GUYANA UNDER THE PPP IS SWEET MUSIC TO THE EAR.

The rapid growth in Guyana’s housing sector and rising demand for real estate, particularly in the country’s capital, Georgetown, and its environs, has prompted an international real estate investor to bring this to the attention of the world.

Taylor White is providing a platform for real estate owners, agents, and developers with the establishment of the Guyana Real Estate for Sale and the Guyana Real Estate Listings websites.

The major advantage to real estate owners, agents, and developers is the ability to open a new account in 30 seconds, without the need to provide any kind of personal information, ensuring security of account holders.

On activating the account as free Basic Listing for 6 months, those listed can upload innumerable Guyana real estate for sale, Guyana rentals, or Guyana properties for exchange, with descriptions, photos, and video.

The account holder can use the Free Property Alert to communicate details of holdings to all interested persons in the new website. The Free Weekly Hot Sheet expands the exposure even more by communicating the property descriptions to international investors.

To increase the chances of faster disposal of the properties, the users can upgrade the listings to sections of Premium Properties, Exclusive Properties, and Featured Properties, subject to stipulated conditions.

The Guyana real estate for sale and Guyana rentals in the account are also transmitted to the Twitter and Facebook pages of International Real Estate Listings. Another innovation is the placement of the property listings in 25 or more social bookmarking websites like Yahoo Real Estate, Back Page, Vast, Zillow, Oodle, etc. All the above services are free of charges.

If the property owner wants international attention and speedy disposal of the holdings, then the special international mailer facility to all the opt-in subscribers of the international website provides the perfect avenue for such an effort.

Suggested Stories:

Guyana shipping industry records 3.5% increase in performance

Heavy investment in equipment fuelled Banks DIH performance – Chairman

Guyana records 11 percent increase in fruit, vegetable exports

Nehru, a lot of good things have happened in Guyana since 1982, no doubt. The mineral sector has grown by leaps and bounds thanks to foreign private investment. Land reform has boosted aggregate demand in Guyana as well. The energy sector in a few years will transform the economy in a big way. However, there are a lot of missed opportunities in the human capital aspects of Guyana's development. The physical infrastructure and commodities expansion notwithstanding, we have to really critique Guyana's poor development of its technology and workers education - in other words human capital development. The hemorrhaging of human capital is either a contributing factor to that or is a symptom of it. One thing you have to note is that it all starts with the political environment. A positive one (and now we have divided government for the first time, which is a good development) will lead to the proper social institutions and an environment for entrepreneurs and professionals to stay in Guyana and not migrate thus contributing to Guyana's professional and intellectual hemorrhaging. This BTW is one of Moses Nagamootoo's passion and port of his disagreement with the previous Administration. It is likely that you will see a more mature society, instead of the cuss-down one Guyana has had, as long as Moses mentors the young politicians.
Kari,You are correct but time is on the people's side. They wait in anticipation. Let us see who are really interested in the lives of the Guyanese and who are more interested in POWER, EGO and STALEMATE. Only time will tell Bhai.
Originally posted by Kari:
Nehru, a lot of good things have happened in Guyana since 1982, no doubt. The mineral sector has grown by leaps and bounds thanks to foreign private investment. Land reform has boosted aggregate demand in Guyana as well. The energy sector in a few years will transform the economy in a big way. However, there are a lot of missed opportunities in the human capital aspects of Guyana's development. The physical infrastructure and commodities expansion notwithstanding, we have to really critique Guyana's poor development of its technology and workers education - in other words human capital development. The hemorrhaging of human capital is either a contributing factor to that or is a symptom of it. One thing you have to note is that it all starts with the political environment. A positive one (and now we have divided government for the first time, which is a good development) will lead to the proper social institutions and an environment for entrepreneurs and professionals to stay in Guyana and not migrate thus contributing to Guyana's professional and intellectual hemorrhaging. This BTW is one of Moses Nagamootoo's passion and port of his disagreement with the previous Administration. It is likely that you will see a more mature society, instead of the cuss-down one Guyana has had, as long as Moses mentors the young politicians.
These real estate people will do anything to make a buck (Including selling their own shorts). These crooks should all be in jail. They come into real estate markets and start their con flips to bring up the prices so they make large profits. The poor people in the end is left holding the bag while these real estate crooks go to the bank.
Originally posted by Nehru:
GUYANA UNDER THE PPP IS SWEET MUSIC TO THE EAR.

