For now, I will have to let this suffice: "It should be noted that the Civil Law Act of Guyana was amended in 1983 by the Children Born Out of Wedlock (Removal of Discrimination) Act to create Subsection (7) of Section 5 which has made the legal position of children born out of wedlock equal to that of children born in wedlock for purposes of succession. The new Subsection (7) thus provides that in determining relationships for the purposes of Section 5, no regard is to be had to whether a person is born in or out of wedlock and a person born out of wedlock is entitled to the same rights under the section as a person born in wedlock." [SOURCE: ELEMENTS OF CHILD LAW IN THE COMMONWEALTH CARIBBEAN by Zanifa McDowell]

baseman posted:

A child is considered to be illegitimate if the parents are not married to each other at the time of the child's birth!!!

And why did they cross the border for the child to be born in Brazil??  Rupert and his bunch are strange people!

Bibi, the applicable law of Guyana takes precedence over considerations.

Child out of wedlock is "illegitimate"!  The laws addressed certain rights of that child!

illegitimacy

The state of being born of parents who are not legally married. Since 1987, most of the disadvantages of illegitimacy affecting inheritance have been removed so that illegitimate children may take property under a will or under the intestacy rules as if they were legitimate. Illegitimate children cannot, however, succeed to titles of honor.

Collins Dictionary of Law Β© W.J. Stewart, 2006

Okay, base. I get the point. Still, we ought to be sensitive to the position of people like Rupert's daughter Alicia. Her baby will have equal entitlement to the assets of the father as his other kids have. And we ought not to stigmatize Alicia.

baseman posted:

A child is considered to be illegitimate if the parents are not married to each other at the time of the child's birth!!!

And why did they cross the border for the child to be born in Brazil??  Rupert and his bunch are strange people!

Why you always up in these people business. Get a bloody life!

No one really cares, well except here in the US where lots of our tax dollars are going to fund single mommas and the hordes of fatherless children!!.

In this case, it was a "legitimate" legal question, no pun intended!!

The woman discovered she was pregnant and Bibi was broadcasting it on GNI. The baby barely opened his eyes and she's already condemning the child as illegitimate. Get a freakin life.

baseman posted:

Child out of wedlock is "illegitimate"!  The laws addressed certain rights of that child!

illegitimacy

The state of being born of parents who are not legally married. Since 1987, most of the disadvantages of illegitimacy affecting inheritance have been removed so that illegitimate children may take property under a will or under the intestacy rules as if they were legitimate. Illegitimate children cannot, however, succeed to titles of honor.

Okay, base. I get the point. Still, we ought to be sensitive to the position of people like Rupert's daughter Alicia. Her baby will have equal entitlement to the assets of the father as his other kids have. And we ought not to stigmatize Alicia.

Gil, the original law was the Children Born Out of Wedlock (Removal of Discrimination) Act No. 12 of 1983. This was repealed and replaced by the Status of Children Act (2009) CAP 46:05. 

Note section 5 of the 2009 Act that removes and abolishes all distinction between the status of a child born in wedlock and a child born out of wedlock. The section also provides that "a person is the child of his natural parents, and his status as  their child is independent of whether he is born in or out of wedlock". 

The effect of section 6 is to eliminate the effectiveness of the words "legitimate" or "lawful" when used in relation to a child. These are provisions take  Guyana ahead of many other jurisdictions in this area of law. 

Take a look at the law. Also there are several other pieces of legislation that were passed around the same time (2009) that impacted the welfare of the child. This is one thing that Priya did very well as she was responsible of the ministry at the time. The trouble has been in implementing the laws. 

Take a look also at how the US courts interpreted the Guyana Act in Matter of Goorahoo (2012) where the US Court noted that Guyana has eliminated all legal distinctions between legitimate and illegitimate children. The Order of the US Court expressly stated:"...we are satisfied that ...Guyana has eliminated all legal distinctions between legitimate and illegitimate children. Thus, children born out of wedlock in Guyana after May 18, 1983, which is the defective date of the Removal of Discrimination Act, and children who are under the age of eighteen prior to that date are deemed legitimate and legitimated children, respectively". 

