The mere fact that Indians backed the more extreme communist party shows that most Indians were poor and lacking property. In fact up to 1953 more blacks had the ability to vote because the property that they owned was more valuable. Up to 1953 only property owners were allowed to vote.

ba$eman posted:

Listen banna, all those businesses looted and burned in the 60's were Indian owned! 

Little Regent St dry goods stores weren't well regarded in G/T and weren't that important. JP Santos, Betancourt, DIH and other entities were.

I know that this assaults your notion of Indian superiority but this is a fact.

If Indians were economically dominant they would have joined with the Portuguese to block Burnham/Jagan with their communism.  Indians didn't join with the capitalist class who were led by Peter D'Aguiar.

Listen banna, People like AH & L Kissoon, Toolsie Persaud, Gafoor, Amerally, etc were already big then!  So shut yuh rass!

ba$eman posted:

Guymine had to be sold to a new owner with access to the Alu market.

And the same could be said for sugar. Guyana CANNOT afford to continue to support an entity which has costs more than double that of its revenues.  Now the EU are telling the Caribbean to find other markets as the EU no longer needs its sugar.  Guyana cannot compete against Brazil and other large sugar producers.

And with the UK now out of the EU do you really think that the Polish and the Hungarians care about Guyanese sugar?

The mere fact that Indians backed the more extreme communist party shows that most Indians were poor and lacking property. In fact up to 1953 more blacks had the ability to vote because the property that they owned was more valuable. Up to 1953 only property owners were allowed to vote.

No, they were allowed because, apart from property, you also had to file taxes and many Blacks were in the Civil Service with a tax record, which gave them voting rights.

ba$eman posted:

Listen banna, People like AH & L Kissoon, Toolsie Persaud, Gafoor, Amerally, etc were already big then!  So shut yuh rass!

In fact they benefitted mightily when Burnham chased out the Portuguese.  They were NOT as important in BGs economy as were Bookers, Demba and the large Portuguese companies.  Sorry!

And you still haven't explained why this Indian capitalist class supported a communist instead of D'Aguiar.

ba$eman posted:

Guymine had to be sold to a new owner with access to the Alu market.

And the same could be said for sugar. Guyana CANNOT afford to continue to support an entity which has costs more than double that of its revenues.  Now the EU are telling the Caribbean to find other markets as the EU no longer needs its sugar.  Guyana cannot compete against Brazil and other large sugar producers.

And with the UK now out of the EU do you really think that the Polish and the Hungarians care about Guyanese sugar?

No, Guymine's input costs was/is largely Forex consuming, Sugar is not.  Sugar has a larger component of local input costs, which adds great leverage with the Forex it earns.  Bauxite is not the same!

The fact of the matter Carib, Forex earning avenues are limited, and Sugar is still one key!

ba$eman posted:

In fact they benefitted mightily when Burnham chased out the Portuguese.  They were NOT as important in BGs economy as were Bookers, Demba and the large Portuguese companies.  Sorry!

And you still haven't explained why this Indian capitalist class supported a communist instead of D'Aguiar.

Listen banna, they were there before independence.  As I said, I'm not counting the Expats as they were for sure dominant.  This is why Burnham nationalize them, so Blacks can quickly more to the top of the food chain.  An it worked for a decade or so!

ba$eman posted:

Indians held each other in high regards.  Putagee and Reds were a bunch of racists who view themselves as "White", so they had no care for Indians, rich or poor.  And yes, they did hold Indians with great disdain, especially the non-city Indians!

Banna this has nothing to do with because someone is Indian they were looked down upon but more like this.

Right here on GNI we read posts from East Indians saying that Cheddie Jagan was a stupid man. We are also aware he was smitten by a woman who must have given him a good "white wine" so here we have to wonder how could anyone follow this White Communist woman and a stupid East Indian man unless they themselves are...Stupid Communists...they are then looked down upon.

ba$eman posted:

No, they were allowed because, apart from property, you also had to file taxes and many Blacks were in the Civil Service with a tax record, which gave them voting rights.

If these businesses were that important they would have had to pay taxes. Are you telling me that the Portuguese didn't pay taxes, or that the British levied taxes against the Portuguese and not Indians?

In fact the % of Portuguese who were allowed to vote was the 2nd highest behind the whites, with the coloreds and the Chinese following and then the blacks with Indians being allowed to vote in the smallest numbers. Amerindians of course in those days were seen as a species of jungle animal so were all but barred from voting. The Catholic priests voted on their behalf.

The Indians got away from paying taxes because their businesses were small so fell under the radar.  Or in the rural areas where there was less surveillance. What ever corruption existed at that time that would have allowed people not to pay taxes would have favored the Portuguese who were the most economically powerful group in Guyana aside from the whites, so would have had the ability to engage in tax avoidance. 

