Jagdeo outlines course of action to save sugar industry

Wales Sugar Estate closure

By Kristen Macklingam

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has outlined avenues through which the sugar industry can be saved while addressing hundreds of sugar workers who will be on the breadline when the closure of the Wales Sugar Estate,  West Bank Demerara (WBD), takes effect later this year.

The opposition leader is also calling for a public debate with the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition Government on its decision to close the estate.

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...save-sugar-industry/

• blobid0

The scene above is troubling for the nation and mostly the people who will be affected directly by the closure of Wales sugar factory. Dr. Jagdeo was furiously against the closure of sugar factories or privatization of the sugar industry in general. The former economist and finance minister warned David that his reckless mission to do away with sugar and grow tillapia is a dictator's idea. 

1700 family lives will be impacted. This will add to the already high employment rate and create more poverty. Children will be forced to leave school and find work or thief. The stressful condition without jobs will cause more suicides and create drug related problems. This is what the coalition government is all about. PNC/AFC.

We must give credit to the honorable, Dr. Jagdeo, who is on site with the worried workers, to give them hope and seek ways to save their jobs and the devastated impact it will have on their families.  

Cobra posted:

The scene above is troubling for the nation and mostly the people who will be affected directly by the closure of Wales sugar factory.

1.  Wales is in poor shape because the PPP NEGLECTED it.

2. Guysuco owes every one including NIS, so cannot afford to fix it.

3.  Guysuco has unit production costs way in excess of its unit prices. It therefore loses more money as it increases the amount of sugar that it produces.

4.  Jagdeo HIMSELF shut down TWO Demerara factories.  Why those and not Wales? Didn't people lose jobs there too?

5. Jagdeo has NOT come with any ideas to make Guysuco into a company which at least covers its operating costs, even if it cannot cover its overheads.

If Jagdeo wants to help sugar workers, he will educate them about the facts of life.

1. Guyana NO LONGER RECEIVES subsidies from the EU.

2. Guyana is too high cost to compete in global markets.

3. Just as the bauxite industry couldn't accommodate all who wished to work in it, neither can sugar.

Cobra posted:

The scene above is troubling for the nation and mostly the people who will be affected directly by the closure of Wales sugar factory.

3.  Guysuco has unit production costs way in excess of its unit prices. It therefore loses more money as it increases the amount of sugar that it produces.

4.  Jagdeo HIMSELF shut down TWO Demerara factories.  Why those and not Wales? Didn't people lose jobs there too?

5. Jagdeo has NOT come with any ideas to make Guysuco into a company which at least covers its operating costs, even if it cannot cover its overheads.

If Jagdeo wants to help sugar workers, he will educate them about the facts of life.

3. Just as the bauxite industry couldn't accommodate all who wished to work in it, neither can sugar.

Was there a plan by Jagdeo to help the workers of the 2 shut down Demerara factories?

I think sugar is dead...but the government must have a plan to provide some relief and support for the workers.

This means subsidizing their needs like the bauxite workers.

GOD BLESS PRESIDENT JAGDEO, THE PEOPLE'S PRESIDENT!!!

Such a slave you are. Jagdeo shut down Diamond and sold the land at bargain prices to his buddies.  How come you didn't protest then?

This is a rhetorical question, as I know I drunk idiot like you cannot respond!

ARACIST BASTARD LIKE YOU TASTE BURNHAM SHIT AND SAID IT TASTE BETTER THAN HONEY, SO GO DAT SIDE YOU SHIT EATER.  WE CAN SMELL YOU ALL THE WAY IN QUEENS!!!!!!!!!!!

Aside from cheap electricity how were bauxite workers subsidized.

Did the PPP use the fact that electricity was cheaper to develop an Export Processing Zone, capitalizing also on the fact that at least up to 2000 Linden had the densest cluster of skilled workers in Guyana, and the 2nd most educated behind G/town?

NO!!! 

