Home > TOP STORY > PPP/C leadership ticket… Donald Ramotar confirmed as PPP/C presidential candidate – party still to decide on Prime Ministerial candidate
President Donald Ramotar

PPP/C leadership ticket… Donald Ramotar confirmed as PPP/C presidential candidate – party still to decide on Prime Ministerial candidate

INCUMBENT Head of State, President Donald Ramotar, is the presidential candidate for the ruling People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) leadership ticket heading into the May 11 elections.This was confirmed yesterday by PPP/C General Secretary, Mr Clement Rohee, during his weekly press conference, held at party’s Freedom House headquarters.

According to Rohee, there was no other nominee up for consideration when the decision on the presidential candidate was made by the party last week.

“Donald Ramotar is the only presidential candidate; there is no other presidential candidate,” Rohee declared.

Asked by a reporter about the chances of a change in the presidential candidate, Rohee said, “I doubt it.”
The General Secretary added that a decision on the Prime Ministerial candidate is still to be made, and, as per norm, the successful nominee is most likely to come from the Party’s Civic component.

“We are still in discussions,” he informed.
GOING BACK FOR ‘MY MAJORITY’

President Ramotar had, at a press conference held in mid-November last, expressed confidence that he would be the presidential candidate for the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic at the next general elections. He had also made it clear that he was not afraid of facing the electorate, since the Guyanese people are perfectly capable of judging the accomplishments made relative to national development and their improved livelihoods.

The PPP/C has won every general election since 1992; however, at the last elections, the combined Opposition gained control of the National Assembly by a one-seat majority in a 33-32 split.

The Guyanese Head of State expressed confidence of regaining the parliamentary majority his party lost in the 2011 general and regional elections by one seat.

Minister Clement Rohee

“This time I am going back for my majority, bigger than ever before,” President Ramotar had said.

The President credited his confidence in regaining the majority to the Government’s performance in moving the country forward for the benefit of the Guyanese people, and to the experiences of the Guyanese people in the last three years.

LIST OF CANDIDATES
General Secretary, Clement Rohee, also disclosed that the PPP/C List of Candidates has not as yet been finalised. The List of Candidates fielded by the contesting political parties is headed by the presidential candidate. That list is submitted on Nomination Day, and is used to determine who represents a particular party in the National Assembly, based on the outcome of the General and Regional Elections.

“The list and the nominees (Presidential and Prime Ministerial candidates) do not go hand in hand; not necessarily,” Rohee said.

Questions about the role of former President, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo were also posed to the PPP General Secretary, and he pointed out that the former President is a member of both the Central and Executive committees of the PPP.

Rohee said the Guyanese people should not be surprised if Jagdeo is one of the many persons on the PPP/C campaign trail. “Mr. Jagdeo is an Executive and Central member of the Party. He is a member of the Party in good standing. (He is) a former president, and he has made useful contributions. I don’t think it would surprise anyone for him to be part of the campaign and for him to be on our list,” Rohee said.

He added that the former President is viewed as an “asset” to the Party, despite the “attacks” launched against him in sections of the media. Rohee said, “We are not going to let go of him because of the attacks that have been launched against him over the years….he is an asset to us. He is one of us.”

All considered, the PPP General Secretary maintained that the PPP/C is poised to face the electorate on May 11. (Vanessa Narine)

Personally, I found Jagdeo to be extremely intelligent. One of the most Machiavellian politicians Guyana ever produced. No one (not even Burnham) had ever dominated Guyana so thoroughly. He's also probably the only brain in the PPP.

Sadly, he chose to squander his talent in the muck of everyday political corruption.

Bringing in heavy weapons via private plane from the US is a true sign that the PPP intends to stage mass slaughter on election day if they don't win the vote. We all know those guns are being stock piled at Timehri airport in that hangar from Lall.

The only extermination that should happen is that of Jagdeo and the PPP, they should be exterminated..just removed from society,they are leaches.

yugi adores leaches.

Yugi does not adore all leeches. That would be adharmic. Yugi only adores Bihari and Uttar Pradeshi leeches.

The only extermination that should happen is that of Jagdeo and the PPP, they should be exterminated..just removed from society,they are leaches.

yugi adores leaches.

Yugi does not adore all leeches. That would be adharmic. Yugi only adores Bihari and Uttar Pradeshi leeches.

Bhai

Yuji's background is from Haryana.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

Just so you know, speaking as an amateur researcher, the modern state boundaries do not necessarily conform to the 19th century boundaries. So when did your family convert to brahmin?

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

Just so you know, speaking as an amateur researcher, the modern state boundaries do not necessarily conform to the 19th century boundaries. So when did your family convert to brahmin?

I made several trips to India. Confirmed my ancestry and origin.

You still seem confused about your own identity. I am quite comfortable with my identity.

