The fact that self-inflected harm is such a presence in the lives of this family is not surprising given that they live in an area that Guyana's Ministry of Health has designated the "suicide belt," in a country that the World Health Organization says in a new report has the highest rate of suicide in the world.

Guyana, a largely rural country at the northeastern edge of South America, has a suicide rate four times the global average, ahead of North Korea, South Korea, and Sri Lanka. Neighboring Suriname was the only other country from the Americas in the top 10.

one of the comments made me laugh

"They have no hope for a better life that's the issue. People are going to kill themselves you cant stop them. Not to mention these people are idiots Poison REALLY lets suffer for a week until our organs shut down. Why wouldn't you just fire up the lawn mower and seal up your bed room and go to sleep"

The fact that self-inflected harm is such a presence in the lives of this family is not surprising given that they live in an area that Guyana's Ministry of Health has designated the "suicide belt," in a country that the World Health Organization says in a new report has the highest rate of suicide in the world.

Guyana, a largely rural country at the northeastern edge of South America, has a suicide rate four times the global average, ahead of North Korea, South Korea, and Sri Lanka. Neighboring Suriname was the only other country from the Americas in the top 10.

What else can one expect when people lose hope in their country and the future? The PPP hacks love to lambast the 28-year PNC rule but total suicides during that period amount to a fraction of the number under PPP rule. Think about that.

another one

"Wait . . .the last paragraph of this article is so sh­itty. "well I guess I wont kill myself because my husband will find another woman and forget about me"

Well ok, I guess that's one reason to not kill yourself. . .but if that was the reason I used to not kill myself, I would just kill myself. . ."

Look at this SHAMELESS socalled Journalist. Burnham era good to compare Suicides BUT NOT Economics!!!!

why yuh carrying on about...fact is it has the highest suicide rate in the world...and that is a sad state of affairs

Ray, These same fools quick to jump when other compare the PPP with Burnham Era but now he jumps on it like a flying fish.  He is a socalled journalist who writes for a Bottomhouse Paper!!

mOST OF THE sUICIDES ARE BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF pUNANI so the Boyr rather die. (IDIOTS I should have said)

Such a brilliant diagnosis of the psychological mindset of these people! I see why you and the good Rev are kindred!

If you cant handle FACTS, get out of the Kitchen.

Look at this SHAMELESS socalled Journalist. Burnham era good to compare Suicides BUT NOT Economics!!!!

why yuh carrying on about...fact is it has the highest suicide rate in the world...and that is a sad state of affairs

Ray, These same fools quick to jump when other compare the PPP with Burnham Era but now he jumps on it like a flying fish.  He is a socalled journalist who writes for a Bottomhouse Paper!!

Just like you're a teacher fit for a Bottomhouse School. It takes a fool to know a fool.

Pooran, describing her family's experiences, said her brother apparently killed himself after struggling with health problems for years and difficult home life. She said she thought about taking her own life while cleaning her house after a day's work at a local sawmill.

Tells me she simply dont value her life.

Pooran, describing her family's experiences, said her brother apparently killed himself after struggling with health problems for years and difficult home life. She said she thought about taking her own life while cleaning her house after a day's work at a local sawmill.

seems like plenty people don't value their lives in Guyana

Just before the WHO published its report last month, the foundation cited rampant alcoholism as a major factor in its own study of the suicide phenomenon, which has been a subject of concern in Guyana for years.

Too much bush rum at Black Bush.

Like someone commented on the Article " If someone is going to kill themselves there is nothing you can do to stop them"

SO how come the rate of suicide has been reduced in other parts of the world?

It's obvious much is not being done in Guyana...

Ray, It is also a consequence of Math. Guyana small population does not help the percentage thing.

What else can one expect when people lose hope in their country and the future? The PPP hacks love to lambast the 28-year PNC rule but total suicides during that period amount to a fraction of the number under PPP rule. Think about that.

Listen Gilbakka:

* You are free to HATE the PPP. That is your prerogative.

* But suicide has forever been a problem in Guyana.

* If people want to kill themselves let them do so---it's better for them to commit suicide than homicide.

* By the way gilbakka, the PPP will never satisfy 100% of the people----but once 50+1% are happy with the PPP in the next election, that is all that matters.

* I'll mark you down as among the 50-1% who are dissatisfied.

Listen Gilbakka:

* You are free to HATE the PPP. That is your prerogative.

* But suicide has forever been a problem in Guyana.

* If people want to kill themselves let them do so---it's better for them to commit suicide than homicide.

* By the way gilbakka, the PPP will never satisfy 100% of the people----but once 50+1% are happy with the PPP in the next election, that is all that matters.

* I'll mark you down as among the 50-1% who are dissatisfied.

HAHAHA  What a bloody morning.

I have seen news reports where people were about to jump off high bridges in the US and Canada and were saved by concerned passers-by and subsequent counselling. Suicide is preventable, experts say.

Our own GNI member Tola told us on this BB that his non-governmental organization specializing in suicide prevention tried to help Berbicians in a structured way but PPP officials in Region 6 rebuffed them, even demanding bribes for the NGO to operate in that area.

I maintain strongly that central government has a responsibility to deal with the suicide scourge through the ministries of health and education and social services.

Ray, It is also a consequence of Math. Guyana small population does not help the percentage thing.

ok...maybe they shouldn't teach Math to the population then...this way it becomes one less reason that people commit suicide

I like your logic but I am not sure I can follow it.

yuh say Math cause them people fuh kill themself ...your quote "It is also a consequence of Math."

DEh calculation Bhai.

This suicide belt is a PPP/C stronghold. With every suicide, there is one less traditional vote for the inept PPP/Cabal. I travel these parts and I see the depression and loss of hope with the people. Men & some women turn to drinking to drown their frustrations and hopelessness. The young ones are more inclined to do drugs. There is a break down of the moral code in the country.

PPP puppets here don't want to hear that.

They are able to drink and have a nice time and you expect me to feel sorry for them?

You are probably able to drink and have a nice time.

According to Berbician Mitwah, those people drink "to drown their frustrations and hopelessness."

Nehru:

That's not true. You can do something. In Guyana,when we were growing up we could have gone to certain older heads in our villages for counselling or advice. These old folks were respected and considered wise. They have saved many lives and many homes from breaking up. That community type of culture has disappeared with exodus under the PPP/C. We have such a group in our temple here and guided by a professional Social Service Worker. I am certain many lives were saved thru the actions and intervention by these old and wise folks. We had a name for them. Do you recall that name?

Last edited by Mitwah