Just something to think about……………..

It struck me recently when I looked at the way our lives are changing and wonder if the things we rail against are in fact here to stay.

I first note that this is a movement political process and not the usual establishment apparatus. The TEA party and Occupy Wall St came after the 2008 financial crash. The Black Lives matter, the Gay equality movement and others sprung up, as did the Republican Party contestants for the Presidential nomination along with Bernie Sanders of the Democrats. Even the migration from Syria following a severe drought (similar to what led to the Darfur violence – climate change anyone?) plus the obvious civil war is a movement.

Then you hear of the suits against Uber in Europe; drones making deliveries (no, not of weapons) by Amazon; Airbnb and the sharing economy. Even unions, necessary in the early stages of industrialization, seem headed for the scrap heap the way the iPod shoved the Walkman to its grave.

Then came the inequality movement. It seems that it is the natural order for today's economy has to have inequality. There will be $8 an hour jobs and then $200 an hour with nothing in between, other than the people with intellectual property making thousands an hour.

I can now place my Starbucks order before entering the store to pick it up - no more order taker. I can also pay for it before walking in the store - no more cash register person. I can buy stuff at kiosks all over the place (type on a keypad and the mechanical arms deliver it on a tray- no more staff required.

It's a sharing economy - share your apartment (Airbnb), share your car (Uber) - more to come. Get used to it; we will live in a 3-day workweek and cars will drive us and not the other way around; and there will be fewer accidents. Your surgeon is operating on you thousands of miles away. Accountants will soon be a dying breed as automated processes and algorithms take over number crunching and qualitative analysis. The guy who won the Nobel prize for economics got it for using data and well defined algorithms to apply human behavior to economic outcomes.

I think of 100 acres of land being owned by one guy – economies, R&D for better crops and crop yields, efficient use of machinery and of course procurement of capital equipment – versus 100 farmers each with 1 acre, and you say, inequality is a better deal in this instance. Wall St makes more money in an obscene way with financial engineering but does not make anything tangible but the City of New York cannot do with the tax revenues from Wall St. The person who makes something gets paid thousands of times less than the Broadway actor, the Hip Hop artist, the Hollywood star or the guy who dunks a basketball. Inequality of values you say?

We East Indians must never forget that we were at the bottom of British Guiana society next to the Amerindians not too long ago. We can go back there in a moment if we have rulers that hate us.
Originally Posted by Prashad:
We East Indians must never forget that we were at the bottom of British Guiana society next to the Amerindians not too long ago. We can go back there in a moment if we have rulers that hate us.

juss listen awhile to dis "woe is abee" thumb-sucking infant

dedicated to turning Indo-Guyanese into wailing antiman like he

banna go rent a spine

Quit bitching like a whore, get off your ass  and work wid the system to improve yourself, like others do successfully.    

You don't speak for East Indians. You are worse than a two bit whore.

MITWAH:

1.  What kind of a language is that?

2.   You don't know the history of East Indians if you don't know what their social status was in the Indentureship era.  Go and read Dwarka Nauth and Odeen Ishmael's books on this subject.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

MITWAH:

1.  What kind of a language is that?

2.   You don't know the history of East Indians if you don't know what their social status was in the Indentureship era.  Go and read Dwarka Nauth and Odeen Ishmael's books on this subject.

Prashad is racist prick. I speak the truth. Who vex, vex.

Well then those of us who know better should do better.  Maybe I'm shallow but I don't see racism in that particular comment.  It happens to be a historical fact.  When slavery was abolished and East Indians came to British Guiana the blacks moved ahead by buying villages and getting an education while the Indians were toiling in the sugar plantations.

Indians remained at the bottom of the social ladder next to the Amerindians for a long time.  

Guyana governments have all been aligned to racial preference. We who live abroad doan get to experience the stresses of that society. Racism is the mindset, be it Indo or Afro. 

Those who live in Guyana know their space. 

Inequality is not a recent phenomenon; it is a hallmark of class society that dates back to the pre-Christian era and continues up to this moment. Slavery, feudalism, capitalism, state-capitalist Stalinism --- inequality is the core of all these systems. In the Holy Bible there is a statement, "the poor will always be with us." Likewise, the rich will always be with us. That's inequality.

