Originally Posted by Miraver:

I think if you post the info where to send donations, GNIers might contribute. Hope Mr. T. is reading

I always worried why I have received no invitations from muslim friends to come for a meal at their place. The disclosure that you can only feed believers was previously unknown to me. Quite a shock.

Originally Posted by TI:
Originally Posted by Villagebelle:

I don't know how anyone can eat a lot of food after breaking Fast.  After day 10 my stomach has shrunk so much that i eat a half of dinner i usually do.  I just don't like being too full and uncomfortable to go pray Taraweeh.

Miraver.....I know a couple who did a simple Nikkah during Ramadaan.  was just them and the Imaam in a room (2nd marriage both of them and that's all they wanted). It was done right after the Magrib Prayer.

Honeymoon after Isha?

100% approved and lawful!

Villagebelle

Mir,

I do not know where Pointy sees any significant amount of food that warrants a soup kitchen.

I think we need to be specific, are you speaking about private Iftars at homes or Iftars at Masjids?

I am very much  involved in the process of feeding at my Masjid and I can tell you we know exactly how much food to prepare on a daily average, of course weekends are more. If bad weather comes around t hats the only time food is left over.

Go to masjid Al abidin on any given night at least 2 coolers of rice is left over and is not used again.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Pointblank, thanks for the detailed response. Why don't people take the food home from the masjids? Why not place leftovers in the fridge?

Regarding zakaat, I asked Chief if non-muslims can receive it. What's your feedback?

In my opinion The Masajid should just provide dates and water/tea/coffee to break the fast and we should go home and have dinner.

The amount of food being leftover every night shoul someone take home every night they would have to buy a special freezer to store the food.

I suggested for many years for the masjid to make arrangements with the shelters but the problem is when the people take out to take home only rice is left. All the curry gone.

you cannot give zakaat to Non muslim except in a case where they are inclined to accept Islam Allah says in Al Quraan "and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam)"

PB, I commend you for your suggestion to the masjid to take leftover food to the shelter. You and I know that one of the goals of Ramadan is to get an understanding of the needs of the less fortunate who go hungry. If some of the fortunate faithful take away the curry and leave plain rice behind, are they really thinking of those in need? Or, is it simply greed? Maybe there ought to be more kutbahs on this topic, not as a chastisement, but to appeal to the hearts of those who think of their own bellies and their wallets. 

Regarding zakaat, you cited scripture and I appreciate this. What about the plight of humanity? Why only reach out to those who have an inclination to accept Islam? Can this ruling change?

Thanks again for taking the time to respond, PB.

We are allowed to help anyone and it is called Sadaqa translated as charity. Zakaat is for the people I mentiones earlier.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Stinger:
No one educated enuff to speak about de 16 hr fasting day huh Jus as I suspect

....especially the impact it would have on the body's response to producing sugar, and hence the effect on pre-diabetic and diabetic folks. Good aspect of this thread for people to weigh in on....

Kari the sick is exempt from fasting.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by TI:

I will send a link to his blog later. I have to run off to a meeting with the architect. Hope Chiefy and PB donating to the new building

Which one of the MAsjid, Abidin, 211 St, Abu Ubaidah?

Ubaidah

So when you bros plan to start?

They have some stalwarts at Abidin maybe you can seek their assistance.

Pointblank

....especially the impact it would have on the body's response to producing sugar, and hence the effect on pre-diabetic and diabetic folks. Good aspect of this thread for people to weigh in on....

Kari the sick is exempt from fasting.

I thought Kari was a big time mullah. The man can't be unaware of this!

Originally Posted by TI:

I will send a link to his blog later. I have to run off to a meeting with the architect. Hope Chiefy and PB donating to the new building

Which one of the MAsjid, Abidin, 211 St, Abu Ubaidah?

Ubaidah

So when you bros plan to start?

They have some stalwarts at Abidin maybe you can seek their assistance.

Already in motion. Waiting on city for final approval.

Mir,

I do not know where Pointy sees any significant amount of food that warrants a soup kitchen.

I think we need to be specific, are you speaking about private Iftars at homes or Iftars at Masjids?

