Scientists find gold growing in trees in Australia

By Emily Smith, CNN
updated 11:10 AM EDT, Wed October 23, 2013
Watch this video

Look, gold does grow on trees!

STORY HIGHLIGHTS
  • The roots of eucalyptus and acacia trees dig deep into bedrock in search of water
  • They absorb gold particles that are then deposited in their leaves
  • Researchers say the findings might improve gold prospecting

(CNN) -- Parents beware: You're about to have one less idiom in your repertoire. Scientists in Australia have discovered gold deposits on eucalyptus trees in the Outback.

Yes, you read that right -- money can actually "grow" on trees.

While it's not new that plants and trees absorb minerals such as gold through their leaves, scientists had previously been unable to prove that the minerals in question came from deeper underground and not from surface soil deposits. The paper's authors hope that their findings will turn into a trusted form of gold prospecting.

According to the paper, eucalyptus and acacia trees, such as the ones studied at the Freddo and Barns Gold prospects in Western and South Australia respectively, have deep and extensive root systems. In times of drought, their roots dig deep in search of water. So deep, in fact, that some trees have literally struck gold.

The findings, which were published this week in the online journal Nature Communications, show how biogeochemical absorption of gold is possible. This, according to the researchers, could lead to new and more successful prospecting methods.

Now before you grab your passport and ax, the paper found an average gold concentration of 80 parts per billion in tree's leaves, and a mere 4 parts per billion in bark (though bark does cover a larger surface area). Unfortunately, this means the gold isn't visible to the naked eye.

So the next time someone tells you money doesn't grow on trees, well, you know what to say.

Pretty wild news PB

money does grow on trees. Look at what we do with trees. Besides food, the medicine from their essential oils are a wealth of money Since you told me about Oregano oil about a decade ago I have amassed as many as 500 different essential oils and have become somewhat an expert at them. With them everything from shampoo to a potpourri is at your hand. I did not know the science of the area was so vast but easily accessible. The Rev is an ass talking about a hand cream when it is merely fake essential oils , petrolatum and water blended with a preservative  that is most often bad for u. Believe it or not, Vodka ( plus lecithin)is the best emulsifier and preservative and is widely used by folk blenders of essential oils.

500 oils?  I hope you dont have/use them all at once hehee

I will take a picture and post it. My wife used to be pissed at how much I sometimes spend on them.  Everywhere I go and I see someone selling them I ask that is the rarest ones the have and get them. I learnt a lot in the meanwhile. Never have to buy any fragrance ever. I may even have more than 500 distinct bottles. I also have lots of blends from North Africa and India.

Danyael, do you have Immortelle (Helichrysum) in your collection? That's quite an expensive oil.

For an aromatic spray/burn, a couple of my favourite oils are Ylang Ylang and Neroli.

I have it, sort of dark and tar like and stinky. Ylang Ylang is a middle note scent and used frequently in various blends. It is cheap. i have lots of it because it is used everywhere. I also have lots of neroli; dont care for the scent by itself but it is a good healing agent.

to be honest i hardly ever do very much with them. When I or a friend gets a cold or flue I usually give them Eucalyptus, Rosemary and Lavender and ask them to put a few drops of each in the tub as they shower. Eucalyptus alone does the trick but I like the fact the others fill the house with a great fragrance.  I use rosemary and lavender to bathe my dogs. They seem to like it and they smell good. Rosemary can be overpowering so only a couple drops is necessary. I also Use lemon or orange in a spritz as an air freshener.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

===

I have amassed as many as 500 different essential oils and have become somewhat an expert at them.

Mr. Danyael:

Congrats on your wide selection of essential oils.

QUESTION:

Do you have shilling oil in your collection or that doesn't count ?

shilling oil is a blend and not an essential oil. I have at least 10 bottles of peppermint. I like it. It is very useful as lavender and eucalyptus. Essential oils are only used in tiny quantities to give a base oil, (grape seed, almond, safflower, jojoba or avocado oil) a desired property.

