OK Folks!

Let's get one thing out of the way: Barbados is a developed country; Guyana is only a developing country.

But in the past 5 years we have seen the Barbados economy lose it's economic vitality while the Guyanese economy has been growing and progressing.

YOU KNOW THE REV'S MANTRA--THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE FOLKS!

Check this out folks!

* Barbados public debt as a percentage of GDP is 117.8%---no wonder Barbados government bonds were downgraded to junk last year--Barbados is deeply indebted.

* Guyana's public debt as a percentage of GDP is only 63.4%---the public sector in Guyana can absorb more and newer credit--easey peasey.

===========

RE: BARBADOS PROBLEM

If you take a look at the breakdown of GDP by sector---you see this:

Agriculture--3.4%

Industry----13.4%

Services----82.3%

Hmmm! Services--82.3%---one trick pony.

The challenge in Barbados is to find new industries that will not destroy their lovely, natural environment---with the slowdown in the global economy---Barbados largest sector--tourism---has taken a big hit.

RE: GUYANA

Let's take a look at how the GDP breaks down by sector:

Agriculture---24.2%

Indistry------24.0%

Services-----51.8%

Unlike Barbados which is a one trick pony---82% services---Guyana has a diversifed economy.

GUYANA VS BARBADOS

While the Barbadians are desperately looking for new industries to take up the slack in tourism---Guyana is blasting full speed ahead in Industries(increased bauxite production, new gold mines, manganese, etc) and Agriculture(increased rice production, slight improvements in sugar, non traditional crops, etc, etc)---and let's not forget---the services sector is being given lots of attention---tourism, etc, etc

CONCLUSION:

The developed Barbados has peaked economically--Barbados is stagnating---it's overly indebted; on the other hand, the developing Guyana can expect decades of economic development---standard of living in Guyana will continue to increase.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

OK Folks!

Let's get one thing out of the way: Barbados is a developed country; Guyana is only a developing country.

But in the past 5 years we have seen the Barbados economy lose it's economic vitality while the Guyanese economy has been growing and progressing.

Barbados indeed is primarily dependent on tourism.  There are other developments which has prospered since in the 1970's by Guyanese.

A few of the Guyanese who still have operations in Barbados are my relatives.

PAGING NEHRU:

Didn't UG graduate and AFC's chief finance and economics advisor, Dr. Tarron Khemraj, brag about the" great" Barbadian economy 2 years ago while at the same time demeaning the Jagdeo led Guyana economy ?

Chck out the "great" Barbados GDP growth rates since 2008:

2008: -0.2%

2009: -4.2%

2010: 0.2%

2011: 0.5%

2012: 0.9%

2013: 0.7%--est

Hmmmmm! What does the UG educated economist TK have to say about those number ?

Remember folks---the Rev mantra:

THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE!

Today the Barbados economy is stagnant---Barbados is deeply in debt---while the country TK bad mouths, Guyana, is growing and prospering.

So Nehru, what do you think about UG educated economist Dr. TK and his Barbados fascination ?

Rev, what is Barbados debt per capita versus Guyana's?

Mitts:

Why don't you address that question to the UG educated economist Dr. TK ?

2 YEARS AGO THE AFC'S CHIEF ECONOMIST WAS BRAGGING ABOUT THE "GREAT" BARBADOS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT MODEL!

Anyway Mitts, the Rev will assist you with your question!

RE: BARBADOS

* Barbados GDP is around 4.706 billion(US)

* Barbados debt to GDP is around 117.8%

* Do the math and you'll back into Barbados debt(4.706 x 1.178) = 5.543 billion

* So Barbados debt is 5.543 billion(US)

* Barbados population = 288,000

SO THE ANSWER TO YOU QUESTION

Barbados debt per capita = 5.543 billion/288,000 = $19,246

RE: GUYANA DEBT PER CAPITA

You do the math Mitwah---these are the numbers:

* Guyana's GDP--approx 2.679 billion

* Guyana debt to gdp ratio = 63.4%

* Guyana's population = 753,000

CALCULATE THE GUYANA DEBT TO CAPITA NUMBER MITWAH AND GET BACK TO THE REV ?

Good question Mitwah---comparing Guyana and Barbados debt/capita numbers.

In the meantime folks, we can expect UG economist TK to be bragging about his superior intelligence and IQ on this thread.hahahahahahahaha

DR. TARRON KHEMRAJ = TALKER + POLITICAL LOSER

Rev, what is Barbados debt per capita versus Guyana's?