In fact your argument sucks because if Indians were the capitalists it would have been Burnham who was the Marxist and Cheddi would gave aligned himself with Peter D'Aguiar.

Face it. Aside from a few Indian families, many NOT the descendants of indentures, and others who were CHRISTIAN and light skinned, Indians lacked social prestige in Guyana.  Indians were NOT a factor in G/T and G/T set the stage for BG in those days.  The fact that the authorities allowed these small Indo businesses to be burned down is because they were of minimal importance.

ba$eman posted:

No, Guymine's input costs was/is largely Forex consuming, Sugar is not.  Sugar has a larger component of local input costs, which adds great leverage with the Forex it earns.  Bauxite is not the same!

The fact of the matter Carib, Forex earning avenues are limited, and Sugar is still one key!

1. No one wants Guyanese sugar as the EU obligation to buy it at favorable prices has ended.  If Guysuco sells nothing then it doesn't generate FX, and that day is fast coming.

2. Guyana CANNOT continue to sustain an industry that it swallowing up the resources of the government with its endless need for bailout. Don't you think that other parts of the economy also need support? What of the need to improve infrastructure?

Guyana can no longer afford Guysuco.  If its that important why not sell it to the private sector, who you know full well will slash the labor force and cut down unprofitable estates.

You support sugar because it is mainly composed of Indians.  

ba$eman posted:
t.  This is why Burnham nationalize them, so Blacks can quickly more to the top of the food chain.  An it worked for a decade or so!

And here we go. Nationalize the foreign industries, chase out the Portuguese and the next up the ranks were the blacks.

Surely this should suggest to you that Indians weren't that dominant. Mainly small businesses and a few mid sized ones.

Note to you. In 1970 Indians were 51%, MORE than they were in 1960. Even by 1991 Indians were still 49% of the population. Now Indians are 39%. It was under the PPP that the biggest Indo exodus has occurred.

Well Im off to get me some crumpet...dunk it then off to bed. Im outta here goodnight folks. He who fights and runs away will live to fight another day.

.. That man use to come out from behind the counter and verbally abused coolie ppl. All because they filed infront of his store.

And why shouldn't he if they blocked the entrance of their store and deprived him of a living?  That is to be expected.

Now address your screams of a few years ago when you tried to curse blacks into endless poverty and hardship and wailed that blacks are lazy and violent.

The public road was Her Majesty's property.

.. That man use to come out from behind the counter and verbally abused coolie ppl. All because they filed infront of his store.

And why shouldn't he if they blocked the entrance of their store and deprived him of a living?  That is to be expected.

Now address your screams of a few years ago when you tried to curse blacks into endless poverty and hardship and wailed that blacks are lazy and violent.

I doan recall I said blacks were lazy. I did say, the people of Linden have to pay a grave price for the massacre of Indians who lived among dem. Sins of the parent doan escape de children. Granger can do all he can for them, it will be like water sipping through the fingers.

Baseman if Indians were so highly regarded they would have joined with the Portuguese leaving the PPP to blacks and those Indians who were still cane cutters.

Even the RURAL Indian wealthy were held in such low regard by the Portuguese and the red people that they sided with the blacks who they also despised.

The Chinese certainly joined with the Portuguese as did many red people.

Thank You. I always telling Cain, dem putagee were bigots. Dem even discriminate in dem Catholic Churches as well. Even the damn priest were stacking the odds against Black People while we Indoes were still on the Plantations. Doan faget the Angel Gabriel Riots.

WE Indians doan care one azz who likes us. Everyday we progressing. We doan care to mixup ourselves. We doan beg or ask for handouts. We are merchants with suitcases. You know plenty. You must know how we duz sell in black villages.

ba$eman posted:

Indians held each other in high regards.  Putagee and Reds were a bunch of racists who view themselves as "White", so they had no care for Indians, rich or poor.  And yes, they did hold Indians with great disdain, especially the non-city Indians!

Banna this has nothing to do with because someone is Indian they were looked down upon but more like this.

Right here on GNI we read posts from East Indians saying that Cheddie Jagan was a stupid man. We are also aware he was smitten by a woman who must have given him a good "white wine" so here we have to wonder how could anyone follow this White Communist woman and a stupid East Indian man unless they themselves are...Stupid Communists...they are then looked down upon.

Banna, in that era, the whole world was embracing communism. Even the great America had its contingent of believers. Poverty was everywhere so equal distribution of wealth was going to ease sufferings.

ba$eman posted:

Baseman if Indians were so highly regarded they would have joined with the Portuguese leaving the PPP to blacks and those Indians who were still cane cutters.

Even the RURAL Indian wealthy were held in such low regard by the Portuguese and the red people that they sided with the blacks who they also despised.

The Chinese certainly joined with the Portuguese as did many red people.

