School cleaners protest US$79 salary
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol Thursday, 01 September 2011 12:11

Several government-employed sweeper cleaners on Thursday took their plight of lowly-paid salaries- half the minimum wage- in front of the Ministry of Finance. Under the umbrella of the Alliance For Change (AFC), the female-dominated picketers also chanted slogans, calling for better pay.

Miriam Fordyce, who is a sweeper-cleaner at Hopetown Nursery School, West Coast Berbice for more than 10 years, said she experiences great difficulty surviving on GUY$15,800 (US$79) per month. The party noted that the minimum wage is $32,207 (US$161), an amount that the cleaners are not being paid. Depending on assistance from her husband and other persons, the mother of five children said she is also not entitled to benefits from the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). “We don’t pay NIS so if you are sick, you cannot carry in sick leave, I feel bad because we are not getting any benefit if you sick,” she told Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com).

Rushell Britton,34, of Hopetown Primary School is in a similar plight, saying that she is often forced to borrow to sustain herself and her three children. “Sometimes things rough with the children, sometimes I borrowing, borrowing when I get the money all got to pay back in debt. I ain’t seeing my way,” she told Demerara Waves Online News.

Fordyce and Britton were among those who picketed for fatter pay packets outside the Finance Ministry. While chanting “Reduce Jagdeo pension and pay the sweeper-cleaners their money,”, “Increase salary for sweeper cleaner, less pension for Jagdeo,” and “Where is the democracy in the distribution of wealth,” they also held placards. The slogans on the placards included “AFC says school cleaners are human beings too,” “AFC says school cleaners provide a valuable service too,” “Where is the concern for the working class,” “AFC says $15,000 per month a national disgrace” and “AFC says school cleaners deserve a decent wage,”

The AFC claims it has seen a directive by the Finance Ministry to the Regional Democratic Councils that that sweeper cleaners must be considered contract service providers and not as public servants and so they cannot be paid the minimum wage. “The AFC submits that there is a strong element of criminality associated with such directive,” said the party, adding that many of the sweeper cleaners have been working for at least 10 years. The party noted that several schools have been asking parents to contribute monies to help pay that category of workers more. “It is debasing and dehumanizing for persons to work for less than a minimum wage,” said party presidential candidate, Khemraj Ramjattan from the picket line.

PPP oppresses the working people of Guyana

The Alliance For Change is once again dismayed at the level and magnitude of the oppression facing the working people of Guyana. It really appears that the State apparatus has been hijacked by a political cabal with no conscience concerning the endemic poverty that afflicts some segments of the society.

Recently, it has been brought to the attention of the party that sweeper cleaners attached to the school system with nine years of service and working for eight to ten hours daily are paid $15,800 per month despite the fact that the public service minimum wage is $32,207.00. We have learnt that such is prevalent in all regions across the country.

A directive sent by the Finance Secretary of the Ministry of Finance to the RDCs and seen by the AFC, seeks to effectively usurp the authority of the RDC by imposing the stipulation that sweeper cleaners be considered as contracted service providers and not as public servants which would entail their entitlement to the minimum wage and the benefits associated with such.

According to the directive, “Budget agencies are reminded that Chart of Accounts 6111 to 6115 must correspond directly to the categorization used by the Public Service Ministry. Only employees who are appointed to permanent positions by the Public and Police Service Commission, Teaching Service Commission, or the Defense Board should be included in these categories. All other employees should be classified as “Contracted” or “Temporary” under Chart of Accounts 6116 and 6117. Please be reminded that sweepers/cleaners for schools are contracted service providers and should be reflected under Chart of Account 6284.

Such directive effectively serves as the basis for paying sweeper/cleaners, despite their many years of service, half of the minimum wage and denying them the benefits associated with the public service categorization. The AFC submits that there is a strong element of criminality associated with such directive. The AFC has also noted that the Ministry of Finance in executing such directive would override the authority of the RDC by sending such instruction to the REO who, in contravention of the stipulation of the constitution, functions also as the Chief Finance Officer. The REO (it should be underscored) is an officer within the authority of the Council.

