APNU has been chirping for shared Governance for a while now and while they are yet to define what they mean by this concept, it is clear that for them it means handing out Cabinet posts to members of the opposition. This is not going to happen. One cannot by any stretch of imagination give authority to creatures like Basil Williams, Winston Felix and Edward Collins, people whose hands are stained with the blood of Guyanese.
A number of mechanisms are in place to facilitate greater inclusivity, mainly the several parliamentary committees, many of which are headed by the opposition. Doling cabinet positions is definitely a no no.

Originally posted by albert:
APNU has been chirping for shared Governance for a while now and while they are yet to define what they mean by this concept, it is clear that for them it means handing out Cabinet posts to members of the opposition. This is not going to happen. One cannot by any stretch of imagination give authority to creatures like Basil Williams, Winston Felix and Edward Collins, people whose hands are stained with the blood of Guyanese.
A number of mechanisms are in place to facilitate greater inclusivity, mainly the several parliamentary committees, many of which are headed by the opposition. Doling cabinet positions is definitely a no no.
You are quite lazy. The PNC has a very clear concept of power sharing. My guess is they are more concerned now with deconstructing the PPP hegemony in Guyana.

The AFC on the other hand does not care for using concrete and mortar to shore up this top heavy structure. A Romanesque cathedral cannot be transformed to a Gothic cathedral. You have to tear it down and rebuild. That is what this constitution needs. However, the PPP cannot be trusted so they will have to tear it down against their wishes
Originally posted by D2:
You are quite lazy. The PNC has a very clear concept of power sharing. My guess is they are more concerned now with deconstructing the PPP hegemony in Guyana.

The AFC on the other hand does not care for using concrete and mortar to shore up this top heavy structure. A Romanesque cathedral cannot be transformed to a Gothic cathedral. You have to tear it down and rebuild. That is what this constitution needs. However, the PPP cannot be trusted so they will have to tear it down against their wishes

You also don't know what shared governance is all about.. The PPP does not have to rebuild anything. There is not going to be corruption with this Ramoutar's Government. You said that the PPP cannot be trust. Do you think anybody can trust the PNC or the AFC..They are saying one thing and doing something else.

The PNC cannot and will not disband the PPP's hegemony. The Real Leadership lies within the central committee which controls the party.
There is a demarkation between government and party.
The opposition ought know that the current situation is perhaps the closest that we would get to shared Governance and should capitalize on the opportunities that have been presented to them

The opposition has no intention of power sharing with the PPP. If APNU gets back into office they will use all sorts of excuses to dictatorialize the country.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
The opposition ought know that the current situation is perhaps the closest that we would get to shared Governance and should capitalize on the opportunities that have been presented to them

The opposition has no intention of power sharing with the PPP. If APNU gets back into office they will use all sorts of excuses to dictatorialize the country.

APNU was never in office and never will until all the PPPites migrate.
Originally posted by FC:
Flawed thinking. This is why Guyana will remind a divided country “abee pon tap" mentality. Don't worry times are changing albeit slowly. I am sure in my lifetime we will see the PPP on the outside looking in.

When the PPP is gone. The AFC will become the PPP ina different name.. Indians are clannish. They will stick with the Indo Party.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Originally posted by D2:

You also don't know what shared governance is all about.. The PPP does not have to rebuild anything. There is not going to be corruption with this Ramoutar's Government. You said that the PPP cannot be trust. Do you think anybody can trust the PNC or the AFC..They are saying one thing and doing something else.

The PNC cannot and will not disband the PPP's hegemony. The Real Leadership lies within the central committee which controls the party.
There is a demarkation between government and party.
I am sure I have a better understanding of governments and their functioning comparatively than you do. I am not asking the PPP to rebuild anything. They would not if they could since they are ideologically calcified to looking at the world through their vestigial communist lenses. That is clearly why the run their party affairs on the old Leninist democratic centralism model. Well, that is not applicable for a democratic society.