Mitts:

Why don't you address that question to the UG educated economist Dr. TK ?

2 YEARS AGO THE AFC'S CHIEF ECONOMIST WAS BRAGGING ABOUT THE "GREAT" BARBADOS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT MODEL!

In the meantime folks, we can expect UG economist TK to be bragging about his superior intelligence and IQ on this thread.hahahahahahahaha

A low IQ is a terrible thing. 

Originally Posted by TK:
===

---TK = TALKER + Political LOSER

A low IQ is a terrible thing. 

TK:

You are the poster child when it comes to being a TALKER and political LOSER.

And speaking of LOW IQ, why is a UG graduate(that's you TK) chastising others about low IQ and intelligence ?

ISN'T UG A GLORIFIED HIGH SCHOOL ?

The Rev was 100% right about you boast man TK---you are a 3rd rate intellect who attended 3rd rate schools and now teaches at a 3rd rate college in Florida---you ought not be talking about low IQ.

By the way TK, aren't you now deeply ashamed of your rambling talk a couple years back when you bragged about the "great" Barbados economy and denigrated Jagdeo's Guyana ?

Rev, what's the GDP per Capita comparison between Barbados and Guyana? 

You can extract them from here if you so desire.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L...of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L...of_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita

How can you exclude such important stats if you claim to be a numbers man?

If Guyana is so great compared to Barbados then why are all those Guyanese fleeing to Barbados daily? They prefer to live illegally in Barbados and change baby nappies instead of staying in PPP Guyana.

Rev, I have a few friends and relatives who have moved their small parts manufacturing and assembling business out of Guyana and doing well in Barbados exporting same. Their is another with a large contract to make and supply cruise ships with linens.

Revf, how does the quality of life in Guyana compares to that of Barbados? 

Originally Posted by God:

Listen God!

Mitwah asked the question how does Barbados Debt per capita compare to Guyana's debt per capita.

The Rev showed Mitts that Barbados debt per capita is $19,246(US)

Now, Guyana's debt per capita is $2255(US)

It is patently clear that Barbados is a deeply indebted country--and that's why the government's debt has been downgraded to JUNK!

BOTTOM LINE:

With a debt to GDP of 63.4% and a debt per capita of $2255, Guyana can take on more and newer credit---growth and development will continue--on the other hand, Barbados with a debt to GDP of 117.8% and a debt per capita of $19,246 is in a quandry.

Listen God!

Mitwah asked the question how does Barbados Debt per capita compare to Guyana's debt per capita.

The Rev showed Mitts that Barbados debt per capita is $19,246(US)

Now, Guyana's debt per capita is $2255(US)

It is patently clear that Barbados is a deeply indebted country--and that's why the government's debt has been downgraded to JUNK!

BOTTOM LINE:

With a debt to GDP of 63.4% and a debt per capita of $2255, Guyana can take on more and newer credit---growth and development will continue--on the other hand, Barbados with a debt to GDP of 117.8% and a debt per capita of $19,246 is in a quandry.

What about the GDP per Capita comparison? I asked about GDP Per Capita and you're avoiding the question. Even a numbers man (whose numbers are fictitious) like you should know that GDP per Capita is one of the most important stats to consider. Also if you're earning more, then you have the capacity to repay a higher level of debt. Have you ever thought about that? Shame on you numbers man.

====

What about the GDP per Capita comparison?

America has a GDP per capita of $49,601 yet 50 million Americans are on welfare and food stamps---half of Ammericans dont have $500 dollars saved up.

So dont be fooled by GDP per capita stats.

GDP per capita is only $3448, but Guyana is a developing country---over the next two decades Guyana will experience remarkable growth and development.

DEEPLY INDEBTED BARBADOS HAS PEAKED ECONOMICALLY; Guyana's economy is about to take off.

PS. Barbados gdp per capita is $23,870

Do we know what is the source of these numbers?

Originally Posted by alena06:

====

Do we know what is the source of these numbers?

alena:

The site is called GLOBAL FINANCE!

Click on the link--then click on Tools--then click on Country economic reports and GDP data.

http://www.gfmag.com/

By the way alena, you notice how UG graduate and straw man TK is refusing to make a positive contribution to this thread----all TK can do is talk about low IQ and low intelligence.lol

Rev, Barbados recently announced plans to develop a new ultra-modern cruise facility.

That development along with recent amendments to the legislation pertaining to the cruise industry, are intended to make the sector more attractive and competitive.

In the Central Bank's review Dr. Worrell said Barbados' continued pursuit of economic growth should focus on investment in areas that earn or save foreign exchange. Leading these sectors is tourism, which is the island's biggest generator of foreign exchange, followed by international business.

There were however some positives from the Barbados tourism industry.

In contrast to the US and UK, the Canadian market registered improvements, as it benefitted from an additional weekly charter service from Air Transat.

Continental Europe was also a bright spot, mainly due to a fortnightly charter service out of Sweden by Tui Nordic, which boosted arrivals.

Close to home in the Caribbean, visitor arrivals from Trinidad and Tobago were up 15 percent.

Source: http://www.prweb.com/releases/...my/prweb10097948.htm

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Barbadoes is not a developed country. 

Pras:

Barbados has been classified as a developed country purely on its HDI(human development index)----the country provides its citizens an excellent quality of life.

Actually, Barbados has been referred to as the "Singapore of the Caribbean."

But providing its citizens with an excellent quality of life comes at a cost---and you have seen the numbers---Barbados public debt has escalated---117.8% of GDP.

OK Folks!

YOU KNOW THE REV'S MANTRA--THE NUMBERS DON'T LIE FOLKS!

Check this out folks!

* Barbados public debt as a percentage of GDP is 117.8%---no wonder Barbados government bonds were downgraded to junk last year--Barbados is deeply indebted.

* Guyana's public debt as a percentage of GDP is only 63.4%---the public sector in Guyana can absorb more and newer credit--easey peasey.

===========

RE: BARBADOS PROBLEM

If you take a look at the breakdown of GDP by sector---you see this:

Agriculture--3.4%

Industry----13.4%

Services----82.3%

Hmmm! Services--82.3%---one trick pony.

The challenge in Barbados is to find new industries that will not destroy their lovely, natural environment---with the slowdown in the global economy---Barbados largest sector--tourism---has taken a big hit.

Let's take a look at how the GDP breaks down by sector:

Agriculture---24.2%

Indistry------24.0%

Services-----51.8%

Unlike Barbados which is a one trick pony---82% services---Guyana has a diversifed economy.

GUYANA VS BARBADOS

While the Barbadians are desperately looking for new industries to take up the slack in tourism---Guyana is blasting full speed ahead in Industries(increased bauxite production, new gold mines, manganese, etc) and Agriculture(increased rice production, slight improvements in sugar, non traditional crops, etc, etc)---and let's not forget---the services sector is being given lots of attention---tourism, etc, etc

CONCLUSION:

The developed Barbados has peaked economically--Barbados is stagnating---it's overly indebted; on the other hand, the developing Guyana can expect decades of economic development---standard of living in Guyana will continue to increase.

Here is the rub though.  Bardbados with NO RESLOURCES, as you correctly point out has a GDP per capita of $15,500 and a population of 300,000, meaning a GDP of $4.7BN.  Guyana, with all the resources that you quite accurately list, and a commodity based economy at a time when commodity prices are booming, has a GDP per capita of $3,300 and a population of 750k (by way estimates are that 15K Guyanese live in Barbados), suggesting an economy of $2,5BN.

Rev how come tiny Barbados produces goods and services almost DOUBLE that of the much bigger and more amply endowed Barbados.

And BTW its not the PPP which is responsible for near record prices for gold, rice and sugar. ITS THE GLOBAL economy!!!

So what will happen if commodity prices collapse?  Factords beyind our control....global demand/supply and speculative activity,,,,,,can lift or crush an economy like Guyana's.

I note your attempt to compare tourism in Guyana and Barbados.  Please do not reveal yourself to be an azz, unless you think that Trinis are allowed to boast about their rice industry compared to Guyana's!

Also note that Barbados is considered to be a DEVELOPED economy so, unlike Guyana, is NOT entitled to concessional developmental financing vfrom the WB and the IDB, nor does it qualify for debt write-offs.  Barbados has a higher credit rating than Guyana, and has access to PRIVATE capital markets.  Guyana is limited mainly to donor nations and entities like the WB and the IDB and CDB.  I have never seen a credit rating for Guyana, though it is interesting that Grenada has one.

