So we have a truly interesting political evolution in Guyana. A group of young professionals in and out of Guyana have decided to form an alliance with Brig. David Granger and APNU. Time will tell whether this evolution can become a revolution. They have their Facebook page. Several letters appeared in today's columns showing the hands of the people behind this movement. Here is the FB page: https://www.facebook.com/pro.guyana.1?fref=ts

TK, So you and Granger gun give dem Guyanese people MO FIAH SLO FIAH.

Time for a fresh start

SEPTEMBER 25, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

All well-thinking and law abiding Guyanese should be very angry with President Ramotar and by extension the Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee, and the ruling PPP cabal in their weak, inept and feeble attempts to reduce the horrible crime wave in Guyana.

The citizens irrespective of their political affiliation must join together in condemnation of this regime because crimes affect all. The armed bandits do not discriminate based on party affiliation.
The spate of armed robberies, murders and the many banditry gangs are segments of the much wider and deeper problem of disorder and economic inequity in society and lack of jobs for the youths—all of which are poisoning and sapping the confidence of the good and decent citizens of Guyana. The PPP regime has done absolutely nothing of substance to reduce crime and protect the people. It appears as though Rohee and the PPP cabal are in la la land.
According to the media, long before the police had finished investigating two murders in the city, another triple murder had taken place — the victims including two businessmen on the Corentyne and the other in the nation’s capital.
And even as those investigations were on going, the police were engaged in a gun battle on the West Coast Demerara which left a young man dead. And recently, it was revealed that a police rank from the tactical squad was murdered. Is the cabal blind and deaf that they cannot read and see what is going on?
On the Corentyne, which was once a haven of peace and tranquility, Berbicians are quaking following the murder by armed robbers of yet another member of that community. This time a rice farmer was robbed and killed and his wife severely beaten as they relaxed at home listening to music in their hammock.
All across Guyana the fear factor is going through the roof—stretched thin by the woefully inadequate personnel and material resources of the police as they struggle to contain violent crimes. This suggests that the PPP cabal does not care about the people because of their unyielding position not to deal effectively with crime and the skyrocketing murder rate.
This corrupt and uncaring regime does not understand the depth and extent of the crime problem. The importance of life and law and order must come first in any society if that society is to become productive.

Guyanese from every nook and cranny of the country are suffering from the fear factor of crime. They cower every time they hear the gunshots at nights. When will the PPP deal with a problem that is undermining the very fabric of the nation?
How can the PPP spend the taxpayers’ money to build the Marriott Hotel and to pay Nascimento to tell tales on television but not provide the police with adequate resources to fight crime?

The exciting mega projects aimed at breathing new life in Guyana’s economy will not work if evil men armed with guns continue to maraud the way they do now. It is time for a fresh start in Guyana and it should be based on “National Unity and Human Development which is currently advocated by David Granger, Joseph Harmon and others in APNU. This means that there is renewed hope for a new direction for Guyana.

Dr. Asquith Rose

TK, So you and Granger gun give dem Guyanese people MO FIAH SLO FIAH.

President Hoyte hanged most of the House of Israel thugs. Those still alive have found a welcoming home in the PPP of Jagdeo/Ramotar/Irfan/Roger Lunch/Roger Khan/Robert/Rohee/Brassington. Have a nice day. 

Mark Da Costa: "As the PPP/C continues to flout Guyana's laws including the Constitution, chosing instead to govern by whim, I hope leaders are prepared for the inevitable reaction of Guyanese citizens.

The ruling party shows no inclination to obey the law. Their refusal to move on the establishment of a Public Procurement Commission, Integrity Commission and Office of the Ombudsman, as required by the constitution are but a few examples.

Moreover, the PPP/C appears to be making up their own rules instead of following statutes. What is the next step, ruling by decree?

The President asserts that he needs a certificate of assent from the Attorney General before signing bills into law. Where did this idea come from? On what law is it based? Did the PPP/C make up that term "certificate of assent?" I never heard it before.