Of course the PNC or anyone for that matter cannot "disband" the PPP hegemony. That is party praxis so they will have to do the rearranging. They can help in the process to formulate ideological alternatives that will coerce supporters of all parties into a more agreeably and communal arrangement. Of course the PPP is presently unwilling to commit to such changes so they have to be pointed in the right direction by coercion and by offering them little option to avoid doing so. This is why this hung parliament is perhaps our best option to date for social and political transformation of the society. It it fails we will definitely have violence in the streets. That is what happens to societies when they fail to mediate their grinding ethnic differences.

I do not give a damn about your definition of leadership. It is not my understanding of it. My view in short it is the ability to coerce social actors to participate in actions that they would not otherwise perform but do so because it is clearly illustrated as a right and just way to proceed. It is not as your central committee sees it; diktat from an chosen party acolyte.
Originally posted by D2:
Do you think that I give a damn about you opinion?
You are a dunce so I do not expect you to care. Further, you are a member of the paleontological relics in the PPP. You are long dead so no; I do not expect you to be receptive to any behavior modification.

I don't see how that is any concern of your's..
I am my own person but you are not your own. You seemed to agree with everybody who is anti-PPP and concerning yopur own people which you are a mere 5% of, you don't have a clue as to what they are about.

You are nothing but a product of black racism against Indians..
Originally posted by D2:
Do you think that I give a damn about you opinion?
You are a dunce so I do not expect you to care. Further, you are a member of the paleontological relics in the PPP. You are long dead so no; I do not expect you to be receptive to any behavior modification.

I don't see how that is any concern of your's..
I am my own person but you are not your own. You seemed to agree with everybody who is anti-PPP and concerning yopur own people which you are a mere 5% of, you don't have a clue as to what they are about.

You are nothing but a product of black racism against Indians..
It is a concern of mine when your opinions, which reflect a wrong headed view of a party, is dispensed as eternal verities. They are not. They are retrogressive, backward and detritus of a decades long era and ought to remain there.

I do not agree with "anybody". I agree with anyone who shares my means to end schema for transformation of our society. Your easy grab for the race card wont help you.
Sir you don't have a means..your means would be to ensure that the fa^gotoid agenda remains paramount. You have no knowledge about Democracy or Governance except that which was fed to you as a result of being indoctrinated by the anti humanity lobby. They are white in colour
All of that to affirm the dumber and dumber tag?
There isn't going to be any power sharing. The cabinet has already been formed. It's a PPP cabinet and government. The opposition will have to deal with the issues as they see fit.

And dealing with the issue might just cause His Excellency The President Donald Ramoutar to veto any bill that comes to him that has a PNC/APNU's twist.

The PPP/C will never ever trust a PNC/APNU power sharing.

Originally posted by asj:
There isn't going to be any power sharing. The cabinet has already been formed. It's a PPP cabinet and government. The opposition will have to deal with the issues as they see fit.

And dealing with the issue might just cause His Excellency The President Donald Ramoutar to veto any bill that comes to him that has a PNC/APNU's twist.

The PPP/C will never ever trust a PNC/APNU power sharing.

They have to put aside a day in the week for opposition motion... They will have to negotiate that..If they keep making demands they are going to get nothing.
Sir you don't have a means..your means would be to ensure that the fa^gotoid agenda remains paramount. You have no knowledge about Democracy or Governance except that which was fed to you as a result of being indoctrinated by the anti humanity lobby. They are white in colour

BBWWWWAAAAAAA!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!HAHAHAHA!!Big Grin Big Grin HAHAHA!!!!Big Grin Big Grin

lol headbanging pleaseaa
Definitely no cabinet position for the PNC/AFC. The seats they won is for Parliament, not minista jab. You don't put your opponent in your cabinet to create mischief unless you are confident that they will not be antagonistic. The PNC/AFC have in the past displayed hatred of the PPP so rewarding this behavior with cabinet seat is not the smartest move. Let them vote in parliament and get the bare minimum of power.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Definitely no cabinet position for the PNC/AFC. The seats they won is for Parliament, not minista jab. You don't put your opponent in your cabinet to create mischief unless you are confident that they will not be antagonistic. The PNC/AFC have in the past displayed hatred of the PPP so rewarding this behavior with cabinet seat is not the smartest move. Let them vote in parliament and get the bare minimum of power.