Last time I checked, you consider yourself as a Good Catholic Choir Boy. Good for you.

Keep up your catholic faith, Jesus will save you. He might even smile on you and assist with those failed political bids.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

You still seem confused about your own identity. I am quite comfortable with my identity.

Last time I checked, you consider yourself as a Good Catholic Choir Boy. Good for you.

Keep up your catholic faith, Jesus will save you. He might even smile on you and assist with those failed political bids.

You shoulda stayed in India, that's your lifestyle, shit where you walk, phooey you dutty rass.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

And which caste did you turn out to be from. Dalits or untouchables?

Last edited by Mr.T

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

I'm quite aware of my origins, down to their Indian village.

Let me ease the worries of your mind as I assure you that I am not confused about my identity. Like almost all Guyanese (including you), I happen to be a mixture of several ethnic and religious ingredients.

Even you would not really be considered a "proper" Hindu by many orthodox Hindus in Mother India.

Most Hindus from India actually consider Guyanese Hindus a form of negro.

Whether or not I am a Catholic or Muslim or whatever is of no real concern of yours. Once again, a coolie baboo is trying to have a big boy conversation and he failed.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

And which caste did you turn out to be from. Dalits or untouchables?

Dis chap is wan ah abbe famous chat-3 tribemen

@ Rook

Listen Catholic Choir boy Rook, You are scorned politically and your language is a reflection of who you truly are. Gutter Politics.

No wonder you failed politically. Rejected and scorned, politically. Even your own party rejected you and the judge threw the book at you.

@ Rook

Listen Catholic Choir boy Rook, You are scorned politically and your language is a reflection of who you truly are. Gutter Politics.

No wonder you failed politically. Rejected and scorned, politically. Even your own party rejected you and the judge threw the book at you.

I know I know I know. I have yet to ascend to the august heights of real estate agent

How will I ever live with this fact? Never having achieved my real estate license

Anyway Rook,

Yuji is headed off to business. Have a good day. See you later.

BTW, I do not deal in real estate. Own a lot but do not deal in it.

Anyway Rook,

Yuji is headed of to business. Have a good day. See you later.

Chat-3 and Internet millionaire. wow. i'm so impressed bai.

Personally, I found Jagdeo to be extremely intelligent. One of the most Machiavellian politicians Guyana ever produced. No one (not even Burnham) had ever dominated Guyana so thoroughly. He's also probably the only brain in the PPP.

Sadly, he chose to squander his talent in the muck of everyday political corruption.

I think you are wrong.   Machiavelli's Prince pursued the "effective truth", ie abandoning the classical  duality of good and evil for "a by any means necessary" to achieve what is "good of the state" (and ultimately the Prince's ). Jagdeo was about the good of his pocket and like a sniveling conniving rat had his means to ends schema harmonized to what made him and his friends rich. 

Everything he did was to fill his pockets and that was often to the detriment of the state. Even the murders he delegated to RK was to preserve the PPP and not the state.  To do that in a Machiavellian sense would be to employ agency of state power to overcome impediments to the state's prosperity. He diminished the states authority in the process and initiated the undoing of the PPP.

Machiavelli's Prince was dedicated to state craft. This fellow was about jealousy, greed, vindictiveness a grasping rent seeking compulsion to personal self aggrandizement.

Jagdeo is the AFC's worst nightmare. He will CRUSH and DEMOLISH the AFC politically.

Jagdeo has no credibility among the AFC constituency who sees him as a useless tool. They know good changes that are necessary cannot come through him. He is by nature vile, evil and vindictive.

It is on his reputation for generating protracted fights on petty things that the PPP capitulation rests. That is what is mined, massaged and messaged to the People. That is what is going to abrade that 8 percent the PPP need to maintain to hold office.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

Let me ease the worries of your mind as I assure you that I am not confused about my identity. Like almost all Guyanese (including you), I happen to be a mixture of several ethnic and religious ingredients.

Even you would not really be considered a "proper" Hindu by many orthodox Hindus in Mother India.

Whether or not I am a Catholic or Muslim or whatever is of no real concern of yours. Once again, a coolie baboo is trying to have a big boy conversation and he failed.

Is that not the point you pitiful idiot? How in the world did the Brahmin emerge   from that level miscegenation whole like Athena from the head of Zeus?

I think you are wrong.   Machiavelli's Prince pursued the "effective truth", ie abandoning the classical  duality of good and evil for "a by any means necessary" to achieve what is "good of the state" (and ultimately the Prince's ). Jagdeo was about the good of his pocket and like a sniveling conniving rat had his means to ends schema harmonized to what made him and his friends rich. 

