Guyanese living abroad will also be eligible to collect the $100,000 cash grant with the caveat that they have to be in Guyana for the registration process and be in possession of a national ID card or passport. Further the grant has to be uplifted in person in the form of cash or cheque, depending on their location here.

β€œThere is no residency requirement for the receipt of the cash grant. So that makes Guyanese living abroad who have an ID card or a passport also eligible for the cash grant,” Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday announced.

See Stabroek news.

@Mitwah posted:

Guyanese living abroad will also be eligible to collect the $100,000 cash grant with the caveat that they have to be in Guyana for the registration process and be in possession of a national ID card or passport. Further the grant has to be uplifted in person in the form of cash or cheque, depending on their location here.

β€œThere is no residency requirement for the receipt of the cash grant. So that makes Guyanese living abroad who have an ID card or a passport also eligible for the cash grant,” Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday announced.

See Stabroek news.

U going?? Lol

Many  folks from Cda r going to collect…smh

…that is like $500 US but airfare x 2 plus cost of passport n ID card…

SMH!!

I cant find my GY ID card n i got rid of passport since i became a Cdn citizen n got CdN passport 1998/99

Isnt  it better to give to the folks living in GY, rather than those living abroad who have not contributed to the country for decades n who live a comfortable life overseas esp inNA??

I have to wonder..wht’s the β€˜catch’ here ..looking for overseas voters??

Wht’s the logic?? Bribery? For support??

I left Gy in 1990 …

folks r there inGY sufferingn wrking hard , contributing to the citizens in GY..like Teachers, Nurses , Cops

recently teachers were on strike for higher wages!! Did they get the increase??

Im confused !!

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

U going?? Lol

Many  folks from Cda r going to collect…smh

…that is like $500 US but airfare x 2 plus cost of passport n ID card…

SMH!!

I cant find my GY ID card n i got rid of passport since i became a Cdn citizen n got CdN passport 1998/99

Isnt  it better to give to the folks living in GY, rather than those living abroad who have not contributed to the country for decades n who live a comfortable life overseas esp inNA??

I have to wonder..wht’s the β€˜catch’ here ..looking for overseas voters??

Wht’s the logic?? Bribery? For support??

I left Gy in 1990 …

folks r there inGY sufferingn wrking hard , contributing to the citizens in GY..like Teachers, Nurses , Cops

recently teachers were on strike for higher wages!! Did they get the increase??

Im confused !!

One has to be in Guyana to collect his or her cheque.

So 100,000 Guyanese$  is equivalent to $630.CDN. My flight is about $958.CDN plus hotel and food and ground transportation.

I have my old red ID card and my Guyana passport has been expired for about 40+ years now, which I understand could take over 2 years to renew.

I see Uncle Rama missing. Wonder if he gone already?

@Mitwah posted:

So 100,000 Guyanese$  is equivalent to $630.CDN. My flight is about $958.CDN plus hotel and food and ground transportation.

I have my old red ID card and my Guyana passport has been expired for about 40+ years now, which I understand could take over 2 years to renew.

I know plenty who r going for the few $$ lol

smh!1..maybe they have valid PP n ID card!!

if not then itis 2 trips, not 1..

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I don't don't need money or handouts. I am a self-sufficient person.