Queen’s College (QC) student Elisa Hamilton was today announced as the student with the most Grade 1s for Guyana in this year’s Caribbean Secondary Examination Certificate (CSEC) exams when Education Minister Priya Manickchand told the nation via a live television stream that she secured 19 Grade 1s.

She was followed by a student of Skeldon Line Path Secondary School, Bharti Bhoje and another QC colleague Larissa Wiltshire who both scored 17 Grade 1s.

Queen’s College (QC) student Elisa Hamilton was today announced as the student with the most Grade 1s for Guyana in this year’s Caribbean Secondary Examination Certificate (CSEC) exams when Education Minister Priya Manickchand told the nation via a live television stream that she secured 19 Grade 1s.

She was followed by a student of Skeldon Line Path Secondary School, Bharti Bhoje and another QC colleague Larissa Wiltshire who both scored 17 Grade 1s.

Abee Guyana too SWEEt,  Congrats to the young lady and to our magnificent Minister THe HONORABLE PRIYA MANIKCHAND.

Congratulations to all the achievers.

Education Minister Priya Manickchand reportedly said that 35 subjects were written by 77,361 students and there were excellent performances in 12 subjects, but English A and Mathematics were not among those.

This is a decades-old problem. When I attended high school in the 1960s it was the same thing. Almost everyone complained that English Language and Mathematics were "hard."

I told my peers I would prove them wrong and I did. I wrote those 2 subjects at the GCE 'O' Level Examinations and passed both at first attempt, age 16.How did I do it? Realizing soon that my teachers were deficient, I studied a correspondence course on those two subjects after doing my school assignments.

My advice to today's students and parents: get competent private tutors or invest in long-distance courses to supplement the school's efforts.

Education Minister Priya Manickchand reportedly said that 35 subjects were written by 77,361 students and there were excellent performances in 12 subjects, but English A and Mathematics were not among those.

This is a decades-old problem. When I attended high school in the 1960s it was the same thing. Almost everyone complained that English Language and Mathematics were "hard."

I told my peers I would prove them wrong and I did. I wrote those 2 subjects at the GCE 'O' Level Examinations and passed both at first attempt, age 16.How did I do it? Realizing soon that my teachers were deficient, I studied a correspondence course on those two subjects after doing my school assignments.

My advice to today's students and parents: get competent private tutors or invest in long-distance courses to supplement the school's efforts.

Mr.Gilly, good advise. I did long distance courses in maths and accounting from Scranton, PA., and still took private tutoring in maths and accounting in G/T. 

Onlt dem Padna wha nah brite need extra help.

I told my peers I would prove them wrong and I did. I wrote those 2 subjects at the GCE 'O' Level Examinations and passed both at first attempt, age 16. How did I do it? Realizing soon that my teachers were deficient, I studied a correspondence course on those two subjects after doing my school assignments.

Teachers generally provide the fundamental presentations of subjects.

Astute students who then pursue in-dept studies usually become the most proficient ones.

I told my peers I would prove them wrong and I did. I wrote those 2 subjects at the GCE 'O' Level Examinations and passed both at first attempt, age 16. How did I do it? Realizing soon that my teachers were deficient, I studied a correspondence course on those two subjects after doing my school assignments.

Astute students who then pursue in-dept studies usually become the most proficient ones.

Spoken like a true Master!

Stick to education and stay away from electoral forecasting.

Spoken like a true Master!

Stick to education and stay away from electoral forecasting.

Being simultaneously involved with many areas do have its benefits.

Gilly,a lot of help is on the internet MIT have some free courses on net

students need to use technology to their advantage.

Originally Posted by Django:

Gilly,a lot of help is on the internet MIT have some free courses on net

students need to use technology to their advantage.

I agree, sir.

....produced the second top student in the recent CXC. rESULTS CAME OUT TODAY.

Skeldon Line Path Gov't School the best, the best

We will always praise it's name and never ever rest

It's loyal name it's glorious name and cease to give it fame

Cause it's jolly well the best, the very best!! 

Chief I am so Proud of Skeldon Line Path Secondary. The Best, the Best.

I attended from 1978 - 1983. 

This Secondary School has produced some outstanding students.

