Prash with all due respect I think you should leave the concept of culture alone.  West Indian culture is pirate culture imposed by the British on caribbean people.  That has to be the craziest thing I have ever heard.  Stormborn is right, you cannot impose a culture on someone it grows on its own based on the individual's experiences with the systems around him or her. If Caribj wanted and tried to live his life in a tribe in Africa and adopted their culture.  There will still be certain experiences that he has as a man from Guyana that will make up his cultural identity.  It will always be a part of him. Also, remember this. Culture changes over time it does not stay the same.  So Guyana 200 years from now will have people whose culture will be some what different from the Guyanese culture of today.  Just take a look at photos of how people living in Georgetown dressed 200 years ago and how they dress in Georgetown today.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

At the end of it all as long as you CaribNY and others like redux  do not adopt a pure african culture of an African tribe into your lives and way of life then you will remain a mimic of an English pirate and his gunboat culture.  Persons of color living in a false imposed artificial Euro-reality and using fancy words to defend that existence.  Yet it still remains an artificial existence created by the former slave master as a form of mind control and it will never change no matter how much you try to sugar coat it.

And yet it is simple to see that blacks living in the Caribbean are much better off than those in Africa.  And every time I see a Nigerian pastor thumping his hand on the bible screaming "PRAISE GOD" I hear what drivel you write.

Please dont cloak your Indo Nazi racist ways by pretending to like Africans in Africa, because you dont.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Prash with all due respect I think you should leave the concept of culture alone.  West Indian culture is pirate culture imposed by the British on caribbean people.  That has to be the craziest thing I have ever heard.  Stormborn is right, you cannot impose a culture on someone it grows on its own based on the individual's experiences with the systems around him or her. If Caribj wanted and tried to live his life in a tribe in Africa and adopted their culture.  There will still be certain experiences that he has as a man from Guyana that will make up his cultural identity.  It will always be a part of him. Also, remember this. Culture changes over time it does not stay the same.  So Guyana 200 years from now will have people whose culture will be some what different from the Guyanese culture of today.  Just take a look at photos of how people living in Georgetown dressed 200 years ago and how they dress in Georgetown today.

Leave him as he is a constant reminder that most Indo PPP supporters on this forum are bigots who hate blacks.  This is why they vote PPP.  No othyer reason.

Yet the Indians who are more open minded are not PPP supporters.

So the PPP will continue to depend on the Indian vote to survive and will peddle racist bigotry against blacks to ensure that they get this.

And yes NONE of us born in guyana can go back to any ancestrla village and feel at home.

Ironically its prashad who will feel the greatest pain as he thinks that he is an Indian who has remained 100% of India.  My ancestry is mainly African, but its a good many generations, much has changed.  I am also aware that ethnic identity in Africa isnt about deciding which badge to wear.  But about having an indepth knowledge of the traditions that each group has, and a recognition of the long term hostilities that many have had to each other, PREDATING the arrival of the Europeans.

How does prashad think that blacks got to the Caribbean.  Because people from one group attacked others and sold their captives to the Europeans in exchange for ammunition to enable them to capture more.  Much as we saw with the Diamond Wars of Sierra Leone and Liberia not too long ago.

So let prash run to some village in Bihar or UP and scream "I am home".  The next words will be "get me out of here"...all said in ENGLISH of course.  Yes that language that the white overseer tried to beat into the hides of his ancestors who instead adapted a creole dialect, developed by the slaves (with origins in Pidgin English in Africa...closest contemporary survivals are in Suriname), and most are incompetent in speaking any other way.

At the end of it all as long as you CaribNY and others like redux  do not adopt a pure african culture of an African tribe into your lives and way of life then you will remain a mimic of an English pirate and his gunboat culture.  Persons of color living in a false imposed artificial Euro-reality and using fancy words to defend that existence.  Yet it still remains an artificial existence created by the former slave master as a form of mind control and it will never change no matter how much you try to sugar coat it.