And the cheap electricity only exists because the slaughter of Lindeners by the PPP created a reaction that terrified the PPP into removing it.

If one is unemployed, of what use is cheap electricity, as with no income one cannot pay the bill?

Should APNU/AFC be as cruel to the supporters of the opposition party as the PPP was? No.  Some transition plan should be developed to utilize the land and preference should be given to displaced workers in doing so.

But please do NOT invent the LIE that when thousands of bauxite workers were thrown on the breadline that provision was made for them.

Such a slave you are. Jagdeo shut down Diamond and sold the land at bargain prices to his buddies.  How come you didn't protest then?

Hello, Nehru and I would rather be slaves with inputs and opinions under the PPP, rather than to be shackled and mute under the rotten PNC, who is out the destroy what the PPP built for Guyana. Your so call government is more interested to have fete for the next 6 months while the Guyanese people are starving and committing suicide and murder. Then this cock-eyed AFC joined the band wagon of corruption and thievery to send Guyana back into the stone age. 

Cobra posted:

Hello, Nehru and I would rather be slaves with inputs and opinions under the PPP, rather than to be shackled and mute under the rotten PNC, who is out the destroy what the PPP built for Guyana. Your so call government is more interested to have fete for the next 6 months while the Guyanese people are starving and committing suicide and murder. Then this cock-eyed AFC joined the band wagon of corruption and thievery to send Guyana back into the stone age. 

BHAI, dAT SHIT EATING aFRO iAN sMITH has a right to speak also

Cobra posted:

Was there a plan by Jagdeo to help the workers of the 2 shut down Demerara factories?

I think sugar is dead...but the government must have a plan to provide some relief and support for the workers.

Sir, there is no such thing as subsidizing the needs of Indians workers under the PNC/AFC. They know who and when to help their own people. Indians are being marginalized by this government and this trend will continue until Granger get what he wants. It's a survival war Indians are facing and it is happening for a purpose. 

antabanta posted:

Poor chap... you go from idolizing the blasted thief, to cursing his dishonesty, to blessing him. You are one confused soul.

There is a concept of the better of two Evils. Check yuh Bible

Evil does not have degrees of better and worse. Try to use some common sense. An imbalance always creates the need for a correction. We are witnessing the correction to the evil that you, I repeat, you previously noted.

Cobra posted:

There has been this talk about Jagdeo Clos two estate!!! Yes he did because... 

1. LBI Estate is 5 miles from Enmore and 8 Miles from Diamond. Bringing the cane from the back land is much easier to transport to LBI and the sugar workers was never out of a job because at Enmore, they were packaging the sugar in small packages for export and supermarkets locally. Also at Enmore they were bottling EHP Vinegar. 

Cane was still been harvest by sugar workers at the back of Enmore and surrounding areas including Diamond  and get transport to LBI, and if there is any mechanical issues at LBI then it gets transport to Wales. 

It's a plan by the current regime to suppress PPP supporters.  

Cobra posted:

Sir, there is no such thing as subsidizing the needs of Indians workers under the PNC/AFC. They know who and when to help their own people. 

What is the $12 billion bailout set aside to be given to Guysuco by the current government in the new budget and billions more when the coalition assumed the reins of power?

Leader of the Opposition, Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday called on the government to reverse its decision to close the Wales Sugar Estate by the end of the year as the move would affect the livelihood of many residents.

Residents of Wales listening to former President Bharrat Jagdeo

Speaking to the workers and residents who turned out in large numbers yesterday at the Wales market square, Jagdeo said that the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) would not support the closure of the sugar industry. Wales employs 1,600 workers and many of them are likely to be out of a job at year-end.

He said the party would be willing to take to the streets to oppose the APNU+AFC government’s move to close or privatise the estate.  GuySuCo has said Wales is the most vulnerable of the estates and the money is just not there to undertake much needed rehabilitation.