When dem immigrated, dem razz became servants in the real white mans world.

Guyanese East Indians who embrace their East Indian heritage and douglas who embrace their East Indian Guyanese heritage have only one solution to this problem. A sovereign independent country. This is because you cannot rule over a people who have struggle for over 400 hundred years to rule themselves.

Prash, don't start that again; what's wrong with you, eh ? 

Last edited by Keffer

Keffer, although I admire that you as a foreigner, took the time to learn Hindi and Urdu, you are not a Guyanese East Indian. You are a donair.  So mind your own business. 

I was discreetly trying to save you the embarrassment of someone taking you apart for writing trash ! Also, 1) I suggest you borrow a dictionary and check the meaning of donair  !!

Last edited by Keffer

If East Indians and Dougla Guyanese do not keep the option of an independent country on the table then they are playing a dangerous game. They are setting themselves up for genocidal conditions at the hands of anti-koolie forces. 

A cohesive state is the most fitting homage Guyanese can pay to their ancestors -President Granger said at Arrival Day celebrations at Plantation Highbury.

May 05, 2017 Source

Georgetown, Guyana – (May 5, 2017) President David Granger said that Arrival Day serves as a sharp reminder to all Guyanese that social cohesion cannot be taken for granted and that they should not hesitate to pay homage to each group that makes up the rich and diverse tapestry of the Guyanese society. He noted, too, that a cohesive state is the most fitting homage and the best tribute that Guyanese can pay to their ancestors. “It is only in giving recognition and by paying respect to people that differences will not be obscured, that ignorance will be eradicated and that real social cohesion will be assured,” he said. The Head of State made these remarks today at a ceremony at Plantation Highbury, East Bank Berbice, in commemoration of the 179th anniversary of the arrival of Indians to Guyana. It was organised by the Berbice Indian Cultural Committee (BICC).

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo (left), First Lady Mrs. Sandra Granger (second from left) and President David Granger (fifth from right) with members of the Indian Commemoration Trust at the Pushpanjali event at the Indian Monument Gardens this evening

He said that from early on, as residents of a strange land, the then British Guiana, Indians realised that they have to share a common spaceand to live in harmony with other ethnic groups. In so doing he said, Indians contributed to a common culture of tolerance and mutual respect and laid the basis for strengthening social cohesion. “Social cohesion, therefore, still needs to be strengthened in each social stratum, in each occupational sector and in each geographical region. Social cohesion must be enhanced within and between communities. The Indian presence in Guyana teaches that improved relations must be predicated on respect for each other and must be guided by a sense of shared responsibility for the common good,” President Granger said.

He explained that Arrival Day is also an important reminder that not only must Guyanese be inspired by their past but also they must choose a path towards a shared future. “Arrival Day teaches that we can build a cohesive society by eliminating poverty and eradicating inequality. Arrival Day is a time for coming together. All have contributed to nation-building. All have to embrace a common destiny; one in which diversity is respected,” the Head of State said.

These sentiments were also expressed by Regional Chairman, Mr. David Armogan, who said that, “we have a country

President David Granger and First Lady Mrs. Sandra Granger checking out one of the booths at the Indian Monument Garden

to build and we must all put our heads together… I want to call on all of us; the descendants of East Indian labourers, the descendants of slaves; our African brothers and sisters, the Portuguese, the Chinese and all other groups, we must all put our heads together and build Guyana so that we can be proud of our country,” he said. President of the BICC, Mr. Chandra Sohan pointed out that freed African slaves and Indian indentured labourers were able to understand each other’s struggles and co-exist in harmony until years later when politics caused a rift between the two groups. He called on citizens to reflect on that cohesion that existed among their ancestors and try to emulate it in order to move the country forward.

Meanwhile, speaking of Guyana’s diversity, President Granger explained that the people who immigrated to this country mingled with those who already inhabited it and together, they spawned the cultural, economic and social diversity that is recognised as the Guyanese nation. “Diversity is a precious asset. “Diversity, however, must be prized and protected by ensuring that everyone could co-exist in peace and mutual respect for the validity of each other’s culture,” he said.

President David Granger and First Lady Mrs. Sandra Granger were welcomed by this little lady upon their arrival at Indian Monument Gardens

The President noted that Indian Arrival Day is observed rightfully on May 5, as it was that day in 1838 that the S.S. Whitby brought to Guyana, the first batch of Indian indentured labourers. This year’s celebration, however, is even more significant owing to the fact that it coincides with the centenary of the end of Indian indentured immigration. President Granger said Indians have made an indelible impact on this country’s cultural, economic and social life.