===

shilling oil is a blend and not an essential oil. I have at least 10 bottles of peppermint. I like it. It is very useful as lavender and eucalyptus. Essential oils are only used in tiny quantities to give a base oil, (grape seed, almond, safflower, jojoba or avocado oil) a desired property.

Thanks for the info!

Have you ever visited NY City ? There are quite a few scented oil stores in the village.

I am very familiar with peppermint---I like it---but I'm not a connoisseur like you.

===

Thanks for the info!

Have you ever visited NY City ? There are quite a few scented oil stores in the village.

I am very familiar with peppermint---I like it---but I'm not a connoisseur like you.

Oh well! We all have our specialties I guess.

I lived in ny for a long time. My wife was a music exec. I also had my own biz

Originally Posted by Stinger:
Bet ya don't have Canadian Healing Oil  in ur collection Dany

have it but it is not an essential oil. Now that I know of these things I realize how much people jip the uninformed with scent blends with nice names like shilling oil, limacol etc. Use the real thing and well honed folk formulas and you can get better.

HERE'S ANOTHER OIL: LINSEED OIL

Danny:

Is that you above---Daniel Smith ?

But anyway, you remember Linseed oil---it used to be rubbed on cricket bats in the old days in Guyana ?

has a long history. I still use it to thin oils when I paint.  However, th e oils I am talking of are mainly the very rare ones from flowers or leaves or barks etc that are desired for their aroma mainly. An oz of these range from 10 to 20 dollars and some more ie Lavender, Tee tree, Oregano etc

Originally Posted by Stinger:

Bet ya don't have Canadian Healing Oil  in ur collection Dany

Banna, Canadians don't know of this oil check this out. The only thing Canadian here is the seal oil.

Detailed Description

LINIMENT CANADIAN HEALING OIL FOR STRAINS AND SPRAINS, 60 mL

This Liniment is popular in the Caribbean and the West Indies in bringing lasting relief from pain arising from strains, sprains, bruises, rheumatism and muscular stiffness.

100 mL contains:
Sulphonated Seal Oil 46.69mL; Turpentine 51.69 mL; Oil of Tar 1.54 mL; Camphor 0.72 g;Oil of Camphor 0.18 mL; Oil of Thyme 0.02 mL; Thymol 3.12 mg;Creosote 0.05 mL. For external use for the temporary reliefof pain arising from strains, sprains, bruises, rheumatism,muscular stiffness. For best results: warm Canadian Healing Oil by placing bottle in a pot of hot water as warm Canadian Healing Oil is more readily absorbed. Cover with a warm flannel if possible and leave overnight. Keep out of the reach of children.Made by Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation Ltd.

http://westindianshop.com/canadianhealingoil.aspx

has a long history. I still use it to thin oils when I paint.  However, th e oils I am talking of are mainly the very rare ones from flowers or leaves or barks etc that are desired for their aroma mainly. An oz of these range from 10 to 20 dollars and some more ie Lavender, Tee tree, Oregano etc

Bwoy Danyael, you are surely a connoisseur when it comes to essential oils---you know your stuff.

I remember years ago the first lady and I went into a store---and she asked me to smell like five or six different oils and the one I like the best was the Peppermint.

Bwoy Danyael, you are surely a connoisseur when it comes to essential oils---you know your stuff.

I remember years ago the first lady and I went into a store---and she asked me to smell like five or six different oils and the one I like the best was the Peppermint.

I do not claim to know much. My curiosity was peaked when Cain told me of Oregano oil. I went out to get it and read up on it and soon I was buying others to make blends for work outs and they add up. It is a hobby. i just buy them when I see a store selling pure oils because I like to know what they are.

====

I do not claim to know much. My curiosity was peaked when Cain told me of Oregano oil. I went out to get it and read up on it and soon I was buying others to make blends for work outs and they add up. It is a hobby. i just buy them when I see a store selling pure oils because I like to know what they are.

