http://www.inewsguyana.com/ppp...abinet-appointments/

[www.inewsguyana.com] The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is accusing President David Granger of ‘cronyism and nepotism’ in light of several Cabinet appointees.

In a press release, the main opposition pointed out that while the APNU+AFC was in Opposition, they spoke publicly about nepotism, cronyism, corruption and the necessity for people’s participation in government.

“They sang these mantras to every media house. Just a few days into government and the nation is witnessing nepotism, cronyism, corruption and the failure to consult,” the release noted.

The PPP also criticized President Granger of renaming Ministries and the Convention Centre without consulting with the Guyanese people.

“Indeed, the citizens were not even offered the courtesy of an explanation for these changes. Ministers are appointed but their credentials remain a secret to the people whom they are appointed to serve.”‎

Additionally, the President is being chided for appointing his Son – in – Law, Dominic Gaskin as Minister of Business and Investment. It should be noted that Gaskin has been a member of the Alliance For Change (AFC) for many years.

“The cronyism and nepotism has begun from the very top. David Granger has appointed his son- in- law as Minister of Investment and Business. The nation has no clue what this portfolio entails. So once again, like Forbes Burnham we witness another President making his son-in-law a Minister. Noel Holder, an unknown political quantity but the husband of AFC Founding Member Sheila Holder, now deceased, is slated to be appointed Minister of Agriculture,” the PPP noted.‎

The Opposition says it now “await the voices of those members of civil society who proclaim themselves the watch dogs of democracy.”‎

Look who is talking. 

Jagan idiots juss won't go away.

201000 citizens voted and that is all these fools can say for them.

seige..i laughed when i read this,them bais just woke and know

the meaning of

cronyism and nepotism

Look who is talking. 

In the interest of the nation, we should listen and evaluate what they say.  I agree that the PPP seem to have displayed some of the said tendencies however, don't just dismiss everything they say.  We must keep guard that the new Govt don't "devolve" into the same.  Remember, corruption, nepotism, cronyism are a creeping phenomena and it must be thwarted before it becomes a self-serving malignant cancer.

Remember also, we were critical of the PPP of any family appointment, we should hold the new govt to the same standard.  Perception becomes reality.

If there are any faults of the questioned appointments, it is from the AFC.

Why they choose those individuals.

Why would you [fully] trust the AFC who also have their own "crony" agenda?  Why do you think the NY chapter virtually imploded?

Talk haff..leff haff.

Look who is talking. 

In the interest of the nation, we should listen and evaluate what they say.  I agree that the PPP seem to have displayed some of the said tendencies however, don't just dismiss everything they say.  We must keep guard that the new Govt don't "devolve" into the same.  Remember, corruption, nepotism, cronyism are a creeping phenomena and it must be thwarted before it becomes a self-serving malignant cancer.

Remember also, we were critical of the PPP of any family appointment, we should hold the new govt to the same standard.  Perception becomes reality.

I concur. Regardless which party is in power, the people must strive for good governance.

Same man go in, same man come out meh Neighba bin ah seh.  Son in law as Minister!!!  I want to hear from the Katahar Crew now. Dem mouth gun guh in dem kakahole now.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA.  OUR DEAR AND SWEET GUYANA NO MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!

CONSULTATION??  MR RAMOTAR, DICTATORS DONT CONSULT, THEY JUST ACT!!!   ABEE SWEET, SWEET GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For ah nation to go from "TO THE MOON" to "GONE TO CHANNA" in the space of 2 weeks means that it was never on strong footing...so one should surmise that things were so bad under your PPP that all it takes is a little shove to make it all collapse

This mean that all the nonsense yuh been spouting about "TO THE MOON" is jus nonsense

CONSULTATION??  MR RAMOTAR, DICTATORS DONT CONSULT, THEY JUST ACT!!!   ABEE SWEET, SWEET GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For ah nation to go from "TO THE MOON" to "GONE TO CHANNA" in the space of 2 weeks means that it was never on strong footing...so one should surmise that things were so bad under your PPP that all it takes is a little shove to make it all collapse

This mean that all the nonsense yuh been spouting about "TO THE MOON" is jus nonsense

Actually, the simple presence of the Opposition SHIT up the Place.

