OK Folks:

How many of you have visited Guyana recently ?

Listen up my friends! There is an economic vibrancy in Guyana today that is matchless. Every community, every region you visit in Guyana you can see and feel the economic vibrancy.

If you don't believe the Rev---go check it out yourself---the Guyanese economy is firing on all cylinders---the Guyanese private sector---the engine of growth in today's Guyana is full of energy and optimism.

While the decades of the 1970s and 1980s saw palpable stagnation in Guyana, in the current decade Guyana is pummelling ahead.

And the good news is Guyana's best years are yet to come.

RE: THE POLITICAL SITUATION IN GUYANA

It's a waste of oxygen discussing the political situation in Guyana---the PPP, PNC and AFC will always be at each other's throat.

Right now Guyanese seem satisfied having the PPP control the presidency and the PNC/AFC coalition control the parliament.

ONCE THE GUYANESE ECONOMY REMAINS VIBRANT THE GUYANESE PEOPLE WILL REMAIN HAPPY.

2012 will come to an end in a few days---Guyanese are confident that 2013 will be an exciting year for their country---economically and socially---but never politically.

May Guyana continue to enjoy econmic prosperity--may the economic vibrancy continue.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Is that Rev Al and Ramotar on top of the falls?

pras:

Did you know 403,000 ounces of gold was declared in 2012 by small and medium sized miners in Guyana---at today's price(1659/oz) that's $668.5 million dollars(US).

Next year a few large scale gold operations will be coming on line---billions of dollars(US) of gold will be produced.

GUYANA APPROVED FOR US$45 MILLION IN NORWAY FUNDS

MORE PROGRESS MADE IN GUYANA

Guyana has been approved to receive an additional US$45M from the Government of Norway for its climate services in maintaining extremely low levels of deforestation while advancing the nation’s landmark Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS).
This now brings all three contributions from the Norway-Guyana climate and forest partnership to a total of US$115M since the programme was announced in 2009, the Office of the president announced..

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Guyana has alot of gold Rev Al but we as a nation have to make sure that we get every dollar for it that we can get because one day it would be no more.

Listen! Guyana's gold resources are immense and the country is only just beginning to develop that resource---most mining has been done by small and medium sized operations----but there are some huge operations(Canadian owned) that will come on board in the near future.

Companies will be spending hundreds of millions to develop Guyana's gold resources---they expect a decent return on their investment.

But the good news is Guyana will also benefit.

=========

mekking sure u point out is FOREIGN, eh bai . . . just so the local oligarchs' hands remain hidden

heh heh heh

Even you must admit--your fellow Guyanese are resourceful lot---and yes, local Guyanese--crooked politicians and businessmen, will profit handsomely from the gold resources.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

[Y]our fellow Guyanese are resourceful . . . local Guyanese--crooked politicians and businessmen, will profit handsomely from the gold resources.

kvelling with pride i seee; u must get a hell of a rush being a tool and accessory to crime . . . bravo

Ed and Sonny were proud too

Ed Ahmed and Sonny Ramdeo were consumed by greed and they'll rightfully receive and serve lengthy prison sentences.

RE: CROOKED & CORRUPT GUYANESE

The Rev is surprised that after a year of controlling parliament the AFC/PNC coalition has not brought a single corruption charge against any PPP politician.

Could Barath jagdeo, Irfaan Ali, Clement Rohee, Robert Persaud, etc, etc be innocent souls ?

Ed Ahmed and Sonny Ramdeo were consumed by greed and they'll rightfully receive and serve lengthy prison sentences.

myyyy, how quick we are to cuss and abandon erstwhile friends, ideological soulmates, colleagues in crime . . . as soon as they get fitted for their orange jump suits

owww . . . look how alyuh fughet RK even existed

with fair weather cowards like you in their corner, "Barath jagdeo, Irfaan Ali, Clement Rohee, Robert Persaud, etc" need to know that they are a single indictment removed from non-personhood

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

is that you rev.  you back i see. great to engage you again.

Hi Ron:

This is, hopefully, the new and improved Rev.

I am keen on seeing Guyana experience significant economic growth and development.

Politically--there will never be any progress.

Wait yu a de racist wa bin a play wid numba foh sho Romney go win electshun. 

REV: GUYANA: A Most Exciting Year Ahead

jalil bhai:

You must be grossly disappointed that after a year controlling parliament your beloved PNC/AFC have not brought a single charge of corruption against any member of the PPP----not a single charge jalil bhai.

Anyway jalil bhai, all crooked and corrupt Guyanese must face the music---they must be put on trial and if found guilty they must be jailed.

