An intrepid British angler today told how he snared a predator which kills men - by biting off their testicles.

Fearless Jeremy Wade, 53, spent weeks hunting for the fish in remote Papua New Guinea after locals reported a mysterious beast which was castrating young fishermen.

He finally unmasked the perpetrator as the Pacu fish - known locally as β€˜The Ball Cutter’ - and managed to catch one in his small wooden fishing boat.

Pacu fish are usually found in the Amazon, where they need their teeth to crack into the tough cases of nuts and seeds.

The previously vegetarian fish were introduced to Papua New Guinea 15 years ago to increase stocks.

They quickly used their special technique to chomp meat due to a lack of suitable vegetation in the waters - making short work of human testicles.

Originally posted by Riya:
I remember Guyana Pacu as having a large flat head....
There are two different fishes called Pacu/Packoo in Guyana. The one in the picture here is caught in the interior, in the rivers and I refer to that one as Pacu. We also have a catfish which is the one with the large flat head you are referring to. I call that one a Packoo. The Packoo would live out of the water for quite a while and I remember catching them and making them smoke cigarettes when they breathe heavily from being out of the water. They usually have a dark brown skin which is burnt off with hot scalding water before they are cooked.
Originally posted by TI:
Originally posted by Mr.T:
These fishes are quite tasty and are a relative of the piranha. You can catch them in Guyana, but you have to go high upstream. I managed to catch them in Watooka in the 60's and 70's, but they were getting harder to find in latter years.

You talking about pacuma?
The Pacuma is probably the real name for the catfish looking one even though most people call it Packoo for short. The Pacu looks like a big Piranha, same shape but much bigger. The one in the picture here is the Pacu looking like a Piranha.
Originally posted by AndrΓ©:
There are two different fishes called Pacu/Packoo in Guyana. The one in the picture here is caught in the interior, in the rivers and I refer to that one as Pacu. We also have a catfish which is the one with the large flat head you are referring to. I call that one a Packoo. The Packoo would live out of the water for quite a while and I remember catching them and making them smoke cigarettes when they breathe heavily from being out of the water. They usually have a dark brown skin which is burnt off with hot scalding water before they are cooked.

interesting...thanks, Andre
Originally posted by chameli:
[[]The Packoo would live out of the water for quite a while and I remember catching them and making them smoke cigarettes when they breathe heavily from being out of the water. They usually have a dark brown skin which is burnt off with hot scalding water before they are cooked.

'Dre u talking about mud hassa?

No, actually I don't know what mud Hassa is and how they differ from regular hassa but I don't think that's what it is. It's call Pacuma or packoo for short or Pacuma Toadfish. I read a little more about them and they are puffer fish - that's why they breathe out of water long and can "puff" cigarettes. Scientific name "Batrachoides surinamensis", so apparently they are also found in Suriname. Here's a picture I found of one.

http://www.fishbase.org/summar...essummary.php?id=969

Originally posted by antabanta:
Andre... that's not pacu. Pacu is flat vertically. Toadfish is flat horizontally. Google black pacu and you'll find the one commonly seen in Guyana.
Smoked pacu tastes really good.
I always thought there was also a saltwater pacu.
Read everything I seh bhai. The real name for this one is Pacuma but some people also call it Packoo fuh short. Pacuma is the salt water packoo. You mostly find them at the mouth of the rivers flowing into the ocean. The real Pacu is posted in the first picture on this thread.
This due went to get the Pacu theet

An older couple were lying in bed one night. The husband was falling asleep but the wife was in a romantic mood and wanted to talk.
She said: "You used to hold my hand when we were courting."
Wearily he reached across, held her hand for a second and tried to get back to sleep.
A few moments later she said: "Then you used to kiss me."
Mildly irritated, he reached across, gave her a peck on the cheek and settled down to sleep.
Thirty seconds later she said: "Then you used to bite my Neck."
Angrily, he threw back the bed clothes and got out of bed.
"Where are you going?" she asked.

"To get my teeth!"
Originally posted by chameli:
[[]]Yuh goffa be a real Packoo to call yuhself Antabanta. Happy new year Big Grin newyear2

'Dre, u calling me fren Anta a mud-hassa? Roll Eyes Big Grin
Nah, a Packoo is more appropriate. Big Grin

Yuh ever hear the saying - yuh ketch a Packoo and yuh bruk he back
Bannaz...bannaz... Christmas gone... tek off yuh facie.