I agree.
The opposition is behaving like they are the Government. They formed two groups to run the country already. What will they think of next.
They don't want a snap election and the PPP knows that.

They are so scared of calling a snap election because of what it would mean for the entire opposition.
The opposition is behaving like they are the Government. They formed two groups to run the country already. What will they think of next.
They don't want a snap election and the PPP knows that.

They are so scared of calling a snap election because of what it would mean for the entire opposition.

The AFC will lose their Indo support in berbice...
Originally posted by Guyana1:
The PPP is now in a strong position with the opposition shaking in their boots. They are scared of a snap election. Bring it on !
How could the PPP be in a strong position when they are a minority government? They cannot get a damn thing through parliament unless they include the opposition party.

Further, in a snap electron they will be brutalized. If they could not do it when they had all those parades on the nation dimes, faux unity concerts and endless payoff and promises of gifts to the society, how would they do so this time when they would not have access to the same kinds of state cash? They left a lasting legacy of pure corruption and the disgust index in the society is not easily removed. Ramorat will try to hold out for as long as he can while their bean counters gather data and plan a strategy. Meanwhile, the others are doing the same and this time my Amerind peeps can expect lots of gifts!
Originally posted by D2:
The PPP is now in a strong position with the opposition shaking in their boots. They are scared of a snap election. Bring it on !
How could the PPP be in a strong position when they are a minority government? They cannot get a damn thing through parliament unless they include the opposition party.

Further, in a snap electron they will be brutalized. If they could not do it when they had all those parades on the nation dimes, faux unity concerts and endless payoff and promises of gifts to the society, how would they do so this time when they would not have access to the same kinds of state cash? They left a lasting legacy of pure corruption and the disgust index in the society is not easily removed. Ramorat will try to hold out for as long as he can while their bean counters gather data and plan a strategy. Meanwhile, the others are doing the same and this time my Amerind peeps can expect lots of gifts!

Jen a snap election will result in the opposition being utterly defeated and their only alternative will be to burn and murder. What you do not know is that should they foolishly attempt to go this route well it will certainly be the beginning of the end for opposition banditry, arson and hooliganism. you still gat da ting??
Originally posted by Streetsmart:
Originally posted by D2:

Jen a snap election will result in the opposition being utterly defeated and their only alternative will be to burn and murder. What you do not know is that should they foolishly attempt to go this route well it will certainly be the beginning of the end for opposition banditry, arson and hooliganism. you still gat da ting??
They had 3 months of sustained campaigning and corruptly acquisitioned the nations assets inclusive of its state owned media to help them. They lost!

You do need to console yourselves that you will win again since corruoption is not possible with someone else having to over see your competency.

I do not know who the hell is "Jen" or what you mean by your constant repetition of "you still gat da ting??" I would presume you think I am some one you know and somehow you know them to be defective in some way! I would not be surprised.

You morons need to think you are in some way otherwise better if intellect does not suffice. I salute that person if you can mistake me for them. Proves there are more of us out there.
Originally posted by FC:
Flawed thinking. This is why Guyana will remind a divided country “abee pon tap" mentality. Don't worry times are changing albeit slowly. I am sure in my lifetime we will see the PPP on the outside looking in.

When the PPP is gone. The AFC will become the PPP ina different name.. Indians are clannish. They will stick with the Indo Party.

you should not forget the bucks, even though they may not be as many, they do count for something
a snap election will result in the opposition being utterly defeated ??

1. Where is the burning and hooliganism apart from the police who acted on behalf of the PPP?

2. How will there be a snap election? The PPP lacks the votes to do so and the AFC and APNU willd efinitely block that as they lack the funds for another campaign.
Originally posted by caribj:
a snap election will result in the opposition being utterly defeated ??

1. Where is the burning and hooliganism apart from the police who acted on behalf of the PPP?

2. How will there be a snap election? The PPP lacks the votes to do so and the AFC and APNU willd efinitely block that as they lack the funds for another campaign.

I think that the power to call general and regional elections lies solely with the President. Gecom indicated that the earliest the agency would be prepared to handle another such election is another 18 months.