PPP will consider cash transfers to poor families

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
PPP’s General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo

– Jagdeo

THE People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) will consider targeted cash transfers to Guyanese from the oil and gas revenues, according to the party’s General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo.

“The PPP has to keep its mind open to any method that would reduce poverty, get more jobs to people, get more children to school, and getting the best quality education and healthcare, and in our manifesto we are going to be talking about conditional and targeted transfers to vulnerable groups right at the beginning,” Jagdeo said on Thursday at his weekly press conference.

He explained that single parents, the elderly and children, will be priority in such a cash transfer in a sustainable economy.

In underscoring how other countries do such, Jagdeo said that in Finland, a universal basic income helped with employment, reduce crime and target the elimination of poverty.
“This result has been mixed based on universal basic income. Alaska does this… every year people receive a cheque from a sum of money from a fund that they have because they produce oil, the things is that the sum varies, so if oil prices are high they may get a little more, and then it can go as low as US$700 a year if oil prices are low,” Jagdeo explained.
Alaska is a state in the US. “So they can spend as much US dollars as they wish without it having the effect of the Dutch disease and the biggest concern from developing countries is the change in relative prices because if you spend too much US$ in the economy the local currency appreciates and it kills off the productive sectors,” he said.

As such, Jagdeo said the macroeconomic impact on a smaller country is not the same.
“Brazil did some of this, they said poor families will get a cheque from the government, but only poor families, not everyone. The obligation that you have after receipt of the cheques is that the children must attend school,” he said.

He continued, “In Guyana without oil money coming in we started to introduce a more targeted approach that is where we said that the $10,000 was for the school children. This would have grown every year up to a maximum of $50,000 per child and that was even without oil money.”

The idea of direct cash transfers from the oil revenues to citizens was first put forward by Economist, Professor Clive Thomas, an executive member of the Working People’s Alliance.
However, Foreign Affairs Minister, Dr. Karen Cummings, recently told a news conference that the government is not immediately looking to give Guyanese handouts from the oil proceeds.

In fact, she made it clear that the government prefers to invest in education.

PPP virtually endorses WPA’s cash transfers to poor, needy; Hinds warns APNU of losing votes

The opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) on Thursday virtually endorsed the Working People’s Alliance’s (WPA) proposal of direct cash transfer of some projected oil revenues, but preferring to target the poor and needy instead of all just over 200,000 households across Guyana.

“In fact, in our manifesto, we are going to be talking about conditional transfers, targeted transfers to vulnerable groups right at the beginning. We have to help single parents, we have to help children, we have to help the older people first and as our capacity grows and we get more money – we constantly have to see that it’s sustainable though.

At the same time, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo appeared to leave room for any change of heart his PPP may have towards cash transfers if it wins the next general elections.

“We have to constantly see that whatever we do doesn’t cause us to be worse off than before and so we will keep an open mind to cash transfers to Guyanese. We would keep an open mind, look at it carefully and go through all the technical issues to see that you have enough money to actually do this and that it’s sustainable in the long term, that it doesn’t lead to the Dutch Disease (development of one sector at the risk of a decline in other sectors), that it doesn’t lead to killing of the work ethic and all of these issues,” he said.

Jagdeo also cast some doubt over Distinguished Economics Professor Clive Thomas’ forecast that Guyana would be able to set aside US$1.5 billion to US$2.5 billion annually for direct annual disbursements of US$5,000 per household pegged at US$70 per barrel of oil.

Thomas says he expects the cash transfer will come into being in 2025 but already, Jagdeo deemed as “unrealistic” the proposed disbursement because Guyana would earn a mere US$300 million annually for the next four years. Jagdeo also disagreed with Thomas’ calculation of 10 percent of oil revenues at 1.5 million barrels per day, saying that production would be achievable only after 2030.

“This narrative about this will change people’s lives from tomorrow or next year is a false one and they are only misleading people once again for political reasons because when the technical work – if you read what he said – when the technical work is done, it’s only upwards of 1.5 million,” Jagdeo said.

Professor Thomas has said cash transfers would have to take into account price fluctuations and it would not be indefinite.

The Opposition Leader’s seeming cautious endorsement of cash transfers has since triggered a warning by WPA executive member, Professor David Hinds to the governing coalition of A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) that they risk losing votes at the March 2, 2020 general elections. “I will go so far as to say that issue could be the difference between winning or losing for the Coalition. It would be suicidal for the Coalition to go an election in which the PPP endorses Cash Transfers and they don’t. With the PPP endorsing it, it becomes a top electoral issue,” said Hinds, a political science professor at Arizona State University.

The David Granger-led coalition has been less than enthusiastic about cash transfers, saying it would discourage people from being gainfully employed and instead dependent on handouts. President Granger is on record as saying that his priority is delivering high quality free education countrywide, not the provision of handouts.