Guyana has done well in this area. 

Tola posted:

This thread started with Roopnarine HOSPILITIZED and most times GNI members would wish the person well, no matter which political party.

But the feeding frenzy continue by some, tarnishing and embarrassing  the man's family personal life.

Is this what we became on GNI ?     Shameful !!    

You are absolutely right. I hope he is out of hospital and recovering well. He is one of the better Ministers in the Government. 

I wish him and his entire family well. 

Guys, if Dr Rupert Roopnarine happens to read this thread, I'm sure he will be energized and humored.

Rupert is happy.  He just became the grandfather of an illegitimate child an hour ago. 

There is no such thing as an illegitimate child.  Perhaps you.

So why do they label a child born out of wedlock(father not stated on the birth certificate) a "bastard child".

Wasn't Jesus such a child?

baseman posted:

illegitimacy

I'm not at all casting judgement, but let's be clear on what the law say and does not say. I leave it that that, for now!!

I had a few more things to add on the general topic, but that's for another thread.  It does not belong here.

Hope mother and child are doing well and wish than all the best!!

So why do they label a child born out of wedlock(father not stated on the birth certificate) a "bastard child".

No, he was Immaculate Conception.  What kind of Brahmin are you?

Guys, if Dr Rupert Roopnarine happens to read this thread, I'm sure he will be energized and humored.

Rupert is happy.  He just became the grandfather of an illegitimate child an hour ago. 

According to the Bible, Jesus was conceived by The Holy Spirit, Joseph was his guardian.

Joseph might have later slept with Mary, but that is another story.

Now, the big question to be asked, after Jesus was born and Joseph might have slept with Mary, was she still considered a virgin ?  LOL

Last edited by Tola
Tola posted:

According to the Bible, Jesus was conceived by The Holy Spirit, Joseph was his guardian.

Now, the big question to be asked, after Jesus was born and Joseph might have slept with Mary, was she still considered a virgin ?  LOL

Please don't start spoiling this thread!!  Start another!!

Tola posted:

Well now just look at you! you chided some for waylaying the thread and taking it into a discussion into Dr. Roopnarine's private family life and had me feeling guilty for being part of the discussion on legitimacy and deemed legitimacy of all children, and now you taking the thread into a discussion on whether Mary could still be considered a virgin! Well!!

baseman posted:
Tola posted:

Please don't start spoiling this thread!!  Start another!!

Sorry, I fell into the same trap. You are correct, this thread is about Roopnarine's  health.

But the Pickney born today in Brazil, how does the Guyanese law apply? The father is Canadian and the mother is Guyanese.

P.S.  I am not being facetious, I really don't know.

susan posted:
Tola posted:

Well now just look at you! you chided some for waylaying the thread and taking it into a discussion into Dr. Roopnarine's private family life and had me feeling guilty for being part of the discussion on legitimacy and deemed legitimacy of all children, and now you taking the thread into a discussion on whether Mary could still be considered a virgin! Well!!

Sorry Susan, you are correct, it shows how easy it is to get side tracked.

Tola posted:

This thread started with Roopnarine HOSPILITIZED and most times GNI members would wish the person well, no matter which political party.

But the feeding frenzy continue by some, tarnishing and embarrassing  the man's family personal life.

This man happens to be the Minister of Education.  He is supposed to be a role model to the children and young people in the education system of Guyana.  I would have preferred if he would lead by example.  

Bibi Haniffa posted: I think the PPP should start putting Priya on the front burner.  She is one of the strongest people in there.  People have not seen what she is made of as yet.  She has the goods!!

This is where you and I will fight. Definitely not Priya Manickchand. 

Now, look at what I am putting in black and white here. It comes straight from my brain. The best possible PPP presidential candidate for 2020 will be Anil Nandlall. BJ and the PPP Old Guard know that Nandlall is brighter and smarter than all of them combined, hands down.

