What a turn out today at Narissa Palace, in excess of 350 people of all ethnic background showed up in Queens to welcome APNU David Granger and AFC Mr. Moses Nagamootoo.

As Mr Nagamootoo stated, all over the world it is a known fact that it is  the opposition that  picket Governments but today for the first time the PPP Government send their representatives to picket the opposition here in NY.

Whilst here were about 10 to 15 people milling around in the picket line outside inside was packed with long time PPP supporters.

I was especially happy to see our veteran PPP comrade and GNIer Churchill among the many  others. Also in attendance was Vishnu Mahadeo who is head of RHEDC and I must commend him for showing up..this speaks volume that now  the entire Richmondhill business community is with the APNU/AFC. 

It is the first time I heard Mr Granger and  in a very simple but firm tone laid down the reasons why it was necessary to have a Unity Government. As the MC reminded everyone at the end of the meeting, it is now our duty to spread the word, call 10 friends and family and ask them to vote for CHANGE AND THEN LET THEM CALL 10 OF THEIR FRIENDS AND FAMILY and ask them to do same.

Originally Posted by alena06:

The Guyanese ppl have already made up their minds.  GT folks will mostly vote for the coalition...Country folks are not giving up their cup...Campaigning in Queens is a waste of time.

Hope the above is not true and  the country folks vote for change.

APNU/AFC MUST STEP UP THE PACE IN THE COUNTRY . Thanks Alena.

Thanks for sharing your impression, chief.

APNU+AFC coalition is getting great reception everywhere, but one does not have to conclude that "PPP in Trouble" from this weekend alone.

The PPP was in trouble since last July when Moses Nagamootoo tabled the AFC no-confidence motion in parliament and immediately got APNU support.

Every move by the PPP since then showed a troubled party beset by panic, desperation and hysteria.

As I have said repeatedly here, PPP will lose the May 11 elections.

The Guyanese ppl have already made up their minds.  GT folks will mostly vote for the coalition...Country folks are not giving up their cup...Campaigning in Queens is a waste of time.

Hope the above is not true and  the country folks vote for change.

APNU/AFC MUST STEP UP THE PACE IN THE COUNTRY . Thanks Alena.

That is straight out of the horse's mouth in GY... PPP will be back for another 5 years...

Let's not sit on our laurels and say the PPP will loose.

Mr Granger said he was in the interior, it is important for Mr. Nagammootoo to take his message to every Indian dominated village and tell his story.

And indeed he should, but objectively the Indian numbers don't add up to guarantee the PPP the majority it craves.

I maintain the PPP will not get 100 percent Indian votes even in the rural areas.

Overall, the Indian segment of the population has shrunk to alarming proportion from a PPP perspective.

That is straight out of the horse's mouth in GY... PPP will be back for another 5 years...

Hello AFC/APNU SUPPORTERS listen to Alena, we have work to do!!!

There are horses and there are horses. There are favorites and there are longshots. There are winning horses and there are not winning horses. It depends on which horse's mouth you listen to. Earlier today I also listened to my usual "horses" in Guyana and they told me the PPP is in trouble indeed. Traditional supporters are not attending PPP public meetings as expected, and there are indications many will stay home on May 11.

Gilbacka stop the stupid predictions!!!

This past week we witnessed  all the pundits and polls proved wrong in the Israel elections.

Please if you guys sincerly want to see a new dawn in Guyana stoip this nonsense and go out and campaign, village by village, house by house!!

That's the only way APNY/AFC CAN WIN, NOT BY POLLS AND PREDICTIONS.

sTOP THE FOOLISHNES gILBACKA!!

This past week we witnessed  all the pundits and polls proved wrong in the Israel elections.

Please if you guys sincerly want to see a new dawn in Guyana stoip this nonsense and go out and campaign, village by village, house by house!!

Bhai, The man is a :Journalist:, listen to him.

After a full analysis of today's event, we will expose all the facts. First, the entire Richmond Hill business community is not with the coalition. That's false. I posted a video of RH business community expressed their dissatisfaction with APNU-AFC. The day after is better than today.