I am very much  involved in the process of feeding at my Masjid and I can tell you we know exactly how much food to prepare on a daily average, of course weekends are more. If bad weather comes around t hats the only time food is left over.

Go to masjid Al abidin on any given night at least 2 coolers of rice is left over and is not used again.

So is 2 coolers of rice you all want to give to soup kitchen?

Simple solution ask Omeel to cook less rice.

By PB: Go to masjid Al abidin on any given night at least 2 coolers of rice is left over and is not used again.

By Chief: So is 2 coolers of rice you all want to give to soup kitchen?

Simple solution ask Omeel to cook less rice.

Hmmmm...let me see here- even if Omeel cook less rice there will still be some leftover. Remember, the people take home only curry, not rice. :-)

PB, I commend you for your suggestion to the masjid to take leftover food to the shelter. You and I know that one of the goals of Ramadan is to get an understanding of the needs of the less fortunate who go hungry. If some of the fortunate faithful take away the curry and leave plain rice behind, are they really thinking of those in need? Or, is it simply greed? Maybe there ought to be more kutbahs on this topic, not as a chastisement, but to appeal to the hearts of those who think of their own bellies and their wallets. 

Regarding zakaat, you cited scripture and I appreciate this. What about the plight of humanity? Why only reach out to those who have an inclination to accept Islam? Can this ruling change?

Thanks again for taking the time to respond, PB.

We are allowed to help anyone and it is called Sadaqa translated as charity. Zakaat is for the people I mentiones earlier.

Thanks, PB.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I think if you post the info where to send donations, GNIers might contribute. Hope Mr. T. is reading

I always worried why I have received no invitations from muslim friends to come for a meal at their place. The disclosure that you can only feed believers was previously unknown to me. Quite a shock.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Mr. Tee, Mr. Tee, Mr. Tee!

Where did you come across the disclosure that Muslims can only feed believers? 

I suppose that you have invited your Muslim friends over for a bite and there was no reciprocity toward you.

If I were you, I'll get to the root of the lack of invitation and all the worrying will be cleared up.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Mr. Tee, Mr. Tee, Mr. Tee!

Where did you come across the disclosure that Muslims can only feed believers? 

I suppose that you have invited your Muslim friends over for a bite and there was no reciprocity toward you.

If I were you, I'll get to the root of the lack of invitation and all the worrying will be cleared up.

Allah says in Al Quraan "and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam)"

So if you are not inclined towards Islam you are not welcome..

Bai Terry I had no such problems in Guyana and Suriname. As you know we celebrate just about anything with anyone. They are also the only country where you can buy halal alcohol. Souther Comfort is kosher by the way .

But outside of the above country it seems to be a closed shop kind of religious practice.

bai..they turn Arabs once they leave Guyana and Suriname

Having read all the posts in this important thread started by Miraver, I'm more informed about what Muslims can and cannot do during the holy month of Ramadan.

What confounds me, however, is why Muslims are slaughtering fellow Muslims in Syria during this holy month. Why couldn't there be a truce during Ramadan? I feel Muslims shouldn't kill fellow believers ever, more so during this period.

That is a good question that most Muslims wont answer.

Islam may be a peaceful religion but many followers are not. Islam has a violent history after the prophet died. The lust for power and wealth far supersedes religious ideals that many profess. Add poverty, ignorance, illiteracy, and manipulation, and you can expect anything to happen.  

Having read all the posts in this important thread started by Miraver, I'm more informed about what Muslims can and cannot do during the holy month of Ramadan.

What confounds me, however, is why Muslims are slaughtering fellow Muslims in Syria during this holy month. Why couldn't there be a truce during Ramadan? I feel Muslims shouldn't kill fellow believers ever, more so during this period.

Why you go till to Syria. This afternoon for Iftar at a Masjid in Manhattan blows pass like first time all because a man jumped the food line. Police had to be called in, what a shame!

I tried to find out who caused the problem but everyone speaking in their native tongue from French to Hindi to Urdu to some African dialect to Bengalu, Bannas up to now I am confused.

ALL i KNOW BIG FIGHT BEFORE AND AFTER THE SALAAT.

