Thousands held hostage in APNU/AFC organised protest

– Guyanese citizens beaten and robbed

Thousands of Guyanese were on Thursday night left stranded – and many beaten and robbed at Agricola, Greater Georgetown during protest actions backed by the two main opposition parties, the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance for Change (AFC).

Stranded commuters walking along the East Bank Demerara Highway

The protesters, some reportedly from Georgetown, set fiery blockades on the public road, resulting in thousands of persons, including schoolchildren, travelling along the highway being stuck for hours. They also set ablaze a bus, and robbed several persons who had sought alternative routes through the village.
Up to midnight, police were struggling to clear the road: ranks tried desperately to ensure the smooth flow of traffic as some of the protesters played a game of cat and mouse with the lawmen, while hurling missiles at them.
In a statement, police said about 16:00h, a large number of persons gathered on the roadway and threw tyres and other obstacles across both carriageways of the East Bank Demerara road at Agricola before setting them on fire, causing the flow of traffic to come to a standstill.

Police attacked
Bricks, bottles, and other articles were thrown at the police ranks who initially responded to the incident and other ranks were mobilised, along with personnel from the Guyana Fire Service. The unruly crowd, some of whom were armed with pieces of wood and cutlasses, blocked the Guyana Fire Service vehicles from getting to the burning tyres and other materials despite pleas from the Joint Services personnel.
The police continued to plead with the crowd and also employed the use of the water cannon to disperse them, which was not effective, so the lawmen consequently resorted to the use of tear smoke. Later, police ranks and fire service personnel managed to extinguish the burning tyres and other debris. Up to press time, they were removing obstacles that had been thrown along both carriageways of the road. Traffic is flowing along the western carriageway, while efforts are continuing to clear the eastern carriageway.

Opposition backing
The combined opposition has been clamouring for the sacking of Rohee since the July 18 fatal shooting of three protesters in Linden. Their calls took on greater traction with the subsequent killings of Shaquille Grant and Dameon Belgrave.  A ‘massive’ march has been planned for Georgetown today to continue calls for Rohee’s sacking.
When Guyana Times arrived on the scene Thursday evening, thousands of residents living on the East Bank Demerara and in the West Demerara were stranded. Many of them were stranded in their vehicles, while others using public transportation opted to walk from as far as Houston to the Demerara Harbour Bridge to find alternative transportation. Many did this at great risk of their lives, given the violent confrontation between the residents and the lawmen. Their action to walk, however, did provide opportunities for the odd thieves to rob them.
With the fiery blockades and aggressive protesters, police deployed the much-talked-about water cannon. When it arrived, it was leaking water. The machine sprayed two showers of water in an attempt to douse the fire, but it was too far away to be effective. However, the machine was moved closer to the fire, which was eventually doused, but not before the water cannon broke down. By this time, residents began hurling a steady stream of bottles at the police, and the lawmen reacted by firing tear gas at the protesters. The protesters had also started diverting traffic through “Shell Road”, taking a back track to get home; however, there were subsequent reports of robbery and citizens were warned not to go through there.

‘Backtrack’ robbery
One man told Guyana Times that he was in a vehicle going through Shell Road when some men went up to the car in front of him in a bid to hijack the vehicle.
“They coming up to you and ask you where you going and if you don’t answer, they pulling out gun on you,” the man said.
By 18:30h, in desperate efforts to get home, people came out of vehicles and began walking along the western side of the roadway. However, as bottles and bricks were being hurled and tear gas was being fired, not everyone was lucky to pass through the area unscathed.  Then about 19:00h, a few vehicles were allowed to pass but only for a very short time, because the situation was deteriorating; nevertheless, people kept on walking trying to get through the area to go home. Some people had to leave their homes and go through the area to get their children, spouses, and other family members, who were stuck in the traffic on the other side of the village.

Hidden faces
While on the scene, Guyana Times also observed several young men with their faces hidden, loading logs, barrels and other materials on the western side of  the road at Middle Street, Mc Doom. Another young man was seen from the Shell Gas Station with a jar in his hand.  Then shortly after, a fire was started and the police approached the area, but as they advanced, the young men began hurling bottles at them.
The young men then escaped through an alley way, but then shortly after there were reports of them fighting gas station employees for gas. Immediately, the police swooped down on that area, blocking off the road from where bottles were being hurled. Near the Mc Doom/Agricola border, teargas was continuously fired into the air, and at least two babies were seriously affected.

