machine guns and allowing a government expert to testify about the activities of militant Islamic groups in South America. The second circuit court dismissed a separate appeal by Nur, saying his guilty plea was “knowing and voluntary”.

If this plot to blow up JFK was successful, me and my family would have been history. All my friends and neighbors would have been a thing of the past. These two men have embarrassed our country and humiliate the Guyanese community in Queens. These are the kind of people many on this forum would appeased with their last drop of blood.                                                     

I am happy that they lose their appeals, and I hope they rot in hell. I hope they get buggered after each meal. These are PNC associates and now that the AFC is licking the black sweat off the PNC, they too are guilty of supporting terrorism.

Originally Posted by Prince:

If this plot to blow up JFK was successful, me and my family would have been history. All my friends and neighbors would have been a thing of the past. These two men have embarrassed our country and humiliate the Guyanese community in Queens. These are the kind of people many on this forum would appeased with their last drop of blood.                                                     

I am happy that they lose their appeals, and I hope they rot in hell. I hope they get buggered after each meal. These are PNC associates and now that the AFC is licking the black sweat off the PNC, they too are guilty of supporting terrorism.

reaching . . .

low IQ posters doing what they do . . . badly

reaching . . .

You're not here to grade anyone. If you want to spout shit that is understood.

reaching . . .

You're not here to grade anyone . . .

yes, i am

reaching . . .

yes, i am

I am sending Nehru to you!

reaching . . .

yes, i am

I am sending Nehru to you!

is this your WEAK attempt @ being clever?

you should not make a post like this saying these fellas are PNC/R...plenty Afro Guyanese living in this area support the PNC, by calling these fellas PNC with no proof, you're equating lots of Guyanese with terrorism

also, by having a link by someone  name "admin", gives people the impression that this article was written by AMral. I don't think he would like that...but seeing you are such an ass, I guess that is to be expected

Originally Posted by raymond:

you should not make a post like this saying these fellas are PNC/R...plenty Afro Guyanese living in this area support the PNC, by calling these fellas PNC with no proof, you're equating lots of Guyanese with terrorism

Please don't censor me. I don't give a shit about blackman feeling!

I didn't think you did, after all I am sure you were dragged up in the gutter

Yes, must come visit me in the shit hole someday.

Former members, which means they no longer represent or is part of that party.
When is this burro going to learn how to put up a proper heading on a thread?

There.. just what I was saying all along. A hard core ****** racist. You should not be on this forum, Guyana is a land of six races. but in your mind, you only see one. That's real bad news.

You are a babbling idiot.

Furthermore, Former People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Member of Parliament Abdul Kadir and his Guyanese counterpart Russell Defreitas on Friday lost their

These are former members just as the House of Israel Thugs were and now on the side of the governing party of Guyana...PPP/C

So shut your patacake.

Abdul Kadir

Abdul Kadir

Former People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Member of Parliament Abdul Kadir and his Guyanese counterpart Russell Defreitas on Friday lost their appeal against a 2010 conviction for plotting to blow up the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Airport (JFK) in New York.

Kadir, Defreitas lose appeal for terror plot

Abdul Kadir - named Michael Seaforth at birth - facing his final days of trials.

After discussions and confirmation at the initial stages on GNI that Abdul Kadir is the former Michael Seaforth, I indicated that he was a student in the class when I was a lecturer in Civil Engineering at the University of Guyana, 

Let the PNC terrorist rot in jail.

you are another sicko who "knows" this terrorist is a PNC thug and yet openly worships a PPP Party that has in its group no other than the former PNC House of Israel thugs.

"Former People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Member of Parliament Abdul Kadir and his Guyanese counterpart Russell Defreitas on Friday lost their appeal against a 2010 conviction for plotting to blow up the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Airport (JFK) in New York."

No sympathy for PNC terrorists. Let them rot in jail.

"Former People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Member of Parliament Abdul Kadir and his Guyanese counterpart Russell Defreitas on Friday lost their appeal against a 2010 conviction for plotting to blow up the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Airport (JFK) in New York."

July 16, 2002

Related Links:Articles on Presidential Complex attack
Letters MenuArchival Menu

POLICE have slapped a treason charge against controversial Mark Benschop and Acting Chief Magistrate Juliet Holder-Allen remanded him to prison, until next week Tuesday, when he appeared in Court yesterday.

Particulars of the capital offence with which he and Phillip Bynoe are jointly charged said, between June 1 and July 3, being citizens of Guyana and owing allegiance to the State, they formed an intention o overthrow the lawfully elected Government by force.

Other details said, during that period, in furtherance of the intent, they:
conspired together with other persons to forcibly and unlawfully enter the compound and premises of Office of the President (OP) in Georgetown and were present and encouraged others, by words and conduct, to unlawfully overtake and storm the same OP compound and premises.

Benschop, of Lot 90 Laluni Street, Queenstown, also in Georgetown, who is co-accused with Bynoe, of Silver City,Wismar, Linden, was represented yesterday by a battery of lawyers, led by Mr Basil Williams and including Mr Sean Allicock, Mr Mortimer Coddett, Mr Raphael Trotman and Mr Roysdale Forde.

Williams said the protest which resulted in the invasion of OP, fatal shooting of two protesters and followed by arson and looting in the capital, was about marginalisation and discrimination and the only mechanism to air grievances is such demonstration.

He said television footage does not show Benschop nor Bynoe invading the Presidential Complex but calling persons out of the place.