I think that it is a short-sighted policy to cease sugar production at Wales. The government had said that it was not going to close down any estate, but now has announced a closure. Yes, the cost of production is higher than the price of sugar so production is not possible. My question, in the short term, is this the only policy alternative. Are there no solutions to reducing cost of production? What are the economic and social costs. We have learnt what the effects were on workers in linden. 

The government, if it is going to proceed in this direction, should put into place adjustment mechanisms for both the displaced workers and the area economically affected. Yes Caribny, the Jagdeo government should have done this for the workers displaced in linden. And the present government needs to this now for any area, including linden,mice farmers and workers affected by these types of issues. The fact that Jagdeo did not domthis does not make it right for it not to happen. We have to move beyond these kinds of arguments. Look at the help the Ontario. Govt. is giving to the aerospace industry in Ontario, the subsidization of rice and sugar production by the US, the many tax credits and help proposed for the oil industry and oil workers in Canada. Look how much help the us government gave to the auto sector and banking sector in the 2008 meltdown. Yes, the easy solution is sitting estates. Is it the best decision for the long term?

Z

Whatever happen to that water cannon? I hope they dont plan on using that against the workers if they tek to the streets. 

Why not?  That is what the PPP did, even when old ladies and young kids had to flee from tear gas.

Its never good to do bad to others and those who do this might have it done back to them.

But then some folks screamed "ahbe pan tap, blackman time done", and never dreamed that those days would end.

Lucky that Granger is a gentleman, and not the ogre that Jagdeo and his puppet Ramotar were.

Cobra posted:

Sir, there is no such thing as subsidizing the needs of Indians workers under the PNC/AFC. They know who and when to help their own people. 

What is the $12 billion bailout set aside to be given to Guysuco by the current government in the new budget and billions more when the coalition assumed the reins of power?

Cobra still thinks that "ahbe pan tap" , so should get every thing that he wants, even if the rest of the population must suffer.

The day after APNU/AFC assumed office Guysuco came smirking to them that they had no money to meet the NEXT payroll.  The new gov't immediately went to work to find money, so that poor people wouldn't be left unpaid.

Did these Indo KKK snakes ever acknowledge that?  NO.  They want more, and more and more, and REFUSE to admit that its the PPP's incompetence that has put Guysuco and its employees in such a mess.

Was there a point under Hoyte when Guysuco workers feared not getting paid.  Cannot recall that, but this is where the PPP left GuySICKO, when they were booted out in May last year!

Whatever happen to that water cannon? I hope they dont plan on using that against the workers if they tek to the streets. 

Why not?  That is what the PPP did, even when old ladies and young kids had to flee from tear gas.

Its never good to do bad to others and those who do this might have it done back to them.

But then some folks screamed "ahbe pan tap, blackman time done", and never dreamed that those days would end.

Lucky that Granger is a gentleman, and not the ogre that Jagdeo and his puppet Ramotar were.

Did the PPP ever use that water canon?

Zed posted:

TK, since you are on the site, what are some possible solutions that you would suggest based on your understanding of the issue. Total closure? Interested in your response.

I wrote extensively on this. I've answered this question on numerous occasions. Were you not supposed to list for me all the things I've been wrong about?

Zed posted:

I think that it is a short-sighted policy to cease sugar production at Wales. The government had said that it was not going to close down any estate, but now has announced a closure. Yes, the cost of production is higher than the price of sugar so production is not possible. My question, in the short term, is this the only policy alternative. Are there no solutions to reducing cost of production? What are the economic and social costs. We have learnt what the effects were on workers in linden. 