However, Foreign Affairs Minister, Karen Cummings had said the Guyana government has been actively considering the WPA’s proposal, remarking that the Granger administration preferred to teach people to earn instead of giving them handouts. “We, of course, rather than giving a man a fish, teach him to fish.”

Chances are Hinds may stop supporting this initiative now that Jagdeo seems to support it. With both parties promising this and the PPP having a better record of delivering on their promises, this may not be a selling point for Hinds anymore. He may have to resort to their oldest trick of accusing the PPP of racism.

Ha Ha....like the hairless leader talking to Dr Hinds....after all.

He still wont get more Afro votes than Hinds.....lol

Listen dummy, if the PPP hand out gold nuggets to the Afros they will still vote PNC.  The average Guyanese knows that!  I doubt they have any high hopes there!

The proposal to make it conditional is necessary.  They should also look at some of the programs done in India to alleviate poverty in the villages.

In the end, it should not be allowed to become a permanent lifestyle choice!  

It was the PNC who jailed him (Hinds) for three years.

Noiw he happy kissing PNC ass. 

Hatred for Indians is more important than being in jail for 3 years.

lol

dave, kp . . . where are you and the other narco-prince-batty-licking spinning tops?

nehru, Skeldon_man mini me, billy ramgoat and baseman done mark their name pan this exquisite thread headed straight for ignar infamy

har har

lol

dave, kp . . . where are you and the other narco-prince-batty-licking spinning tops?

nehru, Skeldon_man mini me, billy ramgoat and baseman done mark their name pan this exquisite thread headed straight for ignar infamy

har har

Nah bai. I support doing something for the poor and needy.  Cash transfers with a plan for independence and sustainable living is not bad.

lol

har har

Nah bai. I support doing something for the poor and needy.  Cash transfers with a plan for independent living is not bad.

lol

har har

Nah bai. I support doing something for the poor and needy.  Cash transfers with a plan for independence and sustainable living is not bad.

Hinds is beginning to sweat bullets now that Jagdeo seems to support the handout idea. Hinds is fully aware that even blacks know that the PPP is much more reliable in keeping promises than the Coalition is so while blacks may not reward the PPP with votes for food and sport they already received, they may be inclined to sign on with their votes for food and sport they will continue receiving.

lol

har har

Nah bai. I support doing something for the poor and needy.  Cash transfers with a plan for independent living is not bad.

sir, is you who seh dis a few months ago:

"Economics of the lazy!"

when the WPA minista outlined the below position:

"Newly-appointed Public Service Minister, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley says she plans to take the positions of her party, the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), to Cabinet and among her priorities is cash-transfers from oil revenues to the working poor."

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/a...-create-jobs-a-moron

hmmm?

banna tek a seat, OK?

Wealth distribution to citizens is not a progressve solution. Guyana needs so many infra-structures in place. Ppl with money in their pockets with no medical facilities, no proper educational institutions, no educational programs geared to future needs as a Nation, no control of Disciplined Forces and a host of other things that a Developing country would need to provide for the coming generations.  

tell the bald head RAT, alyuh gawd, dat nah?

lol

har har

"Economics of the lazy!"

"Newly-appointed Public Service Minister, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley says she plans to take the positions of her party, the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), to Cabinet and among her priorities is cash-transfers from oil revenues to the working poor."

hmmm?

banna tek a seat, OK?

Yes.  Cash transfer without any plan in economics of the lazy.  I don’t support cash transfers as a permanent way of life.  

I support it on condition.  The WPA wants cash transfer as income.  The PNC rep at Globespan last week said cash in hands of poor will motivate them to become independent just like that.  I don’t agree. 

Cash transfers as a supplement while you go to skills training, etc is a good investment.   And I mean able bodied adults here!

BJ was more detailed and conditional on the issue. I have some agreement with that approach!

Banna gwan suh!

You start giving people cash in their hands, they will get lazy and would not want to work. Look at the public assistance in America. Some people think it an entitlement for them. 
Give the school children and elderly material support as they did before. Don't handout cash, it's a recipe for abuse and disaster. Disband the useless army! It's a burden on the taxpayers.

lol

har har

"Economics of the lazy!"

hmmm?

banna tek a seat, OK?

Yes.  Cash transfer without any plan in economics of the lazy.  I don’t support cash transfers as a permanent way of life.  

I support it on condition.  The WPA wants cash transfer as income.  The PNC rep at Globespan last week said cash in hands of poor will motivate them to become independent just like that.  I don’t agree. 

Cash transfers as a supplement while you go to skills training, etc is a good investment.   And I mean able bodied adults here!

BJ was more detailed and conditional on the issue. I have some agreement with that approach!