SWEET, SWEET GUYANA. GUYANA ALL THE WAYU TO THE MOON.  PNC, I MEAN KFC AL YUH KEEP THE WATCH TO MAKE SURE MONIES ARE WELL SPENT.  NO MORE FIP MOTILALL THE CROOK AND JACKASS!!

Good to see you warming up to "shared governance".

Baseman,

Jagan supported shared governance hence the Civic component of the PPP. This was a step in the right direction. Shared governance is not a bad idea to end political gridlock in Guyana. If we truly love and care for Guyana, then we can be open to this idea.

We cannot bury our heads in the sand and ignore the racial, social and political divide in Guyana. Politicians from all political parties need to sit down a chart a new course for the future of Guyana. Will this ever happen ? I am not optimistic since we need a young generation to end the racial and political divide in Guyana.

The AFC had the best chance to bride the gap but got sucked in by the PNC and their own political leaders egos and hence the same old political game that is being played out today in Guyana.

I am not optimistic that we will see shared governance in Guyana in the near future.

Progress continues under the PPP despite political setbacks. May our beloved Guyana continue to prosper. I would also like to see more wealth distribution in Guyana across all races. It would be a bonus if this can be achieved.

yuji:

When is the last time you visited Guyana ?

Go and travel across Guyana---you'll see that the PPP has built new schools all across Guyana---they have built new health care facilities all across Guyana.

The private sector is booming---that means more jobs for Guyanese.

In the 1970s and 80s Guyana was an economic basket case----the country was bankrupt. Today Guyana is booming. And the boom times will continue for decades to come.

Listen yuji! When the Rev looks at Guyana---he sees a country he sees a country that can feed itself---agriculture and fishing sectors are doing well. He also sees a country with immense natural resources---gold, bauxite, manganese forestry products, etc. And finally he sees a country that is working on becoming energy independent----if that amaila falls project ever gets developed in a sensible manner--that would be a boon for Guyana. A country that can feed itself, a country with immense natural resources, and a country that is energy independent is a country that is destined for prosperity.

THE FUTURE IS BRIGHT FOR GUYANA--economically and socially--but not politically--the ppp, afc and pnc will always be at loggerheads--but the Guyanese people and the private sector will prosper.

Hi Yugi. Nice piece there.

Could you please give an example of where power sharing or shared governance has been successful?

Merry Christmas.

Kenya comes to mind.  We need to start a dialogue and it can only begin with politicians from all political stripes.

I am optimistic that a new generation will chart a new course for Guyana. Until then, we will all be fighting and arguing as the country suffers. We need to look ahead.

Let us encourage the younger generation to get involved and send the old school politicians into retirement.

SWEET, SWEET GUYANA. GUYANA ALL THE WAYU TO THE MOON.  PNC, I MEAN KFC AL YUH KEEP THE WATCH TO MAKE SURE MONIES ARE WELL SPENT.  NO MORE FIP MOTILALL THE CROOK AND JACKASS!!

Baseman,

Jagan supported shared governance hence the Civic component of the PPP. This was a step in the right direction. Shared governance is not a bad idea to end political gridlock in Guyana. If we truly love and care for Guyana, then we can be open to this idea.

We cannot bury our heads in the sand and ignore the racial, social and political divide in Guyana. Politicians from all political parties need to sit down a chart a new course for the future of Guyana. Will this ever happen ? I am not optimistic since we need a young generation to end the racial and political divide in Guyana.

The AFC had the best chance to bride the gap

(and they are fulfilling that role)

but got sucked in by the PNC and

Another bareface PPP lie...AFC is not sucked in by no one....

AFC support the good or honest PPP bills when or if they are presented in parliarment....

the AFC correctly vote against any PPP bill that is filled with corruption....

the AFC has supported many PPP bills within the last year.......

even some that the PNC did not support....and all these bills the AFC supported were approved....

So these Ramotar & Jagdeo Funny Fellas need to stop lieing....

up to last week the AFC supported and helped some PPP Bills to be approved ........although PNC voted against them.

If you want to know who sucking who.... u have to ask Lamumba, Kwame, Hamilton, McClean, Bynoe, Rohee & Taxiera

their own political leaders egos and

Cut all this Bull$hit.....the AFC holds the balance of power....and neither the PPP or PNC can dictate how they use their power. 

hence the same old political game that is being played out today in Guyana.....

MORE HOG-WASH.....both the PPP & PNC need to realise the cant fool the`AFC, the AFC is not for $ale.....

Stop lieing.... Neither the PPP or PNC can railroad the AFC.

I am not optimistic that we will see shared governance in Guyana in the near future.

Thats fine......  U might not be optmistic about a shared Govt....

But U dont have to lie and say the AFC got sucked in by PNC.The AFC doing the peoples business.....trying to curb Corruption, Crime, Narco Business & Mismanagement in Govt.

Whose gold is it?