Despite experiencing a massive brain drain the past 30 years Guyana has progressed very nicely.

AND GUYANA'S BEST YEARS ARE STILL TO COME.

The mining, energy, agriculture, housing, and other sectors will boom.

Americans who can't find jobs(nearly 25,000,000) in the great US of A ought to head to Guyana---lots of opputunities opening up in the land of many waters.

Guyana has been on that path for many years now. Over 1000 Schools were built or refurbished. Ovwer 100 Playgrounds have been built or improved. Thousands of Miles of roads, water lines, Electrical lines were built. Small Businesses have increased by the hundreds. GRS increased their collections to almost ONE Trillion dollars.
One bright prospect is that Guyana CONTINUES to produce some of the brightest in that region. I have always had a healthy respect for Guyanese in Guyana.
Deh man said Typo, we all do typo.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Kari, Sorry but I have to correct you, SINCE 1992. partybanana

You're right....I meant 1992....typo....thanks for the correction.

What kind of tricks you pulling. You know your history well, but you want to give PNC some credit since Moses is no longer with the PPP. belnah

Gwan guh tek a bath
See what yuh did now, yuh Rass get Kari MAD. Mad partybanana partybanana

Gwan guh tek a bath
Guyana has been on that path for many years now. Over 1000 Schools were built or refurbished. Ovwer 100 Playgrounds have been built or improved. Thousands of Miles of roads, water lines, Electrical lines were built. Small Businesses have increased by the hundreds. GRS increased their collections to almost ONE Trillion dollars.
One bright prospect is that Guyana CONTINUES to produce some of the brightest in that region. I have always had a healthy respect for Guyanese in Guyana.
iooo school but no furnture and no teachers,pipe lines with brown water and people is advise not to drink without boiling,electrical lines with every day black out but the GRS is collecting trillion of tax payers money a country on the move,the people is moving out

I am sure that other Caribbean people will claim the same. Dont attach important to the 5 or 6 individuals who do well at CXC. Focus on what the average 16 y/o in Guyana is doing. The Ministry of Education admits that many are semi literate.
Originally posted by caribj:

I am sure that other Caribbean people will claim the same. Dont attach important to the 5 or 6 individuals who do well at CXC. Focus on what the average 16 y/o in Guyana is doing. The Ministry of Education admits that many are semi literate.

I've seen them up close in a North American working environment fresh off the plan. And no disrespect to other Caribbean natives in North America, but I would even venture to say (to use a colloquialism without being prejudiced to anyone, just a journalistic tool) that Guyanese (both Blacks and Indians) are the "Jews" of the Caribbean. Look around in academia and entrepreneurship in North America (and leave out the giant corporations) and you can see why I say so.
Originally posted by warrior:
iooo school but no furnture and no teachers,pipe lines with brown water and people is advise not to drink without boiling,electrical lines with every day black out but the GRS is collecting trillion of tax payers money a country on the move,the people is moving out

A few of these situations do exist, however Guyana continue to top the Caribbean, producing the top performers time and time again.
I've seen them up close in a North American working environment fresh off the plan. .

Kari many a Jamaican will say the same. First you have a bias as a Guyanese. Secondly you are more fully aware of what Guyanese do than what Jamaicans and other Caribbean people do. Census numbers show that migrants from Guyana and Jamaica do about the same, marginally better than Trinis and Bajans, and that is explained by the greater brain drain out of GY and JA vs the other two.

When you make bold statements like this furnish data and not what you think.