What is to be done about inequality? Gilbakka ent want to cause a riot dis Sunday marning, suh he go stop right hey.

Well then those of us who know better should do better.  Maybe I'm shallow but I don't see racism in that particular comment.  It happens to be a historical fact.  When slavery was abolished and East Indians came to British Guiana the blacks moved ahead by buying villages and getting an education while the Indians were toiling in the sugar plantations.

Indiansremained at the bottom of the social ladder next to the Amerindians for a long time.  

Bebe..East Indians had a choice stay or return after

indentureship period,those who chose to stay were

given opportunity to own lands,the rest is history how

they get ahead in Guyana.

Yes - they had a choice but with conditions.  They had to serve 5 years on the plantations and then pay their own way back to India.  After the 5 years most of them couldn't afford to pay the passage back to India.  The ship manifest had only one name listed for most passengers which was often not their correct names.  The indians did not have proper documentation to prove who they were.

Many of them committed suicide out of frustration.  Yes that is where the suicide thing started in Guyana.  Some of them did return.  Many died on the ships even before they got back to Garden Reach in India.

Inequality is not a recent phenomenon; it is a hallmark of class society that dates back to the pre-Christian era and continues up to this moment. Slavery, feudalism, capitalism, state-capitalist Stalinism --- inequality is the core of all these systems. In the Holy Bible there is a statement, "the poor will always be with us." Likewise, the rich will always be with us. That's inequality.

What is to be done about inequality? Gilbakka ent want to cause a riot dis Sunday marning, suh he go stop right hey.

Equality never existed in any society, any where, anytime.  It's called compromise when people choose to co-exist with respect for each other.  Stalin and Marx gave the equality thing a shot.  And it naturally failed because it is human nature for each of us to like our own kind.  We are most comfortable with those who we know and trust.

Yes - they had a choice but with conditions.  They had to serve 5 years on the plantations and then pay their own way back to India.  After the 5 years most of them couldn't afford to pay the passage back to India.

[Not entirely correct. The immigration contract provided for return passage to India. The British Guiana government set up an Indian Immigration Fund with stipulated contributions from planters and the government. That fund paid for the return passage. Having realized that the immigrants were hired only for 5-10 years and that thereafter there would be a labour shortage, the planters and government devised a scheme to encourage them to stay, ie, free 5-acre plots of land for each immigrant. A husband and wife got 10 acres which they could only dream about in India, so they grabbed the offer.] 

Yes - they had a choice but with conditions.  They had to serve 5 years on the plantations and then pay their own way back to India.  After the 5 years most of them couldn't afford to pay the passage back to India.  The ship manifest had only one name listed for most passengers which was often not their correct names.  The indians did not have proper documentation to prove who they were.

Many of them committed suicide out of frustration.  Yes that is where the suicide thing started in Guyana.  Some of them did return.  Many died on the ships even before they got back to Garden Reach in India.

Incorrect,their return passage was guaranteed,have you

heard of indentured labor fund,for suicide started during

that period may have resulted from the disconnect from

their home land.I will have to look in to this.

Yes - they had a choice but with conditions.  They had to serve 5 years on the plantations and then pay their own way back to India.  After the 5 years most of them couldn't afford to pay the passage back to India.

[Not entirely correct. The immigration contract provided for return passage to India. The British Guiana government set up an Indian Immigration Fund with stipulated contributions from planters and the government. That fund paid for the return passage. Having realized that the immigrants were hired only for 5-10 years and that thereafter there would be a labour shortage, the planters and government devised a scheme to encourage them to stay, ie, free 5-acre plots of land for each immigrant. A husband and wife got 10 acres which they could only dream about in India, so they grabbed the offer.] 

Thank's Gill.

Originally Posted by Django:

Thank's Gill.

You're welcome, beta.

Don't go too hard on me beti Haniffa.

The immigration contract was enforced on only a few cases.  It was written in English and the Indians spoke Hindi and Bhospuri.  Many of them did not know to read and write.  

Thank's Gill.

No no.  The return passage was not guaranteed.  I think it was on the first two ships - Hesperus and Whitby - but the others had to pay their way back.  

Ms Haniffa, pick sense from nonsense. If the others knew they had to pay their way back to India, do you think so many of them [239,000+] would have contracted themselves?

Thank's Gill.

You're welcome, beta.

