Case and point, two idiots attacking the messenger rather than the message. hahahaha

unfortunately u have no "message" . . . only a goadie

sorry

More young people turning to sex work because of economic circumstances, says organisation helping sex workers

More and more young people are becoming involved in sex work especially ‘transactional sex’ because of poor economic circumstances, and instead of the authorities helping them to practise safe sex and provide alternatives they demonise them pushing them underground which will only increase the incidence of HIV and AIDS.

Miriam Edwards

This is the view  of Miriam Edwards  Executive Director of the Guyana Sex Work Coalition, who said she has been travelling throughout Guyana especially to remote areas and has seen the effects of poverty and other social ills.

Given this, she believes, more young women and men will continue to fall into sex work, especially transactional sex where young people do not go out onto the streets to solicit, but take on several partners in order to maintain themselves.

“If you can’t give them an alternative it ain’t mek no sense you push them underground; work with them. You might be surprised that they may change if you work along with them, tell them how to protect themselves, give them an alternative and try to help them in some way either to continue their education or something,” Edwards told the Sunday Stabroek in a recent interview.

She said that is the direction her work takes even though the coalition has financial constraints.

That being said Edwards made it clear that she is “terrible against” trafficking in persons, but if the sex worker goes into the lifestyle by choice or circumstances the authorities need to work with them “instead of harassing them, because you just pushing them to hide and do it…”

And when it was suggested that the young people should be told to abstain and not look at sex as a means of supporting themselves, Edwards quickly dismissed this saying that it is “stupidness” and that “when I talking, I talking about reality, things what happening.”

“You know some parents just waiting for deh children done school fuh leh a man come and tek them and give them some ease, because deh have more children to support,” Edwards said bluntly.

Case and point, two idiots attacking the messenger rather than the message. hahahaha

When the messenger is an ignoramus and their aim is to spread lies as you yourself said in another thread, it is our duty to put them in their place.

Ignoramus: A stupid person who is also an arsehole.

====

Bgurd replying to redux/TK:The after effects of PNC 28 years of mismanagement and subsequent mo fiah slow fiah of the the aFC/PNC opposition spilled over to the PPP years causing many to flee. When you folks burn, rape and rob, you drive away investors and jobs, so people were forced to go overseas to make a living. Now that the ppp have phantomized many of you trouble makers, the investors are slowly trickling back in and the people are finding jobs.  

Well said BGurd!

A lot of open-minded folks, individuals and investors, have envisioned the future of Guyana under the PPP---they optimistic about the country's future---travel across Guyana and you can feel the energy.

The terrorists in the AFC incited riots in Linden and agricloa last year---if a new group of Guyanese need to be "phantomized" it would be the terrorists who caused mayhem and deaths in Linden and Agricola.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

. . . The terrorists in the AFC incited riots in Linden and agricloa last year---if a new group of Guyanese need to be "phantomized" it would be the terrorists who caused mayhem and deaths in Linden and Agricola.

incitement to murder AFC principals [again], eh bai?

carry on

. . . The terrorists in the AFC incited riots in Linden and agricloa last year---if a new group of Guyanese need to be "phantomized" it would be the terrorists who caused mayhem and deaths in Linden and Agricola.

incitement to murder AFC principals [again], eh bai?

carry on

Bai, Rev has a low IQ. What can you expect from him?

In 2011, the University of Guyana churned out 1,500 graduates from its Turkeyen campus. There simply are not enough jobs out there to meet such a demand in the labour force. Rev, how many migrated since?

Guyana's most valuable resource is the mind of its citizens. UG and other learning institutions churns out graduates for the overseas markets. Look around the world and see Indian and many other nations that educate their citizens who later find opportunities overseas and send back remittance. This is the model that is tried and true. Guyana provides an important service to the Caribbean and North American with its human resource exports. hahahahaha

. . . Guyana provides an important service to the Caribbean and North American with its human resource exports. hahahahaha

yesss . . . it's a measure of your irrelevance that u find your own stupidity amusing

In 2011, the University of Guyana churned out 1,500 graduates from its Turkeyen campus. There simply are not enough jobs out there to meet such a demand in the labour force. Rev, how many migrated since?

Mitwah:

Half the students who graduated from American colleges last year couldn't find jobs or took jobs that underpaid.

Mitwah:

Half the students who graduated from American colleges last year couldn't find jobs or took jobs that underpaid.

Read the question again very slowly before you answer.