Originally Posted by Conscience:

Chandisingh, Vincent Teekah and Balram Singh Rai all let the P.P.P and failed miserably....

Sasenarine Singh,Tarron Khemraj and GR.....seems to be suffering the same fate..

The A.F.C would end up like the U.R.P and the Justice Party, just a figment of one's imagination.

How so?

Chandi, Balram and Teekah were very successful, politically, socially but not economically since they did not tief.

GR is still with the AFC and I was told he is a very successful businessman.  Good for him.

Tarron is with the PNC and I was told he got a career at a small college somewhere in USA.

Sase has resigned from the AFC but has said that he is taking a sabbatical from politics.  My research of that word sabbatical mean he is coming back.  

So these chaps will be there in the next elections and they will be with their respective party.

Tarron - PNC

Sase and GR - AFC.

They can do much damage to the PPP, even Tarron.

The Justice Party he formed failed miserably, as a result he went in self imposed exile in London, where is aged unto today.

Balram Singh Rai did not sell out his people like Cheddi, Janet, Jagdeo and Ramoutar did. He was the most brilliant, dignified and honest politician Guyana ever produced. He is no thief like the others. He was a staunch Arya Samajist. Unfortunately, his people disappointed him and that is why "dem raas a punish".

So you, Mr. Conscience stop your shyte right there Mista. You don't know anything about Balram.  Rai was never in bed with the PNC like Cheddi who gave Burham critical support, was.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

The Justice Party he formed failed miserably, as a result he went in self imposed exile in London, where is aged unto today.

Balram Singh Rai did not sell out his people like Cheddi, Janet, Jagdeo and Ramoutar did. He was the most brilliant, dignified and honest politician Guyana ever produced. He is no thief like the others. He was a staunch Arya Samajist. Unfortunately, his people disappointed him and that is why "dem raas a punish".

So you, Mr. Conscience stop your shyte right there Mista. You don't know anything about Balram.  

Don, we have to forgive Conscience re Balram Singh Rai. What does he know about that gentleman?

Conscience is only unthinkingly and slavishly parroting what he picked up at Freedom House. He evidently has not decided to research Mr Rai or ask neutral folks about him.

Conscience probably doesn't know that in the early 1960s the most popular PPP politician after Cheddi Jagan was Balram Singh Rai. He doesn't know that Mr Rai was perceived as a threat to Jagan's leadership position as a result of his immense popularity in the PPP constituencies.

Conscience probably doesn't know that in the early 1960s the most popular PPP politician after Cheddi Jagan was Balram Singh Rai.

He doesn't know that Mr Rai was perceived as a threat to Jagan's leadership position as a result of his immense popularity in the PPP constituencies.

Incorrect on both issues.

When Balram Singh Rai ran as a candidate for other political organizations in the 1950's, he not only lost the elections, but also his deposits.

When he became a member of the PPP in the much latter part of the 1950's, he was given a safe seat and indeed won as a member of the PPP.

While indeed Balram Singh Rai had a charismatic personality, and indeed he did challenge the position of Brindley Benn, he was not as popular as what some individuals may perceive about him. When Balram Singh Rai was expelled from the PPP, his departure did not have any effect on the membership in the PPP.

Conscience probably doesn't know that in the early 1960s the most popular PPP politician after Cheddi Jagan was Balram Singh Rai.

He doesn't know that Mr Rai was perceived as a threat to Jagan's leadership position as a result of his immense popularity in the PPP constituencies.

When Balram Singh Rai ran as a candidate for other political organizations in the 1950's, he not only lost the elections, but also his deposits.

When he became a member of the PPP in the much latter part of the 1950's, he was given a safe seat and indeed won as a member of the PPP.

While indeed Balram Singh Rai had a charismatic personality, and indeed he did challenge the position of Brindley Benn, he was not as popular as what some individuals may perceive about him. When Balram Singh Rai was expelled from the PPP, his departure hard had any effect on membership in the PPP.

I said "in the early 1960s..."

You have your version and I have mine and Mr Rai's biographer Baytoram Ramharack has his.

Let's leave it at that.