Posted By Stabroek staff On December 25, 2012 @ 5:16 am In Local | No Comments

Over three weeks have passed since the stunning heist of US$11.5 million in gold from a Guyanese boat on the Dutch island of Curacao and local officials are still tightlipped.

Despite the size of the loss, no one has come forward to claim the gold—a clear sign that it was smuggled in a clandestine operation that avoided taxes and official paper work.

When contacted yesterday Curacao Police spokesman Reggie Huggins told Stabroek News that there are no developments as far as the island’s police department was concerned.

While local authorities have said that there is no evidence that the gold is linked to Guyana, there are two clear leads which can blow the case wide open.

The first is that the crew of the boat is Guyanese and this apparently was not the first time that they had made a run of this sort. Sources say that the key to the entire caper would be rigorous interrogations of the crew to determine where they picked up the gold and who they dealt with. In terms of jurisdiction, the probe is in the hands of the Curacao authorities but the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) did have two officers on the island, who should have been able to have access to the officers. Local authorities have not yet said whether they sought access to the crew for the purposes of a Guyana-led investigation. They have returned to Guyana, Stabroek News, was informed but no information has been released about their findings.

Efforts to contact Minster of Natural Resource Robert Persaud yesterday proved futile.

When questioned on the crew Huggins said they were not being held by the police and he did not know why they have not yet left the island. The police there would not release the names of the crew members since they stated that the investigation was a sensitive one. However, a crew member who gave his name as Raymond Emmanuel reportedly told the Associated Press (AP) that the crew left Guyana on November 26, bound for Curacao.

According to AP, Huggins did not say who owned the gold but he said it was a legal shipment that was being transshipped via Curacao and that officials on the Dutch-administered island had been told in advance that it was coming as part of normal security protocols. He declined to reveal the eventual destination of the shipment.

Observers note that for Guyanese authorities, the need to discover the origins of the shipment is important as it may expose the oft-suspected major smuggling of gold from this country.  On the other hand, the sources say the authorities may be in the quandary of not wanting to acknowledge the depth of the smuggling and having to press serious charges against some of the major players here. The sources note in recent days there have been stepped up messages urging that miners here sell only to authorised dealers and pay all of their royalties.

The sources add that in the early days of the investigation there were suggestions that the gold may have originated in Suriname but to date since the heist on November 30 there has been no statement or interest by Paramaribo in the shipment. Neither have local operators there claimed the gold.

Spokesman of the Suriname Police Force Humphrey Naarden told Stabroek News yesterday that he will comment on the issue on the issue on Thursday as at the time he did not have the required information.

However, a police source in the neighbouring Dutch Island informed that there are no investigations from that country because they do not believe the gold originated there. “We do not believe the gold came from this country because no one has made an official complaint to police.

It is very funny that people would say so because our people do not have to smuggle gold anywhere in the world because it is not expensiveâ€Ķ our government has not said anything on this matter either because they too know that [it is] not [from] Suriname,” the source said.

Another tangible lead is the disclosure by police commissioner Leroy Brumell that the boat in question is known here and is owned by a Guyanese.

It was last known to have been here in June this year. The sources note that this provides an avenue for tracing its movement from wharf to wharf and discovering what plans were charted for travel.

Brumell had said that the vessel arrived here on June 17 and left on June 19. According to him, police had received information on the owner – a name and an address – but that person has not yet been located. Stabroek News was also given an address but when it was found that location was an empty plot of land taken over by bushes.

Sources had told this newspaper that there is no registration record of the vessel at the Guyana Maritime Administration Department (MARAD). It is unclear how in spite of this the local investigators have been able to obtain a name and address for the alleged owner.

Baseman,

The AFC had the best chance to bride the gap but got sucked in by the PNC and their own political leaders egos and hence the same old political game that is being played out today in Guyana.

You don't call for shared governance when you know you can never win at the game you are playing. Let them take their marbles and go home.

Hi Yugi. Nice piece there.

Could you please give an example of where power sharing or shared governance has been successful?

Merry Christmas.

Kenya comes to mind.  We need to start a dialogue and it can only begin with politicians from all political stripes. (Jagdeo disagrees with you. "

Pointing to recent failed attempts at shared governance in Zimbabwe and Kenya as cases in point, Jagdeo said where there was no goodwill or trust, there was no social capital of interaction between opposing movements.")

I am optimistic that a new generation will chart a new course for Guyana. Until then, we will all be fighting and arguing as the country suffers. We need to look ahead. What part of the Executive power you think that Ramotar share with the opposition?

Let us encourage the younger generation to get involved and send the old school politicians into retirement. What sort of changes need to happen re Constitution, and then dinos who have indentified as Fat Cats on the OP payroll?

