Originally posted by Sunil:

How does the towel face one eat her food ? Big Grin

Sunil, some time last year I witnessed a women dressed like her eating at a food court in downtown Toronto. She raised a spoonful of food up to her neck, lifted the veil, deposited the food into her mouth, and dropped the veil. After chewing and swallowing that portion behind the veil, she repeated the process until her plate was empty. Needless to say, I was not the only one observing her with curiosity.
One word of advice, Sunil: Please refrain from using the term "towel face." It is offensive to Arabs.
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
Sunil: Please refrain from using the term "towel face." It is offensive to Arabs.

Bookman, Queen Rania is a contemporary Arab woman that I admire along with Shieka Moza. The towel face ones can kiss my azz. I have no problem with the hijab or burkha many of which are very colourful and well embroided.
Sunil
Originally posted by Riya:

My grandmother in Guyana used to wear some kind of handkerchief on her head like most old Indian women at that time, I forgot what its called Big Grin

Its call a rumal, both of my grandmothers wore them

And they took great pride in them. They were not shabbily put together. cheers

Originally posted by Bookman:
Sunil: Please refrain from using the term "towel face." It is offensive to Arabs.

Bookman, Queen Rania is a contemporary Arab woman that I admire along with Shieka Moza. The towel face ones can kiss my azz. I have no problem with the hijab or burkha many of which are very colourful and well embroided.

Indeed Queen Rania should be admired for charitable work,THE JORDAN RIVER FOUNDATION among others
But I do sense some underlying animosity for those as you put it"towel face",
were you hurt that badly to become such a Bad Azz" Red Face
there is an advantage for being a towel face, when you are eating you don't need to look for one.

Guyana towel is called Rumal they were mostly White But on special Occasions the ladies wore the multi colour Madrass Rumal... HANG LOOSE
Originally posted by ksazma:
Originally posted by Riya:

My grandmother in Guyana used to wear some kind of handkerchief on her head like most old Indian women at that time, I forgot what its called Big Grin

Its call a rumal, both of my grandmothers wore them

And they took great pride in them. They were not shabbily put together. cheers

My mother wore a Madrass rumal like this, does it have a link with Madras, India.
Originally posted by ksazma:
The towel face ones can kiss my azz.

Why?

Does covering your face up make you more "spiritual" than others? Religion should be about about comes out of your heart rather than vain tradition of men. That also goes for Christian nuns and monks who lock themselves up in a mountain somewhere thinking it will get them closer to God, maybe it will for them but serves no useful purpose to any other member of society. Some foolish nuns even stop speaking for years.
Sunil
Originally posted by Bash:
]

Indeed Queen Rania should be admired for charitable work,THE JORDAN RIVER FOUNDATION among others
there is an advantage for being a towel face, when you are eating you don't need to look for one.

Not amimosity. We have a problem in London esp. in the Muslim community of Tower Hamlets where the women in full niquab frequently shout abuses to fellow Muslim women in Western dress, whom they regard as little more than prostitutes judging from the language used. Even the guys are urged to dress like Pakistani men, grow their beard and a new trend is to dye it red because the prophet supposedly had a red beard. As you can see from the photos, both Rania and Mozah can be elegant and dress modestly, that does not make them less Muslim than a woman in a burkha.
Sunil
Does covering your face up make you more "spiritual" than others? Religion should be about about comes out of your heart rather than vain tradition of men. That also goes for Christian nuns and monks who lock themselves up in a mountain somewhere thinking it will get them closer to God, maybe it will for them but serves no useful purpose to any other member of society. Some foolish nuns even stop speaking for years.

Actually it has nothing to do with being spiritual at all as highlighted in your following post to Bash. Being spiritual is not limited to being Muslim or any other religion or no religion at all. Anyone can be spiritual or not regardless of their religious affiliation or no religion at all. They are trying to emulate what they think is a practice of the wives of the prophet. I don't think the niqaab or hijab as we know it today is a requirement. Hijab does not have to look like an arab style as so many people today thinks.
Originally posted by Bash:
]

Not amimosity. We have a problem in London esp. in the Muslim community of Tower Hamlets where the women in full niquab frequently shout abuses to fellow Muslim women in Western dress, whom they regard as little more than prostitutes judging from the language used. Even the guys are urged to dress like Pakistani men, grow their beard and a new trend is to dye it red because the prophet supposedly had a red beard. As you can see from the photos, both Rania and Mozah can be elegant and dress modestly, that does not make them less Muslim than a woman in a burkha.

yuh gon have the GNI Taliban on yuh azz Big Grin Big Grin

This makes more sense. Many of these types are who give good Muslims a bad name. Ironically they are too absorbed with the outer aspects of Muhammad that they have no time to reflect on his inner ones. They red beard looks ridiculous if you ask me. And to throw insults at others is exactly what they spend so much times complaining about when others insult them.
Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by Tola:
Originally posted by Mara:
Originally posted by Tola:

My mother wore a Madrass rumal like this, does it have a link with Madras, India.

Precisely why it is called a Madras rumal.

Thanks Mara, you can never tell . cheers

Oh rass Tola wah wrong with you eh? He just did. Big Grin

Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin