Dr. Deborah Persaud, the virologist Guyanese born virologist, Dr Deborah Persaud, who migrated to the US when she was just 16 years old, is leading the way with a breakthrough in HIV treatment. Dr Persaud, who is attached to the John Hopkins Children Centre in the US, led the investigation that determined that a baby born with HIV had been cured.

Dr. Deborah Persaud

“A baby born with the AIDS virus appears to have been cured, scientists announced Sunday, describing the case of a child from Mississippi who’s now two and a half years old and has been off medication for about a year with no signs of infection. There’s no guarantee the child will remain healthy, although sophisticated testing uncovered just traces of the virus’ genetic material still lingering. If so, it would mark only the world’s second reported cure. Specialists say Sunday’s announcement, at a major AIDS meeting in Atlanta, offers promising clues for efforts to eliminate HIV infection in children, especially in AIDS-plagued African countries where too many babies are born with the virus,” CBS News reported of the breakthrough.

http://www.guyanatimesinternational.com/?p=25242

Dr. Deborah Persaud, the virologist Guyanese born virologist,

Dr. Deborah Persaud

“A baby born with the AIDS virus appears to have been cured, scientists announced Sunday...

* NICE POST MITTS!

* Dr. Persaud is, indeed, a brilliant, accomplished, talented woman. She's doing remarkable research in her field. Hope she wins the Nobel Prize in Medicine one day. She'll become the first Guyanese ever to win that prestigious Prize.

Guys, guys, guys...Rev, yuji, Skelly, Mits...I'm enjoying your exchanges and the pin-ups, though I'm peeved none of you has remembered my Cher[ie] Amor.

[1] JANET JAGAN

http://jagan.org/Janet%20Jagan/Images/CJ1932.jpg

Gilbakka:

* Did Cheddi know you had a crush on his wife ?lol

* Listen gilly! The women you mentioned and Mitts mentioned Dr. Deborah Persaud above, those are all beautiful and accomplished women.

* But Rev, yuji, and Skeldonman are talking about another caliber of woman, women who are not only accomplished but AWESOME.

Rev's awesome woman

* Look! The creator has been very frugal in the number of awesome women he has created and blessed our planet with. Sweet Sophia above, Rev's woman, she is incredibly awesome. And right here on GNI, sweet riya has identified herself as an awesome woman. I have no reason to doubt riya.

BOTTOM LINE:

* God has created are many, many, many beautiful and accomplished women like Dr. Deborah Persaud, Ms Jagan, Ms Burnham, etc, etc but he has been very, very frugal with the awesome Sophias and riyas he has sent into this beautiful world.

Originally Posted by Observer:

True or False:

1.  Something seems terribly fishy with Rev, Yuji and Skeldonman. Someone said it's the same person, but who cares?

TRUE OR FALSE

* Miss Observer needs to make an appointment with her Shrink ASAP.LOL

The happiest people in this world are those who think the most interesting thoughts. Those who decide to use leisure as a means of mental development, who love good music, good books, good pictures, good travels, good food, good company, good conversation, are the happiest people in the world. And they are not only happy in themselves, they are the cause of happiness in others.

* TRUE OR FALSE

Guys, guys, guys...Rev, yuji, Skelly, Mits...I'm enjoying your exchanges and the pin-ups, though I'm peeved none of you has remembered my Cher[ie] Amor.

Gilbakka:

Rev, you need to brush up on your comprehension skill. Your memory is also failing you. I posted here more than once that Cher still stirs me and you commented on it in the Zeenat Aman thread.

The phrase My Cher[ie] Amor refers to Cher.

Gilbakka:

Rev, you need to brush up on your comprehension skill. Your memory is also failing you. I posted here more than once that Cher still stirs me and you commented on it in the Zeenat Aman thread.

Gilly,

Did you not think that your lady was once awesome? I think my lady is awesome also..not in the caliber of Sophia.

Originally Posted by ball:

Right now boring is combing from you

Bally:

* A lot of times you come across as peevish and upset, always finding fault.

* Look! If you find this thread boring, why not start one on your own. Show us what an pleasant and gracious bloke you are.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

Girls are like country roads. The best ones got curves.

* TRUE OR FALSE

just caz i got curves don't make me any better than my Bhabi...

that's right We come in all shapes and sizes and it doesn't make one better than the other. Unlike what some may think

* Look! The creator has been very frugal in the number of awesome women he has created and blessed our planet with. Sweet Sophia above, Rev's woman, she is incredibly awesome. And right here on GNI, sweet riya has identified herself as an awesome woman. I have no reason to doubt riya.

BOTTOM LINE:

* God has created are many, many, many beautiful and accomplished women like Dr. Deborah Persaud, Ms Jagan, Ms Burnham, etc, etc but he has been very, very frugal with the awesome Sophias and riyas he has sent into this beautiful world.

now you're confused....curvy are best. I'm the awesome one. Get it right, thank you very much

Originally Posted by Riya:

now you're confused....curvy are best. I'm the awesome one. Get it right, thank you very much

* I'll share a secret with you awesome riya.

* Why you think Rev always so easygoing and happy-go-lucky ?

* I picked up  this piece of wisdom nearly 2 decades ago and never forgot it:

got viewing and funeral for my Canal relative...eve and tomorrow

* Raaaaassss! It looks like people from Canal dropping like flies. Is every time I come to social I see amral or somebody announcing somebody from canal tek the plunge.

PAGING GILBAKKA:

Wha going on wid yuh canal people dem ?

* Anyway, Life really short. Suh Lemme enjoy the minimum 5 decades the "creator" has in store for me.

PAGING GILBAKKA:

* Anyway, Life really short. Suh Lemme enjoy the minimum 5 decades the "creator" has in store for me.

Boy, Canal #2 Polder is my birthplace. My navel string/placenta was buried in a big yard where my maternal grandfather lived. He was the village overseer from the early 1940s up to 1967.

I was born at Canal but me mumma man was from Uitvlugt, which is where I grew up. I spent many unforgettable school vacations at Canal #2.

It used to be a beautiful and peaceful village with a clean and clear 7-mile-long canal that abounded with big hassar, houri, yarrow and patwa. Coffee, oranges, cashews, avocados, cassava, plantain, jamoon...all those things flourished there. The people of Canal #2 were healthy and strong and smart too. I believe they still are. Great folks.

Please do not draw the wrong conclusion from Chameli's relative's passing. People die everywhere.

My condolence is hereby offered to Chameli.

Thank you sir Bookman

you may have heard of the Ramphals of #2

many of them were teachers

The Ramphals, Teacher Boodhoo, Teacher Jack Mangal, Teacher Jai Singh...teachers of bygone years.

PAGING GILBAKKA:

Boy, Canal #2 Polder is my birthplace. My navel string/placenta was buried in a big yard where my maternal grandfather lived. He was the village overseer from the early 1940s up to 1967.

I was born at Canal but me mumma man was from Uitvlugt, which is where I grew up. I spent many unforgettable school vacations at Canal #2.

It used to be a beautiful and peaceful village with a clean and clear 7-mile-long canal that abounded with big hassar, houri, yarrow and patwa. Coffee, oranges, cashews, avocados, cassava, plantain, jamoon...all those things flourished there. The people of Canal #2 were healthy and strong and smart too. I believe they still are. Great folks.

Please do not draw the wrong conclusion from Chameli's relative's passing. People die everywhere.

Gil,
Did you ever fish the canal? I bet the fishing was good. Cast net or hook?

PAGING GILBAKKA:

Gil,
Did you ever fish the canal? I bet the fishing was good. Cast net or hook?

My grandparents didn't like the idea. I used to stand on the road and watch others throwing nets. At night, I used to stand at a front window and follow the movements of flambeaux, bottle lamps indicating that someone was catching fish.

In adulthood, I loved fishing with handlines and imported rods. My favorite spot was the jetty in GT at the Demerara River mouth. I caught lots of yellow-tail snappers and cuirass there.

Next favorite spot: Tiger Creek in the Boeraserie conservancy. I used to hunt and fish there with some Russians.

Dat perverted minister musbe place the holy book book on the table, throw Pastor wifey Grace on it and starts with

" The holy book is under you the holy man is above you The holy pole is in your hole So wriggle your... and save your soul."

Dat perverted minister musbe place the holy book book on the table, throw Pastor wifey Grace on it and starts with

" The holy book is under you the holy man is above you The holy pole is in your hole So wriggle your... and save your soul."

ha ha ha ha ha

Gilbakka:

For Gil and his Zeenat:

When a relationship ends what hurts most is not the end of it, but the way we have to behave as strangers with persons we once thought we couldn't live without.

* TRUE OR FALSE

STUDY: EATING FISH COULD LOWER YOUR RISK OF HEARING LOSS

TRUE OR FALSE ?

According to researchers at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston, two or  more servings of fish per week could lower women's risk of acquired hearing  loss. "Consumption of any type of fish (tuna, dark fish, light fish, or shellfish)  tended to be associated with lower risk...

See Link:

http://www.nydailynews.com/lif...dy-article-1.1936291