Why you go till to Syria. This afternoon for Iftar at a Masjid in Manhattan blows pass like first time all because a man jumped the food line. Police had to be called in, what a shame!

I tried to find out who caused the problem but everyone speaking in their native tongue from French to Hindi to Urdu to some African dialect to Bengalu, Bannas up to now I am confused.

ALL i KNOW BIG FIGHT BEFORE AND AFTER THE SALAAT.

Where is the self-restraint that's being practiced this month? It is evident that the "line jumper" and the "faithful in waiting" need more practice. Or, did everyone's blood sugar level drop? Once again, this brings to mind the proverb, "a hungry man is an angry man". 

One thing I know for sure about myself, I get very fussy when I'm hungry. I almost threw a tantrum recently for food:-)

I'd like someone educated enuff explain or give me a good reason for a sixteen hr fastin period Where is Khaleel when yuh need him No blind ignorant man or woman need replyin

Hmmmâ€ĶI am not blind, but might be ignorant (the definition of ignorant being, “does not know"). We don’t grow/learn unless we take risks and chances. So Stinger, here is me taking a risk in an attempt to respond to your query and hoping that I don’t get eaten too badly

From the little I know, fasting is one of the five pillars of Islam and some Muslims feel that they must do this. The Muslim calendar is a lunar calendar so the fasting times change each year; some years the days are longer and others shorter. Some Muslims might see this as a balance. Fasting is not mandatory for certain groups of people so at some point, some may be exempt or make themselves fall into one of these groups-

(1) Pregnant women

(2) Nursing mothers

(3) Menstruating women

(4) Travelers

(5) Those who are sick

(6) Those who suffer from mental illness

I hope that someone from the ummah can come in and respond

Something is not right here with this. The creator must have known that some parts of earth would have 20 - 24 hours and 0-2 hrs for fasting depending on the time of Ramadan. Fake religion,  revelation my foot, me thinks

I guess fullahs measure a days length differently than non fullahs, cause no day this past month has been 16 hr long Nice attempt MiraVer but I ain't buyin it Btw, I'm not disputing fasting is a pillar of Islam I jus dont buy dis Baddo story bout 16 hr day

That was my attempt to generate more responses to your question!

If anyone wants to know what I edited in my post above, it was just a smiley face.

I'd like someone educated enuff explain or give me a good reason for a sixteen hr fastin period Where is Khaleel when yuh need him No blind ignorant man or woman need replyin

Hmmmâ€ĶI am not blind, but might be ignorant (the definition of ignorant being, “does not know"). We don’t grow/learn unless we take risks and chances. So Stinger, here is me taking a risk in an attempt to respond to your query and hoping that I don’t get eaten too badly

From the little I know, fasting is one of the five pillars of Islam and some Muslims feel that they must do this. The Muslim calendar is a lunar calendar so the fasting times change each year; some years the days are longer and others shorter. Some Muslims might see this as a balance. Fasting is not mandatory for certain groups of people so at some point, some may be exempt or make themselves fall into one of these groups-

(1) Pregnant women

(2) Nursing mothers

(3) Menstruating women

(4) Travelers

(5) Those who are sick

the lunar year drifts with respects to the seasons and this drift moves the equinoxes out of sync some 11 days in the lunar calendar. It is not shorter or longer days but differences with lunar year and solar year and consequent drift of the seasons. Solar calender is organized to synchronize with the seasons and enable a sameness in the periodicity in human events. Jews also use the lunar calendar but they harmonize with the solar calendar  year by adding leap months

(1) Pregnant women

(2) Nursing mothers

(3) Menstruating women

(4) Travelers

(5) Those who are sick

you are on point numbers 1-4 have to make up the fast when they can but before the next ramadan. 

Number 5 if the illness is temporary they have to make up the fast.  If it is long term or if they fast they will become ill or more ill then they are exempt and they must pay the equivalent of one meal for each day of the month to a needy person.

number 6 is exempt period.

Pointblank
Originally Posted by TI:

TI, I will look out for your posting of the link. I assume the new bldg you're talking about is a masjid. You seem to be a big shot- running off to meeting with an architect. PB and Chief, take note

Here is the link to the blog

http://imamhamid.wordpress.com/