President Donald Ramotar has called a meeting with the parliamentary opposition representatives in the wake of the killing of three protesters in Linden on Wednesday.

Demerara Waves Online News was able to confirm that the APNU are represented by Opposition Leader David Granger, and MPs Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine and Joseph Harmon at Thursday's meeting being held at the Office of the President. 

The AFC officials at the 1.30 PM meeting are party leader and Speaker of the House Raphael Trotman, MP Cathy Hughes and executive members Gerhard Ramsaroop and Nigel Hughes.

Excerpts from Demerarawaves

Originally Posted by Conscience:

President Donald Ramotar has called a meeting with the parliamentary opposition representatives in the wake of the killing of three protesters in Linden on Wednesday.

Demerara Waves Online News was able to confirm that the APNU are represented by Opposition Leader David Granger, and MPs Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine and Joseph Harmon at Thursday's meeting being held at the Office of the President. 

The AFC officials at the 1.30 PM meeting are party leader and Speaker of the House Raphael Trotman, MP Cathy Hughes and executive members Gerhard Ramsaroop and Nigel Hughes.

Excerpts from Demerarawaves

I hope they ask for Rohee to go without relent. I also hope they ask those officers receive demerits and reprimands immediately to send a message that this should not happen again. Also, an independent commission is to be convened from the citizenry to examine what happened here to make sure it never happens again.

What a decent man. Jaggy would have kicked ass, LFSB would have sent in HoI.  Ramotar is a decent man.

That"decent" man did not care to console the family of the deceased. He is yet to open his mouth while having known for more than 24 hours of 4 citizens having died at the hands of the police.

What a decent man. Jaggy would have kicked ass, LFSB would have sent in HoI.  Ramotar is a decent man.

That"decent" man did not care to console the family of the deceased. He is yet to open his mouth while having known for more than 24 hours of 4 citizens having died at the hands of the police.

If you were capable of reading AND understanding you would not have made suah an IGNORANT and ILLITERATE statement.

dude, quit using "illiterate" when I am clearly writing to you.  Further, caps do not enhance writing or make its content more impactful. From you they simply serve to illustrate you are mentally handicapped.

You know full well the meeting was called so that when the opposition doesnt do what they PPP screams that they must do they can then shoot them as well.

The PPP has NEVER demonstrated a desire to listen to people.  They want to assemble people to tell them what to do.

You know full well the meeting was called so that when the opposition doesnt do what they PPP screams that they must do they can then shoot them as well.

The PPP has NEVER demonstrated a desire to listen to people. They want to assemble people to tell them what to do.

Sometimes, it's the way to go.

The PPP has NEVER demonstrated a desire to listen to people. They want to assemble people to tell them what to do.

Then if this is what the PPP wants what alternatives are there other than to "illegally" protest?  The PPP isnt serious about dialogue and people are tired of that.

"SOMETIMES"....the operative word.

So why your praises to Ramotar if you know he has no interest in listening.  Just ordering people around and wailing if they refuse to jump to his (Jaggy's) commands.

We may be on two different wave lengths.

Originally Posted by alena06:
It's ironic how Ramotar knows exactly who the culprits are and is trying to resolve this in a diplomatic way.  shame on the AFC, this is their demise!!

Ramotar should have allowed the people to proest and sat down with APNU and the AFC to discuss how and where this should be done.

They didnt and then shot and killed and injured people because black blood in Guyana is cheap.

Unfortunately this should have been done before he sent in his jackboots to crack open some skulls. 

The protest is not only about electricity rates but about 70% unemployment in Linden. All these people were asking for is dialogue by the government, taking a look at their plight, but the PPP will not even invest a little bit of time in this people since there are not too many votes to gain in Linden.

Originally Posted by God:

Unfortunately this should have been done before he sent in his jackboots to crack open some skulls. 

The protest is not only about electricity rates but about 70% unemployment in Linden. All these people were asking for is dialogue by the government, taking a look at their plight, but the PPP will not even invest a little bit of time in this people since there are not too many votes to gain in Linden.