Put it this way Tower Isles, Golden Krust, and Royal Caribbean have made way more inroads than any Guyanese company that I am aware of. In fact Lowell Hawthorne was even featured in Crains, Forbes, Inc and other magazines.

Then there is Michael Lee Chen. In 2010 ranked # 937...so he survived the 2006 implosion.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Lee-Chin

This is not to say that Jamaicans, as a whole are better off, but you will not look stupid when a Jamaican makes mention of this if you dont make bold statements like "Guyanese do better".

The only area that we are clearly better is in homeownership.....and the current Ed Ahmad scandal will tell you why....as to how many will remain home owners is any one's guess.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
A few of these situations do exist, however Guyana continue to top the Caribbean, producing the top performers time and time again.

We have around 6 kids who do well, and get the highest grades.

The others do much worse than most other parts of the Caribbean, even Jamaica with its atrocious educational system. Last year I furnished the data.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Jamaicans like to "big-up" their little money and make people think they're really successful. .

An IndoGuyanese in RH are the same. No wonder so many fell for Ed Ahmad's scam and now find themselves in serious trouble. He was a bad man, but he played on the greed of others.

Bai abie coolie bin always like big nice house, yuh nah see how abie a live donk hay, mek you rass jealous. Now true, dem get cyarry away an' dem nah bin undastan' da risk. Anyway, me hope and sure dem ga recova. And wah about alyuh, how com dem Afro nah gatt no prablim wid alyuh house, teach abie da trik nah.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Bai abie coolie bin always like big nice house,

True so Ed got them homes that they cant afford...and now they must work 4 jobs to keep them. Of course who is looking out for their kids when they do so?

And yes AfroCaribbean people have serious problems for the same reason. GREED. Ed conned some of them too!!! As did other unscrupulous mortgage brokers.
Bai abie coolie bin always like big nice house,

True so Ed got them homes that they cant afford...and now they must work 4 jobs to keep them. Of course who is looking out for their kids when they do so?

And yes AfroCaribbean people have serious problems for the same reason. GREED. Ed conned some of them too!!! As did other unscrupulous mortgage brokers.

Is nah greed bai, is ambition lil bit out ah control. Same ting gon happen hay if credit come datt easy. Yuh require 20% down and da game change. Is natt di man, is da game. Is true dem had lil fraud, but if tings nah bin turn upside donk, nobady would be complaining.
Is nah greed bai, is ambition lil bit out ah control. .

Greed is another word for it. If you cant afford something you should wait until you can and work smarter to reduce the time needed to reach that point.

Bai, da human nature. Da system seh 3% down and dem went wid dah. Me deh hay mekking nuff paisa, me nah stap till me feel like or dead, dozz da mek mi greedy? Me nah tink so.
Put it this way Tower Isles, Golden Krust, and Royal Caribbean have made way more inroads than any Guyanese company that I am aware of. In fact Lowell Hawthorne was even featured in Crains, Forbes, Inc and other magazines.

Then there is Michael Lee Chen. In 2010 ranked # 937...so he survived the 2006 implosion.

This is not to say that Jamaicans, as a whole are better off, but you will not look stupid when a Jamaican makes mention of this if you dont make bold statements like "Guyanese do better".

The only area that we are clearly better is in homeownership.....and the current Ed Ahmad scandal will tell you why....as to how many will remain home owners is any one's guess.

CaribJ, here are some things to consider.

1. Probably the largest manufacturer of dietary supplements (for itself as well as private labels) is a Guyanese-American. [New York State]

2. One of the largest manufacturer of hair care products is a Guyanese-American (for the big labels like Revlon, etc.)[Minnesota]

3. There are two pure water suppliers one who who dominates the State of Illinois] and the other is in New York state that are Guyanese-Americans.

44. The owner of an emerging-market economy trade platform and an investment house for infrastructural works is a Guyanese-American.

There are other Guyanese-Americans in businesses that are unheralded. I also have not mentioned the Professionals who are scientists in the medical field and NASA, etc.