Are you saying that RHEDC DOES NOT HAVE THE SUPPORT OF THE BUSINESS COMMUNITY?

After a full analysis of today's event, we will expose all the facts. First, the entire Richmond Hill business community is not with the coalition. That's false. I posted a video of RH business community expressed their dissatisfaction with APNU-AFC. The day after is better than today.

Are you saying that RHEDC DOES NOT HAVE THE SUPPORT OF THE BUSINESS COMMUNITY?

Let us wait and hear from Vishnu rather than speculating or embarrass one self.

Chief, APNU+AFC has to campaign vigorously, village to village, door to door. No doubt about that. The coalition will not win hands down.

I maintain that if APNU+AFC can get out optimum voters on May 11, the PPP is history. Analysis of 2011 elections showed that APNU lost thousands of votes in South Georgetown because it didn't campaign strenuously enough there. This time APNU has ensured that it got South Georgetown voters registered and equipped with ID cards. AFC also stepped up similar work in Region 3. Last time the AFC focused mainly in Berbice. This time the AFC has a strong presence in Region 2/Essequibo too.

Chief, APNU+AFC has to campaign vigorously, village to village, door to door. No doubt about that. The coalition will not win hands down.

I maintain that if APNU+AFC can get out optimum voters on May 11, the PPP is history. Analysis of 2011 elections showed that APNU lost thousands of votes in South Georgetown because it didn't campaign strenuously enough there. This time APNU has ensured that it got South Georgetown voters registered and equipped with ID cards. AFC also stepped up similar work in Region 3. Last time the AFC focused mainly in Berbice. This time the AFC has a strong presence in Region 2/Essequibo too.

This type of information keep to yourself.

Do you think the PPP will be sleeping from now to elections?

The coalition is still not confident they can bring home the trophy despite all their rigorous campaigning. As of today, that is the message. 

You sure right!!

It's not over until it's over!!

I agree, Chief!  Everyone needs to show confidence of winning. The fat lady will sing on May 11th.

Sorry alena.  There is a momentum against the PPP which wasn't there last time.

What would have happened if Granger had gone into RH.  Not 350 people to welcome him.  And certainly not Nagamootoo, as he would have considered that career ending suicide.

Sorry to break it to you but for the FIRST time since 1953 this election is shaping up to be one between pro and anti incumbency forces.  Not between African and Indian, as has usually the case, even as recently as 2011.

The coalition is still not confident they can bring home the trophy despite all their rigorous campaigning. As of today, that is the message. 

You sure right!!

What gives me greater confidence is that the APNU AFC campaign in FINALLY coming together.  Both in Guyana and among Guyanese overseas.  In addition the coalition know that they must fight for every vote, and aren't leaving much for granted.

Their big project is to tear about that piece of nonsense called the voters' list which the PPP has manufactured with the pretense that 100,000 new voters suddenly materialized.

What is interesting is that people are caught up with momentum and the many who might have had their doubts about the coalition might jump on board.

Listening to the speeches as recorded at Nareesa, Granger and Nagamootoo aren't pretending as if risks of the coalition are low (sorry redux and stormborn). They seem aware of both the PRE and POST risks of the coalition, which means that they will be committed to mitigating this, rather than suggesting that to acknowledge these risks is "whining".

I feel confident that they will have a strong presence on election day.

MY prediction.  APNU AFC 51% PPP 48%.

.!!

I agree, Chief!  Everyone needs to show confidence of winning. The fat lady will sing on May 11th.

OH well the PPP lost then because they are surely not showing that they aren't in pure panic.

I can hear them at Freedom House tonight.  "You mean to tell me dat dem blasted chupid coolie people in Queens actually listening to dat black man and de neemakaram! Wha we gun do now, because you now dem people here does like fuh follow every ting dat dem people up dere does do?"

You sure right!!

What gives me greater confidence is that the APNU AFC campaign in FINALLY coming together.  Both in Guyana and among Guyanese overseas.  In addition the coalition know that they must fight for every vote, and aren't leaving much for granted.