“Indian cultural values encouraged strong bonds of personal, familial, communal and social solidarity. It welded the Indian community closer together. The re-creation of the traditional Indian village practices and relationships furnished a familiar setting, thereby enhancing social integration… Their industry and thrift enabled them to improve their livelihood. They contributed to the diversification of the rural economy by venturing into cattle-rearing, cash crop and coconut cultivation, paddy-growing, rice-milling and fishing. Indian village economies and settlements, indeed, have reshaped our country’s economic and social landscape,” the President said.

He also spoke of the country’s ‘green’ state transition, noting that its biodiversity is the legacy of Guyanese ancestors, which must be protected and preserved for future generations. “Our coastland, hinterland, highlands, islands, wetlands, grasslands, lakes, rivers, rainforests and waterfalls are our birthright, our inheritance and our heritage… The ‘green’ state must embody the cohesiveness that arises from our unique, shared past and that will lead to a prosperous and common future for all,” he said.

The first batch of Indians arrived in Guyana 179 years ago to work as indentured immigrants on the sugar plantations. Almost 240,000 Indians came to Guyana between 1838 and 1917, the year in which indentured immigration was finally abolished. However, more than 70 percent of the Indians chose to give up their return passages and settle here to make this country their home.

Following the ceremony at Plantation Highbury, the President also attended Pushpanjali 17, another annual event, which is organised by the Indian Commemoration Trust and is held at the Indian Monument Gardens in Georgetown. Both of these events allow citizens, particularly those of Indian origin, to honour their ancestors and reflect on their struggles. They also highlighted all aspects of Indian culture including their food, music, dance and clothing.

While dancers were heating up the stage at the Indian Monument Gardens this evening, this little lady stole the spotlight as she showed off her dance moves to the front row dignitaries including President David Granger, First Lady Mrs. Sandra Granger and Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo.

Chairman of the Indian Commemoration Trust, Dr. Yesu Persaud delivering welcoming remarks at the Pushpanjali 17 event

President David Granger, First Lady Mrs. Sandra Granger, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and his daughter, Ms. Angela Nagamootoo seated in the audience at the Indian Monument Gardens

The Nrityageet Dancers entertaining the audience with a classical Indian dance at Pushpanjali 17 organised by the Indian Commemoration Trust

Reenacting the historical journey from India to the West Indies at Plantation Highbury

Minister of Social Cohesion, Dr. George Norton and Minister of Communities, Mr. Ronald Bulkan also attended the ceremony at Plantation Highbury

Keffer posted:

I was discreetly trying to save you the embarrassment of someone taking you apart for writing trash ! Also, 1) I suggest you borrow a dictionary and check the meaning of donair  !!

.... and while you are at it, take a minute more to read the meaning of 'foreigner' !

Granger is a smiling snake!  Beware!

I prefer Caribj, at least he spit at you, piss at you and tell you what he thinks of "coolies" in our faces!

Keffer you are not an East Indian Guyanese so worry about your own donair eating people. 

What a dumb-ass you are ! Is race/ethnicity the only subject that appeals to your limited pea-size intellect ? I am beginning to believe that your bias against people of other ethnic groups is due to unhappy experiences with them; you must have been rectally violated by someone, weren't you ! 

Keffer although I may bash Arabs here I much prefer them to Iranians and Afgans. Many of them from Lebanon, Egypt and Yemeni always see me as a brother unlike Iranians. If the Shah was still in power these Iranians would have continued their Persian better bs over us East Indians 

Stop writing your lies and garbage, Prashad ! The truth is that you do not know shit about Arabs, Afghans (note the spelling, you dunce) or Iranians for that matter ! There is no country named Yemeni, you dumb-ass ! The Shah could not be in power because he is dead, you idiot ! To begin with, ignorant, dishonest toilet cleaners (who continuously post lies and rubbish) ought to be promptly booted off this facility !  

Keffer posted:

Keffer you are not East Indian so focus on your Arabs.

Since when you can decide or determine the ethnicity of others ?

तुम ऐक बरे गघा हॊ !!!

Keffer and Chickrie are not East Indian. East Indians should deal with them as foreigners. Both men would be very happy to hear this? 

I do not know who Chickrie is; he/she can speak for himself/herself. You have to be a completely full-fledged jackass to suggest that I am an Arab. I guess one ought not to expect any better from a dumb-ass toilet cleaner who has evidently inhaled so much shit for such a long time ! I can tell you lots about what I have done for East Indians over the years; why don't you say what you have done, you ignoramus !

Last edited by Keffer

There is no room for people who do not appreciate their East Indian identity.  As I said before you are a bottomless traitor? You are no longer East Indian. East Indians should interact with you as a foreigner. That is all.

East Indian identity ? You evidently know nothing about that; you are a complete fraud... always trying to impress others that you met someone from X country or Y country when, in fact, your entire day is cleaning toilets for the US army ! You are nothing but an uneducated fraud and an ugly racist idiot !