Babies caught with tear gas
Pandemonium broke out among relatives of the two babies at the Georgetown Public Hospital.  Shane Boyce, who is less than one month old of Amelia’s Ward, Linden and Delano Francis, a one-month-old of Brutus Street, Agricola, are said to be in good health, but doctors at the medical institution are not taking anything for granted.   Further tests were being done on the infants.
Hilbert Boyce, the father of Shane Boyce, stated that his family was on their way to Linden about 15:30h and upon reaching Agricola, they were shocked to see the long line of traffic. He said some minutes later, the residents started to burn tyres and other materials.
In an attempt to disperse the unruly crowd, the police, he noted, started to use tear gas. He posited that he walked from Agricola with his family to a relative in Kitty when he realised that his baby was not moving. Without hesitation, he rushed his baby to hospital where he was examined by doctors.
When Guyana Times arrived at the hospital, Shane Boyce was with his mother as doctors continued to run tests. Moments later, Basilita Francis arrived in a taxi with her one-month old son, Delano, who according to a relative turned “blue” thus CPR was performed. He added that they walked some distance before they could have gotten a taxi to bring them to the hospital. He explained that the situation at Agricola is serious, noting that there are confrontations between police and residents. Up to press time, residents in the area and drivers using the roadway were still apprehensive and police were on the scene monitoring the situation.

The AFC has started the fires, will they be able to put it out? Why again are East Indians primarily being beaten and robbed? Is this in the AFC's plan? You have the govt by its privates in parliament why not use parliamentary procedures to deal with issues? I now am cancelling the cheque I wrote to the AFC - it is reckless.

The zoo was strategically placed in Agricola by the PNC, so when the animals riot, there can be no ingress or egress to Georgetown. Police should be shooting them with tranquilizer darts. 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Is this the "Change" the AFC promised the nation?

It is crystal clear now that the AFC is nothing less than the "Alliance to F Coolie".

Yes this surely is the change. It is apparent that the AFC is being overrun by racists such as Hughes and company. Ramjattan is only playing catch-up. 

FTER THE POLICE DO THEIR JOBS AND ELIMINATE SOME OF THESE ROVING DOGS ON THE ROAD THEN WE WILL HEAR FROM MOSES, RAMJHAAAAAAATAN AND GR.

The way they provoked and attacked the police yesterday it was to produce a response that could've triggered widespread violence

It's a strange thing when these protest get ou t of hand how quickly   the indos become the victims.   I'm not sure whose game it is, but someone sure as hell is in a great haste to start something which could be very detrimental for the entire country. Ayuh try.

SHEIK, STOP SUGAR COATING THE PROBLEM. NEEMAKARAMS LIKE MOSES, RAMJHAAAAAAAAAATA AND GR WILL SELL THEIR MOTHERS FOR POWER, POWER AND MORE POWER!!!!!!!!!! DAT IS THE TRUTH, I HOPE YOU CAN HANDLE IT SHEIKSTER!!!!

Originally Posted by Sheik101:
It's a strange thing when these protest get ou t of hand how quickly   the indos become the victims.   I'm not sure whose game it is, but someone sure as hell is in a great haste to start something which could be very detrimental for the entire country. Ayuh try.

Funny thing is that the politicians on the other side are aware of the fact that Indos usually are victims during these protests but they then use their media agents to spin PPP conspiracy theories  

My friend, your outburts isn't helping this already volatile situation. You need to be a bit more diplomatic. I know it's hard for you to contain your emotions. But screaming from afar is not going to cut it. If you truly want to make an impact, do like our friend dave. Grow some balls and head in.

gOOD QUESTION rAY SO WHAT IS STOPPING THEM FROM bUSTING A few caps NOW?????

is this what Guyana come to? A police state, where police can shoot and  kill at will? stuuuppppssss

WHERE ARE THE SOCALLED MANTLE OF RIGHTOUSNESS, FAIRNESS, DEMOCRACY AND HONESTY LIKE CHRISTOPHER RAM AND OTHERS WHO ARE QUICK TO BLAME THE GOVT FOR EVERYTHING BUT IN TIMES LIKE THESE, THESE SOCALLED CHAMPIONS OF THE PEOPLE ARE SILENT, CONDONING AND PROMOTING VIOLENCE AND DESTRUCTION!!!!

Originally Posted by raymond:

didn't the police shoot a kid dead for jus hanging out?

The problem is several kids....who happen to be black.....have been assaulted by the police and the Rohee has been doing NOTHING about this.

Sadly though it will not be Rohee who will be dealt with, but innocent people just going home.

Originally Posted by raymond:

gOOD QUESTION rAY SO WHAT IS STOPPING THEM FROM bUSTING A few caps NOW?????

is this what Guyana come to? A police state, where police can shoot and  kill at will? stuuuppppssss

Indo Nazis think so.

Guyana is a mess.  When the PPP deals with the racial problem then maybe there will be less of this.

Too many poor Africans feel excluded.  Unfortunately some use their rage against other equally excluded Indians.

Basically we have an Indo Nazi PPP. And an inept AFC and APNU.

The Commission of Inquiry is now in effect.  The two parties control parliament.  They need to stop acting as if they are powerless.  There is no need for marches or mass mobilization until all other avenues have been exhaausted.

The people have spoken. Rohee must go.

Mitwah do you really think, given the recent history of Guyana, and the high level of rage felt by many poor Africans, that a protest should have been organized, given that a Commission of Inquiry is investigating the events of Linden?

It was not appropriate at this time for demands for Rohee's resignation.  Instead they should have been making their case before the Commission, hopefully leading that body to recommend this.

Now the AFC and APNU might have had nothing to do with these protests.  But the PPP will pin the violence on them.

