Indentured Labor Arrival Day British Guiana.

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Chinese,January 12, 1853.

Mars ,Cain and other Portuguese got more claim [other than the Amerindians] to Guyana,their fore parents were the first Indentured Labors.

So when is African Arrival day?

Were they immigrants?

Was never their intentions to be ferried. They objected and still voice their objections. Blaming Columbus for finding the New World. 

Most came against their will as slaves but there were some African immigrants over the years to Guyana from the West Indian islands. 

Indentured from the islands and america. They were the first indentured just before emancipation.

I'm talking about emigration to Guyana after slavery was abolished, primarily from Barbados.

https://barbadosfreepress.word...emigrated-to-guyana/

When Barbadians emigrated to Guyana…

Some Bajans choose to forget our shared roots and history…

The period between 1863 and 1886 was the most intense period of Barbadian emigration to Guyana, but even as late as the 1920s and 1930s there were still Barbadians leaving for Guyana.  The majority of Barbadians who migrated to Guyana were cane-cutters.  The then British Guiana was a safety valve for a densely populated island such as Barbados that had limited job prospects for the mass of working class people, and little available and affordable land for the development of an independent peasantry.  The genealogies of Guyanese and Barbadians are so intertwined that it is not uncommon to learn of Guyanese who have grandparents from Barbados, and vice versa.  There are deep families ties in which, in one family, half of the children could be born in Guyana and the other half in Barbados.  My own extended family embodied this split national profile.  The familial ties are enduring, but the vicissitudes of development have been more favorable to Barbados, while the fortunes of Guyana have rendered the country less attractive by comparison in the contemporary period…

From the excellent Sunday Stabroek story Mudheads in Barbados: A Lived Experience

Bibi, it seems a lil odd that every Portuguese from Portugal I have spoken with know nothing of Garlic Poke...that is said, came about on the way to Guyana.

You meking joke!  I had it several times there.  They don’t fry it like we do.  They cook it like a rotisserie until the meat falls off the bone.  And it’s loaded with garlic and other seasoning.  Also you don’t taste the vinegar like the one we make in Guyana.  The vinegar taste is very subtle.  

Bibi, those I spoke with could have been from different areas and don't know of it.  One restaurant owner even asked me for the recipe to look into trying it. Maybe dem is Canta Portuguese. Their fish cakes are called Bacalhu (Baklauw)

So they related to you.  Happy Putagee Arrival Day.

Indentured Labor Arrival Day British Guiana.

Portuguese, May 3rd 1835

East Indians,May 5, 1838

Chinese,January 12, 1853.

Mars ,Cain and other Portuguese got more claim [other than the Amerindians] to Guyana,their fore parents were the first Indentured Labors.

So when is African Arrival day?

Were they immigrants?

Was never their intentions to be ferried. They objected and still voice their objections. Blaming Columbus for finding the New World. 

Most came against their will as slaves but there were some African immigrants over the years to Guyana from the West Indian islands. 

Indentured from the islands and america. They were the first indentured just before emancipation.

I'm talking about emigration to Guyana after slavery was abolished, primarily from Barbados.

https://barbadosfreepress.word...emigrated-to-guyana/

When Barbadians emigrated to Guyana…

Some Bajans choose to forget our shared roots and history…

The period between 1863 and 1886 was the most intense period of Barbadian emigration to Guyana, but even as late as the 1920s and 1930s there were still Barbadians leaving for Guyana.  The majority of Barbadians who migrated to Guyana were cane-cutters.  The then British Guiana was a safety valve for a densely populated island such as Barbados that had limited job prospects for the mass of working class people, and little available and affordable land for the development of an independent peasantry.  The genealogies of Guyanese and Barbadians are so intertwined that it is not uncommon to learn of Guyanese who have grandparents from Barbados, and vice versa.  There are deep families ties in which, in one family, half of the children could be born in Guyana and the other half in Barbados.  My own extended family embodied this split national profile.  The familial ties are enduring, but the vicissitudes of development have been more favorable to Barbados, while the fortunes of Guyana have rendered the country less attractive by comparison in the contemporary period…

From the excellent Sunday Stabroek story Mudheads in Barbados: A Lived Experience

The history books seys the first set of indentured were freed blacks from america and islanders. They were not immigrants to the colony but indentured workers. Even when the Potuguese came, they were still working as indentureds. And alongside.

