Thoughts for the weekend.

---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: Morris Sankar

A famous writer was in his study room. He picked up his pen and started writing:

**Last year, I had a surgery and my gallbladder was removed. I had to stay stuck to the bed due to this surgery for a long time. 

**The same year I reached the age of 60 years and had to give up my favourite job. I had spent 30 years of my life in this publishing company. 

**The same year I experienced the sorrow of the death of my father.

**And in the same year my son failed in his medical exam because he had a car accident. He had to stay in bed at hospital with the cast on for several days. The destruction of car was another loss. 

At the end he wrote: Alas! It was such bad year!! 

When the writer's wife entered the room, she found her husband looking sad lost in his thoughts. From behind his back she read what was written on the paper. She left the room silently and came back with another paper and placed it on the side of her husband's writing.

When the writer saw this paper, he found this written on it:

**Last year I finally got rid of my gall bladder due to which I had spent years in pain.

**I turned 60 with sound health and got retired from my job. Now I can utilize my time to write something better with more focus and peace. 

**The same year my father, at the age of 95, without depending on anyone or without any critical condition met his Creator. 

**The same year, God blessed my son with a new life. My car was destroyed but my son stayed alive without getting any disability.

At the end she wrote: This year was an immense blessing of God and it passed well!! 

See!! The same incidents but different viewpoints. If we ponder with this viewpoint that what could have happened more, we would truly become thankful to the Almighty.

Moral : In our daily lives we must see that it's not happiness that makes us grateful but gratefulness that makes us happy.

There is always, always, always something to be thankful for.

!! Stay Blessed !!

Originally Posted by Tola:

A famous writer was in his study room. He picked up his pen and started writing:

**Last year, I had a surgery and my gallbladder was removed. I had to stay stuck to the bed due to this surgery for a long time. 

**The same year I reached the age of 60 years and had to give up my favourite job. I had spent 30 years of my life in this publishing company. 

**And in the same year my son failed in his medical exam because he had a car accident. He had to stay in bed at hospital with the cast on for several days. The destruction of car was another loss. 

When the writer's wife entered the room, she found her husband looking sad lost in his thoughts. From behind his back she read what was written on the paper. She left the room silently and came back with another paper and placed it on the side of her husband's writing.

**Last year I finally got rid of my gall bladder due to which I had spent years in pain.

**I turned 60 with sound health and got retired from my job. Now I can utilize my time to write something better with more focus and peace. 

**The same year my father, at the age of 95, without depending on anyone or without any critical condition met his Creator. 

**The same year, God blessed my son with a new life. My car was destroyed but my son stayed alive without getting any disability.

At the end she wrote: This year was an immense blessing of God and it passed well!! 

See!! The same incidents but different viewpoints. If we ponder with this viewpoint that what could have happened more, we would truly become thankful to the Almighty.

Moral : In our daily lives we must see that it's not happiness that makes us grateful but gratefulness that makes us happy.

!! Stay Blessed !!

SANTOSH 

!! Stay Blessed !!

Yuh know, just this week my finger touched some key on the keypad and a history came up. Something I never saw before. Yuh e-mailed me about 8 years ago, inquiring where I was from in Belvedere-by Ramkumar's shop.

I understand ur praises. We should always be grateful in life. From ur participation on the BB, I could tell God's been good to you. Hallelujah.

!! Stay Blessed !!

Yuh know, just this week my finger touched some key on the keypad and a history came up. Something I never saw before. Yuh e-mailed me about 8 years ago, inquiring where I was from in Belvedere-by Ramkumar's shop.

I understand ur praises. We should always be grateful in life. From ur participation on the BB, I could tell God's been good to you. Hallelujah.

Bai, your reply really touched me, I remember now.

My email address is the same.

I do video recordings for a senior project  where we get teens to interview seniors 90+years  about their life history, for our university and library historical department.

I normally only do the camera work, but last weekend I was so impressed with a guy who spent his entire life with the forestry service, that I asked if he had any regrets. He said no, he would like to live it all over again.