All this aside I have to say that in my walks (and I do travel some roads), I'm more impressed with Guyanese who have stayed in these shores and basically created businesses natively. The companies you mentioned that are Jamaicans have some things to do with Jamaica and are not natively USA per se.

CaribJ, here are some things to consider.

1. Probably the largest manufacturer of dietary supplements (for itself as well as private labels) is a Guyanese-American. [New York State]

2. One of the largest manufacturer of hair care products is a Guyanese-American (for the big labels like Revlon, etc.)[Minnesota]

3. There are two pure water suppliers one who who dominates the State of Illinois] and the other is in New York state that are Guyanese-Americans.

44. The owner of an emerging-market economy trade platform and an investment house for infrastructural works is a Guyanese-American.

There are other Guyanese-Americans in businesses that are unheralded. I also have not mentioned the Professionals who are scientists in the medical field and NASA, etc.

All this aside I have to say that in my walks (and I do travel some roads), I'm more impressed with Guyanese who have stayed in these shores and basically created businesses natively. The companies you mentioned that are Jamaicans have some things to do with Jamaica and are not natively USA per se.

Ah weh dem bais deh, leh dem come help abie out donk hay nah. Alyuh leff abie foa deal wid dem Buxton man alone. Dem dem nah mek nutin' but dem want piece...natt peace.
The companies you mentioned that are Jamaicans have some things to do with Jamaica and are not natively USA per se.

And Kari there might well be Jamaicans who are equally large. YOU DO NOT KNOW!!!

Michael Lee Chin made his money in Canada. His Jamaican companies were based on his wealth generated in Canada.

Name one Guyanese who is wealthier than he was reported to be in 2010.

The other companies have no more to do with Jamaica than do the Guyanese companies mentioned have to do with Guyana. They made their money in the USA.

I know you want to wave that Guyana flag and laud it over as a superior human being but when you do so based on your own exposure you open yourself to ridicule. Your contacts are likely to be heavily Guyanese (mostly Indo Guyanese at that) so to claim that you know everything that Jamaicans and Trinis arent doing might be opening yourself for one of them (Jamaican quite likely) to set you right.

Then of course you forgot that the Dom Republic is also Caribbean. Cubans as well.

I even wonder to what extent you are even aware of every thing that AFROGuyanese are doing as you contacts are likely to be more on the Indian side.

And of course we havent even talked about Trinis...given the sophistication of their economy who knows how Trini might have been able to leverage that to do things in the USA/Canada.

And of course given how Guyanese like to run their mouths who knows whether the companies that you mention are as large and in charge in the markets (dominate you say, not merely be highly successful mid range companies within the sector but DOMINATE) as you claim them to be?

In any case there are maybe 300k Guyanese in the USA. To name the successes of a few of them really doesnt allow you to prove much. Census data for NY reveals that Caribbean people do about the same in terms of their income, occupational and educational profiles with the small differences reflecting the larger brain drain out of JA and GY vs TT and BDs. More Bajan and Trini professionals stay home.

In fact in 2000 (I dont know what 2010 will reveal) Jamaicans and Trinidadians in NYC earned HIGHER salaries than did Guyanese, maybe reflecting the fact that Guyanese were, on average, more recent immigrants. Also Guyanese females in particular trailed in salaries earned, most likely refelcting the rural background of many first generation IndoGuyanese women, many of whom lacked work experience in Guyana. And certainly not of the office type.

IndoCaribbean households are less likely to be female headed and more likely to have adult kids as part of the households resulting in Guyanese households having slightly higher incomes, despite this salary disadvantage. The Jamaican success being due to the fact that many of their females are high earning RNs and other health care professionals, offsetting their high female headed households.

So for any Caribbean group to say they are the best, whether its Jamaicans or IndoGuyanese (to name the two most prone to make these statements based on their range of contacts) is really foolish.
The companies you mentioned that are Jamaicans have some things to do with Jamaica and are not natively USA per se.