During slavery days, Bajan came to Demerara with their English masters at the invitation of Laurens Storme Gravesande. Leaving behind relatives. Bajans have always had a connection to Guyanese from Demerara.

Last edited by seignet

Many of the Portuguese living in Canada are from the Azores.  The ones from Guyana end up in Canada too.  I’m surprised so many Portuguese ended up in Canada.  From what I observed they have a pretty good life in their homeland.  Great food, shopping, and sea life there. 

There are called Newfie Portuguese. Bcz they came from the poverty striken island of Maderia and Azores.

You liar you...I never heard that term. Watch out your nose getting elongated.

Bhai I know ppl from MAINLAND PORTUGAL. And dem call the ppl from Maderia and Azores suh. Yuh mean dem nevah call yuh suh.

Many of the Portuguese living in Canada are from the Azores.  The ones from Guyana end up in Canada too.  I’m surprised so many Portuguese ended up in Canada.  From what I observed they have a pretty good life in their homeland.  Great food, shopping, and sea life there. 

The one that fixed my eavestrough is from Madeira. The funny thing is,  it was the Portugese in New Amsterdam who were doing most of the metal work in Berbice.

There are called Newfie Portuguese. Bcz they came from the poverty striken island of Maderia and Azores.

LOL! Don't make him crank you up. Happy Portugese Arrival Day. 

I had an old Putagee relative whose mother came from Madeira.  One of his specialities at Christmas was Garlic Pork (not poke).  He always said it was a Putagee special!

Bibi, it seems a lil odd that every Portuguese from Portugal I have spoken with know nothing of Garlic Poke...that is said, came about on the way to Guyana.

You meking joke!  I had it several times there.  They don’t fry it like we do.  They cook it like a rotisserie until the meat falls off the bone.  And it’s loaded with garlic and other seasoning.  Also you don’t taste the vinegar like the one we make in Guyana.  The vinegar taste is very subtle.  

Meh never tasted wan garlic poke.  So you eat garlic poke more than once eh. 

Do you know if the traditional Guyanese sponge cake is from the Portuguese? The bakeries there make a sponge cake that tastes the same as the Guyanese homemade sponge cake.  

I think dem call it pão-de-ló... my friend from GOA makes it and credit it to the Portuguese. 

Dunno..I don't recall that. Is it the one they add booze and put a match to it?

LOL! Don't make him crank you up. Happy Portugese Arrival Day. 

Nah man Iman irie but Siggy nose long like rass. People here call each other newfies when they do something dumb but I have found them to be some of the friendliest people around and they speak bruk up henglish like so many from Guyana.

Dunno..I don't recall that. Is it the one they add booze and put a match to it?

I don’t think you is Putageeze, Bibi is mo Putageeze than you rass!

Diss time Bibi win da Putageeze argument!

Banna I have always said I don't know anything about Portuguese lifestyle. My Great Grands came from Madeira and when my Grandparents were born in Guyana they became Guyanese.

I always say I am Guyanese when asked and this is why I can never fathom people trying so hard to belong elsewhere. 

Banna I have always said I don't know anything about Portuguese lifestyle. My Great Grands came from Madeira and when my Grandparents were born in Guyana they became Guyanese.

I always say I am Guyanese when asked and this is why I can never fathom people trying so hard to belong elsewhere

amen

I always say I am Guyanese when asked and this is why I can never fathom people trying so hard to belong elsewhere. 

Stupid ass comment.  The fact that you don’t know of a simple contribution of your culture to the adoptive homeland does not make you more patriotic than those who do.  Don’t put down others because of it.  Bibi got this one right!

I always say I am Guyanese when asked and this is why I can never fathom people trying so hard to belong elsewhere

amen

Why don’t you learn something of what you lost and stop being angry at Indians for whatever you missing!  

You rass ain’t more Guyanese than most of us.  You left 40+ years ago and never looked back.  It’s time you adopt your new homeland and get out of Guyana business!