I led one of the first massive student protest against the Burnham government after they fired WPA teachers for speaking out against the PNC. All of the teachers were given their jobs back after we protested.

Seeraj who taught English will confirm. He taught me English and was the best for teaching English back then.

Once again, congrats Skeldon Line Path Secondary, I am so proud and happy today.

Advise them to join the GNI club. We have Stormy to teach about Rainstorm and Storm Tracker.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

I led one of the first massive student protest against the Burnham government after they fired WPA teachers for speaking out against the PNC. All of the teachers were given their jobs back after we protested.

Seeraj who taught English will confirm. He taught me English and was the best for teaching English back then.

Once again, congrats Skeldon Line Path Secondary, I am so proud and happy today.

Line Path is the best in Berbice. I attended Line path from 1963-1966. Line Path opened in 1966 with Rudolph Chung as the principal.

Skeldon, remember Inter House School Sports ? Chung was one of the houses. Latchmansingh was another, Mc Donald was another and is memory serves me right, Reack was the fourth house during my time.

I played cricket for Line Path Secondary.

We had one of the best teams. Bertie was a quick bowler and batsman. Our team was mixed with Indos and Afros, many of whom are still my best friends till this day.

Lots of memory.

Wpa people, Bonita do Harris and Ruben Gilbert were not transferred until late '79.  The protest begun in '76 so you cannot be the "first" to lead a revolt. It begun at Chandisingh with the removal of Chitram Singh and Chandisingh's son Rohan. Other schools joined in and Massive transfers began. SK Singh of Lower Corentyne and the Guy who replaced him,  were later transferred. I know both of them.  I had returned home   from England where I did A levels and the street protest was raging. I was on my way to  University of Toronto that fall.  I even went  one day because all the schools were closed and lots of marching was going on. The following year when I went home to visit they were on the streets again.  Maybe that was when you were in the streets but the protests began in ,76. I remember that very well.

Wpa people, Bonita do Harris and Ruben Gilbert were not transferred until late '79.  The protest begun in '76 so you cannot be the "first" to lead a revolt. It begun at Chandisingh with the removal of Chitram Singh and Chandisingh's son Rohan. Other schools joined in and Massive transfers began. SK Singh of Lower Corentyne and the Guy who replaced him,  were later transferred. I know both of them.  I returned home to from England where I did A levels and the street protest was raging. I even went   one day because all the schools were closed and lots of marching was going on. The following year when I went home to visit they were on the streets again.  Maybe that was when you were in the streets but the protests began in ,76. I remember that very well.

D2

You think you know everything. Ask for Seeraj who taught English at Line Path and ask him about the Massive student protest in Skeldon against Burnham at Line Path Secondary.

Our first protest went from Line Path to the Rice Marketing board where it ended the first day. All schools in Corriverton joined the protest.

Get your facts straight.

Wpa people, Bonita do Harris and Ruben Gilbert were not transferred until late '79.  The protest begun in '76 so you cannot be the "first" to lead a revolt. It begun at Chandisingh with the removal of Chitram Singh and Chandisingh's son Rohan. Other schools joined in and Massive transfers began. SK Singh of Lower Corentyne and the Guy who replaced him,  were later transferred. I know both of them.  I returned home to from England where I did A levels and the street protest was raging. I even went   one day because all the schools were closed and lots of marching was going on. The following year when I went home to visit they were on the streets again.  Maybe that was when you were in the streets but the protests began in ,76. I remember that very well.

D2

You think you know everything. Ask for Seeraj who taught English at Line Path and ask him about the Massive student protest in Skeldon against Burnham at Line Path Secondary.

Our first protest went from Line Path to the Rice Marketing board where it ended the first day. All schools in Corriverton joined the protest.

Get your facts straight.

I know Seeraj Seepersaud. A very close of mine. He has a masters in English from Howard. I still visit him evertime I go to GY.

D2

Get your facts straight.

It would help if you say what year your protest took place, yuji.

D2

Get your facts straight.

I know Seeraj Seepersaud. A very close of mine. He has a masters in English from Howard. I still visit him evertime I go to GY.

Next time you see Seeraj, tell him that his brightest English student from down the coast sends his regards, he will know right away. Tell him that the one who gave the best Mark Anothony speeches during his English play sends him his best regards.