Dialogue my ASS! Moses, GR, Nigel and ramjattan are TERRORISTS. Why are these Bastards in Parliament, how can to speak to THUGS. Take a look at the Tape provided yuh Harkatee DUNCE!!!

I don't expect that uncivilized savages like you would try to work out things via dialogue. Just send in the jackboots to do the job.

If anyone here is an UNCIVILISED JACKASS IS YOU. You jumping around like a Baboon on steroids.

I guess you haven't taken a good look in the mirror recently Ganga Hegg. You not only look like a retarded orangutan but the body odor you give off on the A train is very offensive.

JACKASSES like you I can deal with effortlessly, YOU SCUMBAG.

The sad thing is that there are no winners here, only losers. As Martin Carter says we are all involved. The gov't has to reassess its policies and if it were up to me I would ask Rohee to go. But the opposition cannot try to be holier than thou and say, " I told you so" because the opposition knows that Linden can be a powder keg and they played it to the hilt. They are as guilty as anyone else.

Oh Please, with your ten words vocabulary?

Which army and you?

Oh Please, with your ten words vocabulary?

Which army and you?

aRMY??huh

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

The sad thing is that there are no winners here, only losers. As Martin Carter says we are all involved. The gov't has to reassess its policies and if it were up to me I would ask Rohee to go. But the opposition cannot try to be holier than thou and say, " I told you so" because the opposition knows that Linden can be a powder keg and they played it to the hilt. They are as guilty as anyone else.

The opposition did not pull the trigger nor did they give the orders to shoot and kill.

People are allowed to protest but if you go in a democratic country and shout 'Fire' in a crowed place when there was none you could be charged. It's called being responsible. No one form Freedom House called the police and told them to shoot. This was a decision that was made on the spot and in a desperate situation. The story has three sides. 

You have ABSOLUTELY NO CLUE how to use this metaphor properly, eh?

But you bray anyway

smh

They didn't have to pull the trigger. It's called incitement. And you know it. 

In a democracy, people are allowed the right to protest but judging from the actions of the murderous PPP, one would never know this.

Protesters shot in the back running away from the police.

In a democratic country, you are obliged to pay your fair share of costs for services, not sponge off the rest of the nation.  You are free to protest, but not disrupt/obstruct the rest of the society, not damage or endanger property, life and limb, not attack and threaten security, etc, etc.

Democracy is not "anything goes", not the law of the jungle.  The security forces may have over-reacted but there were threatening, some radical, mobs which had significantly out numbered the forces.

The instigators should be made to account for their actions in a court of law.

In a democracy, people are allowed the right to protest but judging from the actions of the murderous PPP, one would never know this.

In a democratic country, you are obliged to pay your fair share of costs for services, not sponge off the rest of the nation.  You are free to protest, but not disrupt/obstruct the rest of the society, not damage or endanger property, life and limb, not attack and threaten security, etc, etc.

Democracy is not "anything goes", not the law of the jungle.  The security forces may have over-reacted but there were threatening, some radical, mobs which had significantly out numbered the forces.

The murderers and their handlers should also face the court if you really want to bring all parties to justice. Knowing you, only one segment of people are responsible.

In a democratic society, due process, an independent investigation and a grounded decision determines responsibility.  You are using the term "democratic" but proposing a dictatorial approach.

Rather than demagoguery, who don't you refute my points.

In a democratic society, due process, an independent investigation and a grounded decision determines responsibility.  You are using the term "democratic" but proposing a dictatorial approach.

Rather than demagoguery, who don't you refute my points.

I'm saying that the murderers and their handlers should ALSO face the courts. In your head, only one type of people are responsible. You give a free pass to the ones who actually pulled the triggers and their handlers. I'm asking for all parties to bear whatever responsibility is theirs. Choose which one sounds more democratic, but I don't expect you to see the difference with your blinders on Herr Basemann.