Williams said there is no evidence to support the accusation against Benschop and requested bail for the father of two he described as a media practitioner.

But Mrs Holder-Allen said she is bound by the law which stipulates no pre-trial liberty for the crime against the State.

She said the issue is not within her jurisdiction and advised that there should be a speedy hearing.

Police claim that Benschop spoke at public meetings on the East Coast Demerara last month where statements were made to unlawfully overtake and storm OP.

However, Trotman said he and not Benschop was a speaker at the meetings and should have traded places with the prisoner.

The lawyer said July 3 was a “day of infamy” and he would expect a speedy trial because, since Benschop was bailed last Thursday, he was re-arrested and kept in custody.

Trotman said he found it strange that one of the most serious charges has been laid and the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) was not present.

Coddett said taking Benschop to Court is an indication that people no longer have freedom of speech and lamented the state of democracy in Guyana.

Coddett declared that the State is trying to reinforce an act of terrorism.

Forde submitted that the storming of OP was “untreasonable”.

Police Inspector Gordon Peters, prosecuting, had asked for three weeks to begin the preliminary inquiry but the magistrate set July 23.

At about 11:00 hours, when Benschop was being escorted out of the Court compound by Police, in the company of his wife, Maria, emotional supporters gathered there and shouted that “the struggle must go on”.

I hear the PPP planning to petition for the release Abdul Kadir so he could claim his rightful place beside Bynoe in OP....

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

July 16, 2002

Related Links:Articles on Presidential Complex attack
Letters MenuArchival Menu

POLICE have slapped a treason charge against controversial Mark Benschop and Acting Chief Magistrate Juliet Holder-Allen remanded him to prison, until next week Tuesday, when he appeared in Court yesterday.

Particulars of the capital offence with which he and Phillip Bynoe are jointly charged said, between June 1 and July 3, being citizens of Guyana and owing allegiance to the State, they formed an intention o overthrow the lawfully elected Government by force.

Other details said, during that period, in furtherance of the intent, they:
conspired together with other persons to forcibly and unlawfully enter the compound and premises of Office of the President (OP) in Georgetown and were present and encouraged others, by words and conduct, to unlawfully overtake and storm the same OP compound and premises.

Benschop, of Lot 90 Laluni Street, Queenstown, also in Georgetown, who is co-accused with Bynoe, of Silver City,Wismar, Linden, was represented yesterday by a battery of lawyers, led by Mr Basil Williams and including Mr Sean Allicock, Mr Mortimer Coddett, Mr Raphael Trotman and Mr Roysdale Forde.

Williams said the protest which resulted in the invasion of OP, fatal shooting of two protesters and followed by arson and looting in the capital, was about marginalisation and discrimination and the only mechanism to air grievances is such demonstration.

He said television footage does not show Benschop nor Bynoe invading the Presidential Complex but calling persons out of the place.

Williams said there is no evidence to support the accusation against Benschop and requested bail for the father of two he described as a media practitioner.

But Mrs Holder-Allen said she is bound by the law which stipulates no pre-trial liberty for the crime against the State.

She said the issue is not within her jurisdiction and advised that there should be a speedy hearing.

Police claim that Benschop spoke at public meetings on the East Coast Demerara last month where statements were made to unlawfully overtake and storm OP.

However, Trotman said he and not Benschop was a speaker at the meetings and should have traded places with the prisoner.

The lawyer said July 3 was a “day of infamy” and he would expect a speedy trial because, since Benschop was bailed last Thursday, he was re-arrested and kept in custody.

Trotman said he found it strange that one of the most serious charges has been laid and the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) was not present.

Coddett said taking Benschop to Court is an indication that people no longer have freedom of speech and lamented the state of democracy in Guyana.

Coddett declared that the State is trying to reinforce an act of terrorism.

Forde submitted that the storming of OP was “untreasonable”.

Police Inspector Gordon Peters, prosecuting, had asked for three weeks to begin the preliminary inquiry but the magistrate set July 23.

At about 11:00 hours, when Benschop was being escorted out of the Court compound by Police, in the company of his wife, Maria, emotional supporters gathered there and shouted that “the struggle must go on”.

I hear the PPP planning to petition for the release Abdul Kadir so he could claim his rightful place beside Bynoe in OP....

Grandma, What BIG ears you have.

yugeee panty lil dirty now and de crab lice biting . . . but he still committed to de "tuff guy" pose

LOL

yugeee panty lil dirty now and de crab lice biting . . . but he still committed to de "tuff guy" pose

LOL

Do they have medicine for dutty attitude?

LOL

Another mindless degeneration into irrelevant sexual deviancy.  You need help banna, real bad.  Maybe Obama's bill on access to mental health treatment come in time to save you from this degenerative condition.

LOL

Another mindless degeneration into irrelevant sexual deviancy.  You need help banna, real bad.  Maybe Obama's bill on access to mental health treatment come in time to save you from this degenerative condition.

come home hay bai

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/bu...ts-usefulness?page=6

LOL

LOL

I was tellin Al Yuh all along. Berbice Mad House here comes TK.

LOL

I was tellin Al Yuh all along. Berbice Mad House here comes TK.

This one slipped the crack, so to speak!

You are a bloody moron. Since when PNC "ideology" ( whatever that may be) informs his Muslim fundamentalism? Was it PPP ideology that caused those Indo real estate brokers, lawyers etc to steal? Did they instruct theat Indo fool, Adnan Shukrijumah that is on the FBI most wanted list currently?