The one that fixed my eavestrough is from Madeira. The funny thing is,  it was the Portugese in New Amsterdam who were doing most of the metal work in Berbice.

Portuguese are famed metal workers.  One of my former employers owned a joint/ hip replacement operations and it was based on the Portuguese section of Boston.  Portuguese were famous for the type of metal work needed.

Furthermore, dies for injections moundings came from Portugal. Advances in high precision automation has caused a proliferation however, prior to that, it was Portugal.

Portuguese has/had a lot more to offer the world than good wine 🍷, sponge cake 🍰 and garlic pork/poke!

Portuguese contributed to transformation of Guyana’s society- President Granger – Guyana celebrates Portuguese Arrival Day

DPI, Guyana, Thursday, May 03, 2018

Listing the numerous contributions that the Portuguese have made to Guyana’s development, President David Granger cited this as one of the reasons that the Coalition government has dedicated a day, to celebrate “our Portuguese sisters and brothers.”

The Head of State made this observation today while delivering the feature address at a ceremony, held at the Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church, to commemorate the 183rd anniversary of the arrival of Portuguese indentured immigrants.

President David Granger giving the feature address at the observations to celebrate Portuguese Arrival Day.

“This nation was not built by one ethnic group, but by all persons who came to this country and who they met,” President Granger said.

Highlighting the contributions made by persons of Portuguese origin, he explained that “they were able to move very quickly into the retail trade…within a very short period after their arrival. They quit the cane fields forever and had established themselves in commerce and industry… apart from being property owners, they were provision and commission merchants, spare shop owners, importers, bot and show makers, wood cutters, wick makers…a wide range of skills.”

The Head-of-State related the history of the 40 Madeira immigrants who came back in 1835 when the Louisa Baillie docked in the Demerara.

The approaching abolition of slavery throughout the British created a labour gap, which saw the indentured Madeiran workers coming to British Guiana. Sugar was nothing new to them since it was being cultivated since 1452 in Madeira. By 1500, the island had become the world’s largest producer of sugar.

The president said “it was a time of demographic transformation of Guyanese society. In 1838, over 80,000 Africans were emancipated from the system of enslavement and over the next 80 years, over 340,000 Africans, Chinese, Indians and Europeans and West Indians came here.” Within a very short period of time “not only were 80,000 Africans freed, but over 340,000 persons came here.”

President Granger said the Portuguese were responsible, primarily, for the establishment and extension of Roman Catholicism. They retained their language throughout the nineteenth century and a number of Portuguese newspapers kept the immigrants in touch with events in Madeira.

Michael Correia JR, Honorary Consul of Portugal, said that although Portuguese descendants pay tribute to their ancestors, they should “lay claim to our identity that we are Guyanese first and foremost, and we have a land to build.”

Portuguese Arrival Day has been celebrated on May 3 since 2015, to acknowledge the contribution of the Portuguese immigrants.

Michael Correia JR, Honorary Counsel of Portugal, President David Granger, First Lady Sandra Granger and Minister of Social Cohesion at today’s event.

A traditional Madeiran dance by the National Dance Company.

Stupid ass comment.  The fact that you don’t know of a simple contribution of your culture to the adoptive homeland does not make you more patriotic than those who do.  Don’t put down others because of it.  Bibi got this one right!

Stupid ass comment?  This coming from one who flip flops daily, one day you sing praises of the PPP and criticize blacks next day you bash them and pick up for blacks. That's called, being so confused you don't know whether to shit or wind your watch.

You're pissed off because I said I am Guyanese..just as you fools who were pissed at Moses for saying the same. Haul yo ass.

Stupid ass comment?  This coming from one who flip flops daily, one day you sing praises of the PPP and criticize blacks next day you bash them and pick up for blacks. That's called, being so confused you don't know whether to shit or wind your watch.

You're pissed off because I said I am Guyanese..just as you fools who were pissed at Moses for saying the same. Haul yo ass.

I don't flip flop, there are things I support and agree with them and things I don't.  That also goes for the PNC.  It is because I think of them objectively and none are infallible.  Unlike you and some others who only see good or bad in either, come hell or high water!

Look, you are no more Guyanese than anyone but you inferred that to be so one must forget the basic of where they came from.

