Originally Posted by Miraver:

Okay Rev, I've started this thread as a training ground for posting photos and videos. Nehru, do hop on over and practice. 

If I want to ask you something in particular, I will use this thread and not derail others as I often do. I shall begin practicing, based on the directions you gave on Terry's.

Thanks, I will.

I followed the directions! Gracias!

Please note Rev, I credited my source for this photo.

OK! Well done!

RE: POSTING VIDEOS

Let's start with this video:

* Go to youtube

* Copy the address

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDYgwY2wRGo

* Then click on the icon that says insert/edit embedded media

* paste the address into "file/url

* click on insert

* You will see a blank yellow image---don't be alarmed

* click on submit reply

* This is the result

Good luck.

I've been trying for a few minutes to post a thank you, but kept getting an error message.

Thank you, Rev. I just grew a little bit inside for learning these two things

Now Nehru has no excuses! The directions are crystal clear.

The Land of Nod beckons, so let me bid good night to all the lovely ladies and fine gentlemen on board.

Okay, let me look for a song and I'll practice.

You're an excellent student Mira!

Congrats.

Nah, you're the expert teacher. We are all students in the classroom of life.

Here's a Chinese proverb: Teachers open the door, but you must enter by yourself.

Kahlil Gibran has some lovely words about teachers and students. Perhaps you can post them here!

Good night!

OK Rev!

What are your views on death?

I know that this is a broad question, but I am confident you can address it.

Dear Mira:

Since I hold you in high regard and respect, I will try my best to give you an intelligent answer. Hope I live up to your expectation.

The way I see things--there are 3 events in a man's life: birth, life and death.

The last event is death--every man's life ends the same way---death!

Now, when we are alive, we have a body and we have a soul---but when we die---the body goes back to the dust from whence it came, but the soul continues on as it always has---after death, the soul is unfettered by the physical constraints of the body---the soul never dies.

For those who believe in a supreme being--let's say God---they'll understand it is the soul that is connected to god---so the soul can never die.

Now Mira, for people whose lives are consumed by materialism---money, stuff, material gains, etc---for such people death represents "THE END."

Those people are actually afraid of death!

But for people whose lives are comprised of spiritual gains---for such people life never ends---yes the body dies---but the soul lives on.

People whose lives are consumed by materialism---they are afraid of death---death is THE END; on the other hand, people whose life are filled with spiritual gains---such people are not afraid of death---they know the soul never dies.

Having said all of the above---when a loved one dies---it's a tragedy---and we are entitled to grieve.

But we must never allow our grief to overwhelm us----to do so would be to selfishly overlook the true meaning of death.

What's that true meaning of death ?

Well, it is simply that the soul of the person who has died has found an even more righteous home.

Hope the Rev provided an OK answer Mira.

Rev: Hope the Rev provided an OK answer Mira.

Thank you very for responding, Rev. I don’t think all people who are afraid of death fit into the categories/labels you identified. How about those who feel that they haven’t been able to fulfill their calling?  How about those who still feel that they have obligations to their families? They might be afraid of death. Don’t you think?

Rev: when a loved one dies---it's a tragedy---and we are entitled to grieve.

I agree 100%.  We grieve for the loss of the loved one, but we grieve more for ourselves and those who are left behind.

Rev: But we must never allow our grief to overwhelm us----to do so would be to selfishly overlook the true meaning of death.

I like how you closed off your thoughts, Rev. You knew a follow up question would be coming.

So tell us, what is the true meaning of death?

Okay Rev, I've started this thread as a training ground for posting photos and videos. Nehru, do hop on over and practice.  ....I shall begin practicing, based on the directions you gave on Terry's.

The instruction is not for posting pictures and video on the internet in general but for using the widget in the editor from Hoopla to embed media content on the site. It is a truncated version of the HTML5 "<Iframe..>...</ iframe>" tag. The tag is more than an image or video container. It can contain a sub frame on a webpage that is  a  window for a webpage or anything that can be contained on a webpage. Sunil can explain it for you.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Okay Rev, I've started this thread as a training ground for posting photos and videos. Nehru, do hop on over and practice.  ....I shall begin practicing, based on the directions you gave on Terry's.

The instruction is not for posting pictures and video on the internet in general but for using the widget in the editor from Hoopla to embed media content on the site. It is a truncated version of the HTML5 "<Iframe..>...</ iframe>" tag. The tag is more than an image or video container. It can contain a sub frame on a webpage that is  a  window for a webpage or anything that can be contained on a webpage. Sunil can explain it for you.

Thanks, Danyael!

Thank you very for responding, Rev.

How about those who feel that they haven’t been able to fulfill their calling?  How about those who still feel that they have obligations to their families? They might be afraid of death. Don’t you think?

Mira:

Did you accept my premise that when someone dies there is a separation of body and soul---it is the body that dies, but the soul lives on ?

