I notice here that some people use words (I have been keeping a list since I been on this site) like poke, chum chum, punani, sumutoo, nara, aloo, baigan, choka, dharu, roti, karaila, loli, paglee, prappa, etc

My observation is that they are primarily used by Indos (I think). I notice too that some people (non-Indos) simply don’t use them. Ronan, Iguana, etc don’t seem to use any of them. Some of them are not in a dictionary, so they are not necessarily English words. So here are my questions:

Are these words part of the Afro or Indo language they brought from Africa or India?

Are they based on the original Hindi language?

Are they β€œcreole” words that develop over the years of mixing with Afro and Indo words?

Why does it look like one set of Guyanese use them?

I have a more serious question to ask you. If you don't know these words or heard of them before, you are not from Guyana. I don't care if you leave as a child and live here for many years. My kids that are born here know these words very well because when I drop lash ah them for rass for chul-clul behavior, they remember why. You need some good trashing pun you rass too. This show-off behavior of yours is not sitting well with me. 

I notice here that some people use words (I have been keeping a list since I been on this site) like poke, chum chum, punani, sumutoo, nara, aloo, baigan, choka, dharu, roti, karaila, loli, paglee, prappa, etc

My observation is that they are primarily used by Indos (I think). I notice too that some people (non-Indos) simply don’t use them. Ronan, Iguana, etc don’t seem to use any of them. Some of them are not in a dictionary, so they are not necessarily English words. So here are my questions:

Are these words part of the Afro or Indo language they brought from Africa or India?

Are they based on the original Hindi language?

Are they β€œcreole” words that develop over the years of mixing with Afro and Indo words?

Why does it look like one set of Guyanese use them?

There are some Hindi words in regular creole usage, paglee definitely one and punani another. Especially food names have entered the Guyanese/Trinidadian creole lexicon.   I am not sure that prappa is a Hindi word.  At least not when used by non Indians.

And in fact rural Caribbean Indians have built a dialect on a creole language base which its itself linked to the various West African pidgin English.  Urban Indians speak straight Afro Caribbean creole English.  So yes there has been much linguistic interchange between the two groups.  Note that Creolese rides on a West African grammatical system using English as its lexicon.  The English words adjusted to a West African mouth.

The amount of African (as adjusted to the Caribbean) influences in the behavior of known Indo KKK on GNI would drive most of them to suicide if they really knew what they were doing.

I have already mentioned before that over time many Caribbean Indians respond to drum music in an Afro Caribbean way.

Admin, you should close this thread, its not going anywhere. 

Please don't.  Just tell idle people to shut up if they have nothing to say.

This topic is of interest.  For instance I have always wondered why Guyanese say "bai" (boy) instead of "bwai". 

One characteristic that I note with both Africans and Indians (the real ones not the fake Caribbean ones) is the use of "auntie/uncle" to address on older person who is a close acquaintance, but not a blood relative of the family.

This is also the pattern in the Caribbean and it confuses many non Caribbean people.

I find that Guyanese don't talk enough about the origins of our culture.  One fact that needs to be understood is even though the two groups didn't trust each other they lived side by side so had great impact on each other.  So all Guyanese use channa, and every Guyanese knows aloo.  I think that the Hindi influence in mainstream Guyanese creolese is especially visible in food items.

Admin, you should close this thread, its not going anywhere. 

One fact that needs to be understood is even though the two groups didn't trust each other they lived side by side so had great impact on each other. 

That's true in the Countryside, my neighboring village is Afro we get along fine, sometimes we go for a drink at the bars, same they will do in our village.

Amral posted:

How about if I say me and you konkee cannot agree

What deh rass, "agree"??? I know it as me an you kankee cyant boil.

I remember Dad long ago mixing the ingredients into a paste, putting it in banana leaves, wrapping the leaves into 2"x2" squares and tying them with twine, then boiling them in a large pot. Delicious!  

Amral posted:

How about if I say me and you konkee cannot agree

What deh rass, "agree"??? I know it as me an you kankee cyant boil.

I remember Dad long ago mixing the ingredients into a paste, putting it in banana leaves, wrapping the leaves into 2"x2" squares and tying them with twine, then boiling them in a large pot. Delicious!  

That was good treat for us as kids, my mom will always make for us.

Have you ever had Chanchee added with sugar,Chanchee is the by product of making Ghee and Coconut oil.That's another treat.

Haven't have for awhile, will have to make some, banana leaves selling in the stores in my neck of the woods.

Watch how Vish will ask what is "Chanchee"