Nehru.. fooled us there was a launching pad now we find out

none exist.

I agree...the PPP does shit up de place

OPPOSITION TEK OVER, WAS A RIG ELECTION, REMEMBER.

Granger deserves the benefit of the doubt. This is a small country and Gaskin is an AFC executive and nominee not an APNU nominee.

I agree with you.  I don't mean the man was not deserving, just something to be cognizant of.  As long as there is full disclosure and there is no chain formation.  In addition, strong internal controls and independent oversight should be maintained because, as you said, Guyana is a small place.

I met Dominic and he was always forthcoming in who he is.

Who cares if President Granger appoints his wife, his daughters, his cousins, his sisters ? Once they are qualified for the job that's all that matters. The PPP should stop bellyaching and work on getting their house in order.

Come on Guys, It's ok when the PNC does it.  I told you they cannot be trusted.  They did what the PPP had done and they will do more of what the PPP did, but it's still ok for them. The Coolies are going to get their asses kick and they are going to blame the PPP for their predicaments. 

What else is new? 

Noel holder is a university graduate.   He can run the agriculture Ministry.

He is no Hamilton Greene.  It doesn't take any kind of brains to run the ministry. Pour $20 million into skeldon Sugar estate and the problem solved. 

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Who cares if President Granger appoints his wife, his daughters, his cousins, his sisters ? Once they are qualified for the job that's all that matters. The PPP should stop bellyaching and work on getting their house in order.

Banna, you like dough before it hit the oven.

* Dough has a nice aroma before the oven and an even greater aroma after the oven. But taste is something else before the oven---uneatable before oven---scrumptious after.

Most politicians are not good administrators. They may be good or bad politicians, and long on political rhetoric, but very short on administrative and business skills, and especially in Guyana. So while it is nice to reward your political comrades, we had better,if we want to clean house and move forward, implement a system, somewhat similar to the Americans where appointees to head Ministries are vetted by parliament and not simply given those positions because of party affiliations. We need a good crop of business minded technocrats who can advise the ruling political party.

Having said all of that, I do believe that nepotism is alive and well in Giuyana. Too many of the ruling party still have that embedded in them, and have been waiting for "we time". I hope, for the sake of the country, President Granger can restrain them. At the end of the day, I have to believe that we will all be happy if Guyana moves forward, not move forward because of the PPP, PNC/APNU, AFC, etc. What is the point if any of them is in power and nothing good gets done. Whichever gov't get to hold office, must be the gov't for all the people.

Insanity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. Have we not learnt anything from the mistakes of the PNC and PPP administrations. Do you not realize the implications of the optics of this on a divided country like Guyana? Do you want everything mired in nepotism and political cronyism again. I hope, not for the sake of the PPP, PNC, APNU, or AFC, that Granger is a man of his word, and can see the bigger picture. This is the only way forward, otherwise we will be right back where we started. We have wasted enough time.

Granger will stand by his word and fire those who cannot do their job, including the Prime Minister.  He doesn't have to worry about feeling Guilty.  He can always replace Moses with khemraj.  Khemraj now covets the Position. 

Let the games begin..

Granger will stand by his word and fire those who cannot do their job, including the Prime Minister.  He doesn't have to worry about feeling Guilty.  He can always replace Moses with khemraj.  Khemraj now covets the Position. 

Let the games begin..

How simpleminded, and if he does and 75% are Indians, alyuh gon jump up and cry racism.  Granger has to be methodical and ensure his actions are balanced in the broader context.

If he doesn't then he will be breaking his campaign promise. You cannot call a person a thief, and then turn back and start stealing yourself.  That's absurd.

Granger has 400 promises to fulfill.

If he doesn't then he will be breaking his campaign promise. You cannot call a person a thief, and then turn back and start stealing yourself.  That's absurd.