Their big project is to tear about that piece of nonsense called the voters' list which the PPP has manufactured with the pretense that 100,000 new voters suddenly materialized.

What is interesting is that people are caught up with momentum and the many who might have had their doubts about the coalition might jump on board.

Listening to the speeches as recorded at Nareesa, Granger and Nagamootoo aren't pretending as if risks of the coalition are low (sorry redux and stormborn). They seem aware of both the PRE and POST risks of the coalition, which means that they will be committed to mitigating this, rather than suggesting that to acknowledge these risks is "whining".

I feel confident that they will have a strong presence on election day.

MY prediction.  APNU AFC 51% PPP 48%.

Yes the momentum is on the side of the Alliance. Momentum is crucial. My little sample if UG students (my little project of measuring the independents) are not fully convinced, but all of them said they are willing to vote alliance once they see the manifesto. In 2011 everyone stood firm! No one was even willing to consider voting out of the box.

I really do think that APNU AFC are FINALLY doing this. And not just on the coast, but in the interior too!

We will see what happens when they have their Berbice kick off meeting.  The AFC has to show NUMBERS, otherwise skepticism, and PPP mischief steps in.

What the AFC needs to do is to not only campaign but be SEEN to be campaigning.  They also need to inspire confidence that they have a plan to offset the PPPs Plan A, B,C, and D.   The stronger they look the more the PPP panics and the stiffer the challenges become.

This type of information keep to yourself.

Do you think the PPP will be sleeping from now to elections?

Actually they do need to let these basic campaign strategies out.  The biggest enemy that APNU AFC has is the skepticism which comes from the notion that the PPP "bound to win".

1.  It means that many in PNC strongholds clock out of voting, which they see as a waste of their time.  Signaling that a massive campaign will be undertaken to ensure that many of these people will be registered and encouraged to vote will inspire many to actually do that.  But it has to be boots on the ground.

2.  Many in PPP strongholds who are tired of the PPP, but scared to signal this, might begin to do so once they detect a momentum away from the PPP.  So yes the AFC must campaign in Regions 1-6, and not just 5 and 6 as they did last time.

3.  There is a focus on Amerindians, which is good, because the PPP offsets its poor performance among African/mixed voters by picking up maybe as many as 60-70% of the Amerindian votes.  Especially in Region 1 where they win almost all. Apparently Amerindians know that being offered to chain saws, when the local lands are handed to Chinese and Indians, is no good.

What APNU AFC need to keep secret are their plans to foil PPP attempts to rig the election.  And what their election day operations will be.  And how they plan to ensure that ballot boxes remain secure and that statement of pools are accurate.

But I want the PPP to be panicked because the more that they are the more that Jagdeo will scream the more that he loses the confidence that Ramotar is up to the task.

Hello AFC/APNU SUPPORTERS listen to Alena, we have work to do!!!

Now what the AFC needs to do is to expose the (Indian) business people who are now supporting them because of death threats that they have received from PPP connected rivals. 

Some people in Guyana increasing believe that they can do what ever they want, with no consequences, and their targets are no longer just poor powerless people.

You are better than D-G. Not only that you count beans but you read people's minds. Campaigning in the diaspora is not a waste of time. APNU-AFC does not have access to the treasury like the PPP/Crooks.

See, a campaign needs money to run, so the trip this weekend is to raise funds. NO one is campaigning in the USA. People wants to see the candidates and give money, so the candidates needs to make time and come to collect the FUNDS  to run the campaign. One business man alone give $100K, but he wanted to see the leaders. Another guy matched the funds raised, so the candidates need to make time. The folks in the USA are important. 

Nehru see the pictures for yourself and here what Brodaman is saying. there was no room to move, people like ants.

There are no overseas voting. Don't worry with the people; they just want a 10 seconds of fame. Are these people going to book a ticket and go vote in the elections? Money don't vote in elections; people do. We'll wait and see the results. I have heard all the arguments already.