Conscience is parroting what he heard at Freedom House. That's another version.

While indeed Balram Singh Rai had a charismatic personality, and indeed he did challenge the position of Brindley Benn, he was not as popular as what some individuals may perceive about him. When Balram Singh Rai was expelled from the PPP, his departure hard had any effect on membership in the PPP.

You have your version and I have mine and Mr Rai's biographer Baytoram Ramharack has his.

Let's leave it at that.

Your statement "in the early 1960"s ..." is known and covered with my earlier statement, for Balram Singh Rai was indeed expelled in 1962.

The fact remains that Balram Singh Rai was not the most popular person after Cheddi Jagan in the PPP.

While indeed Balram Singh Rai had a charismatic personality, and indeed he did challenge the position of Brindley Benn, he was not as popular as what some individuals may perceive about him. When Balram Singh Rai was expelled from the PPP, his departure did not have any effect on the membership in the PPP.

So Mr. DG what makes you think you are correct on both counts. It is no wonder that you have retained all the constructed blatant lies and manufactured stories that Cheddi and Janet  Jagan fed you. If Rai's departure did not have any effect on the membership in the PPP, it did have an effect in the country, because Burnham started to rule after that, hence the reason why you rass run away abroad. Benn then kick Cheddi rass to the curb and formed his Working People Vangaurd Party. And like a loyal whore Cheddi brought Benn back in 1992.

Chandisingh, Vincent Teekah and Balram Singh Rai all let the P.P.P and failed miserably....

Sasenarine Singh,Tarron Khemraj and GR.....seems to be suffering the same fate..

The A.F.C would end up like the U.R.P and the Justice Party, just a figment of one's imagination.

Rai was racist. He made some very racist public statements at No.63 Village. My father and grand father said that they were shocked at the blatant racism of Rai. Rai hated blacks.

This angered Dr. Jagan and paved the way for Rai's downfall. 

Moses and Rai have a lot in common, they are the embodiment of the word Neemakharam.

History always repeats it self.

CHEC_101

• CHEC_101

So Mr. DG what makes you think you are correct on both counts. It is no wonder that you have retained all the constructed blatant lies and manufactured stories that Cheddi and Janet  Jagan fed you. If Rai's departure did not have any effect on the membership in the PPP, it did have an effect in the country, because Burnham started to rule after that, hence the reason why you rass run away abroad. Benn then kick Cheddi rass to the curb and formed his Working People Vangaurd Party. And like a loyal whore Cheddi brought Benn back in 1992.

Forbes Burnham's and his political organization began to rule Guyana from 1964 to 1992 because the British changed the election process from first-past-the-post to proportional representation.

After the 1964 elections Forbes Burnham formed a coalition with the United Force party and became head of the government.

Let's leave it at that.

Your statement "in the early 1960"s ..." is known and covered with my earlier statement, for Balram Singh Rai was indeed expelled in 1962.

The fact remains that Balram Singh Rai was not the most popular person after Cheddi Jagan in the PPP.

If Rai was not the most popular person after Cheddi Jagan in the PPP, he certainly was the most popular than Cheddi, after Burnham started ruling in 1964 in Guyana.

Let's leave it at that.

If Rai was not the most popular person after Cheddi Jagan in the PPP, he certainly was the most popular than Cheddi, after Burnham started ruling in 1964 in Guyana.

After 1962 and indeed after 1964, Balram Singh Rai with his political organization secured similar number of votes like he did prior to joining the PPP ... "simply a handful of votes".

Rai's party received funding from the Americans. However, these funds immediately dried up after the PNC took power. The party folded quickly since the Americans were now completely focused on strenghtening the PNC as a buffer against Jagan's PPP. Washington had absolutely no interest in democracy and the rule of law in Guyana. They were playing their cold war game with the Soviets and whatever it takes to win that game they did.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Dr Jagan selected Benn and the end result came several years later with a massive nasty cuss up by Benn and by some of his supporters of Dr Jagan.  Ask bookman, Churchill and Prashad about what happened.

Care to provide more info ?

