Base, I have been saying for donkey years that easy access to pesticides is a significant contributor factor to suicides in Guyana. 

I lived in the countryside and rice farmers had it stored in bottles with easy access. Pesticides should be locked up like how they are required with a lock and secure storage in Canada.

Pesticides are as dangerous as guns !

One of my wife's classmates at college over here was a gay chap who had to flee Guyana because his father threatened to kill him. His father was also sexually abusing a younger female sibling. 

That 'father' is a piece of shit. 

You're being kind.

I agree. I had to react right away and couldn't come up with the words I needed to express my utmost disgust. Parents are supposed to be the nurturer and protectors of their children.

In my opinion, I have several family members who work with kids and, specifically, with suicide programs in NY. So I can say this with some level of confidence:

In the case of Guyana, there are still a lot of things that are considered taboo (being gay is one of them), and people tend to assume that "its not my problem" to meddle in this type of situation (potential suicides, depression, etc). Therefore, its generally not reported in Guyana.

Then there is the issue of people who may not be aware of the problem when it is taking place among family members. Even if they might be aware of abuse, potential suicides, etc, they probably hope that its just a phase. Family members are also embarrassed to deal with this type of problem.

Then there is the issue of the victims themselves...not knowing exactly what to do to seek help.

If drug was not an issue in Ms Schultz' case (I am not a subscriber to SN so I dont get to see all of the article), then what makes this case particularly troubling is the fact that the young lady distributed suicide notes...she essentially was calling out for help...so there would have been earlier signs...   this is why I said that teachers may not be properly trained in Guyana to identify these issues before this tragic event. I am almost certain that there were signs before this, not just in the school, but among friends, and at home. I would be curious to know what were the parents doing and if they may have noticed anything at home....

The government needs to do more to address the issue of suicide...it seems like its already normalized, thus making this a more potential problem.

PS: I know this is going to be over the heads of Dave, Princess and Skeleton-Brain...judging by their peurile comments above.

My Mom used to speak very loudly. When I was studying for GCE, this was a major distraction. I didn't know what to do because I was scared of her. So I wrote a letter to Helen Hayes! She advised me to get a neighbor to speak to my mom about toning down her voice to help me get through GCE.

When my nieces and nephews were going through high school in the US, I told them peer pressure is tough and to please reach out to someone if they need help.   

Excellent advice. Guyanese tend to keep things inside. 

I never keep my feelings inside, I let it out. I encouraged my children to be vocal and openly express their opinions and feelings without fear.  They are as vocal as me ! 

Some parents in Guyana take out their frustrations on their children; they yell at the kids, then tell them 'why don't you go drink poison.' We witnessed this with some neighbors; then my parents talked to the parents and asked them why do they talk to their kids like that, and how would they feel if the kids drank poison. The parents stopped doing that. 

This is true. People need to think before they talk, especially to kids. It happens everywhere, even here in the US.

Some parents in Guyana take out their frustrations on their children; they yell at the kids, then tell them 'why don't you go drink poison.' We witnessed this with some neighbors; then my parents talked to the parents and asked them why do they talk to their kids like that, and how would they feel if the kids drank poison. The parents stopped doing that. 

This is true. People need to think before they talk, especially to kids. It happens everywhere, even here in the US.

I was traveling to Guyana once and a lady next to me was crying.  Her 17 yr old nephew drank poison.  Seems he tried his first business venture and got robbed.  His parents, rather than encourage and advice him for the next, quarreled and told him he was stupid. 

BTW, that 12 year old friend I mentioned, he complained to his mom that the older brothers were taking advantage of him.  She told him he likes to complain too much. 

So I agree, sensitivity is a big factor. Sometimes kids and youths feel trapped with no way out of their situation!

In the suicide programs I’m involved, parental education is a big part. 

Excellent advice. Guyanese tend to keep things inside. 

I never keep my feelings inside, I let it out. I encouraged my children to be vocal and openly express their opinions and feelings without fear.  They are as vocal as me ! 

I let it out:  !@#$ $%^& *&^%$% v*&^% and all!!!

I was traveling to Guyana once and a lady next to me was crying.  Her 17 yr old nephew drank poison.  Seems he tried his first business venture and got robbed.  His parents, rather than encourage and advice him for the next, quarreled and told him he was stupid. 

BTW, that 12 year old friend I mentioned, he complained to his mom that the older brothers were taking advantage of him.  She told him he likes to complain too much. 

So I agree, sensitivity is a big factor. Sometimes kids and youths feel trapped with no way out of their situation!

In the suicide programs I’m involved, parental education is a big part. 

