Originally Posted by IGH:

Indeed the red coating prappah sweet.

Yuh taste um, nuh! Howdy? Long time no see.

Too busy loving meh grandpickneys... deh hubby is now 2nd fiddle to them. I am 2nd fiddle to deh grand-daughter, wid him.

Glad to hear. Too bad me no have grandpickney yet. You read any book lately? I reading a travel book on India now, by an Indian-Canadian guy named M.G. Vassanji. Google him. Good writer.

LOL@"Too bad me no have grandpickney yet." Don't give up hope ...

Presently I am reading THE BOURNE ASCENDANCY(JASON BOURNE SERIES) - The Bourne Ascendancy is the twelfth novel in the Bourne series and ninth by Eric Van Lustbader

I have about 100 pages to go...

Not sure what I will read next...

Presently I am reading THE BOURNE ASCENDANCY(JASON BOURNE SERIES) - The Bourne Ascendancy is the twelfth novel in the Bourne series and ninth by Eric Van Lustbader

Great. When you're done, feel free to post a teeny-weeny comment on Bookshelf.

Guess what? I don't have to visit Toronto Public Library anymore. I can borrow books online and read on my PC and cp. Me prappa glad.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Good morning Gilly and IGH,

This is a nice thread

IGH, enjoy the grandkids!

Gilly, when i read the topic, I thought you posted a nice, ripe mango seed. 

mee Neva tried karilla seed. 

Good morning, Miraver. How do you do?

Whenever you get a ripe carila, buss it open and try the red coating but don't bite or swallow the seed itself.

Guyanese call it carila. In India it's called karela. Englishmen call it bitter gourd. Whatever the name, it's bitter indeed and some people drink a brew of its leaves to bitter their blood.

While the ripe carila isn't cooked, as far as I know, its seed has a red covering that's edible and sweet. I know. I tasted it.

Hey Gilly, why yuh tasting seeds bai?

Great. When you're done, feel free to post a teeny-weeny comment on Bookshelf.

Guess what? I don't have to visit Toronto Public Library anymore. I can borrow books online and read on my PC and cp. Me prappa glad.

Good for you Bookie... Can't remember the last day I visited a library.  Noy even with the grands... I take the boys to the book stores.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Guyanese call it carila. In India it's called karela. Englishmen call it bitter gourd. Whatever the name, it's bitter indeed and some people drink a brew of its leaves to bitter their blood.

While the ripe carila isn't cooked, as far as I know, its seed has a red covering that's edible and sweet. I know. I tasted it.

Hey Gilly, why yuh tasting seeds bai?

Why?

Ksazma, some seeds Allah wants us to taste. Like ripe carila seeds, tamarind seeds, whitey seeds, genip seeds. In Canada I discovered an unguyanese fruit named lichee, containing a sweet whitish pulp surrounding a seed. Juicy and refreshing, to me.

Gilbakka - I had Lychee(canned) with vanilla ice-cream several times at Bamboo Garden... I am not sure if the fresh ones were found in Guyana.

I never saw fresh ones in Guyana.

I had chinese lowmein and beer at Bamboo Garden, with one of my flames of course. That was a lovely place, but fire destroyed it.

Bamboo Garden & Palm Court were our hang-out way way back.

There were a few other fairly nice hangouts. The old Rendezvous on Robb Street. The early Dawn Palace on Regent & King near DemLife. And Hotel Tower was my favorite from 1970 to the time I migrated.

Old flames don't tek long to ketch back.

That goes without saying, but I'll tell you something true; it's like you smoke a cigarette half-way, out it, then smoke the other half another day. Doesn't taste the same way like before.

BTW did you watch the CMA last week? I did not, since I had work the next day.

No.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

Chami, Hubby once told one of his old flames, "I don't eat vomit." She was trying to get between us...LOL! This was before we got married.

IGH...i heard that phrase b4...

you lucky she was not desperate and kept on trying...you know how man ego does rule dem head and heart...and some women will do anything to break up families

Chami - LOL!...

I tell him if he ever stray I will pour hot oil in his ears when he sleeping.