Originally Posted by Sheik101:
Originally Posted by Errol:

Good looking kid.  He can do something I can't - swim!

I learn to swin in crown st. This German lady showed me how. She wasn't the best to work with, real tough. But I finally got the hang of it real fast.

Is dat all she showed you???? Come clean now Bro.

I was about Sammy age, man.  Is wha' wrang wid yuh.

You should come by me. We have an Olympic sized pool outside and I am also 2 blocks from the Eunice Shriver Aqua Center ( Got VIP passes) here where there is  an huge L shaped indoor pool that caters for all sorts and is open late. You could learn here very easily. I am taking off for June and will be back in July.

GVG will be biking with me this summer when I am here. There are lots of trails here at Shaffer farms and  Black Rock plus we also go into WVa and into PA. I am serious. You can join us I am living bachie until November, the lady is on the move too much for me to keep up.

You should come by me. We have an Olympic sized pool outside and I am also 2 blocks from the Eunice Shriver Aqua Center ( Got VIP passes) here where there is  an huge L shaped indoor pool that caters for all sorts and is open late. You could learn here very easily. I am taking off for June and will be back in July.

GVG will be biking with me this summer when I am here. There are lots of trails here at Shaffer farms and  Black Rock plus we also go into WVa and into PA. I am serious. You can join us I am living bachie until November, the lady is on the move too much for me to keep up.

I gave up on that swimming thing a while ago.  As you know, swimming is mandatory for graduation from Howard.  When I went to my first class with my Mahatma Gandhi physique and saw all those foxy mamas in their skimpy swim suits I made a uturn and never went back.  I claimed an exemption by faking an allergic reaction to chlorine.  Then my wife gave me a 12 swimming classes at the gym in Cloumbia Heights a few years ago as a Christmas gift.  I quit after two classes.  

That cycling gig looks good though.  I will check with GVC to work out the details.  I will be buying a bike later this week.  Thanks.
Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

lol, Uncle Errol, yuh mek Ah remembah when we see somebady skinny we's seh yuh mek Mahatma Gandhi look like weightliftah! 

I grew up as a skinny kid.  My mother never failed to get irritated when my ajee would ask her why that boy Errol so maagah.  You can imagine my plight at Howard when I bounced up with them hot, foxy mamas at swimming class.

I gave up on that swimming thing a while ago.  As you know, swimming is mandatory for graduation from Howard.  When I went to my first class with my Mahatma Gandhi physique and saw all those foxy mamas in their skimpy swim suits I made a uturn and never went back.  I claimed an exemption by faking an allergic reaction to chlorine.  Then my wife gave me a 12 swimming classes at the gym in Cloumbia Heights a few years ago as a Christmas gift.  I quit after two classes.  

That cycling gig looks good though.  I will check with GVC to work out the details.  I will be buying a bike later this week.  Thanks.

I hope you have not bought the bike as yet. You need a bike that is able to go off road. It must be a perfect fit, light, dual suspensions preferable and with  aggressive tires. We do off road, single tracking. If you go to the store you need to get the best bike you can buy in this area. If you get on the bike, you must immediately feel comfortable on it. I am not going to be in the area for another couple of weeks but you can find some one who do off road mountain biking to help you.  These bikes are expensive so you could go to the store, let the guys give  you an idea of the size ( I think medium or covering the range from 15 to 16.5 will do) and check craigslist for a similar offering.  I get back in 3 weeks. Meanwhile you do need to do some riding to get some fitness and begin to understand the stress  your body can take.

I will take you guys to Schaeffer farms on the white trail to get a feel for the kind of riding. It is the equivalent to a "bunny" trail, not  difficult but enough for you to enjoy biking and get a feel for the more narly stuff. These are good learning trails.  There are 5 color coded trails ranging from white to red in terms of difficulty. They intersect so it is easily to switch from one to the other as you get better

These two vids cover the entire white  trail. There are 450 feet of climbing, few rollers, no jumps a few bridges and not much roots or rocks. It is real pretty out there in the woods and not more than 25 minutes from you and about 10 from me. We bike here for our workout. There are  really pretty biking trails not more than 10 mins for these  and then of course there is Gettysburg and the Blue ridge an hour out for real biking.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally Posted by Amral:

Nice pics Gerhard, yes enjoy those moments. Bro PLEASE be careful with him in the pool though. There are far too many accidents with those things and small kids.

Thanks bro.  We will, for sure.

The best investment you can make in the young man is to teach him how to swim properly and you will never have to worry again. Pay for swim lessons because Guyana is the land of many waters. 

Today my son is a certified junior padi diver: 

St Lucia Diving