Next time you boast about our debt remember that Guyana was allowed to write off....not reschedule or restructure but WRITE OFF its debt.  If Guyana had the economic strength of Barbados our debt profile would have been similar to theirs, or maybe even worse.

... you notice how UG graduate and straw man TK is refusing to make a positive contribution to this thread----

all TK can do is talk about low IQ and low intelligence  lol

1. TK, demonstrates that he does not know what he does not know.

2. TK attempts to show that he knows everything better than anyone.

3. TK seems to have his head way in the clouds with his feet dangling hopelessly for stability.

Barbadoes is not a developed country.  It is dependent on tourism of the white man and woman.

NYC is heavily dependent on tourism too (visit Time Square if you dont believe).  Is NYC poor?

Tiny Barbados has a GDP that is almost double ours.   Yes with only beaches they have achieved this.

You ought to be ashamed!!!!

Barbadoes is not a developed country. 

Pras:

Barbados has been classified as a developed country purely on its HDI(human development index)----the country provides its citizens an excellent quality of life.

Actually, Barbados has been referred to as the "Singapore of the Caribbean."

But providing its citizens with an excellent quality of life comes at a cost---and you have seen the numbers---Barbados public debt has escalated---117.8% of GDP.

Barbados offers a standard of living equivalent to a poor European country, indeed better than most of the former communist nations.

Guyana offers a standard of living, using the HDI index) which is worse than any where else in the Americas, aside from Haiti, Bolivia, and Nicaragua, and maybe El Salvador, and Honduras, all countries run by exploitative dictators.

Why do you compare Guyana to Barbdos beats me.  You ought toi be ashamed at what the results reveal as a man who boasts about PPP rule.

CaribJ: "Tiny Barbados has a GDP that is almost double ours.   Yes with only beaches they have achieved this."

========

And that's the crucial point and why Barbados is considered a model. Mature economies do grow slower and could actually stagnate - but they can maintain steady state. They have very little resources they can turn to except first-rate human resources. I prefer to give the dull and the ignorant much room to bray and prance. 

Thanks. I guess that explains why Guyanese are fleeing PPP run Guyana for greener pastures in Barbados and the USA.

Have you ever seen how many unemployed bums they have in Guyana waiting for a Western Union remittance from the US or Barbados? There is no welfare or food stamps to help them out. 

There are at least 10-15k Guyanese living in Barbados.  In fact Barbados' population is estimated at 300k, and not the 288K officially stated, due to the large numbers of illegals from other parts of the Caribbean and South America. Guess who leads the pack.  Guyana of course.  Yes a slow Bajan economy and Guyanese refuse to go home, even though Bajans arent shy at showing their dislike for them.  They dont even like their cousins who descended from 19th/early20th century migration to the then British Guiana.

I knew that this would have happened to barbados. Within the last five years there had been over 100,000 new immigrants looking for a better life.

I know you do not mean Bajans fleeing that island.  Werte this so Bdos would be empty as this would represent 1/3 of the population, as Bdos has very low birth rates.

========

Rev how come tiny Barbados produces goods and services almost DOUBLE that of the much bigger and more amply endowed Guyana.

carib:

You need to educate yourself on how the GDP is calculated and then you will tone down your braying!

Check the GDP formula:

Now carib, as that formula reveals:

* government spending(G) adds to the GDP--and we now know that Barbados public debt has been reduced to junk because the Barbados government has been spening wildly--overspending---Barbados public debt to GDP = 117.8%

* In the Consumption(C) portion of the GDP---services make up 82% of the Barbadian economy--and services is a large component of the personal consumption expenditure in the GDP---we know financial services and health care services have grown significantly in barbados over the years---but over the past 5 years---the Barbadian financial services industry has struggled---and let's not forget tourism---another large part of the C portion of the Barbadian GDP----tourism has suffered as a result of the global slowdown.

Listen carib, don't get too excited about the GDP number---it is essentially a useless measure.

Over the next 2 decades there will be remarkable progress in all sectors of the Guyanese economy---agriculture, industry, and services

BOTTOM LINE:

Guyana's economy is on the rise; Barbados is falling.

Now pay attention carib:

Barbados has a GDP per capita of $23,870--this is what you are bragging about, yet unemployment in Barbados over the past 5 years has ranged from 10-12%

Like I said, GDP is essentially a useless measure.

Barbados needs new investments--new industries---the country needs jobs!