Well Danyael! Give praise to Mr Cain for setting in motion a rather unique hobby---a hobby that seems to have given you a lot of joy and satisfaction---but that's what hobbies are supposed to do---you get joy and satisfaction out of something you put a lot of conviction into.

So Danyael,  have you ever run into anyone with the same unique hobby---that must make for some interesting talks ?

PS. You are lucky your wife didn't throw you out the house for all those "weird" aromas you concocted in the woman's house.lol

HERE'S ANOTHER OIL: LINSEED OIL

Danny:

Is that you above---Daniel Smith ?

But anyway, you remember Linseed oil---it used to be rubbed on cricket bats in the old days in Guyana ?

Boiled Linseed oil could also be used on wooden floor/furniture/and apparently concrete. Tung oil is another good oil for the same.

====

Well Danyael! Give praise to Mr Cain for setting in motion a rather unique hobby---a hobby that seems to have given you a lot of joy and satisfaction---but that's what hobbies are supposed to do---you get joy and satisfaction out of something you put a lot of conviction into.

So Danyael,  have you ever run into anyone with the same unique hobby---that must make for some interesting talks ?

PS. You are lucky your wife didn't throw you out the house for all those "weird" aromas you concocted in the woman's house.lol

Banna, "weird" cannot be used when on the subject of aromatherapy, that's a fighting word, watch it.  As Danyael mentioned, Essential oils are great for everything...take for instance your Peppermint oil, place some in your vehicle when on a long drive, it keeps you alert, Rosemary is also used for memory recall, good to use when studying or taking tests, also great for the hair

Oregano oil with Echinacea is great for colds and the list goes on.

I used to charge for this type of advice, so you lucky.

==============

Banna, "weird" cannot be used when on the subject of aromatherapy, that's a fighting word, watch it.  As Danyael mentioned, Essential oils are great for everything...take for instance your Peppermint oil, place some in your vehicle when on a long drive, it keeps you alert, Rosemary is also used for memory recall, good to use when studying or taking tests, also great for the hair

cain:

I can see why you ignited Danyael's curiosity a decade ago---you are quite compelling---you know your stuff. Thanks for the free advice. Now you have me wanting to visit one of those essential oil stores in the village---I already like the peppermint.lol

RE: "WEIRD"

That's a nice word cain---we are humans, right ?

Well, guess what ? All humans are weird in their own way.

Dr. Seuss says us humans are weird---check this:

"We're all a little weird--and life's a little weird--and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours--we join up with them in mutual weirdness--and call it love." Dr. Seuss

BOTTOM LINE:

Weirdness is good! It's human. Danyael is intrigued by essential oils; cain by aromatherapy; Rev by exotic toyslol---we are all friggin weird.hahaha

Originally Posted by TI:

Call me weird, but WD40 is the best oil they ever invented

D2 was rubbed down from head to toe in coconut oil as a child, so forgive the man's oily fetish.  I have to admit some of dem oils are healthy though.

It is not a fetish but actually a study of cultures. These oils are the essence of the spices that awakened the world's curiosity for travel and adventure. It is why when one goes into a spice shop one is so amazed at the thousands of flavors possible and how each culture attaches significance to particular combination.

Oils are the natural ingredients in your curries for example. We use the ground barks, flowers and roots in our cooling but the oils are the distilled essence of these barks flowers and roots. They are the source of every scent you smelled today and every taste you had in your mouth. They are practically every medicine you ever took for whatever ailment.

I was not curious merely because Cain sparked an interest. I had listened to a Guyanese guy ( had a little shop next to the E-train stop on Jamaica avenue and Van wyck) He was a chemist of scents before he lost his job and opened that little store ( now something different). He used to tell me of the wonders of scent and said it was like playing music and the different combinations are actually called notes. When Cain told me of Oregano oil and I read of its anti infective powers I had to go out and find out what interested these fellows so profoundly. It was a wonderful voyage since.

