Nice photos Gerhard. It will be nice to also keep some video [with sounds]of Son.
Recently, our oldest son brought over his serious girlfriend[ he say this about every GF] and wanted to show her his nursery school graduation video. They were on VHS which I am now copying to DVD.
He was the guy who disliked most about me filming them.
I have a Sony DVD cam that I bought less than 5 yras ago. Quite a few of the DVD's are now unplayable. I did some research on Google and found that while the DVD's music/movies etc can last for decades since they are cold pressed, the ones you burn on your computer or DVD videocamera only last a few year. The best option right now is solid state memory, get a videocam that records to SD cards...or record short clips and upload to youtube.
Sunil
Originally posted by Sunil:
I have a Sony DVD cam that I bought less than 5 yras ago. Quite a few of the DVD's are now unplayable. I did some research on Google and found that while the DVD's music/movies etc can last for decades since they are cold pressed, the ones you burn on your computer or DVD videocamera only last a few year. The best option right now is solid state memory, get a videocam that records to SD cards...or record short clips and upload to youtube.

This is my biggest fear. How do I know for sure that my archive would last? I have them on the hard drives as weill as external hard drives as well as on flash drives and even on CD/DVDs but those can all fail at some time or the other.
Draw dem

Back in the ole days no one worried about those things, sure pictures fade but just copy them before they are destroyed and it's still gonna be around after you dead an gone.

Man made one step forward three back.

There are many things I don't care for, for instance, those new fangled bulbs to take the place of our standard bulbs, those things are dangerous and carry mercury,what's so big about that? Anyway, that's for a whole other thread.

Nice dancin there bud, it shoulda been on video leh we see the lil man moves.
Originally posted by ksazma:
Originally posted by Sunil:

This is my biggest fear. How do I know for sure that my archive would last? I have them on the hard drives as weill as external hard drives as well as on flash drives and even on CD/DVDs but those can all fail at some time or the other.

It is best to keep multiple backups. My best bet is flash drives or SD cards as there are no moving parts but even these can fail.
Sunil
Originally posted by cain:
Draw dem.

I can't find my drawings from when I was a kid. I learned to draw from an Amerindian kid who used to stay at my grand parents' house when his father was looking for work in town. Wonder if that kid was D2. Smile
My father and mother would never left me out of their sight.
I jus picked up a 1994 Olds Cutlass..with cassette player,hehehe. I now listen to stuff I hadn't heard in years while driving.
I threw away about 500 cassettes. I boxed twice that number of CDs and DVDs for my friend to take away. I am shedding stuff I will never have the time to look or listen to.
Oi D2, I hear you tief Kaz drawin book dat true?

Don't think it was D2 though because both parents were Amerindians. Father was Peter and mother was Elsa. Four kids although I can only remember three names; Steven, Vanessa and Narine. We talking about 35 years ago.
That long ago I was finishing A levels in England, my father was already dead for six years and my mother was there with me.
Originally posted by D2:
My father and mother would never left me out of their sight.

That whole family of six lived at my grandmother's house. My grandmother was very generous and I don't think she knew many of the people who stayed at hor house personally. Most of the times, someone would just ask her for someone they knew. My grandparents had many houses in Guyana. Smile
I jus picked up a 1994 Olds Cutlass..with cassette player,hehehe. I now listen to stuff I hadn't heard in years while driving.

yuh lucky yuh didn't end up with an 8 track player.

Now what I really need is a single unit that records to cd from cassettss. Doing it from the computer give me poor outcomes.

Yeah I've tried that but it's not good.
I heard the units go around $200. The problem with cassettes,you have to play the whole darn thing to copy it unlike copying a cd where it takes about a minute.

200 is a small price to pay wspecially the amount of time I have spent fussing with the pc voice recorder. Regarding the lengthy time of teh cassette, I am guessing that once you have the entire clip, you should be able to add tabs. But it is a project I would really like to complete during this lifetime. Smile

There are cheap high quality digital recorders with input jacks and USB ports. I use them record and to lay down loops before I bought a DR-680 ( tascam) I paid 80 for one and I it used SD cards

There are single units available that copy to CD from cassette.
8 track, me rememba those...somewhere around the house is a Winston Churchill recording on a 78 record.

Vinyl records were 78s/45s and 33s right ?
Originally posted by Tola:
8 track, me rememba those...somewhere around the house is a Winston Churchill recording on a 78 record.

I have some of those 78s also. If you think of any please pass it one. Meanwhile I will read up on D2's DR680
Originally posted by Tola:

I have some of those 78s also. If you think of any please pass it one. Meanwhile I will read up on D2's DR680
That is not for transferring tapes. It is a professional quality multi track recorder musicians use. I was just referring to the abundance of digital recorders out there. I am sure there is a high speed dedicated data transfer system but I do not know what exists. I never had to transfer cassettes.
Originally posted by D2:
That is not for transferring tapes. It is a professional quality multi track recorder musicians use. I was just referring to the abundance of digital recorders out there. I am sure there is a high speed dedicated data transfer system but I do not know what exists. I never had to transfer cassettes.

That is what I realized after looking at it a few minutes ago. I had a similar unit that I used to use to mix sounds for video reproductions as in mixing the raw sounds of my wedding tape with other sounds. I bought that unit from Radio Shack and still has it. The microphone broke though. Smile