Ask him about the student protest that led to all of the WPA teachers getting back their jobs. Seeraj was a staunch WPA activist back then.

Seeraj used to live at Rampoor. Does he still there ?

D2

Get your facts straight.

I do not have to ask anyone. I know what happened from my long talks with an English professor Ms Brenda Do Harris. I also saw the protests in '76 and know at least two of the leaders well. I do not need anyone to tell me what I can affirm for myself. The student protests began 2 years before you started school. I am not contesting there were protests as you described. I am just saying it began two years before so you cannot be among the "first" to participate in the protests.

D2

Get your facts straight.

Next time you see Seeraj, tell him that his brightest English student from down the coast sends his regards, he will know right away. Tell him that the one who gave the best Mark Anothony speeches during his English play sends him his best regards.

Ask him about the student protest that led to all of the WPA teachers getting back their jobs. Seeraj was a staunch WPA activist back then.

He built a nice house at #78 village in Baljeet street. He and his wife live there.

D2

Get your facts straight.

He said '78

D2

Get your facts straight.

Gil

It was 1980. Gibran Dean (sadly passed away) from Corriverton was in my class was the Vice President and afraid to start a protest, In my Hot blood, I demanded that everyone leave the class in protest and little did I know that it would turn out into massive anti Burnham protest.

Seeraj Seepersaud was proud that his best students defended the WPA teachers. 

The WPA attracted the brightest minds back then. Sadly, Rodney was killed by the PNC.

D2

Get your facts straight.

He said '78

I started Line Path high school in 1978. The protest took place in 1980.

D2

Get your facts straight.

He said '78

Well, you were four years late into the scheme of things. I began in Rose Hall and spread around the Country.

D2

Get your facts straight.

He built a nice house at #78 village in Baljeet street. He and his wife live there.

I know Baljit street, my late aunt used to live there.  Does Kalo still build fishing build boats there ? He was a very nice person. 

Corriverton had a very united Muslim population. 

D2

Get your facts straight.

He said '78

Well, you were four years late into the scheme of things. I began in Rose Hall and spread around the Country.

D2

We all made our political contributions to Guyana despite political affiliation. We should all have an annual summer get together and bury the hatchet and have a good time.

Gil on this BB made the biggest contribution to Guyana, today he hates me with a passion. I take it in strides.

Wpa people, Bonita do Harris and Ruben Gilbert were not transferred until late '79.  The protest begun in '76 so you cannot be the "first" to lead a revolt. It begun at Chandisingh with the removal of Chitram Singh and Chandisingh's son Rohan. Other schools joined in and Massive transfers began. SK Singh of Lower Corentyne and the Guy who replaced him,  were later transferred. I know both of them.  I had returned home   from England where I did A levels and the street protest was raging. I was on my way to  University of Toronto that fall.  I even went  one day because all the schools were closed and lots of marching was going on. The following year when I went home to visit they were on the streets again.  Maybe that was when you were in the streets but the protests began in ,76. I remember that very well.

Yugi busted for lying once again.

The man once claimed that he was on the front line protesting on the day when the ballot box martyrs were killed in 1973. Based on the age he claims to be, he could not have been older than 7 or 8 in 1973. Considering his wimpish behavior on GNI, not many people believe his boasts of fighting against the PNC.

Delusions of grandeur abound in his pea sized brain.

D2

Get your facts straight.

He said '78

Thank you.

Storm is talking about a different protest.

So you're the Berbice Mark Antony, eh?

The historical Mark Antony I know helped build the autocratic Roman Empire.

D2

Get your facts straight.

He said '78

D2

We all made our political contributions to Guyana despite political affiliation. We should all have an annual summer get together and bury the hatchet and have a good time.

Gil on this BB made the biggest contribution to Guyana, today he hates me with a passion. I take it in strides.

I made no contribution. I was hanging our for the girls. I just got Forest Gumped into history.

Thank you.

I am contesting the fact he said he was part of the first massive student protests. The really first massive ones took place in '76

Thank you.

I am contesting the fact he said he was part of the first massive student protests. The really first massive ones took place in '76

D2

Massive in Berbice terms.

1976 and I was still in Primary school. I started high school in 1978.