Guyana has 2 decades of solid growth and development coming up---no question Barbados has done great since independence--but the country has now stagnated.

IT IS GUYANA'S TURN TO SHINE!

Rev, Barbados recently announced plans to develop a new ultra-modern cruise facility.

That development along with recent amendments to the legislation pertaining to the cruise industry, are intended to make the sector more attractive and competitive.

In the Central Bank's review Dr. Worrell said Barbados' continued pursuit of economic growth should focus on investment in areas that earn or save foreign exchange. Leading these sectors is tourism, which is the island's biggest generator of foreign exchange, followed by international business.

There were however some positives from the Barbados tourism industry.

In contrast to the US and UK, the Canadian market registered improvements, as it benefitted from an additional weekly charter service from Air Transat.

Continental Europe was also a bright spot, mainly due to a fortnightly charter service out of Sweden by Tui Nordic, which boosted arrivals.

Close to home in the Caribbean, visitor arrivals from Trinidad and Tobago were up 15 percent.

Source: http://www.prweb.com/releases/...my/prweb10097948.htm

Listen carib, don't get too excited about the GDP number---it is essentially a useless measure.......

Like I said, GDP is essentially a useless measure.......

Only someone who is clueless about modern economics and finance, would make such a statement. 

====

Hehe. De man seh he wuk 20 years in an investment bank. When dem investment bankers underwrite new busienss/assets this is a number on their mind. 

Listen carib, don't get too excited about the GDP number---it is essentially a useless measure.......

God: Only someone who is clueless about modern economics and finance, would make such a statement. 

God:

You sound like a college kid--enamored with theories, textbooks and definitions! Have you ever had a real job in the business world ? Have you ever started and grown a business ? Most of you folks, people like you, carib and TK,  just have book sense.

This is what I wrote to carib:

Now pay attention carib:

Barbados has a GDP per capita of $23,870--this is what you are bragging about, yet unemployment in Barbados over the past 5 years has ranged from 10-12%

==========

Listen fake god!

Barbados has a GDP per capita of $23,870 and an unemployment rate ranging from 10-12% over the past 5 years; Guyana has a GDP per capita of $3448 with an unemployment rate of----(you tell me).

Like I said--Barbados has done remarkably well since independence----but the Barbadian economy has now stagnated---It's now Guyana's turn to shine---the next 2 decades will bring remarkable growth and progress to Guyana.

God: Only someone who is clueless about modern economics and finance, would make such a statement. 

God:

You sound like a college kid--enamored with theories, textbooks and definitions! Have you ever had a real job in the business world ? Have you ever started and grown a business ? Most of you folks, people like you, carib and TK,  just have book sense.

This is what I wrote to carib:

Now pay attention carib:

==========

Listen fake god!

Barbados has a GDP per capita of $23,870 and an unemployment rate ranging from 10-12% over the past 5 years; Guyana has a GDP per capita of $3448 with an unemployment rate of----(you tell me).

Like I said--Barbados has done remarkably well since independence----but the Barbadian economy has now stagnated---It's now Guyana's turn to shine---the next 2 decades will bring remarkable growth and progress to Guyana.

You are in essence a novice in the world of economics and finance if you dismiss GDP as essentially a useless measure. Period!

Putting aside everything else, anyone who readily jumps up and makes a statement like that has no right debating business, finance or economics with me. I don't have time to waste with silly people. Now I understand where TK was coming from when he swatted you aside. You're a clown and not yet ready to compete in the big leagues. Stick to chatting with wannabe professors like Nehru.

====

You are in essence a novice in the world of economics and finance if you dismiss GDP as essentially a useless measure. Period!

Lil college boy God

HA HA HA HA

The Rev was right! You're a lil college boy!

Well, since you are a young Kid, the Rev will have only kind words for you--good luck with your studies and I wish you well in the business world, if that's where you're eventually headed.

====

Lil college boy God

HA HA HA HA

The Rev was right! You're a lil college boy!

Well, since you are a young Kid, the Rev will have only kind words for you--good luck with your studies and I wish you well in the business world, if that's where you're eventually headed.

I'd much rather be in college (not that I am) than to be you because that means that I have the potential to learn something with vibrant young brain cells.

An old pig headed fool like you have a few useless cells left in your noggin and if you still haven't learnt the basics like GDP, then there is no hope for you. You are doomed to remain foolish.