Surely, the PPP/C cannot expect Guyanese to accept this relentless slide into total autocratic government by decree. The PPP/C cannot think that the representatives of the Guyanese majority, namely; the parliamentary opposition will lie down and do nothing.

Inevitably, the citizens of Guyana must take a stand to end the increasingly dictatorial actions of the ruling party. I hope that PPP/C leaders are paying attention and taking note. When the people of Guyana finally decide we can take no more. When we get up and take action, the PPP/C will have no one to blame but themselves." 

------Source: taken from Pro-Guyana Facebook page. 

Mark Da Costa: "As the PPP/C continues to flout Guyana's laws including the Constitution, chosing instead to govern by whim, I hope leaders are prepared for the inevitable reaction of Guyanese citizens.

The ruling party shows no inclination to obey the law. Their refusal to move on the establishment of a Public Procurement Commission, Integrity Commission and Office of the Ombudsman, as required by the constitution are but a few examples.

Moreover, the PPP/C appears to be making up their own rules instead of following statutes. What is the next step, ruling by decree?

The President asserts that he needs a certificate of assent from the Attorney General before signing bills into law. Where did this idea come from? On what law is it based? Did the PPP/C make up that term "certificate of assent?" I never heard it before.

Surely, the PPP/C cannot expect Guyanese to accept this relentless slide into total autocratic government by decree. The PPP/C cannot think that the representatives of the Guyanese majority, namely; the parliamentary opposition will lie down and do nothing.

Inevitably, the citizens of Guyana must take a stand to end the increasingly dictatorial actions of the ruling party. I hope that PPP/C leaders are paying attention and taking note. When the people of Guyana finally decide we can take no more. When we get up and take action, the PPP/C will have no one to blame but themselves." 

HEHEHE GOTAY DHAL and BREW SNAKEOIL.

In the absence of constitutional reform democratic turnover is the best way to bring about national healing

Posted By Staff Writer On September 25, 2013 @ 5:04 am In Letters |

Dear Editor,

Please allow me to respond to Mr F Skinner’s letter of September 12, 2013. Mr Skinner – who by the way is one of my favourite commentators in the letter columns – makes the point that since the AFC did not commit the mistakes to the level of the PPP and PNC, it is entitled to our support. These errors are small potatoes according to Mr Skinner. The letter, however, misses a more complex dilemma in which the AFC operates. Its problems are much deeper than the Amaila issue.

The margin of mistakes the third party is allowed to make is very thin in an ethnically divided society such as Guyana.  All the good moves and intentions of the third party can be wiped out by one big mistake or several smaller ones. Its support is very adversely responsive on the downside but not so favourably responsive on the upside.

The reason for this is the perennial dilemma in which the third party operates. The hardcore base of the PPP might want to vote for the AFC but it is not sure how the hardcore base of APNU will vote. Similarly, the hardcore base of APNU might want to vote for AFC but they are not certain how the hardcore base of the PPP will vote. Voting takes place in a secret ballot and therefore there is uncertainty with respect to how the other person will vote. They therefore vote for their respective parties, leaving out the third party most times. What I have described here is the classic prisoners’ dilemma problem to which the AFC will soon have to face up for the betterment of Guyana.  This dilemma does not only hold in Guyana. It is relevant to the liberal-conservative relationship in the US. This is why Mr Ralph Nader or Mr Ron Paul could never win an election there.

When faced with this constraint, the third party has to demonstrate leadership certainty at the top. It has to appear like it can govern. To this end, it needs internal structures to minimise large and small errors because it would be punished severely on the downside. Its leaders must be full time as part-time politicians will never be able to build up a serious third force. The leadership must be aware of the perceptions of the people, particularly the ethnic fears. The leaders must be committed to building a mass party. The third party needs a shadow cabinet and so on.

Even with these factors in place the upside gains of the third party might not be that great given the straightjacket of the prisoners’ dilemma. In the 2011 election the AFC did a remarkable thing by helping to deny the PPP a majority. APNU did the same by increasing its votes. This returned some level of democracy to Guyana. In my opinion, November 2011 is more auspicious than October 5, 1992.