Banna gwan suh!

hmmm . . . what exactly was your issue with the WPA minister's statement in May of this year that compelled you to characterize it as "Economics of the lazy!"?

btw, for context, below is Jagdeo's "detailed" statement you holding up to the light and gushing over:

"THE People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) will consider targeted cash transfers to Guyanese from the oil and gas revenues, according to the party’s General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo.

“The PPP has to keep its mind open to any method that would reduce poverty, get more jobs to people, get more children to school, and getting the best quality education and healthcare, and in our manifesto we are going to be talking about conditional and targeted transfers to vulnerable groups right at the beginning,” Jagdeo said on Thursday at his weekly press conference.

He explained that single parents, the elderly and children, will be priority in such a cash transfer in a sustainable economy."

curious and curiouser

uh huh

Bruddah, unless is a black person talking to him. 

Yuh really tink Jagdeo have respect for Indians. His actions since CBJ made him a god (gawd) has been nothing about the rights of Indians-he uses them. Indian ppl to him are like condoms, discard after the fvck and he duz fvck dem. 

The thing is, Black folks thinks Jagdeo has indians in mind when all he needs is empowerment from them. After that, it is priviliged Indians and blacks who benefits.   

lol

har har

"Economics of the lazy!"

hmmm?

banna tek a seat, OK?

Banna gwan suh!

Exactly. Jagdeo is more thoughtful in his approach to this. Hinds on the other hand just threw this out there in an effort to buy votes not considering for one moment that he was cultivating a culture of laziness.

You start giving people cash in their hands, they will get lazy and would not want to work. Look at the public assistance in America. Some people think it an entitlement for them. 
Give the school children and elderly material support as they did before. Don't handout cash, it's a recipe for abuse and disaster. Disband the useless army! It's a burden on the taxpayers.

Leave all the vulnerable groups out.  They should be supported. 

When it comes to able bodied adults, that’s another matter. If someone has to take skills training and cannot work in the interim, then support payments are ok as long as they keep the training up, with a time span.  

Handouts without an end game is promoting laziness!

lol

har har

"Economics of the lazy!"

hmmm?

banna tek a seat, OK?

Banna gwan suh!

hmmm . . . what exactly was your issue with the WPA minister's statement in May of this year that compelled you to characterize it as "Economics of the lazy!"?

btw, for context, below is Jagdeo's "detailed" statement you holding up to the light and gushing over:

"THE People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) will consider targeted cash transfers to Guyanese from the oil and gas revenues, according to the party’s General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo.

He explained that single parents, the elderly and children, will be priority in such a cash transfer in a sustainable economy."

curious and curiouser

uh huh

Soo??

lol

har har

"Economics of the lazy!"

hmmm?

banna tek a seat, OK?

Banna gwan suh!

curious and curiouser

uh huh

Soo??

suh, yuh now frikem to lash dem multiple straw men you deployed to fool people about your little 'Bharat' dance, eh?

afraid of what might fall out nuh?

yessss . . . a 'shut down' SILENCE is better

lol

I saw nothing there that contradicts my position.  Why argue when I agree!

suuure

no shame in your GAME bai

borderline incoherent as is typical of polemics birthed in tribalism, and oftentimes crudely less-than-opaque in a pure political sense . . . but it must be working for you

so, at the end of the day, i can't knock yuh HUSTLE

carry on

When it comes to able bodied adults, that’s another matter. If someone has to take skills training and cannot work in the interim, then support payments are ok as long as they keep the training up, with a time span.  

Help the able-bodied bodies until they can find a job. Maybe some cash and subsistence support. Don't give them wholesale cash handouts. Look a the welfare system in America. Some people were born in the system, live thru the system, and die in the system. It's a cruel game.

WTR meh saying all diss time.  Yuh stupid or wah?

suuure

borderline incoherent as is typical of polemics birthed in tribalism, and oftentimes crudely less-than-opaque in a pure political sense . . . but it must be working for you

carry on

Hey banna, yuh empty.  Go get a hustle!

suuure

carry on

Hey banna, yuh empty.  Go get a hustle!

i must assume after all this that your 'position' on "handouts" is actually  CLOSER to President Granger's rather than the bald head wonder 'Dr' Jagdeo

nah suh bai?

lol

Help the able-bodied bodies until they can find a job. Maybe some cash and subsistence support. Don't give them wholesale cash handouts.

newsflash banna, that is actually President Granger's position in a nutshell

lol @ y'all 'confused' and STUPID tribals

The business man will smile going to the bank, these fellas don’t know about saving. 

The money will be spend on a pound of cheese, a bag of tennis roll, a bot of juice, Nike booths with matching pants, shirt and hats. 

these fellas don’t know about saving. 

The money will be spend on a pound of cheese, a bag of tennis roll, a bot of juice, Nike booths with matching pants, shirt and hats. 

suh . . . you support President Granger, rite?

mite i suggest you hussle go picket yuh bald head fearless leader pan the Freedom House throne for proposing such 'slackness'

lol