This practice, can certainly be deemed ultra vires the dictates of the Local Democratic Organs Act, which stipulates that the State may delegate any of its authority to a Local Democratic Organ and not to staff within that Organ. This latest stratagem is another calculated manoeuver designed to maintain control. It is very sad that the sustained impoverishment of an important segment of our society is the product of such maneuvering. It needs to be made clear here that the decision to pay sweeper cleaners half of the minimum wage is thus a directive from the State and was not made at the level of the RDC.

As a result of this dire situation, teachers have had to resort to soliciting monies from parents to pay sweeper cleaners. A duty that rightfully belongs to the State. Sweeper/cleaners have complained to the AFC that they are much pained by this situation as their job entails a heavy work load over an 8 to 10 hour period. They have said that they have had to resort to second jobs to eke out a living.

The AFC calls for the notions of justice and equality to guide the further course of this matter. Sweeper/cleaners who are mainly single parent women, perform an invaluable service in the school system. We contend that their work is certainly of more usefulness than certain staff doing dubious work in the Office of the President. They maintain a healthy learning environment for the education of our children to take place. They should be immediately classified as public servants, paid a liveable wage and accorded the necessary benefits.

quote...
Hi Gerhard
SCHOOL CLEANERS CONTRACT:
My understanding is that the Government contracts out school cleaning chores to contractors, and in turn contractors then employed their own workers to do the cleaning at an agreeable wage/salary before accepting the job. Sometimes I did understand that workers were paid for amount of square feet/and or rooms cleaned as per contract. Now if the Contractors is underpaying its employees and not providing them with benifits then my friend, it is a job for those concerned to change the system,
but I would not shared out blames towards the PPP/C.

I can understand that contracts are being given out on a bidding process......and the lowest bidder gets the contract.....and in order for him/her to accrue a profit for that contract then, he/she has to pay his/her workers accordingly.

Mind you, I am not saying or implying that paying wages below the minimum standard is right, but what I am saying is that an overall look into the system and see where we can improve for the betterment, is the correct way to go.

There are schools in different parts of the world where the same problem exits re: the following is one example: http://unitedvoice.org.au/file...report-FA-screen.pdf

I do hope that we can see a promise by the authorities to revise wages of school cleaners....unquote
Originally posted by albert:
quote...
Hi Gerhard
My understanding is that the Government contracts out school cleaning chores to contractors, and in turn contractors then employed their own workers to do the cleaning at an agreeable wage/salary before accepting the job. Sometimes I did understand that workers were paid for amount of square feet/and or rooms cleaned as per contract. Now if the Contractors is underpaying its employees and not providing them with benifits then my friend, it is a job for those concerned to change the system,

I can understand that contracts are being given out on a bidding process......and the lowest bidder gets the contract.....and in order for him/her to accrue a profit for that contract then, he/she has to pay his/her workers accordingly.

Mind you, I am not saying or implying that paying wages below the minimum standard is right, but what I am saying is that an overall look into the system and see where we can improve for the betterment, is the correct way to go.

There are schools in different parts of the world where the same problem exits re: the following is one example: http://unitedvoice.org.au/file...report-FA-screen.pdf

I do hope that we can see a promise by the authorities to revise wages of school cleaners....unquote

As the govt we should ensure that contractors adhere to minimum guidelines for payment of their staff etc.
HM
quote...
Hi Gerhard

Isnt it the role of the govt to enforce the law? Punish those who dont adhere to the law and definitly terminate contracts of violators.

Sorry the PPP is to blame.
AFC-led picket highlights plight of sweeper-cleaners
SEPTEMBER 2, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

“More money for sweeper-cleaners”, “Everything raising but salary”, and “Where is the democracy in the distribution of wealth?” were among the many cries of protestors who gathered in front of the Ministry of Finance, Main Street, Georgetown, yesterday morning. The protest, which was led by the Alliance For Change (AFC), sought to highlight the plight of sweeper-cleaners who, it was pointed out, have been receiving below minimum wage for about a decade.