I told him I shared what he said, because I also would like to live my 48 years overseas again. It was not easy, but hard and I would like to do it all again, because of my gratefulness and thankfulness.

As I look back those 48 years,  I see a big hand guiding me along a path of challenges and good times, to where I am today and I believe it was the hand of God.

I made contact with ChandraR in Iowa, she married a guy whose parents owned the [past] rice mill by Rose Hall lemonade street, toward the backdam.

She studied  in Scotland/Ireland and now spends her time with their grand children.

Their house at Belvedere is gone and house lot fenced with old zinc sheets.

Near Spoiler's house is the largest Salt Sew factory in Berbice and Sita always give me a big package to bring back. I do their photos that they use for advertising.

Do you know about albioncommunity.webs.com   it has photos of Albion and the school, also Belvedere People on FB.

I wrote a piece about growing up in the 60s and plan to do another with 1963 photos of Dada Bam culvert, as a social gathering place,  when the streets was not paved and all culverts was made of wood.

The photos were taken during a flood, not much has changes with constant flooding.

I remember those wooden bridges well, because the six inch nails come up with vibrations from vehicles. One morning I was coming home  from  a grave yard shift and my bicycle pedal touched the nail and it spin me around.

I fell in the muddy drain and the bike fell on top of me. I came out bleeding with scarns still on my forehead.

Thanks for reminding me...God Bless.   

Ball,

Originally Posted by ball:

Tola how about posting some ah them picha

Ball, I would like nothing better than sharing my photos taken between 1960-67, but there is a  Guyanese website in the US that abuses them.

I once lent them a 1945 photo of Albion Estate for a year book and next thing I know, copies was being sold on Liberty. 

I don't mind them posting my photos, but in typical Guyanese style, they put THEIR name on it and ignore credits. Most of these photos are over 50 years old and many tell stories about plantation life.

I plan to  publish  them for Guyana 50th anniversary next year and to make them available at Reunions in Toronto, NY and Florida.

There are of many past buildings and political photos not published and I feel this is the best option of making them available to others.

I believe the historical value of the photos is more important than cost, but I would like to cover my expenses for publishing.

Thanks for asking...

Ball,

Originally Posted by ball:

Tola how about posting some ah them picha

Ball, I would like nothing better than sharing my photos taken between 1960-67, but there is a  Guyanese website in the US that abuses them.

I once lent them a 1945 photo of Albion Estate for a year book and next thing I know, copies was being sold on Liberty. 

I don't mind them posting my photos, but in typical Guyanese style, they put THEIR name on it and ignore credits. Most of these photos are over 50 years old and many tell stories about plantation life.

I plan to  publish  them for Guyana 50th anniversary next year and to make them available at Reunions in Toronto, NY and Florida.

There are of many past buildings and political photos not published and I feel this is the best option of making them available to others.

I believe the historical value of the photos is more important than cost, but I would like to cover my expenses for publishing.

Thanks for asking...

This compilation would indeed be a coveted treasure. Value will certainly surpass cost. Just let us know when it is available.

!! Stay Blessed !!

Is this the Morris Sankar from Line Path who once studied in England?

!! Stay Blessed !!

Is this the Morris Sankar from Line Path who once studied in England?

I am not sure Skelly, it was sent to me by a Albion bank manager friend in NY. I don't have any contact information. I will ask him.

Skelly this is your answer from Netram in NY...

Is this the same Morris Sankar from Line Path who once studied in England?

"Yes - he is the same person."

There is an email address for a Dr. KC Lam with the original mail. Will it help you?

Thanks Tola. I know him.  He taught at Line Path Secondary in the mid 60s while I was a student there. 

Skelly this is your answer from Netram in NY...

Is this the same Morris Sankar from Line Path who once studied in England?

"Yes - he is the same person."

There is an email address for a Dr. KC Lam with the original mail. Will it help you?

Thanks Tola. I know him.  He taught at Line Path Secondary in the mid 60s while I was a student there. 

It always surprise me how Guyanese excel themselves.. especially when we know where we came from...

The 60s was the most vibrant turn around for education in Guyana. The British no longer had control over us.