After write-offs the debt left by the PNC was US$525M while the PPP/C has borrowed US$1.218B in 20 years
Dear Editor
Finance Minister, Dr Ashni Singh, has attempted to deflect from the telling growth in the National Debt in three months. The PPP acquired US$2.1 billion in debt from the PNC. It got about 75% written off leaving it with US$525M in debt. In the past 20 years to March 31, 2012 the PPP has borrowed US$1.218 billion in debt. The PNC borrowed anywhere from US$800 million to US$1 billion at most in 28 years, but got hammered by interest and penalties for defaulting on its debt, leading to a total debt of US$2.1 billion by 1992. In typical puerile, nonsensical and Pavlovian fashion, Dr Singh did what he and the rest of those trained in the great propaganda institution within Freedom House do, by spitting out figures from 1992 when the PNC left power. Well, this sordid exercise is getting soiled and tired. Every single Guyanese who lived during that time knows that story. They know the PNC was an economic failure. But we are not living in 1992. We are not incurring debt in 1992, we are incurring debt today. What we borrow in 2012 has nothing to do with what we borrowed in 1992. They are two separate loans borrowed by two separate governments. This recurring blame of the PNC’s errors is hypocritical and ludicrous especially since the PPP used this same blame game against the PNC in achieving all those incredible write-offs of US$1.575 billion in debt. Indeed, the PPP rightly cried to the creditors that it was not their problem and that the PNC created this mess, and was pitied. So, to come here and try this pitiable game when it benefited from it exposes the PPP for the shameful entity it has become.
Twenty years is a long enough time and the PPP can now only be compared to itself.
Dr Singh conveniently ignores in his comparison that in the last two years of PNC rule after Hoyte converted the economy to the model the PPP has inherited and now operates today, the PNC achieved GDP 6.8% annual growth. Dr Singh ignores the fact that by the end of the Cold War in the early 1990s, nearly three-quarters of the world’s economy was devastated, crippled with high debt levels. Most of those nations in Guyana’s shoes have outstripped Guyana in growth and in debt management. Dr Singh refuses to compare Guyana’s debt to similar economies to see how much of a disaster this debt will become. I am increasingly finding these de-contextualized ramblings tedious and boring. The bottom line here is the PNC left the PPP with US$525 million in debt after write-offs, and the PPP has borrowed, on its own, US$1.218 billion in debt in 20 years. The issue here is that in three months from January 1, 2012 to March 31, 2012, the PPP borrowed a staggering US$500 million.
Aren’t the people of this country supposed to be deeply worried when a government slapped by that same electorate with a minority government for its corruption and fiscal irresponsibility just a few months before still goes on a squandering borrowing spree? Isn’t the Guyanese nation to be concerned that the PPP borrowed half a billion US dollars in just three months and we do not know where this money went? Isn’t Dr Singh off in the depths of the deep end when he quite facetiously tries to defend the PPP’s borrowing without even offering a clue as to where that half a billion US dollars went and what the debt is today? If by March 31, 2012 Guyana was US$1.743 billion in debt, surely we are now at least US$2 billion in debt.
The Finance Minister wants us, in juvenile fashion, to forget what we borrowed last year and contemplate what we borrowed 20 years ago. Dr Singh forgets to tell us that our debt to GDP ratio was 47% on December 31, 2011 and jumped to 64% by March 31, 2012. If we are presently at the US$2 billion debt mark, it means that ratio is now 71% and heading in the disastrously wrong direction. Why hasn’t Dr Singh mentioned that in one year that ratio has increased an alarming 24%?
Even worse, this is frightening because of what is to come. We have at least US$1 billion from the Amaila Falls hydro project, US$130 million from the Timehri airport extension, the US$17 million Indian specialty hospital and the US$50 million Marriott where tens of millions of US dollars of taxpayers’ money may have been expended. This is not even counting what borrowing frenzy the PPP will go on closer to the election to operate white elephant projects in an effort to try to buy voters with their own money. When we add this up, we could potentially be looking at US$3.5 billion or more in debt by the 2016 election. At this rate, our debt to GDP ratio could exceed 100% by 2016. If there is ever another commodity bust on the world market causing prices to fall, our commodity-driven primary-production economy will be battered. Add the expected appreciation of the Chinese yuan in the future and these loans will become costlier.
What Dr Singh is not telling Guyanese is the fact that debt relief and write-offs will not be forthcoming to Guyana after it squandered the relief provided by the Paris Club and rich nations. There is nothing wrong in borrowing to fund development, but where has the PPP spent US$1.5 billion it has borrowed in the past 20 years when it has fewer sectors to fund due to privatization? It has mostly patched infrastructure the PNC built brand new, as opposed to building much anew and has handled the most revenues and export earnings of any government since independence. All evidence points to a minimal or possibly negative return on that borrowing, made worse when Guyanese labour cannot be hired to build those projects. A lot of this borrowed money is stolen, squandered and mismanaged. We, the Guyanese people and our children and their children will have to repay it.
Yours faithfully,
    M Maxwell