One cannot overemphasize the value of positive around children especially in todays' society where so much around them is stated recklessly. The Prophet Muhammad said that people slip more with their tongues than their feet. He promised his companions that if they will guarantee that they will protect what comes out of their mouths, he will guaranteed then paradise. Hopefully people learn sooner than later to think carefully before they tell their children some of the stupidness they tell them.

Very sad, it is very sick to see people politicizing a death. Suicide is a major problem in Guyana. It needs a national, nonpartisan effort to address this epidemic. 

Nehru Bhai, hit the nail on the head. It could be any reason. 

Nehru bring in politics

Shut Yuh Poke

Poke is *@&%......right???

We have one poster crippled and another retarded. 

Yeah but not all Children can figure it out.

For those one has to be gentle. Maybe I am not equipped to discuss this since our two kids never had disciplinary issues. I still think that one needs to be very careful dealing with kids,

Very sad, it is very sick to see people politicizing a death. Suicide is a major problem in Guyana. It needs a national, nonpartisan effort to address this epidemic. 

Nehru bring in politics

Shut Yuh Poke

Banna...go close you POKE!!!

Whatever the issue might be with this young girl....I don’t think Guyanese are trained to deal with these type of situations....especially if and when it happens in remote areas...Suicide affects everyone, but from what I have seen the preponderant cases happen to be Indos...

It still is a taboo subject...this probably explains why current nad previous governments have seriously addressed this problem.

How do you know what Guyanese are trained  to do Lala Bagee 

For Stupidee Bill, he thinks he knows a lot about Guyana. I bet he doesn't know what's a khariyan.

Most people would not know especially younger folks, city folks or those who did not plant rice

Sad indeed. The Govt has pushed people to the brink. Now the Shameless Bastards are holding on to an ILLEGAL and UNCONSTITUTIONAL Govt!!!

I agree. The PPP caused rice farmers and sugar workers to commit suicide pre and post Jagdeo era. They have a powerful effect on people's lives. 

This jackass keeps braying non-stop. This girl is not a coolie and she is not supposed to do this. Can you Princess, an expert in suicidal matters, explain this tragic and unfortunate event?

this girl was what she sees in the mirror not what you adjudicate her to be. 

Nehru bring in politics

Shut Yuh Poke

Banna...go close you POKE!!!

So you have a poke, playing Dumb.

For those one has to be gentle. Maybe I am not equipped to discuss this since our two kids never had disciplinary issues. I still think that one needs to be very careful dealing with kids,

Many times it has nothing to do with parenting, When these kids get into teenage age and start to FALL in love head over heels, many are not equipped to handle rejection , especially if it is their first love.

They have a guilt of shame thinking that everyone around them is aware of their predicament and they don't know how to face the world.

The problem in Guyana kids who are not mature enough  and are giving priority to Boy /Girl Friend mentality and not taking their education serious. Parents need to emphasise on education FIRST and once they have that they can have the pick of the crop. Kids in Guyana need to get involve with sports activities, keep them busy.

Last edited by kp

Many times it has nothing to do with parenting, When these kids get into teenage age and start to FALL in love head over heels, many are not equipped to handle rejection , especially if it is their first love.

They have a guilt of shame thinking that everyone around them is aware of their predicament and they don't know how to face the world.

The problem in Guyana kids who are not mature enough  and are giving priority to Boy /Girl Friend mentality and not taking their education serious. Parents need to emphasise on education FIRST and once they have that they can have the pick of the crop. Kids in Guyana need to get involve with sports activities, keep them busy.

Banna,

You one simple-minded knucklehead...

sports gon solve the problem???

...and you simpletons want to tell people how to run the Guyana government...!

stuuppss!

Relationships are only one factor.  The issue is much broader.  But as I mentioned, studies show the easy access to insecticides are a big factor.  

Someone feeling depressed, hopeless and angry reach for a momentary solution.  As I mentioned with my friend, he regretted shortly after and told his mom he don’t want to die. 

Banna,

stuuppss!

You are the jackass that ask so many questions and   but never have an answer .

Banna,

stuuppss!

Look banna,

go find your other knucklehead friends to play marbles with....you got nothing to add to this topic.

Banna,

stuuppss!

Look banna,

go find your other knucklehead friends to play marbles with....you got nothing to add to this topic.

Impotent jerk you have the answers after your failed suicide bid. What help are you looking to get on GNI?

Banna,

stuuppss!

Look banna,

Impotent jerk you have the answers after your failed suicide bid. What help are you looking to get on GNI?

We have to get Sheik to tell us a little more about that suicide attempt.  Wonder if Ronald Anthony can help him.