Don't go too hard on me beti Haniffa.

Lol.  I am not going hard on you.  You raised a valid point.  

The immigration contract was enforced on only a few cases.  It was written in English and the Indians spoke Hindi and Bhospuri.  Many of them did not know to read and write.  

Thank's Gill.

Now you want fuh say the British were crookish,is that

what you read in them books.

No no.  The return passage was not guaranteed.  I think it was on the first two ships - Hesperus and Whitby - but the others had to pay their way back.  

Ms Haniffa, pick sense from nonsense. If the others knew they had to pay their way back to India, do you think so many of them [239,000+] would have contracted themselves?

They were told that British Guiana was a land of gold and honey.  They thought they were going there to get rich overnight.  Many of them were beggars and prostitutes who had no choice in life.  They were willing to try anything that offered hope.

They were told that British Guiana was a land of gold and honey.  They thought they were going there to get rich overnight.  Many of them were beggars and prostitutes who had no choice in life. 

Ssshhhh!!! ...... don't expose we mattie coolie story here. Dem bai like redux might ask you if yuh great grandmudda was a .......

Those who worked, returned passage were deducted from their pay packet.

The 1838 group brave the fiercest of working conditions in the colony. Many died. Those who lost limbs due to the jiggers, were forced to beg in the streets of Georgetown-the noted Colored authored Sertima stated in his novel the ordeals of an Indian character. 

That group of men and women imprinted their foot prints upon the Amerindian lands. Many of their blood is mixed in the soil of Guyana due to racial strife, fighting for better working conditions and the ills that combat sufferings.

From Calcutta 414, 18 deaths on the voyage, 396 landed in British Guiana, 236 returned back to Calcutta.

Remainder 160.

Probable deaths in the colony 98.

Disappearance                      2.

Remaining in the colony were 60 East Indians. Perhaps all disabled in some form. Considering their plight on the plantations, they may have loved to make it back to Calcutta.

Upon their arrival, they told of their horrors.

And the Indenture-ship was suspended.

Due to trade imbalances in the Western World. Sugar planters lost all their preferential status on trading of sugar. Labor cost became an important factor on the survival of the sugar plantations. Merging of plantations was the option. Greater numbers of labor was needed to make the new new factories functional.

And the indenture-ship scheme was re-instituted. After several years of lull. 

They were told that British Guiana was a land of gold and honey.  They thought they were going there to get rich overnight.  Many of them were beggars and prostitutes who had no choice in life. 

Ssshhhh!!! ...... don't expose we mattie coolie story here. Dem bai like redux might ask you if yuh great grandmudda was a .......

Bebe..you a wan loud mouth eh you can keep wan

secret.

If you look deeper at the records you will see not many East Indians received that land. Yet it is being used as a tool by people who hate East Indians to cover their racial hate by indirectly saying that East Indians were favoured by the white man and therefore had an advantage in society
Which is absolutely not true because East Indians experience brutal shut out racism in the British Guiana society because of skin color, religious and cultural differences.
If you look deeper at the records you will see not many East Indians received that land. Yet it is being used as a tool by people who hate East Indians to cover their racial hate by indirectly saying that East Indians were favoured by the white man and therefore had an advantage in society
Which is absolutely not true because East Indians experience brutal shut out racism in the British Guiana society because of skin color, religious and cultural differences.

Was to keep the labor force.

Haha.  I am well aware that I am giving redux, Mitwah and company a bone to chew on.  However, that fact is true for all our fore parents

I've been able to track down my great grandfather and great grandmother who both sailed on the same ship in 1881. He was a 25-year-old chatree and she was a 20-year-old virginal chamar. I won't mention their names here.

Now, just for the pleasure of conversation, did you know that a large number of slaves came from royal families back in Africa? Cuffy, for example, was a prince in his homeland, someone of high status who was captured and forced into slavery. His leadership family genes helped him to lead the 1763 Berbice slave revolt.

Haha.  I am well aware that I am giving redux, Mitwah and company a bone to chew on.  However, that fact is true for all our fore parents

Was your family the Gafoors bankers like my family the Beharrys when they came to Guyana? Your PPP/C leaders are like the chief pigs in Animal Farm. They would rather ahve Indos remain as canecuttas and rice farmers while they live ever happily in their mansions and Pradovilles.