Some of the placards read: “Rain a fall but the dutty tough, the Guyana situation”; “Where is the concern for the working class?” and “School cleaners being paid $15,000 per month”. Among the protesters was Miriam Fordyce, a mother of five, who has been employed as a sweeper-cleaner at a school for 10 years, noted that while public servants enjoy yearly increases, sweeper-cleaners do not get the same treatment. Fordyce stated that cleaners play an integral role in the system despite the fact that many may not regard them as important. The disgruntled woman stressed that if the schools are not cleaned the students will become very ill. Another protester, Rushell Britton, claimed that money is not deducted from their salary for National Insurance Scheme.

AFC protests the meagre salary of sweep-cleaners in the Education System

Britton, a mother of three, says she has been receiving this meagre salary for several years. The woman emphasized that her salary finishes before she collects it since she invariably has to repay debts. It was noted that she has to send her children to school and the money cannot clear expenses.

Presidential candidate of the AFC, Khemraj Ramjatan’s placard read: “Rain a fall but the dutty tough, the Guyana situation”. Explaining his slogan, Ramjatan stated that Guyana has money but it is not reaching the masses. He pointed to the fact that the country’s revenue increased with the implementation of the 16 percent Value Added Tax, but the administration has become callous to the working class people and only certain persons and contractors enjoy the benefits. Ramjatan stated that, “It really appears that the State apparatus has been hijacked by a political cabal with no conscience concerning the endemic poverty that afflicts some segments of the society.”

It was revealed that the AFC recently became aware that sweeper-cleaners attached to the school system with nine years of service and working for eight to 10 hours daily are paid $15,800 per month although the public service minimum wage is $32,207. “A directive sent by the Finance Secretary of the Ministry of Finance to the Regional Democratic Councils (RDCs) and seen by the AFC, seeks to effectively usurp the authority of the RDC by imposing the stipulation that sweeper-cleaners be considered as contracted service providers and not as public servants,” Ramjatan stated.
He asserted that, “This would entail their entitlement to the minimum wage and the benefits associated with such.”

He explained that the directive stated that, “Budget agencies are reminded that Chart of Accounts 6111 to 6115 must correspond directly to the categorization used by the Public Service Ministry. Only employees who are appointed to permanent positions by the Public and Police Service Commission, Teaching Service Commission, or the Defence Board should be included in these categories. All other employees should be classified as “Contracted” or “Temporary” under Chart of Accounts 6116 and 6117. Please be reminded that sweepers-cleaners for schools are contracted service providers and should be reflected under Chart of Account 6284.”

In addition, such a directive effectively serves as the basis for paying sweeper-cleaners, despite their many years of service, half of the minimum wage, and denying them the benefits associated with the public service categorization. Ramjatan stated that, “The AFC has also noted that the Ministry of Finance in executing such a directive would override the authority of the RDC by sending such instructions to the Regional Executive Officer (REO) who, in contravention of the stipulation of the constitution, functions also as the Chief Finance Officer. The REO (it should be underscored) is an officer within the authority of the Council.” “This practice can certainly be deemed ultra vires the dictates of the Local Democratic Organs Act, which stipulates that the State may delegate any of its authority to a Local Democratic Organ and not to staff within that Organ,” he added. “As a result of this dire situation, teachers have had to resort to soliciting monies from parents to pay sweeper-cleaners. A duty that rightfully belongs to the State,” Ramjatan asserted emphatically.

Originally posted by caribj:
quote...
Hi Gerhard

Isnt it the role of the govt to enforce the law? Punish those who dont adhere to the law and definitly terminate contracts of violators.

Sorry the PPP is to blame.

It is the role of the govt, in this particular case it is not directly the govt's fault but we need to make sure that our contractors are being held accountable and that is something that is never done in Guyana and that is why we have bridges and roads falling apart 2 days after they were built.
HM
Hi Gerhard

Its clear the cake shop party wants to score cheap political points
Hi Gerhard

The workers are cheap in your book, eh mr anti-imperialist.
Originally posted by Horse Man:
This is a good point if we in the PPP are touting ourselves as the party for the working class how and why are we allowing this to take place right under our noses?

ASJ is this not a blatant contradiction? do you see why this is hurting us here in Guyana?

We are busy hollering we are the working class party but we are stealing from the sugar workers by rigging the scales so that they have to cut a ton and a half of cane to get paid for 1 ton.