The government, if it is going to proceed in this direction, should put into place adjustment mechanisms for both the displaced workers and the area economically affected. Yes Caribny, the Jagdeo government should have done this for the workers displaced in linden. And the present government needs to this now for any area, including linden,mice farmers and workers affected by these types of issues. The fact that Jagdeo did not domthis does not make it right for it not to happen. We have to move beyond these kinds of arguments. Look at the help the Ontario. Govt. is giving to the aerospace industry in Ontario, the subsidization of rice and sugar production by the US, the many tax credits and help proposed for the oil industry and oil workers in Canada. Look how much help the us government gave to the auto sector and banking sector in the 2008 meltdown. Yes, the easy solution is sitting estates. Is it the best decision for the long term?

The EU told Guyana that it would no longer subsidize sugar, as it did other ACP sugar nations.  Trinidad and St Kitts shut down their industries, and Jamaica began to down scale theirs.

What did Jagdeo do.  EXPAND an already uncompetitive industry instead of transitioning it to more sustainable ventures. Jagdeo ought to be ASHAMED of himself as it is HE who made that error.  TK and others warned him of the consequences, and he LAMBASTED them. 

TK wrote many articles explaining why expanding Skldon was an error.  He was 100% CORRECT!

What you need to understand is that what is at stake is the VERY survival of Guysuco.  When a company doesn't pays its bills it goes BANKRUPT!

1.  Jagdeo should be offering solutions to reduce costs.  The solution that GuySICKO has found is to shut down its highest cost operations and focus on areas where cost reductions are possible. Shutting down Wales is a CONTINUATION of the PPPs shutting down two other Demerara estates.

2.  There are more options available on the WBD than there were in Linden.  The only feasible industry in Linden was bauxite, and as a result many have had to leave the area to work elsewhere in timber and gold/diamonds.  WBD can be used for agriculture, and not just rice.

3.  It is clear that rice is another problem, as costs are high, and Guyana CANNOT COMPETE.  So why not look at other agricultural products with ready markets in the very lucrative hotels in the Caribbean where an increasingly health conscious visitor wants something other than the type of over frozen and over processed food which is offered to them.

4.  Guyana is one of the POOREST countries in the Americas.  ONLY Haiti, Paraguay, Nicaragua and Honduras are worse off.  You then compare it with Ontario, the RICHEST part of the SECOND richest country in the Americas (and that is if you think that the USA is richer, which can be debated).  Guyana CANNOT subsidize an industry which is long past its expiry date.

Jagdeo should proving himself by offering solutions.  He is the economist, not Granger.  Instead he lies, refuses to admit his own errors, and tries his best to start a racial civil war!

TK posted:
TK posted:

I don't usually click on all the threads here, especially those started by brown KKK bais. I clicked this one thinking I would see a list of the proposals Mr Jagdeo has to save the Wales sugar factory. I see nothing. I wasted my time.

You got any suggestions?

Of course I have.

You warned the PPP of its plan to expand sugar, even as Guyana was no longer competitive. Now that Guysuco is bankrupt and massively indebted, Jagdeo claims that he has solutions.  He then proceeds to scream "black man a kill ahbe". 

Yes that is Jagdeo's solution, but I don't see the point, unless he wants to start a racial civil war.

TK posted:

I don't usually click on all the threads here, especially those started by brown KKK bais. I clicked this one thinking I would see a list of the proposals Mr Jagdeo has to save the Wales sugar factory. I see nothing. I wasted my time.

You got any suggestions?

Jagdeo isn't going to listen to TK.  When Guysuco's situation was less dire he didn't. 

Now that the only humane act is to put this sick animal out of its misery, as its recovery is now impossible, what hope this there?

EU provided funds to help ACP sugar producers transition AWAY from sugar.  Jagdeo took the funds to EXPAND sugar.

At the very least Jagdeo should admit that this was an error, and that his arrogance, incompetence, and corrupt nature has destroyed the sugar industry.

Maybe all that can be done is to miniaturize Guysuco, with a focus on the estates which lose the LEAST (none seem to be profitable).

This will allow the BAILOUTS, which Guysuco gets, to be used to help transition people to other forms of agriculture, especially in Demerara, where it has been known for at least TEN years, that sugar cultivation no longer made sense.