This alone reflects why you should shut your mouth. Royal Caribbean, Golden Krust and Tower Isles are VERY US based. I left out VP Records which does have Jamaican connections, even though its NY based company is a US based entities.

You dont know Jamaicans and so base your impressions of them on ignorance.
Bhai, Why try to Debate with Hoodlums????
Where are you going with this sophomoric who-can-piss the furthest and who should shut their mouth?

Advice taken, Nehru.

That Guyanese Jamaican wannabe CaribJ fool always has a critique when Guyana and Guyanese are celebrated. At times I try to ask folks here to embrace critique as healthy, and I defend this intellectual midget. Now I know better. He started this "other Caribbeans" may not agree with me that Guyanese in the diaspora has done exceptionally well. And I have not even begun to enumerate the businesses in the energy sector, the agri-scientist who is a shining light in the Dakotas or the medical research scientists, etc. who are Guyanese.

The guy has a psychotic disdain for things good Guyanese.
And these same People during Rice Flour and Breadfruit Curry had nothing BAD to say. Please dont WASTE your Energy with FOOLS.
Bhai, Why try to Debate with Hoodlums????
Where are you going with this sophomoric who-can-piss the furthest and who should shut their mouth?

Advice taken, Nehru.

That Guyanese Jamaican wannabe CaribJ fool always has a critique when Guyana and Guyanese are celebrated. At times I try to ask folks here to embrace critique as healthy, and I defend this intellectual midget. Now I know better. He started this "other Caribbeans" may not agree with me that Guyanese in the diaspora has done exceptionally well. And I have not even begun to enumerate the businesses in the energy sector, the agri-scientist who is a shining light in the Dakotas or the medical research scientists, etc. who are Guyanese.

You are the one who is on this "Guyanese are better than other Caribbean people" when you are unable to furnish evidence, aside from your own impressions.

Dont see what this is all about when it is clear that NONE of us in New York City have any real power to shape events and are left to make the best of what opportunities fall our way. Despite now being numerically as large as the Jewish population, even if we exclude the culturally different Hispanic Caribbean populations.

When decisions are being made in NYC rest assured NONE OF US ARE there and it will be more productive for us to ensure that this state of affairs no longer continues.

Now I would think that building bridges between ALL Caribbean people (at least the non Hispanic groups) would amke sense. No you prefer to waste time with the "we are better than you dogman" which will only result in Jamaicans and others similarly wasting time with this.

Its a pity that like many poor white men the only way you can feel good about yourself is to think that you are better than others. Even though its obvious that you can furnish no evidence of this.

Of what concern is it to you whether Guyanese do better than other Caribbean people or do not? Is it that you dont think that GUyanese successes can stand on their own w/o belittling our Caribbean peers?

You cant even prove this to be a fact so you turn personal.

If you are now becoming friendly with nehru I expect you to soon join slegde and the other Indofacists here. Maybe there is something about you that merits further investigation.

What you really want to say is INDOGuyanese do better. So be bold enough and say so.

Carib has a hard on for Indo Guyanese and hates them like his beloved PNC party does. It is starting to show. Indo Guyanese are very progressive. Their economic progress speakes for itself.

You and your beloved PNC brothers just hate us.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by yuji22:

Carib has a hard on for Indo Guyanese and hates them like his beloved PNC party does. [QUOTE]

Now tell us all the poistive things you said about blacks. Oh yes, criminal, lazy....and you may continue.

Please dont talk about eco0nomic progress when Guyana still remains a country which supplies the rest of the Caribbean with cheap labor....look at whats happening win Trinidad.
Carib, it is better to tell the truth than to hide facts. You have now exposed yourself as an Indo Guyanese hater for all to see. You are living in a coconut shell not to recognize economic progress in Guyana.

You would love to see Guyana return to poverty and crime under you beloved PNC. As any Indo Guyanese what life was like under your beloved and they will tell you.

You would love your beloved PNC to return Guyana to days when we had to line up for everything including food, yes food. You are a racist Indo Guyanese hater.