You see the reputation we have developed. Bookman and company this is what I am talking about guys.

We are hurting ourselves badly in Guyana. We have to stop this shit.
HM
Hi Gerhard

My answer to asj: asj, there are no contractors involved. These people are paid by the Gov't. Indeed, some cleaners do not work all day, but that depends on how many there are per school. If there are a few, obviously the hours would be longer. asj, these people are required to come to work everyday, so regardless of how many hours they work, they must be given the minimum wage at least. Other Gov't employees who receive the minimum wage often don't work all day either. And what are the sums we are talking about? It is US$160 per month! Come on asj, be reasonable here.

Further, a caring Ministry of Education would have seen to it that the cleaner-sweepers get involved in other activities so as to boost their pay. Those with some amount of education could be given work in the school office, or they be offered the option to sell snacks in the school yard or run the school canteen. How can the Gov't be so uncaring and unconscionable? This is a needed service we are speaking about here, and it includes heavy work such as lifting and moving benches, tables and chairs. A private firm would cost so much more, asj.

Here is what Ramjattan said: "...such a directive effectively serves as the basis for paying sweeper-cleaners, despite their many years of service, half of the minimum wage, and denying them the benefits associated with the public service categorization. Ramjatan stated that, “The AFC has also noted that the Ministry of Finance in executing such a directive would override the authority of the RDC by sending such instructions to the Regional Executive Officer (REO) who, in contravention of the stipulation of the constitution, functions also as the Chief Finance Officer. The REO (it should be underscored) is an officer within the authority of the Council.” “This practice can certainly be deemed ultra vires the dictates of the Local Democratic Organs Act, which stipulates that the State may delegate any of its authority to a Local Democratic Organ and not to staff within that Organ,” he added. “As a result of this dire situation, teachers have had to resort to soliciting monies from parents to pay sweeper-cleaners. A duty that rightfully belongs to the State,” Ramjatan asserted emphatically.

albert, why is it you seem to have such difficulty writing things on your own? You really had to copy what asj said?
This is a part time job, not full time and thus not entitled to minimum wages per month. The aFC dogs again sell snake oil. Your really think these folks sweep the school for 8 hours a day? No, 1 to 2 hr tops after the school day ends. And why would they be paid during the summer recess?????
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
This is a part time job, not full time and thus not entitled to minimum wages per month. The aFC dogs again sell snake oil. Your really think these folks sweep the school for 8 hours a day? No, 1 to 2 hr tops after the school day ends. And why would they be paid during the summer recess?????
Please take the time to read what I wrote just above your post. Thanks.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

As usual, you and cockeye try to politicize any and every issue regardless of the voracity. ahhahahahah

GR, I don't think Drugee is a fool, but what's my opinion compared to that of thousands of others who don't agree with me?

Several government-employed sweeper cleaners on Thursday took their plight of lowly-paid salaries- half the minimum wage- in front of the Ministry of Finance. Under the umbrella of the Alliance For Change (AFC), the female-dominated picketers also chanted slogans, calling for better pay.

Miriam Fordyce, who is a sweeper-cleaner at Hopetown Nursery School, West Coast Berbice for more than 10 years, said she experiences great difficulty surviving on GUY$15,800 (US$79) per month. The party noted that the minimum wage is $32,207 (US$161), an amount that the cleaners are not being paid. Depending on assistance from her husband and other persons, the mother of five children said she is also not entitled to benefits from the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). “We don’t pay NIS so if you are sick, you cannot carry in sick leave, I feel bad because we are not getting any benefit if you sick,” she told Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com).

Rushell Britton,34, of Hopetown Primary School is in a similar plight, saying that she is often forced to borrow to sustain herself and her three children. “Sometimes things rough with the children, sometimes I borrowing, borrowing when I get the money all got to pay back in debt. I ain’t seeing my way,” she told Demerara Waves Online News.