While other countries were getting rid of sugar

plantations,they wasted money in investment to

keep the Indians as cane cutters,they have the

gall to say they provided employment for them.

I was lucky listen to my grandfather describe in detail his trip back  to India  by ship not air. He born in Guyana but decided he would remigrate  to the mother land in the thirties.

He describe in detail the starvation and miserable living condition he endure for two years before having his family in Guyana bought his passage back. 

Last edited by sachin_05

a true measure of your stupidity and the stupid people you hang with that that u feel u are contributing something 'heavy' and profound with your big reveal

Inequality is fundamental. By the fruits of they labor thou shalt eat bread saith the lord. It is the first law of economics. Scarcity is fundamental. How we manage scarce resource is the basis of economic theory from Adam Smith, to Malthus, to David Recardo, to Marx to Menger to Keynens etc The theories are abundant as they are diverse. The worth of them all is how they cohere to or diverge from the moral imperative to leave no man at the mercy of the  bitter elements but to provide for him of our excesses. It is the seat of our intelligence and the reason we may die here on this burnt out used up corpse of a planet or migrate as an intelligent specie to the stars.

Indians remained at the bottom of the social ladder next to the Amerindians for a long time.  

Shallow as a pond.

Just something to think about……………..

It struck me recently when I looked at the way our lives are changing and wonder if the things we rail against are in fact here to stay.

I first note that this is a movement political process and not the usual establishment apparatus. The TEA party and Occupy Wall St came after the 2008 financial crash. The Black Lives matter, the Gay equality movement and others sprung up, as did the Republican Party contestants for the Presidential nomination along with Bernie Sanders of the Democrats. Even the migration from Syria following a severe drought (similar to what led to the Darfur violence – climate change anyone?) plus the obvious civil war is a movement.

Then you hear of the suits against Uber in Europe; drones making deliveries (no, not of weapons) by Amazon; Airbnb and the sharing economy. Even unions, necessary in the early stages of industrialization, seem headed for the scrap heap the way the iPod shoved the Walkman to its grave.

Then came the inequality movement. It seems that it is the natural order for today's economy has to have inequality. There will be $8 an hour jobs and then $200 an hour with nothing in between, other than the people with intellectual property making thousands an hour.

I can now place my Starbucks order before entering the store to pick it up - no more order taker. I can also pay for it before walking in the store - no more cash register person. I can buy stuff at kiosks all over the place (type on a keypad and the mechanical arms deliver it on a tray- no more staff required.

It's a sharing economy - share your apartment (Airbnb), share your car (Uber) - more to come. Get used to it; we will live in a 3-day workweek and cars will drive us and not the other way around; and there will be fewer accidents. Your surgeon is operating on you thousands of miles away. Accountants will soon be a dying breed as automated processes and algorithms take over number crunching and qualitative analysis. The guy who won the Nobel prize for economics got it for using data and well defined algorithms to apply human behavior to economic outcomes.

I think of 100 acres of land being owned by one guy – economies, R&D for better crops and crop yields, efficient use of machinery and of course procurement of capital equipment – versus 100 farmers each with 1 acre, and you say, inequality is a better deal in this instance. Wall St makes more money in an obscene way with financial engineering but does not make anything tangible but the City of New York cannot do with the tax revenues from Wall St. The person who makes something gets paid thousands of times less than the Broadway actor, the Hip Hop artist, the Hollywood star or the guy who dunks a basketball. Inequality of values you say?

You have too many skeletons here but I will pluck at the bones of one. It is not technology that causes our grief. Technology eases our pain, It is the fundamentals of human conduct that causes our pain Adam smith idea of pricing coffee is not the same way Starbucks price coffee. Starbucks places its stores in high traffic high rent areas so its price is base on rent there. It prices out the poor farmer in Guatemala who sells a his produce for pennies on the dollar because he has to Pay Starbucks rent. If this farmer is paid a fair wage his one acre can produce premium stuff. Instead if he is priced our by the mega farms we get an R&D sameness of a GM product with no benefit of the natural expression of the bean. More can sometimes mean less worth.

Thank's Gill.

Now you want fuh say the British were crookish,is that

what you read in them books.

Bai Django Winston Churchill said the sun never set on the British Empire.  You think dem earn the British empire fair and square?