Granger has 400 promises to fulfill.

Correct, 400 promises and 4,000 priorities, many intertwined.  Sometimes, it's better to take lil longer and unravel a tight knot than to easily and quickly cut it loose.  When you cut and realize you made a mistake, you leff with white mouth.  When unraveled, you can always "reengage."

Look who is talking. 

The PPP will not be listened to until they get credibility.  AT this time they need to do some serious soul searching,  Admit that they were rejected by the population TWICE.  Seek to remove those responsible, get new leadership, and rebuild itself beyond its core Indian base.  The Amerindian base isn't theirs as these are bought votes.

Come on Guys, It's ok when the PNC does it.  I told you they cannot be trusted.  They did what the PPP had done and they will do more of what the PPP did, but it's still ok for them. The Coolies are going to get their asses kick and they are going to blame the PPP for their predicaments. 

What else is new? 

Sagiwang, Dominic Gaskin is an accomplished politician and AFC executive member. He was not part of the PNC like his father in law. Furthermore, he is the ONLY relative appointed. To suggest there is cronyism and nepotism afoot on a large scale is just pure bunk.

The PPP had ENTIRE FAMILIES on their payroll who had ZERO qualifications (see Alexei). And they even had the gall to tell us they were doing us a favor because they were treating the nation like a "family business". That you and the other antimen cannot see the difference between the coalition and the PPP is evidence of your stunted brain cells from imbibing too much liquor.

Granger deserves the benefit of the doubt. This is a small country and Gaskin is an AFC executive and nominee not an APNU nominee.

Why didnt you give nandlall the benefit of the doubt shitty?

Originally Posted by Franky:

Insanity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. Have we not learnt anything from the mistakes of the PNC and PPP administrations. Do you not realize the implications of the optics of this on a divided country like Guyana? Do you want everything mired in nepotism and political cronyism again. I hope, not for the sake of the PPP, PNC, APNU, or AFC, that Granger is a man of his word, and can see the bigger picture. This is the only way forward, otherwise we will be right back where we started. We have wasted enough time.

* The Rev maintains that if Granger's wife, daughters, sisters, etc, etc were QUALIFIED for a position then they ought to be hired.

* Read again---QUALIFIED!

* Granger appointed his son-in-law Dominic Gaskin as a Minister. You may claim bad "optics", but the Rev says if Gaskin is qualified, then by all means appoint him.

* By the way, from what I have heard and read, Gaskin is qualified to handle the post he has been appointed to.

* It is when family members are gifted with important positions they are not QUALIFIED to handle---that's when problems arise. For example, Alexi Ramotar was NOT QUALIFIED to handle the job he was given by his father.

Are you such a petty antiman that you engage in personal attacks just for the sake of personal attacks?

Here I am supporting the Government and you're behaving like I denied you your daily dose of d i c k.

Are you such a petty antiman that you engage in personal attacks just for the sake of personal attacks?

Here I am supporting the Government and you're behaving like I denied you your daily dose of d i c k.

Shitty no one getting personal wid you. Like yuh had a rough month.

You should get some bed rest.........

Rab Mukraj,

you need help. For an adult, you act like a child. An imbecilic child. You are truly one of them low class coolies who belong in the fish market.

Shaitaan switch sides.  He is looking  for a job with alliance. 

Cousin hamie wants people to clean the gutters. 

Shaitaan switch sides.  He is looking  for a job with alliance. 

Cousin hamie wants people to clean the gutters. 

Have you ever pondered the revolutionary idea that maybe I want to see a reformed PPP regardless of whether it won the election on May 11th? So we lost, now we fight for a decent clean nationalistic PPP cleansed of all its sins.

Are you so blinded by partisan extremism that you don't see why it's unhealthy for people to mindlessly oppose the Government just because they're the party you advocated against?

I will support the PNC whenever and wherever possible and oppose them wherever necessary.

Didn't you use to rail against the PNC Opposition for just opposing for the sake of opposing? Hypocrite much?

I neither seek any post whatsoever with the Coalition nor do I want one.