I am told some of the PPP veterans see him as a threat and that is why he made no headway in the Central Committee. But they can't keep a good man down forever. One fine day their eyes will open and they will see the light in the form of that Chatree. 

i did not like what he told Gildarie on the phone about Glen Lall but I have already forgiven him and written it off as an emotional indiscretion.

Holy smokes Gil,

You are right on target again. 

Tola posted:

This man happens to be the Minister of Education.  He is supposed to be a role model to the children and young people in the education system of Guyana.  I would have preferred if he would lead by example.  

This is the point i intended to raise when I pulled back and thought of another thread on the role of morality and impact on society, etc!!

Tola posted:

What exactly did the Minister of Education do that's wrong?

Tola posted:

What was his immoral act?

baseman posted:

No, he was Immaculate Conception.  What kind of Brahmin are you?

That's a belief.

susan posted: Gil, the original law was the Children Born Out of Wedlock (Removal of Discrimination) Act No. 12 of 1983. This was repealed and replaced by the Status of Children Act (2009) CAP 46:05. 
Note section 5 of the 2009 Act that removes and abolishes all distinction between the status of a child born in wedlock and a child born out of wedlock. The section also provides that "a person is the child of his natural parents, and his status as  their child is independent of whether he is born in or out of wedlock". 
The effect of section 6 is to eliminate the effectiveness of the words "legitimate" or "lawful" when used in relation to a child. These are provisions take  Guyana ahead of many other jurisdictions in this area of law. 
Take a look at the law. Also there are several other pieces of legislation that were passed around the same time (2009) that impacted the welfare of the child. This is one thing that Priya did very well as she was responsible of the ministry at the time. The trouble has been in implementing the laws. 
Take a look also at how the US courts interpreted the Guyana Act in Matter of Goorahoo (2012) where the US Court noted that Guyana has eliminated all legal distinctions between legitimate and illegitimate children. The Order of the US Court expressly stated:"...we are satisfied that ...Guyana has eliminated all legal distinctions between legitimate and illegitimate children. Thus, children born out of wedlock in Guyana after May 18, 1983, which is the defective date of the Removal of Discrimination Act, and children who are under the age of eighteen prior to that date are deemed legitimate and legitimated children, respectively". Guyana has done well in this area. 

Thank you very much, Sue. You know, there is a saying that out of bad can come good. Bibi's unadvised use of the word "illegitimate" provided us an opportunity to do some timely research and we all learnt something worthwhile in the process. I appreciate the fact that both the Burnham PNC regime and the PPP regime took the necessary effort to ensure that no illegality or shame is attached to babies born out of wedlock. 

But the Pickney born today in Brazil, how does the Guyanese law apply? The father is Canadian and the mother is Guyanese.

P.S.  I am not being facetious, I really don't know.

When Mom and Dad take Baby to Guyana, the Guyana laws will kick in and no one can attach stigma with words like "illegitimate" or "bastard" without being liable to legal sanction. By law, Baby will be accepted like another baby on Guyana soil.

I am now going to make my final contribution to this thread on a thoughtful note. When God coupled Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, he did not give them a marriage licence. Eve gave birth to Cain and Abel but some people called Cain a bastard only because he murdered his brother. Ta ta!

And Cain took Abel's wife.

Dondadda posted:

I agree with Gilly and Bibi that Anil Nandalall is the best and the brightest the PPP has left in that Party. He is young and he is a fighter and can win the General Elections in 2020 for his party. Question to you Gilly, would you switch from your current allegiance and publicly support Anil if he becomes the new PPP leader?

I am not planning to live up to 2020, Don. Not in my present state of health. That's the reality but I won't say more.

Gil, for personal reasons, I picked up on this post, after spending weeks in a place I wish not to be.

Bai, we should be grateful for the things were privileged to do in life, especially in relationships. I perceive you to be a very contented person, as I am. Documenting my life for future generations.

No regrets, the cycle of life must continue, but I  hope your prediction is wrong.