With the serious constraints the AFC faces, it is unlikely to grow to become a mass party. I do not expect the AFC to lose its seven seats. But the AFC can play a bigger role for the people of Guyana. The Guyanese population has undergone structural changes. This change is enough to deny the PPP the majority permanently. With the exception of the Indigenous votes, the Guyanese population is close to Trinidad and Tobago’s. That means there is a large enough group of voters who are willing to swing to the party with the best message and the most credible leader.

However, if the third party stands by itself it does not mean it can get these voters because many of them are also facing the dilemma on the day of secret ballot. The AFC leadership would do the nation a great service by helping to form a unified opposition. They should ensure democratic turnover like there is in Trinidad and Tobago. The government changes in that country but the sky does not fall down. Indo and Afro Trinidadians live well together in a small piece of land. Mr Moses Nagamootoo, for example, could take his immense political capital and deploy such to the effort of democratic turnover.

In the absence of constitutional reform, which I greatly support (and APNU leads the way here), democratic turnover is the best way to bring about healing. No single group will say it cannot win the election because the electoral calculus is against it. Moreover, democratic turnover removes the complacency of the leaders. They will always face the uncertainty of losing an election. I am convinced this is the way to go in the absence of constitutional reform.

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

That is your daily mantra and I don't buy it. You must make statement when you're willing to back it up with hard facts. 

The FACTS are low lying Buxton spice mangoes. Reach out and taste them. Free your soul from dishonesty and treachery. 

You need to look in the Mirror. You bareface NEEMAAAAKAAAARAM!!!

In the absence of constitutional reform democratic turnover is the best way to bring about national healing

Dear Editor,

Please allow me to respond to Mr F Skinner’s letter of September 12, 2013. Mr Skinner – who by the way is one of my favourite commentators in the letter columns – makes the point that since the AFC did not commit the mistakes to the level of the PPP and PNC, it is entitled to our support. These errors are small potatoes according to Mr Skinner. The letter, however, misses a more complex dilemma in which the AFC operates. Its problems are much deeper than the Amaila issue.

The margin of mistakes the third party is allowed to make is very thin in an ethnically divided society such as Guyana.  All the good moves and intentions of the third party can be wiped out by one big mistake or several smaller ones. Its support is very adversely responsive on the downside but not so favourably responsive on the upside.

The reason for this is the perennial dilemma in which the third party operates. The hardcore base of the PPP might want to vote for the AFC but it is not sure how the hardcore base of APNU will vote. Similarly, the hardcore base of APNU might want to vote for AFC but they are not certain how the hardcore base of the PPP will vote. Voting takes place in a secret ballot and therefore there is uncertainty with respect to how the other person will vote. They therefore vote for their respective parties, leaving out the third party most times. What I have described here is the classic prisoners’ dilemma problem to which the AFC will soon have to face up for the betterment of Guyana.  This dilemma does not only hold in Guyana. It is relevant to the liberal-conservative relationship in the US. This is why Mr Ralph Nader or Mr Ron Paul could never win an election there.

When faced with this constraint, the third party has to demonstrate leadership certainty at the top. It has to appear like it can govern. To this end, it needs internal structures to minimise large and small errors because it would be punished severely on the downside. Its leaders must be full time as part-time politicians will never be able to build up a serious third force. The leadership must be aware of the perceptions of the people, particularly the ethnic fears. The leaders must be committed to building a mass party. The third party needs a shadow cabinet and so on.

Even with these factors in place the upside gains of the third party might not be that great given the straightjacket of the prisoners’ dilemma. In the 2011 election the AFC did a remarkable thing by helping to deny the PPP a majority. APNU did the same by increasing its votes. This returned some level of democracy to Guyana. In my opinion, November 2011 is more auspicious than October 5, 1992.