Oh No!: Jagdeo snubs idea of shared governance

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

GEORGETOWN, Guyana, CMC - President Bharrat Jagdeo has once again downplayed suggestions coming from the leader of the main opposition PeopleÃĒ₮â„Ēs National Congress/ Reform (PNC/R), Robert Corbin, that there be shared governance in Guyana.

GEORGETOWN, Guyana, CMC - President Bharrat Jagdeo has once again downplayed  suggestions coming from the leader of the main opposition People’s National Congress/ Reform (PNC/R), Robert Corbin, that there be shared governance in Guyana.

Speaking during media conference here on Wednesday, Jagdeo reiterated his position that building trust among political leaders serves as the basis which precedes any consideration for an inclusive system of governance.

Corbin last week renewed his call for shared governance as the way forward in dealing with ongoing political tensions in the country.

But the President questioned, “if we cannot even convene a meeting in a cordial way to discuss a framework for enhanced governance, how can we go to shared governance?”

Pointing to recent failed attempts at shared governance in Zimbabwe and Kenya as cases in point, Jagdeo said where there was no goodwill or trust, there was no social capital of interaction between opposing movements.

â€œThere must be a period of building trust.

“Look at what has happened in Kenya, the rift that has taken place now over a hastily stitched together power sharing agreement brokered by external forces,” the President asserted.

He noted that prior to the PNC/R’s Congress last year, Guyana’s two main political leaders had convened a meeting with the aim of finding a way of working closer together in the interest of the people and the country.

This, however, proved futile and Jagdeo said more recent attempts by him to restart the inter-party dialogue process have failed.

“I have urged that we resume at that level and you’re going to hear all kinds of spins but I convened that meeting so they can’t spin that away,” he said.

He concluded that, “policies of collaboration must be encouraged by the parties and the leaders must be strong enough to say ‘I am going to lead my party along the way to genuine collaboration in spite of the so called dissidence and in spite of the critics because they want confrontation’.”

The PPP/C now holds executive power while the combined opposition holds legislative power. Is this not a power -sharing model?

Mitts:

You are spot on---the PPP controlling the executive branch and the PNC/AFC controlling the legislative branch---that is a form of power sharing---and the Guyanese people seem contented with the current arrangement.

The idea of the PPP and PNC/AFC sharing power in the executive branch is totally absurd and ludicrous.

The reality is there will never be progress politically in Guyana---the PPP, AFC and PNC will always blame, condemn and criticize each other---they will always be at loggerheads.

But despite the intransigence of the political parties in Guyana---the country will prosper---Guyanese people are a very creative and resourceful lot---and the private sector in Guyana is currently booming.

Welcome back Rev. I don't speak for the AFC, but what I think they are looking for in this model is collaboration as seen when they brought up the issue of VAT pivately with the PPP/C before the presentation of the 2011-2012 budget. My guess is, it all comes down to trust in the end. I think most homes have power sharing between husbands and wives.

My guess is, it all comes down to trust in the end.

Mitts:

There is an old saying, "never trust anyone who wants what you've got."

The PPP controls the executive branch---the PNC/AFC leaders want what they PPP have---control of the executive branch---so the PPP politicians will never trust the PNC/AFC politicians.

Politically there will be no progress in Guyana---but economically and socially the country will continue to prosper.

Guyana will certainly progress, however I feel we can achieve more thru collabaration rather than confrontation.

Mitts:

It is highly unlikely there will ever be meaningful collaboration among the PPP, PNC and AFC politicians---to many false pride and egos---confrontation seems to be their modus operandi.

But thankfully economic and social progress is being made in Guyana despite the bickerings and the squabbles among the politicians in parliament.

Listen Mitts! Guyana is a country that can feed itself---the agriculture sector is booming; Guyana is also a country with immense natural resources---many of those resources are now beginning to be tapped---that means more jobs and more wealth for the country---and finally Guyana is aiming to be energy independent---if the hydro can be realized in a feasible manner---the country will achieve economic independence.

Look at neighboring Brazil---they feed themselves---they have abundant natural resources---and they are energy independent---Brazil has become an economic powerhouse.

Guyana is one step away from becoming prosperous---it needs to be energy independent----if hydro is feasible it must be developed---this would be great for Guyana---new industries will be developed if Guyana achieves energy independence.

Guyanese politicians can bawl and bray all they want Mitts---but the country is moving forward----PPP, PNC, AFC---no politician can stop the progress in Guyana.

The AFC had the best chance to bride the gap

(and they are fulfilling that role)

There is nothing wrong with the AFC keeping PPP politicans honest in parliament---but make no mistake---the AFC has zero role to play in the prosperity of Guyana.

IT'S THE PRIVATE SECTOR THAT IS CATALYZING THE BOOM IN GUYANA.