Fordyce and Britton were among those who picketed for fatter pay packets outside the Finance Ministry. While chanting “Reduce Jagdeo pension and pay the sweeper-cleaners their money,”, “Increase salary for sweeper cleaner, less pension for Jagdeo,” and “Where is the democracy in the distribution of wealth,” they also held placards. The slogans on the placards included “AFC says school cleaners are human beings too,” “AFC says school cleaners provide a valuable service too,” “Where is the concern for the working class,” “AFC says $15,000 per month a national disgrace” and “AFC says school cleaners deserve a decent wage,”

The AFC claims it has seen a directive by the Finance Ministry to the Regional Democratic Councils that that sweeper cleaners must be considered contract service providers and not as public servants and so they cannot be paid the minimum wage. “The AFC submits that there is a strong element of criminality associated with such directive,” said the party, adding that many of the sweeper cleaners have been working for at least 10 years. The party noted that several schools have been asking parents to contribute monies to help pay that category of workers more. “It is debasing and dehumanizing for persons to work for less than a minimum wage,” said party presidential candidate, Khemraj Ramjattan from the picket line.

Shame, watch what this PPP is doing to workers and they call themselves working class.

Look gwan from yah su quick yeh.

I wonder what Mr Dandy will do with $79 USD or his boss man Mr Guyana Putin?
Originally posted by Sase Singh:

I wonder what Mr Dandy will do with $79 USD or his boss man Mr Guyana Putin?

Indeed the govt should pay them minimum wage, an hour wage for an hour worked. Not a month's salary for 20 hours work. ahahhahahhahahahah
Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Are these poor people qualified for the pittance of 5%?

This is two new bread per month - the 5%.

Wow,  PPP give workers salary increase of 2 new bread every month.

Sick Government!

School cleaning is a PT job, not intended to be paid as FT.  The GoG should simply outsource school cleaning to contractors and let them handle it.  People just want to milk every system.

You crab daag trying fuh tek bread out of the people mouth.

Originally Posted by Devindra:

You crab daag trying fuh tek bread out of the people mouth.

You know I'm correct, true?  Tell me where I'm wrong.  Contractors are the best solution.

Why don't you subcontract out the whole of the Office of the President?

I ask you, isn't school cleaning a PT job, maybe 2-3 hours per day?  Am I incorrect?

OP is a FT job.

Maybe we should sub-contract out Jaggy bed friend Steve griffin who gets $30 million a year from the taxpayers.

That was not my question.  Let me repeat, isn't school cleaning a PT job, maybe 2-3 hours per day?  Stop running around like a confused antiman.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

Oi Bassy-girl, what yu obsessed with the people US$79 per month.  why yu not focused on what brother Davin brought out -  Gaillie US$5,000 per month salary?

Cleaning the schools and Gail's job are two worlds apart.  Alyuh stupid in mass, real stupid.

Oi Bassy-girl, what yu obsessed with the people US$79 per month.  why yu not focused on what brother Davin brought out -  Gaillie US$5,000 per month salary?

Cleaning the schools and Gail's job are two worlds apart.  Alyuh stupid in mass, real stupid.

Alright, give Baseman some air, he in front of the gallery, raise up yu skirt and fliunce girl since your intellect is most deficient.

Rather then talking like an antiman, tell me.  Isn't school cleaning a PT job?  Is Gail's job and a PT school cleaning job comparable?  Those must first be resolved before we move on.  Let me see your shitty asinine response...or surprise me.

Originally Posted by Henry:

If the PPP were to step in, bypass the contractors, and pay the sweeper cleaners a higher wage, AFC would holler "corruption!"

Callous you are dear old Henry ak Clement Rotie.

You chaps are so unkind and uncaring and heartless.

More East Indians are seeing this uncaring side of the PPP and moving to the right.

Originally Posted by Henry:

If the PPP were to step in, bypass the contractors, and pay the sweeper cleaners a higher wage, AFC would holler "corruption!"

Callous you are dear old Henry ak Clement Rotie.

You chaps are so unkind and uncaring and heartless.

More East Indians are seeing this uncaring side of the PPP and moving to the right.

Why don't you answer the question I posed?  You guys are just demagogues, hot air, opportunists.

Like Baseman talking to himself?

He having a mental moment?

Tsk tsk.  So sad!

Yea, cop out, that's your style, logical question and you ducking for cover.  Cheap skates opportunists.  The people know and see, you don't fool anyone.  Unfortunately it debases even ligit positions.  What a wasted opportunity.