With the serious constraints the AFC faces, it is unlikely to grow to become a mass party. I do not expect the AFC to lose its seven seats. But the AFC can play a bigger role for the people of Guyana. The Guyanese population has undergone structural changes. This change is enough to deny the PPP the majority permanently. With the exception of the Indigenous votes, the Guyanese population is close to Trinidad and Tobago’s. That means there is a large enough group of voters who are willing to swing to the party with the best message and the most credible leader.

However, if the third party stands by itself it does not mean it can get these voters because many of them are also facing the dilemma on the day of secret ballot. The AFC leadership would do the nation a great service by helping to form a unified opposition. They should ensure democratic turnover like there is in Trinidad and Tobago. The government changes in that country but the sky does not fall down. Indo and Afro Trinidadians live well together in a small piece of land. Mr Moses Nagamootoo, for example, could take his immense political capital and deploy such to the effort of democratic turnover.

In the absence of constitutional reform, which I greatly support (and APNU leads the way here), democratic turnover is the best way to bring about healing. No single group will say it cannot win the election because the electoral calculus is against it. Moreover, democratic turnover removes the complacency of the leaders. They will always face the uncertainty of losing an election. I am convinced this is the way to go in the absence of constitutional reform.

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

I'll give you credit to believe in TK and his contribution to APNU. I will also give you until December 2014 to discuss his success with APNU if you're still around. At that time, we will look at damages, he hoped to cause AFC by encouraging more members to leave that party. By then, the PPP will only have two years to demit office if they're not re-elected. In the meantime, we can disagree respectfully.

Dr Khemraj: "They should ensure democratic turnover like there is in Trinidad and Tobago. The government changes in that country but the sky does not fall down. Indo and Afro Trinidadians live well together in a small piece of land."

This makes perfect sense to me, my mamoo, my father and my former UG friends. 

That is your daily mantra and I don't buy it. You must make statement when you're willing to back it up with hard facts. 

The FACTS are low lying Buxton spice mangoes. Reach out and taste them. Free your soul from dishonesty and treachery. 

As a Hindu I am ashamed every time you post here.  

Dem Gals at gaumont gat more SHAME than you. You are a brazen, SHAMELESS Hoe You do it bright Day time

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

TK is no fool. He is implicitly calling on other AFC members to join him and jump over to the PNC. Let's see how it unfolds. This academic is fighting a losing battle, first with his own conscience.

Dem Gals at gaumont gat more SHAME than you. You are a brazen, SHAMELESS Hoe You do it bright Day time

At Gaumont, yuh keep yuh pants on?

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

TK is no fool. He is implicitly calling on other AFC members to join him and jump over to the PNC. Let's see how it unfolds. This academic is fighting a losing battle, first with his own conscience.

One of our GNI resident would say: Interesting times ahead!  

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

Tarron Khemraj can continue to move through the political organisations.

However, he has no clout/effect to change the voters' views in Guyana.

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

These katahars are like a chicken without heads.  The PNC pull wool over their eyes in that last election, conned them into splitting the Indian vote, such fools, now he say the PNC is what Guyana needs.  Guyana needs the PNC/GDF combination like we need lil nerve gas.  I have never come across such dumb asses, stupid imbiciles.

What 'democratic turnover' is TK talking about? The vote to get G ranger as leader was rigged. That is why the Alexander faction lost out. The PNC remains a divided party with Greenidge and the rest going their separate ways. How will TK fit in this set up? The PNC is not the place for him. But this guy is a political novice wanting to butter his bread at any cost. In a few months he will keep running again.    

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

And your point is?

What 'democratic turnover' is TK talking about? The vote to get G ranger as leader was rigged. That is why the Alexander faction lost out. The PNC remains a divided party with Greenidge and the rest going their separate ways. How will TK fit in this set up? The PNC is not the place for him. But this guy is a political novice wanting to butter his bread at any cost. In a few months he will keep running again.    

I like how you're trying to get away from the rigged PPP Congress. 

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

These katahars are like a chicken without heads.  The PNC pull wool over their eyes in that last election, conned them into splitting the Indian vote, such fools, now he say the PNC is what Guyana needs.  Guyana needs the PNC/GDF combination like we need lil nerve gas.  I have never come across such dumb asses, stupid imbiciles.