Hahahahah

http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/

U.S. NATIONAL DEBT CLOCK

The Outstanding Public Debt as of 15 Feb 2013 at 12:45:08 PM GMT is:

$ 1 6 , 5 3 0 , 4 8 1 , 1 6 6 , 9 0 5 . 7 7

The estimated population of the United States is 314,427,849
soeach citizen's share of this debt is $52,573.21.

Hahahahah

U.S. NATIONAL DEBT CLOCK

Your village is NJ has reported it's idiot is missing.  

Hahahahah

U.S. NATIONAL DEBT CLOCK

Typical doomsday predictor. ahahhahha

Hahahahah

U.S. NATIONAL DEBT CLOCK

apparently you missed out on the lesson beaten into rev on the subject here: https://guyana.crowdstack.io/displayF.../309227366756023704/

your antiman style with the garish numbas is similar . . . so read, and learn to THINK outside your ass for a change

Hahahahah

U.S. NATIONAL DEBT CLOCK

Typical doomsday predictor. ahahhahha

You are an ignoramus. When you get your head out of your poop shoot, come again.

N*GGER INDIANS LIKE MITWAH & pathetic AFROS LIKE LETTER WRITER MAXWELL ARE DYING FOR THE PNC TO RETURN TO POWER AND RUIN GUYANA AGAIN

CHECK THIS FOLKS:

* When the PPP took over in 1992, 90% of government revenues was used to service debt obligations; Today only 9% of government revenues is used to service debt.

* The public debt debt assumed by the PPP has been put to good use--Guyana has seen better roads, bridges, drainage, irrigation, water supply, sanitation---more improvements to come.

GUYANA VS USA--debt per citizen

* Debt per US citizen as Bgurd pointed out is $52,573.21; Debt per Guyanese citizen is only $2226(US).

* Guyana needs more credit based capital(debt) to grow and develop and experience real expansion---the US has maxed out---more debt will not contribute to real expansion.

BOTTOM LINE:

N*gger Indians like Mitwah and the losers supporting the AFC/PNC like writer Maxwell can bawl and scream all they want---but Guyana is growing, developing and prospering under the PPP---real expansion on the way in Guyana.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

N*GGER INDIANS LIKE MITWAH & pathetic AFROS LIKE LETTER WRITER MAXWELL ARE DYING FOR THE PNC TO RETURN TO POWER AND RUIN GUYANA AGAIN

CHECK THIS FOLKS:

* When the PPP took over in 1992, 90% of government revenues was used to service debt obligations; Today only 9% of government revenues is used to service debt.

* The public debt debt assumed by the PPP has been put to good use--Guyana has seen better roads, bridges, drainage, irrigation, water supply, sanitation---more improvements to come.

* Debt per US citizen as Bgurd pointed out is $52,573.21; Debt per Guyanese citizen is only $2226(US).

* Guyana needs more credit based capital(debt) to grow and develop and experience real expansion---the US has maxed out---more debt will not contribute to real expansion.

BOTTOM LINE:

N*gger Indians like Mitwah and the losers supporting the AFC/PNC like writer Maxwell can bawl and scream all they want---but Guyana is growing, developing and prospering under the PPP---real expansion on the way in Guyana.

Your mother never called me a N i g ger Indian.  Why do you?