No need to call people animals etc. Tell me if the shooting of a youth justifies the assault on innocent people. We could now go down the avenue of who suffered more but it is pointless. One would have assumed that the AFC - Hughes et al would understand the ramifications of raising the political temperature, unless the intent of Hughes and company was exactly what transpired yesterday. This is a colossal screw up by the AFC, we need to hold them accountable the next time they come with open palms.
Originally Posted by Brutus:
No need to call people animals etc. Tell me if the shooting of a youth justifies the assault on innocent people. We could now go down the avenue of who suffered more but it is pointless. One would have assumed that the AFC - Hughes et al would understand the ramifications of raising the political temperature, unless the intent of Hughes and company was exactly what transpired yesterday. This is a colossal screw up by the AFC, we need to hold them accountable the next time they come with open palms.

Here is the rub.

1.  No the shooting of several poor black youths does NOT justify the attacks and robberies of innocent people of ALL RACES.

2.  It undermines the claims by these youths that they are not criminals and so shoulod not be assaulted by the cops.

3.  Even though many non Indians were attcked and robbed (A Brazilian was) it allows the Indo Nazis to racialize the incident.

4.  It also suggests to the AFC and APNU that they ought to seek strategies other than marches as the heightened frustration of mnay young black youths, the fcat that criminals insert themselves for their own purposes, and their inability to have control over these crowds points to their incompetence.  It also remove stheir credibility.

The Indo Nazis need to ask themselves why dont they come honest and tell Guyana that Guyana is only for Indians so that when non Indians are harrassed by cops or victimized by criminals they have no rights.  Note the fact that they cite robberies of Indians and not of others.

Guyana has a major RACIAL problem.  I do not know if your intent is to blame one side (blacks).  If it is then you are part of the problem.  If either side feels alienated then BOTH siudes will suffer. 

Since 1992 people have been urging the PPP to come clean and deal with the racial problem.  Rather than attempting to address it they adopted the same race based tactics that the PNC did, played the race card as did the PNC to woo their Indian support base.  And have ignored and marginalized poor Africans just as the PNC did to poor Indians.

All those retirees who went back to Guyana better start heading out again. This is a precursor of things to come. The joint opposition will take all steps necessary to oust the PPP govt. This is the 60's all over again.

CaribJ, you must be in denial. Agricola has been a hotbed or criminal activity and have been terrorizing the nation for years. You try to paint them as saints but the Guyanese people know different.  These so called kids were planning a robbery and got stopped by police, unfortunately one was killed by a cop with a temper. The courts are now taking care of this. If the Agricola people want to riot, let them, they will end up with the short end of the stick as those who are concerned about Guyana will ensure that they are punished, possibly via phantomizing. 

Originally Posted by TI:
All those retirees who went back to Guyana better start heading out again. This is a precursor of things to come. The joint opposition will take all steps necessary to oust the PPP govt. This is the 60's all over again.

And here lies a problem.

People like you delegitimize all LEGAL attempts by people to have their grievances addressed.  If AfroGuyanese have a problem immediately racists like you jump and claim that its an attempt to oust the PPP.

So why the shock when other elements step in to exploit the frustrations of the crowds.  Why do you think that its OK for Luncheon to engage in fight talk,even while a Commission of Inquiry attempts to investigate the sordid results of a previous majority Afro Guyanese protest.

Face it the PPP aims to provoke AfroGuyanese and then run to the Indians to tell them "you see dem bad black man".

Its a pity that the AFC and APNU are so dumb that the fall into these PPP traps.

If you cant control a protest do not have one.

CaribJ, you must be in denial. Agricola has been a hotbed or criminal activity and have been terrorizing the nation for years. You try to paint them as. 

You ought to know given that your thugs under your pay live there.  If you dont want crime then do not arm criminals.

Druggie the cops who recently murdered Agricola youths are now on trial for murder.

So maybe the cops friends with the bandits and kill the others.  Indeed we saw that in Buxton when ordinary people went to Brickdam to complain about the bandits and then that very night were threatened by well armed bandits who told them that they knew about their complaints. 

You guys have really gone down the path of the PNC.  AFC has no credibility what so ever.  You know what will happen next election so you making the best of the current situation.  The recoil against you guys will be so great, you will have no option but to pack up and go home.  You are very irresponsible and will bear the brunt of the reaction.

bASEMAN, yOU NOTICE HOW THAT nEEMAKARAM, sHAMELESS dog mOSES IS QUIET WHEN iNDIANS SUFFERING AT THE HANDS OF THESE bASTARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MORE POWER TO THE afc what happen you ppp low life crying like babys old people have a old saying what you sow that is what you will reap.the only song the ppp can dance to is the the street dance RAM have to shut down guyana and force this government out lunchon want to rumble start the war i keep saying the day the police stop killing people for this government that the day this government will have to run for cover

You should know, bullyism get's you no where.  Go to the ballot box, that's were it happens, Guyana is not Syria or Libya.

Must come crying yuh low-life DAAG when they Pop some CAPS!!!!