Ignore the man with the microphone and mala.

Look at the headwear of the two women in the foreground. One is wearing a Madrassi romal.

Look at the headwear of the men. They are wearing Wilson felt hats.

Look at the two houses in the background. Those are not poor people houses. Those houses are made out of wood, top to bottom. See dem front windows? You have to lift up the bottom half and rest it on a metal brace that looks like an r.

This scene looks like the 1960s.

Guyanese don't build houses like that anymore.

Guyanese women don't wear romal anymore.

The men don't wear dem kinda hats anymore.

And dat man wid de microphone and mala ent no more too.

Some people seh Guyana progress but I think we missing something. And someone.

Gilly, Guyana ain't gat microphone like dat no more.

I'd like to get a romal, not to wear, but as a reminder and conversation piece.

Our bedrooms have those windows. When the "r" conked out, we simple used a piece of wood to keep them open. The advantage of using the wood is that you can have different lengths of wood for however big you want de window to open. We gy peeps are clever

That felt hat...I have a solid picture in my mind of a gentleman in our neighborhood with his hat and walking stick.

Nice reminder, Gilly.

I'd like to know who punched my father in the nose I think in Manhattan and made it bleed and broken. Is this why the Jews have hooked noses. Today is the Jewish Sabbath and I mentioned the question where I live with a moderate voice this evening and some people stared at me. I wasn't getting along with my father very well going to high school and maybe someone took it the wrong way and hurt my father for malicious reasons. Today he is doing OK but has diabetes and has to get dialysis three times a week. I am sorry dad if someone used our bad standing to hurt you for personal intent. He used to drive his taxi on the streets near our house in the Bronx and wanted to drop me to the train station as I walked to it going to High School back in circa 1978 and I refused many times. Someone sucker punched me in the gym locker room in school and I am wondering if my father got punched in the nose on the same day as me. I would go visit him and my mother in the Bronx about once every two months. I noticed Indian actresses have hooked noses and I believe that was not the case many years ago--this is a suspicion. It may have stemmed from my father getting hurt so badly by evil sources. I am sorry Dad. I am sorry, God is responsible for my mental illness with his love with the devil. 

Dad Paint01

• Dad Paint01: Dad in front of their house in the Bronx 2 years ago
Ronald Anthony Arjune
Originally Posted by Miraver:

I'd really like to get a photo of women "dabbing de bottom-house". 

Do you have any such photos in your archives, Gilly?

Sorry, Miraver, I don't have any. Dem aunty don't want you tek out dem pichcha when dem ah daab battam house.

But I can give you a word picture by a visitor to Little Abary:

"How I marvelled at the ‘spic and span appearance’ of what appeared to be white-washed surfaces under the houses. Investigations revealed that the earth beneath the houses is actually daubed with a mixture of cow dung, water, and a special type of mud to avoid cracking. When this dries, the appearance of the earth is so inviting, that one might feel lured to lie down and curl up on the surface.
And believe me, when it dries, this mixture has a strangely alluring scent that seemed to inflict a ‘cozy magic’ on the senses." [GUYANA CHRONICLE, June 7, 2014]

Ronald, is your dad from West Demerara, Cornelia Ida? Someone there resembles him.

He is from 69 village in the Corentyne, Berbice. He was a policeman with Number 5402. One place he was stationed was Reliance. My mother is from Cromarty. She was a nurse in I think New Amsterdam hospital, where I was born. Are you saying my father has a double, and if so what are doubles? 

Mar23-2013

• Mar23-2013: Mom and Dad
Ronald Anthony Arjune
Originally Posted by Ronald Anthony Arjune:

Ronald, is your dad from West Demerara, Cornelia Ida? Someone there resembles him.

He is from 69 village in the Corentyne, Berbice. He was a policeman with Number 5402. One place he was stationed was Reliance. My mother is from Cromarty. She was a nurse in I think New Amsterdam hospital, where I was born. Are you saying my father has a double, and if so what are doubles? 

Mar23-2013

Thanks, Ron. Mistaken identity on my part. No, your father doesn't have a double. Your mom and dad are special, unique and good looking too.

Sorry to hear someone punched your dad's nose in Manhattan.

Sorry, Miraver, I don't have any. Dem aunty don't want you tek out dem pichcha when dem ah daab battam house.

"How I marvelled at the ‘spic and span appearance’ of what appeared to be white-washed surfaces under the houses. Investigations revealed that the earth beneath the houses is actually daubed with a mixture of cow dung, water, and a special type of mud to avoid cracking. When this dries, the appearance of the earth is so inviting, that one might feel lured to lie down and curl up on the surface.
And believe me, when it dries, this mixture has a strangely alluring scent that seemed to inflict a ‘cozy magic’ on the senses." [GUYANA CHRONICLE, June 7, 2014]

Indeed, you painted a picture for me. I can see my mother's bottom house with those semi-circles she made with her "putna". I can see her on her knees, with beads of sweat on her forehead and sideburns. I can see her wiping that sweat off with the sleeve of her dress. I can see her with the folded up cloth under her knees to give some measure of protection and comfort. I can see the pride in her eyes when people told her how nice and shine her battam house look.

Thanks for helping me to reminisce, Gilly

Indeed, you painted a picture for me. I can see my mother's bottom house with those semi-circles she made with her "putna". I can see her on her knees, with beads of sweat on her forehead and sideburns. I can see her wiping that sweat off with the sleeve of her dress. I can see her with the folded up cloth under her knees to give some measure of protection and comfort. I can see the pride in her eyes when people told her how nice and shine her battam house look.

Thanks for helping me to reminisce, Gilly

Tell Aunty Miravermumma Gilly seh God bless her.