And you are?

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

And your point is?

Hopefully, you might overcome the extremely long path to gain an understanding of issues.

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

And your point is?

Hopefully, you might overcome the extremely long path to gain an understanding of issues.

I am sorry Mr Demerara_Guy but you are not writing sense. Please write sensible prose. Thank you. 

Yours faithfully,
Tarron Khemraj

And you are?

Baseman, the anti-kataher.

Any movement involving the APNU and Granger(the old guards of the PNC), can not be construed as progressive. Even the second rate prof TK can acknowledge this. That fool is too young to understand the destruction endured under the PNC, that is why he jump fence and now send his alter ego JB to sell the APNU here. He will get no sympathy nor support here except from the pedophile crew led by Mitjuanita, second by Worrier and cochaired by Jaliki.  

Mr Khemraj did not send me to to sell APNU. My family voted AFC. We are following this development keenly. We are Pro-Guyana. When Mr Khemraj writes something many people read. Do you even read anything Mr BGurd? 

Baseman, why do you speak of your dear Mom & Dad like this with such a shitty batty smile? They were forced to support Burnham.

Mr Khemraj did not send me to to sell APNU. My family voted AFC. We are following this development keenly. We are Pro-Guyana. When Mr Khemraj writes something many people read. Do you even read anything Mr BGurd? 

It depends on the content, what your alter ego TK writes is nonsense. That is why he is stuck in a university teaching and is not an economist of any substance. You know the saying, those who fail in the real world become teachers.

Harry Gill should also call on the PPP to apologise to Guyana

SEPTEMBER 26, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

I write in response to Mr Harry Gill’s letter, “Granger has accomplished nothing for those who voted for him,” (KN-9-23-13), in which he referred to my view that the PNC should apologise to all Guyanese for its role in the Cold War in the 1960s and he declared that Brigadier Granger would never apologise.

I respect Mr Gill’s opinion; after all he had firsthand experience a few years ago when he supported Mr Winston Murray for leadership of the PNC and when his group had on its agenda an apology by the PNC for its excesses during its 28-year reign.
Then Mr Gill had not only the interest of the PNC at heart, but indeed that of all Guyanese.

Back then he thought as a Guyanese patriot who wanted to see the healing process started, he wanted national reconciliation, and he wanted national unity.  Mr Gill must surely be applauded for his sincere concern for all Guyanese. However, after Mr Murray’s untimely departure from this world, Mr Gill switched allegiance to the PPP and there ended his interest in solving our ethnic security dilemma.

I say ended because since his support for the PPP, Mr Gill has not called on that party to apologise to all Guyanese for the fatal consequences of taking us into the Cold War.

Surely the PPP must take the lion’s share of the blame for the racial divisions. Were it not for the PPP’s championing of communism there would have been no 28 years of PNC rule.

And Mr Gill should know that the PPP wanted the PNC to set up a Soviet and Cuban-style state and as he would know in those countries there were no opposition parties, no elections, no private ownership, no freedom. There was dictatorship and poverty. So we should say thank God the PNC allowed us the many freedoms it did.

And speaking of freedoms, I wonder what freedom has the PPP and President Ramotar given to Mr Gill. I mean with Brigadier Granger I am free to express my views even when they differ from his.

I am free to openly criticize APNU, PNC, and the Opposition Leader, and I have done that in the recent past. I wonder if Mr Gill can openly criticize the PPP and President Ramotar. If so, I am challenging Mr Gill to publicly call on the PPP to apologise to the Guyanese people for the atrocities of the 1960s as the first step towards national reconciliation.

Malcolm Harripaul

Well said!

It depends on the content, what your alter ego TK writes is nonsense. That is why he is stuck in a university teaching and is not an economist of any substance. You know the saying, those who fail in the real world become teachers.

If you can show me your credentials I would be willing to take note of what you and people like Rev write. Why hide under unknown handles? What is there to hide? Ashamed of your life failures?