CHECK THIS FOLKS:

BOTTOM LINE:

He is a senior member of the PPP posting out of GT. 

Originally Posted by TK:

CHECK THIS FOLKS:

BOTTOM LINE:

He is a senior member of the PPP posting out of GT. 

He is a queer. He enjoys getting down on his knees.

five? different colors by rev in a nonsense post so that he can scream "N*GGER"!!

must be matching up with the Friday sari and high heels

THat his typical MO to distract and detract from the main issue at hand. He is quite hollow..  his use of  colours indicates his feminine attributes.

PAGING ALL GNI READERS:

Those of us who love the country we were born in and want to see it grow and prosper, even if we no longer live there, we feel a deep sense of pride and joy when we read positive news coming out of Guyana.

On the other hand, there are some who wish that Guyana be ruined and bankrupted as long as the PPP is in power.

* It's the N*GGER INDIANS who come here daily and badmouth Guyana and the PPP.

* The N*GGER INDIANS hate and despise the PPP and are longing for the PNC to return to power.

* N*GGER INDIANS are a wicked people. They are right here on this thread.

. . . * It's the N*GGER INDIANS who come here daily and badmouth Guyana and the PPP.

* The N*GGER INDIANS hate and despise the PPP and are longing for the PNC to return to power.

3 times? why not shoot for 4? . . . hell, giwee 10 more screams of "N*GGER" deh bai

u feelin the thrill in that special place yet?

RE: GUYANA'S 1.7 BILLION PUBLIC DEBT

Listen folks!

Guyana is now in the boost phase of its development---and in this boost phase credit based capital(debt) is needed---both in the public and private sector.

With only 9% of government revenues being used to service public debt obligations the government can assume more debt.

Listen folks!

Guyana is now in the boost phase of its development---and in this boost phase credit based capital(debt) is needed---both in the public and private sector.

With only 9% of government revenues being used to service public debt obligations the government can assume more debt.

The 9% assumes that GDP is US$2.8 bill. The growth rates don't add up. 

. . . * It's the N*GGER INDIANS who come here daily and badmouth Guyana and the PPP.

threads like this one should be required reading in every Guyanese household . . . to remind folks of the moral degenerates who populate [and speak for?] today's PPP

Originally Posted by TK:
====

TK:

If Minister of Finance Ashni Singh says the GDP is $2.8B, then that's what it is.

You are a political LOSER---a 3rd rate/3cents economist in Florida---you wanted Ashni's position but your party(AFC) was rejected outright by the Guyanese people---the AFC received only 10.3% of the votes.

So TK you can keep bawling and screaming about the veracity of the $2.8b GDP number----LOSERS LOVE TO COMPLAIN, CONDEMN and CRITICIZE.

BOTTOM LINE:

Guyana is on its way to achieving real growth and real expansion under the PPP.

Originally Posted by TK:
====

TK:

If Minister of Finance Ashni Singh says the GDP is $2.8B, then that's what it is.

=======

Hehe...not only are you a rabid racist you are thoroughly brainwashed also. Must be that very low IQ or yours. 

PAGING ALL GNI READERS:

Those of us who love the country we were born in and want to see it grow and prosper, even if we no longer live there, we feel a deep sense of pride and joy when we read positive news coming out of Guyana.

On the other hand, there are some who wish that Guyana be ruined and bankrupted as long as the PPP is in power.

Rev de Queer

Tell us what Kwame give you for your valentine. You got a lot of N igguh in you rear end deh bwoy.

Originally Posted by TK:

===

Must be that very low IQ or yours. 

HA HA HA HA

TK bai:

You are a graduate of that glorified high school--UG

When you talk about low IQ---you are talking about yourself.lol

Listen Queer Rev, who is feeding you this kind of poop in your head for you come here and spew your filth?

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

If I can comfortably pay my 2 million dollar mortage on my properties and you cannot meet your $50 monthly minimum payment on your credit card who is in better financial shape?

Billy:

That's a great question---great point!

Don't expect UG graduate TK to respond----that loser will keep bawling about the veracity of the Guyana $2.8 GDP number.

First TK was making noise about the PetroCarribe debt---the Minister of Finance has cleared that up---so now loser TK is making noise about the $2.8B GDP numbers.