I am not sorry I did. I learnt a lot. I may have spent at least 6K on these products but the understanding of what they are is worth it all.   I am not dabbling in them all day.  I am more addicted to bikes and the outdoors. However, they make  the outdoors even more fun since one knows one is surrounded by very mysterious potentials of plants which we are yet to come to understand.

==============

cain:

I can see why you ignited Danyael's curiosity a decade ago---you are quite compelling---you know your stuff. Thanks for the free advice. Now you have me wanting to visit one of those essential oil stores in the village---I already like the peppermint.lol

"We're all a little weird--and life's a little weird--and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours--we join up with them in mutual weirdness--and call it love." Dr. Seuss

BOTTOM LINE:

Weirdness is good! It's human. Danyael is intrigued by essential oils; cain by aromatherapy; Rev by exotic toyslol---we are all friggin weird.hahaha

How could knowing why you like certain flavors be weird? I am sure the scent and texture in you after shave, skin cream etc are not peculiarities.

Note that malls use particular scents to bring people in. At Christmas, they permeate the air via the vents with spruce, pine lavender etc to make you feel in the holiday spirit and buy things. The things we buy are all connected to scent.

The new car smell is not there by accident. Even your money is infused with a "money" scent. The world of smells are not as obvious as our visual senses but they are just as important and understanding what makes it so should be a normal thing and not a weird thing.

It is said that one of the things that keep a man with his wife is because of the way she smells. If one is with another, and all you profligate fellows know this, the first thing of the women that can make her "strange" is the way she smells

Danyael:

I have some news for you---I actually find this discussion about essential oils and aromatherapy very interesting---and I will pursue it further.

Regarding my use of the word "weird"---Listen. don't take that literally.

You are surely familiar with some of the idioms:

* One man's trash is another man's treasure

* One man's meat is another man's poison

* One man's wife is another man's mistress

* One man's joy is another man's sorrow

BOTTOM LINE:

Everyone is unique---everyone has his different taste---and yes---everyone is weird.

Anyway,

THE ESSENTIAL OIL/AROMATHERAPY TOPIC IN INTRIGUING----keep posting.

==============

cain:

BOTTOM LINE:

How could knowing why you like certain flavors be weird? I am sure the scent and texture in you after shave, skin cream etc are not peculiarities.

Note that malls use particular scents to bring people in. At Christmas, they permeate the air via the vents with spruce, pine lavender etc to make you feel in the holiday spirit and buy things. The things we buy are all connected to scent.

The new car smell is not there by accident. Even your money is infused with a "money" scent. The world of smells are not as obvious as our visual senses but they are just as important and understanding what makes it so should be a normal thing and not a weird thing.

Nicely put Danyael, I gotta tief it.

Rev, ever walked into a home where bread is being baked and even though you may have stopped into McDonalds along the way and scoffed down 2 Big Macs A Big Shake Large fries an a cone..banna, after that freshly baked scent hits you whaddya got?   Drooooooling.

We had a few rain forest cafes in TO and they would have scents of the forest wafting through the vents. A scent can put you in various moods, some to relax, some to uplift. One who has heart troubles would stay away from hot oils such as "Peppermint" Ginger.

Oils such as my fav Ylang Ylang (flower of flowers) can put one in a sensous mood being careful not to overdo it because the scent can also trigger headaches in some. This would be terrible, just imagine you're feeling all horny and your partner has a headache.

Add a bit of Rose, few drops of geranium ( hormones) and a bit of Jasmine.

Oils can be blended to acheive whatever you desire at the time.

Oils are also used in making bath salts, I do this every so often when in the mood.

Originally Posted by TI:

The best scent I had was in Cordoba. There are thousands of tiny orange trees and flowers all over the place. Every morning, the scent of orange and flowers waft in the wind. The oranges look like round yellow fairy lights on the trees.

The Arabs know their oils and scents!

Here you go T, this is where the oil Neroli comes from, orange blossoms.

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/learn/eo/neroli.php