I am fair to everyone, including Blacks.  I commend and speak up if I believe someone is being unjust and unfair, either way.

Why are you so peeved, that you did not know garlic pork in a Portuguese speciality?

I had an old Putagee relative whose mother came from Madeira.  One of his specialities at Christmas was Garlic Pork (not poke).  He always said it was a Putagee special!

Makes sense. After all, Christmas is about a virgin birth.

Portuguese in Guyana came from Madeira.  I thought the GNIers mentioned are Santantone and not Portuguese.  There are very few pure bred Portuguese still in Guyana.

an weh yuh come from , mo like ah you deh?

Very true.  I was there recently and noticed some striking similarities to the Portuguese in Guyana.  The garlic pork and salt fish cakes there is the best I ever had.  And the ever popular Madeira wine that was sold by Correia Wine Distributors.  Funchal is the place in Madeira where many of the Guyanese Portuguese came from.

I heard that you got lots of Portuguese in you. 

Portuguese are some of the most attractive looking people on the planet. I don't blame her. 

Yeah, Portuguese women. Look at the Brazilian women.

Very true.  I was there recently and noticed some striking similarities to the Portuguese in Guyana.  The garlic pork and salt fish cakes there is the best I ever had.  And the ever popular Madeira wine that was sold by Correia Wine Distributors.  Funchal is the place in Madeira where many of the Guyanese Portuguese came from.

Portuguese are some of the most attractive looking people on the planet. I don't blame her. 

I agree, di gyaal gatt di goods!!

Post the picture to back up what you are saying. 

Yuh too fass!!

Yeah, Portuguese women. Look at the Brazilian women.

Dude, I was a teenager when two Brazilian women were staying at her. She was a generous woman who used to open her home to anyone who asks as long as she had the space. Although the Brazilian babe was much older than I, I realized for the first time that I was in love. She used to type and that is how I learned the little I know about typing. But man, she was sooooooooooooooooooooooo beeeeeaaaauuuuuuuutiful 

Kaz, is it true your nick in G'town was Loverboy?  

I don't really know my dear. However, anyone who got my love was indeed fortunate. I always watch my woman's back. 

Cain, I have a friend in Toronto , he came from the Azores and he said one of their special food is steamed cabbage and salted fish, they also eat lots of sardines. If you get sardines from Portugal or the Azores ,try it ,it is very good.

Kaz, is it true your nick in G'town was Loverboy?  

I don't really know my dear. However, anyone who got my love was indeed fortunate. I always watch my woman's back

I prefer to watch them front, more interesting!  But I dozz massage dem back!

I don't flip flop, there are things I support and agree with them and things I don't.  That also goes for the PNC.  It is because I think of them objectively and none are infallible.  Unlike you and some others who only see good or bad in either, come hell or high water!

Look, you are no more Guyanese than anyone but you inferred that to be so one must forget the basic of where they came from.

I am fair to everyone, including Blacks.  I commend and speak up if I believe someone is being unjust and unfair, either way.

Why are you so peeved, that you did not know garlic pork in a Portuguese speciality?

Where darass do you see me peeved about what Bibi mentioned?  What I said in my post stands as is. Yes, first I am/was Guyanese now Canadian of Portuguese descent that is where it ends.

Bai guh relax.   I only had an issue with the more or less Guyanese inference.  Other than that, is cool man. 

And you see, me dozz gi licks left, right and center.  No friends, no enemies just the issues.  

I like Jagdeo, I like Granger, I like Trump, I like Obama.   Just I like Jagdeo and Trump lil mo.  

Bai Cain. Nah tek on Base. He lil stressed out now that Giuliani threw Trump under de bus. 

amen

Why don’t you learn something of what you lost and stop being angry at Indians for whatever you missing!  

so, i co-signed what cain said

his statement is quite eloquent, honest and sensible

Baseman, wtf is it happening between your ears that a simple "amen" occasions cowardly hollering that i am "ANGRY AT INDIANS"?

not to mention your very very ignorant fantasy of me "MISSING" something that i "LOST"

an 'old timer' here once speculated about you and psychological damage .  .  . may be time for a revisit