It is important for elder PPP statesmen to share political history with the younger generation. We must pass on this type historical information to younger generations.

Gil, please chime in.

Dr Jagan selected Benn and the end result came several years later with a massive nasty cuss up by Benn and by some of his supporters of Dr Jagan.  Ask bookman, Churchill and Prashad about what happened.

It is important for elder PPP statesmen to share political history with the younger generation. We must pass on this type historical information to younger generations.

Gil, please chime in.

I am not going to repeat here on this forum some of the things that were said about Dr. Jagan.  You can find some of the stuff in Benn paper unless there are no copies left because PPP members used it in their toilets.

Gil, please chime in.

I am not going to repeat here on this forum some of the things that were said about Dr. Jagan.  You can find some of the stuff in Benn paper unless there are no copies left because PPP members used it in their toilets.

Ouch.

Rai was racist. He made some very racist public statements at No.63 Village. My father and grand father said that they were shocked at the blatant racism of Rai. Rai hated blacks.

Look who calling Rai a racist!!! Pot telling kettle "Yuh bottom black."

On top of that, your father and grandfather were shocked? Didn't you mention that one of them said black people can't run a cake shop?

Gil

Come on.

They did not say Blacks, they said PNC. The problem on this BB is that when people speak ill of the PNC, some posters lump in blacks and PNC together. If you are fair, you will understand.

As for Rai, everyone knows that Rai was racist and hated blacks. He made some very racist and anti black comments at No. 63 Village in Berbice at a public meeting. This angered Dr. Jagan and that was the downfall of Rai.

Rai was a political failure.

Gil

Come on.

They did not say Blacks, they said PNC. The problem on this BB is that when people speak ill of the PNC, some posters lump in blacks and PNC together. If you are fair, you will understand.

As for Rai, everyone knows that Rai was racist and hated blacks. He made some very racist and anti black comments at No. 63 Village in Berbice at a public meeting. This angered Dr. Jagan and that was the downfall of Rai.

Rai was a political failure.

Yuji you clearly do not know Balram Singh Rai.

When I was a younger man, Balram was what we Guyanese look up to as a discipline and focused leader.

Gil, please chime in.

Ouch.

I wrote about this matter here before, but I can repeat.

In 1962 Cheddi Jagan selected Brindley Benn in favor of Balram Singh Rai.

Brindley Benn was Minister of Forestry, Lands and Mines.

In 1964 the PPP lost the government. The PNC-UF coalition took over.

In less than 5 years Brindley Benn abandoned Cheddi Jagan and the PPP.

Benn formed his own political party and named it the Working People's Vanguard Party [WPVP]. Benn carried away a handful of PPP members with him, notably his wife and Thelma Reece.

The PPP was aligned to, and received funding from the former Soviet Union/Russia.

Benn aligned his WPVP to, and received funding from communist China which was rivalling the Soviets on the international stage.

With some of the Chinese money, Benn opened a restaurant on Hincks Street near Berbice car park. He named the restaurant Red Carpet.

Benn also started publishing a Gestetner-type newspaper and named it VANGUARD.

I used to buy VANGUARD directly from Benn on the street. In that newspaper Benn continually attacked the Jagans and the PPP. In one issue he wrote that Cheddi Jagan's daughter Nadira had changed her name to Gail Teixeira. I showed Janet Jagan the piece. She had already read it. She shrugged her shoulders and told me: "That man [Benn] is a twit."

By 1991, with the Carter Centre's proactive interest in Guyana, it was clear the PPP would win elections. Mista Benn crawled back up dem Freedom House steps. He met Cheddi and Janet and dem poosoor-poosoor in he office. The Freedom House comrades couldn't figure out anything.

Next thing, the "twit" Benn was a PPP stalwart again.

PPP won the 1992 elections. Foreign Affairs Minister Clement Rohee was instructed to appoint Brindley Benn as Guyana's High Commissioner to Canada.

Dem hard-working comrades in the Toronto-based Association of Concerned Guyanese had to bite dem lip and tek de slap pon dem face.

Gil, please chime in.

Ouch.

