Canje made up of many villages, but the village of "Bananan Land" is where my question comes in. There were talks in recent days over the correct spelling and how the name of the village came about.

I once thought the name is "Banana Land" as in the fruit that we eat. Someone said it was "Banana(n) Land." Others suggest the name came about because the land was filled with bushes and abandoned for many years. The idea of "bandin as in bushes" and "abandon as in no mans land," that's how the name came about. I would appreciate if someone with knowledge of Canje can come forward and authenticate the history of Bananan land.

Originally posted by Riya:
Originally posted by Churchill:

In West Canje we have Vryheid,Sandforte,etc.....

what about Locaber..not sure of the spelling

Locaber is Dutch....that entire West Canje area was once dominated by Dutch settlers....many of the vilages are still in existence.....there was a Dutch penal settlement on the plot of land that is now occupied by the Berbice Educational Institute....the remains of an old Dutch well can be seen behind the bushes....
Originally posted by Chief:

And that's a dutch name.

and almost certain it's the only village with a dutch name. West Canje have a couple...I think.

Ok Meisha.

Chief I think you are referring to Maida which is on the East Bank of Berbice heading towards Mara....
Locaber is Dutch....that entire West Canje area was once dominated by Dutch settlers....many of the vilages are still in existence.....there was a Dutch penal settlement on the plot of land that is now occupied by the Berbice Educational Institute....the remains of an old Dutch well can be seen behind the bushes....

I didn't know that about the well near BEI. That must have drawn a lot of curious students. what's a penal settlement?

In the old days a penal settlement was a confined area away from the population where prisoners engage in farming and other productive activities....the settlement in question produced a lot of beef,milk,vegetables and fruits for the population and military....the prisoners used to water their cows in a trench across from the Vryheid public road hence according to folkyore the name Cow Dam came about......

you do learn something every day...never heard of penal settlement and in the process I learn how Cow Dam got its name. Fantastic! Thanks, Churchill

It used to be that stretch of land on the LH side when you come down the bridge towards NA and across from BMH. Wink I met Zab a week ago. He looks great.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
Originally posted by Alexander:
Mits, you met Zab? He had some beautiful daughters. What happened to Rajmahal?

Wood ants got the better of it. I met the retired Dispenser too. Suh you know Canje peeps?

Leh we hear the woodants story nuh.
Is where so got dis here woodants? Sounds painful.