And yet it is simple to see that blacks living in the Caribbean are much better off than those in Africa.  And every time I see a Nigerian pastor thumping his hand on the bible screaming "PRAISE GOD" I hear what drivel you write.

Please dont cloak your Indo Nazi racist ways by pretending to like Africans in Africa, because you dont.

CaribNY you racict s--- don't define my racialism.  No black man from Africa ever call me a coolie or ever tell me "coolie you are not allowed in here".  Blackmen africans invited me to there homes and share there food with me.  So why would I hate them.  You racist s--- don't compare yourself to people from Africa.

According to Nadira Imo sucks.......eee does tek hood fuh tea, breakfast and dinner...... like eeee like larwa....

Na Jitlall a shit in yo brains, you donkey which school you went

Cheddi and Janet Jagan must be turning in their graves – says daughter at memorial

April 4, 2012 | By | Filed Under News

Ms Jagan-Brancier speaking to the audience

“My parents were probably the most incorruptible people you would ever find; their honesty and integrity were of very high standards, but unfortunately do not exist or I don’t see it in many of the leaders of the party and government.”

The comments came from the daughter of the late Guyanese leaders Dr Cheddi Jagan and Mrs Janet Jagan.

She said that the current leaders of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) and government lack “the very, very, very high moral standards” which her parents embodied when they were alive.

Mrs Nadira Jagan-Brancier scolded the party for putting out platforms using her parents’ name— particularly her father’s— and not living up really and truly to what her parents had stood for.

â€œIt is not enough to go out there and make lovely speeches about who my parents were, what they did and the legacy that we’re carrying on”.

She said that her parents fought for sugar workers, the poor and down-trodden in Guyana and in the world.

“That’s who they stood for, and again, I think the party has moved away— not the party but certain elements in the party— from these very, very important values that held the party together and what makes the PPP what it is and so for me, when I look at some of the things happening, my parents must be turning in their graves— but they must be churning up in the waters of the rivers (in which their ashes were sprinkled)”.

She said that if the PPP is saying that it is following Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide, “the only way you can follow them is to return to basics, return to who this party is which is the working- class party, obviously you have to support other people, but the base of this party is a working- class party, get back to being a non- corruptible party, so people can’t point a finger and say ‘there is so much corruption, why should we worry?”

The daughter of the late leaders then pleaded with the PPP/C leaders and members to get back to the high and moral values. “If the leaders don’t show the moral values then people won’t do it, and you’re children won’t grow up with moral values. And if your families don’t show moral values, then society as a whole will lose that”.

â€œTheir lives were involved in politics so their time for me and my brother was very limitedâ€ĶThey weren’t there the amount of hours that most people would have their parents around, but the times that they were, it was what they called quality time, not quantityâ€Ķso the times they spent with us— memories that I will have for the rest of my life”.

She noted that her parents were very normal, simple, and humble people and a “very, very loving couple”. She recalled sitting down for breakfast in the mornings around the family table and listening to the news from Guyana or the BBC “and you weren’t allowed to talk”. She noted that they lived very simple lives and told the gathering that the house in which her parents once lived, is now open to the public.

â€œThe house is there and I really encourage people to use the opportunity to go in Bel Air and see the house where they livedâ€ĶThey lived a very simple life; they didn’t have big ostentatious homes that you see nowadays that government officials and party officials have, which is a very sad thing, personally”.

Ms Jagan- Brancier also encouraged persons to visit the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre in Kingston. “This was when my father was Premier from 1961 to 1964”.

â€œMost people think of my mom as only writing for the Mirror and other political things; my mom wrote a lot of children stories— I hope that people who have children would know this. She was also a poet and wrote some beautiful poems.”

Mrs Jagan’s prison diary, she said, are all important documents that Mrs Jagan-Brancier urged persons to read. The Cheddi Jagan website is also another feature that she urged the public to access information www.jagan.org “and on this website, you will find information”.