Benn formed his own political party and named it the Working People's Vanguard Party [WPVP]. Benn carried away a handful of PPP members with him, notably his wife and Thelma Reece.

The PPP was aligned to, and received funding from the former Soviet Union/Russia.

Benn aligned his WPVP to, and received funding from communist China which was rivalling the Soviets on the international stage.

With some of the Chinese money, Benn opened a restaurant on Hincks Street near Berbice car park. He named the restaurant Red Carpet.

I used to buy VANGUARD directly from Benn on the street. In that newspaper Benn continually attacked the Jagans and the PPP. In one issue he wrote that Cheddi Jagan's daughter Nadira had changed her name to Gail Teixeira. I showed Janet Jagan the piece. She had already read it. She shrugged her shoulders and told me: "That man [Benn] is a twit."

By 1991, with the Carter Centre's proactive interest in Guyana, it was clear the PPP would win elections. Mista Benn crawled back up dem Freedom House steps. He met Cheddi and Janet and dem poosoor-poosoor in he office. The Freedom House comrades couldn't figure out anything.

PPP won the 1992 elections. Foreign Affairs Minister Clement Rohee was instructed to appoint Brindley Benn as Guyana's High Commissioner to Canada.

Dem hard-working comrades in the Toronto-based Association of Concerned Guyanese had to bite dem lip and tek de slap pon dem face.

Gil

Thanks for that info. Politics is a very dirty game.

As for ACG, was Danny not a high commissioner ?

I used to support the ACG. I remembered the days before social media and internet, they had a phone number that you could have dialled in and received Guyana News Update. Those Guys really fought for the PPP and Guyana.

I attended a few trips to Ottawa to fight for free and fair elections for Guyana. On one trip I took some pictures that I cherish. Those pictures have Sat, Janet and other members of the ACG protesting.

I can scan them and post them if any poster here are interested.

Gil, please chime in.

Ouch.

Gil

I used to support the ACG. I remembered the days before social media and internet, they had a phone number that you could have dialled in and received Guyana News Update. Those Guys really fought for the PPP and Guyana.

I attended a few trips to Ottawa to fight for free and fair elections for Guyana. On one trip I took some pictures that I cherish. Those pictures have Sat, Janet and other members of the ACG protesting.

Danny Doobay was NEVER Guyana's High Commissioner to Canada, which is based in Ottawa.

Danny got a lower position as Head of the Guyana Consulate in Toronto.

Sash Sawh's wife occupies that consular post now.

Presently, Guyana's High Commissioner to Canada is Hari "Ronnie" Nawbat, Ralph Ramkarran's first cousin.

Gil, please chime in.

Ouch.

Gil

Danny Doobay was NEVER Guyana's High Commissioner to Canada, which is based in Ottawa.

Danny got a lower position as Head of the Guyana Consulate in Toronto.

Sash Sawh's wife occupies that consular post now.

Presently, Guyana's High Commissioner to Canada is Hari "Ronnie" Nawbat, Ralph Ramkarran's first cousin.

Sad to see that some of these Guys were never rewarded for their dedication.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

How so?

Chandi, Balram and Teekah were very successful, politically, socially but not economically since they did not tief.

GR is still with the AFC and I was told he is a very successful businessman.  Good for him.

Tarron is with the PNC and I was told he got a career at a small college somewhere in USA.

Sase has resigned from the AFC but has said that he is taking a sabbatical from politics.  My research of that word sabbatical mean he is coming back.  

So these chaps will be there in the next elections and they will be with their respective party.

Tarron - PNC

Sase and GR - AFC.

They can do much damage to the PPP, even Tarron.

Hey Hey Hey...yuh try foh belittle TK dey bai Sase. Hey Hey Hey 

hey Hey hey 

Hey Hey Hey...

The persons who once voted for the A.F.C would never again be duped in repeating that same mistake......A vote for the A.F.C is a vote for the P.N.C aka A.P.N.U.

let me see, they would eagerly join the company of crooks who give away their natural resources, and survive off the fat of the land while the people suffer. Whether PNC Or AFC it is not PPP and that means a difference from he path on with the obscene corrupt fat cats in the PPP