Now, for the most part, those who are afraid of death are people who see death as final---or to use some Guyanese talk---they perceives death this way:

"When yuh dead--yuh dead---dats it---yuh cyan dead and still live--all dis talk about how soul does still live---dat is plain nonsense."

People who hold the above viewpoint---death is final---they have every reason to be afraid of death.

RE: PEOPLE WHO ARE AFRAID OF DEATH BECAUSE THEY HAVE NOT FULFILLED THEIR CALLING

So whose fault is it they didn't fulfill their calling ?

Listen! We are all going to die---but none of us knows when death will show up.

For those of us who love our families---we have savings, we have insurance policies, we make sure our families are provided for financially when we are gone.

And when alive, we shower our families with love, kindness, affection etc---so that when we die---family will miss us---but we never really left them---there will always be sweet memories---memories of our love and kindness when we were alive.

Mira: So tell us, what is the true meaning of death ?

The Rev answered that question briefly in the post above---it was highlighted in red.

BOTTOM LINE:

It is not death a man should fear---he should fear what he does with what exists between birth and death----what lies between birth and death is LIFE.

And there are many who never live life---there is no love in their lives---no kindness---they are full of blame and excuses----many such people actually die before actual death.

Death will find all of us---but if we live a good life---filled with love and kindness and affection---and if we believe that our soul lives on---we will never fear death.

Senor Rev, thank you for expounding on death. 

I do agree that the body dies and the soul lives on. 

My question about people leaving unfinished business and not fulfilling their calling came about because my young brother just died (to God we belong and to Him we shall return. He's not my biological brother, but is a brother and has a place in my heart. I feel that his death came too soon. 

Anyway, I shall leave the topic of death alone for now and focus on life.

Sorry to hear that Mira. Death comes to all of us too soon. No matter how much we are prepared, we are really never prepared enough. There is always unfinished business. But for those of us who believe in God and the predestination of death, we have to accept it. We still have the wonderful memories that lives on with us and that we can keep alive. 

My question about people leaving unfinished business and not fulfilling their calling came about because my young brother just died (to God we belong and to Him we shall return. He's not my biological brother, but is a brother and has a place in my heart. I feel that his death came too soon. 

Dear Mira:

I am so very sorry to hear about your brother passing away.

And yes! His death came too soon. He is a prime example of someone who did not get a chance to fulfill his dreams and his goals.

I am sure you and others in the family have asked the question, why God ?  Why did you take him so soon ?

It's a question everyone asks God when a loved one departs too soon!

My mother's father died when he was in his 30s---my grandmother was a widow with 4 children----Mom was 7---the others were 5, 3 and 9 months.

They were very poor and struggled---there were no benefits in Guyana in the 1940s.

That question again---why did God take away my grandfather so soon ?

My Mom's youngest brother died in an accident when he was 20.

No parent should ever have to bury a child---losing her 20 year old son devastated my grandmother.

I am sure she asked the question---why God ? Why did he leave so soon ?

You see Mira---there are things that happen in life---sins, sufferings, sudden deaths, early deaths, etc that cannot be explained---go and read the Book of Job if you are Christian.

The theme in that book is that no matter how many bad things happen to us---we must keep trusting god---there is also a profound truth in the Book of Job---when all you have left is god---god is enough.

My grandmother lost her husband when he was in his 30s. She lost her youngest son when he was 20. But she lived to age 92.

She had some tragedies in her life---but there was lots of love and happiness. She has passed on and we miss her---but she has never really left us---we still remember her love and her kindness and her genuine sweetness.

Your brother left way too early---but maybe that was god's will for him.

Yes! You will miss him and you are entitled to grieve for him. But you must accept that his soul has found a more righteous home. And that is the true meaning of death---when the body returns to the dust from whence it came---the soul(connection to god) lives on and finds a more righteous home.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Sorry to hear that Mira. Death comes to all of us too soon. No matter how much we are prepared, we are really never prepared enough. There is always unfinished business. But for those of us who believe in God and the predestination of death, we have to accept it. We still have the wonderful memories that lives on with us and that we can keep alive. 

Thanks for your kind thoughts, Ksazma. He was a staunch Muslim and I believe that he led a faithful life.

Rev, can you help out again? Muchas gracias!

* Lemme see if I remember.

* If you see a photo you like---you right click on that photo---then scroll down and click on "Properties".

* You then copy the URL address

* Then you click on the "insert/edit" image ---next to the smiley icon

* Paste the URL address there.

* Good luck!

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic...Vz4iu7skbamin4Ri1esl

* Try pasting that URL into the "insert/edit" image icon---see what you get---you may like it.

* When you hit POST REPLY---that's when you see the insert/edit image icon.

Okay, let me look for a song and I'll practice.

You're an excellent student Mira!

Congrats.

Nah, you're the expert teacher. We are all students in the classroom of life.

Here's a Chinese proverb: Teachers open the door, but you must enter by yourself.

Kahlil Gibran has some lovely words about teachers and students. Perhaps you can post them here!

Good night!