Everything he did was to fill his pockets and that was often to the detriment of the state. Even the murders he delegated to RK was to preserve the PPP and not the state.  To do that in a Machiavellian sense would be to employ agency of state power to overcome impediments to the state's prosperity. He diminished the states authority in the process and initiated the undoing of the PPP.

Machiavelli's Prince was dedicated to state craft. This fellow was about jealousy, greed, vindictiveness a grasping rent seeking compulsion to personal self aggrandizement.

As an avid reader of Machiavelli, I wholeheartedly concur with your statement. I inartfully used the term "Machiavellian" giving the impression of this cretin as the ideal Machiavellian Prince, which he is not.

I meant that Jagdeo is Machiavellian in the modern everyday usage of the term as in being synonymous with ruthlessness. For example, he managed to neuter the rest of the PPP ExCo shortly after coming to power as well the official opposition. But alas, to no one's benefit but his own.

But to you point, he is no way near close to Machiavellian as Niccolo had conceived of the ideal. He's just a petty third world tin pot dictator of whom only the most base and bestial racist can be proud of.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

Is that not the point you pitiful idiot? How in the world did the Brahmin emerge   from that level miscegenation whole like Athena from the head of Zeus?

Are you talking to me or yugi? I think there must be some miscommunication here. I have never once claimed some pure lineage. On the contrary, I take pride in my particular distillation.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

Are you talking to me or yugi? I think there must be some miscommunication here. I have never once claimed some pure lineage. On the contrary, I take pride in my particular distillation.

Nah is not you, he used the words, "pitiful idiot" any guesses here?

Bingo!

Do you have to go reinvent Machiavelli?

Bingo!

Ditto!  But, him going back will be a disaster for the PPP.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Bingo!

Going back? He's still in charge. He's just not public about it.

Bingo!

The little man in yuh head told you so, I know.

yugi adores leaches.

Bhai

Yug Yug of course...just placed the quote on the wrong portion of the reply.

Do you have to go reinvent Machiavelli?

Only from your perspective....care to elaborate?

Jagdeo is the AFC's worst nightmare. He will CRUSH and DEMOLISH the AFC politically.

Go tell dat to de AFC people at Albion, who tell him' boat already gane fall' and fa him to head back to Unity, because he is not welcome in Berbice.

Is he still scratching he balls in public, the quality of good PPP leadership.

He screwed-up more youth in GY than any other past president, by his vulgarity and cuss-out.  Mutt and Jeff were trained by Jagdeo and do worse to young women, who went to apply for jobs.

The people will rememba on election day.  

Anyway Rook,

Yuji is headed off to business. Have a good day. See you later.

What an ego, just like the PPP !!

Originally Posted by Tola:

Go tell dat to de AFC people at Albion, who tell him' boat already gane fall' and fa him to head back to Unity, because he is not welcome in Berbice.

Is he still scratching he balls in public, the quality of good PPP leadership.

He screwed-up more youth in GY than any other past president, by his vulgarity and cuss-out.  Mutt and Jeff were trained by Jagdeo and do worse to young women, who went to apply for jobs.

The people will rememba on election day.  

AFC and their EIGHT supporters can lead a "massive" protest. 

Ha Ha !

Bingo!

Jagdeo's brain is not what dominates PPP party politics

it is stolen money folks; the NEPS have it . . . lots of it

this is his great 'achievement'

memo to the zero-sum ethnic triumphalist ignars who see in Jagdeo an avenging Indo-Burnham . . .  stolen Guyana is NOT being held in trust by the PPP tiefmen for y'all

think on it

Quite true.  Some find that exotic, and some find it degrading.  Be that as it may, but this is why aiming for some sort of monolithic ethnic identity in a multi cultural land isn't possible.  Those from our ancestral land(s) will never truly accept us as one of them.

Now does a Catholic suggest that you are preserving Indian culture?. Or just taking from the many cultural offerings available in Guyana, as occurs within a multi cultural society.

Quite true.  Some find that exotic, and some find it degrading.  Be that as it may, but this is why aiming for some sort of monolithic ethnic identity in a multi cultural land isn't possible.  Those from our ancestral land(s) will never truly accept us as one of them.

Now does a Catholic suggest that you are preserving Indian culture?. Or just taking from the many cultural offerings available in Guyana, as occurs within a multi cultural society.

I never once claimed that I or Guyanese Indos are some "pure" creatures unsullied by the mud of assimilation.

I personally happen to be the descendant of Hindus, Muslims, Biharis, Uttar Pradeshis, Tamils, Dalits, Brahmins, Ahirs, and British Whites. My father is lighter than many whites. My mother darker than many blacks.

From this mass we have shaped our identity which is a Guyanese one and a Guyanese Indian one. It is ironic that Guyanese Indians possess a pan-Indian identity that still doesn't exist in modern India. It is this construct along with our continuous living memory that I would not like to see extinguished for as long as possible.