Originally Posted by imo:

According to Nadira Imo sucks.......eee does tek hood fuh tea, breakfast and dinner...... like eeee like larwa....

Na Jitlall a shit in yo brains, you donkey which school you went

Cheddi and Janet Jagan must be turning in their graves – says daughter at memorial

April 4, 2012 | By | Filed Under News

Ms Jagan-Brancier speaking to the audience

“My parents were probably the most incorruptible people you would ever find; their honesty and integrity were of very high standards, but unfortunately do not exist or I don’t see it in many of the leaders of the party and government.”

The comments came from the daughter of the late Guyanese leaders Dr Cheddi Jagan and Mrs Janet Jagan.

She said that the current leaders of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) and government lack “the very, very, very high moral standards” which her parents embodied when they were alive.

Mrs Nadira Jagan-Brancier scolded the party for putting out platforms using her parents’ name— particularly her father’s— and not living up really and truly to what her parents had stood for.

â€œIt is not enough to go out there and make lovely speeches about who my parents were, what they did and the legacy that we’re carrying on”.

She said that her parents fought for sugar workers, the poor and down-trodden in Guyana and in the world.

“That’s who they stood for, and again, I think the party has moved away— not the party but certain elements in the party— from these very, very important values that held the party together and what makes the PPP what it is and so for me, when I look at some of the things happening, my parents must be turning in their graves— but they must be churning up in the waters of the rivers (in which their ashes were sprinkled)”.

She said that if the PPP is saying that it is following Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide, “the only way you can follow them is to return to basics, return to who this party is which is the working- class party, obviously you have to support other people, but the base of this party is a working- class party, get back to being a non- corruptible party, so people can’t point a finger and say ‘there is so much corruption, why should we worry?”

The daughter of the late leaders then pleaded with the PPP/C leaders and members to get back to the high and moral values. “If the leaders don’t show the moral values then people won’t do it, and you’re children won’t grow up with moral values. And if your families don’t show moral values, then society as a whole will lose that”.

â€œTheir lives were involved in politics so their time for me and my brother was very limitedâ€ĶThey weren’t there the amount of hours that most people would have their parents around, but the times that they were, it was what they called quality time, not quantityâ€Ķso the times they spent with us— memories that I will have for the rest of my life”.

She noted that her parents were very normal, simple, and humble people and a “very, very loving couple”. She recalled sitting down for breakfast in the mornings around the family table and listening to the news from Guyana or the BBC “and you weren’t allowed to talk”. She noted that they lived very simple lives and told the gathering that the house in which her parents once lived, is now open to the public.

â€œThe house is there and I really encourage people to use the opportunity to go in Bel Air and see the house where they livedâ€ĶThey lived a very simple life; they didn’t have big ostentatious homes that you see nowadays that government officials and party officials have, which is a very sad thing, personally”.

Ms Jagan- Brancier also encouraged persons to visit the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre in Kingston. “This was when my father was Premier from 1961 to 1964”.

â€œMost people think of my mom as only writing for the Mirror and other political things; my mom wrote a lot of children stories— I hope that people who have children would know this. She was also a poet and wrote some beautiful poems.”

Mrs Jagan’s prison diary, she said, are all important documents that Mrs Jagan-Brancier urged persons to read. The Cheddi Jagan website is also another feature that she urged the public to access information www.jagan.org “and on this website, you will find information”.

IMO go drink more rum you drunkard.  You blasted r--- come here to insult a kind and good woman.  She got more balls more than you hydro seeds.

CaribNY you racict s--- don't define my racialism.  No black man from Africa ever call me a coolie or ever tell me "coolie you are not allowed in here".  Blackmen africans invited me to there homes and share there food with me.  So why would I hate them.  You racist s--- don't compare yourself to people from Africa.

I guess you forgot about Idi Amin.