QUESTION TO PONDER

Why is more debt bad for the great US of A, but good for Guyana ?

Listen Queer, this thread is not about the US debt. Read the opening post again and try to use your door knob. Suh Kwamee gave you a sore batty for valentine eh.

If I can comfortably pay my 2 million dollar mortage on my properties and you cannot meet your $50 monthly minimum payment on your credit card who is in better financial shape?

Billy:

Don't expect UG graduate TK to respond----that loser will keep bawling about the veracity of the Guyana $2.8 GDP number.

First TK was making noise about the PetroCarribe debt---the Minister of Finance has cleared that up---so now loser TK is making noise about the $2.8B GDP numbers.

You are a queer.

I am in a better shape. I do not have a mortage nor credit card debts.

You have good debt and you have bad debt!

Debt used to expand production and increase productivity---that is good debt--Guyana is assuming good debt.

Bad debt---that's debt like the US is assuming now---its not used to finance real expansion---instead its used to blow speculative asset bubbles.

Originally Posted by TK:

===

HA HA HA HA

TK bai:

Your boss man, President Ramotar, and I were classmates at UG for labor economics.  

I am in a better shape. I do not have a mortage nor credit card debts.

I am in poor shape, but I don't have a mortgage either. What's a credit card?

Billy:

==========

He did not tell us what percentage of the total US$1.7 bill is petrocaribe. 

PAGING ALL GNI READERS:

Only a sick Poom Poom Patacake will think if Amral, Sunil or anyone here on GNI.......are wicked people........... (Quote Rev )

(1) are longing for the PNC to return to power............... (Quote Rev )

Poom Poom Patacake Rev Al....

At least 40% Guyanese voted for PNC return to Power...

and that's their Right.

Over 10% Guyanese voted for AFC.....

and they surely dont want PNC  or PPP to return to Power.

xxxxxxxx

(2) or is a Ni@@er Indian........... (Quote Rev )

Poom Poom Patacake Rev Al....who are U calling Ni@@er Indians????

Mc Clean and Nascimento because aya hook them up with Beautiful Hindu Women???? Look at them chap women.....and look at Bharat Choice

Kwame & Mannie because they were two First Ladies??????

Bynoe, Hamilton, Taps & Lamumba.....because Bharat & Donald reward them fuh Raping, Beating and Killing Indians?????

xxxxxx

Poom Poom Rev ......who are these Ni@@er Indians.... Bharrat & Donald PNC Black Killers & Rapist ........or Amral, Sunil and others on GNI????

(3) badmouth Guyana and the PPP............ (Quote Rev )

Poom Poom Patacake Rev Al....You are the type of guy who would love your wife more.....if she doing wrong things....U would even wait for her on Lombard street after wuk .....to take her home n suck de milk and honey.

(4) hate and despise the PPP ................. (Quote Rev )

Poom Poom Patacake Rev Al....Jagabat and de Duck turn Freedom House into a ***** House......there is nothing left to love.

(5) are a wicked people.

Poom Poom Patacake Rev Al....according to U....as long as U continue to suck de Dutty Milk & Honey yuh OK........

Originally Posted by TK:

===

HA HA HA HA

TK bai:

TK: Your boss man, President Ramotar, and I were classmates at UG for labor economics.  

TK:

The Rev hasn't had a bossman in over 2 decades.

Regarding you and Ramo being classmates at that glorified high school, UG,  well 2 decades later, Ramo is president of his country and you are just a lowly, ordinary economics professor, dreaming of "Minister wuk"---who is the winner and who is the loser ?lol

Originally Posted by TK:

===

HA HA HA HA

TK bai:

TK: Your boss man, President Ramotar, and I were classmates at UG for labor economics.  

TK:

Regarding you and Ramo being classmates at that glorified high school, UG,  well 2 decades later, Ramo is president of his country and you are just a lowly, ordinary economics professor, dreaming of "Minister wuk"---who is the winner and who is the loser ?lol

Rev Al you are congenital ass hole. Do you really read your assine posts?

Originally Posted by TK:

===

HA HA HA HA

TK bai:

TK:

I chose the road of competition and meritocracy and not sycophancy. My successes is in that realm. Eat your heart out!