– Skeldon first on market

Government on Tuesday decided that the sugar industry is not sustainable and cannot be saved as is; it will soon roll out a plan for the ailing sector that includes keeping only three estates and privatizing the others, sources say.

At a Cabinet meeting on Tuesday, the sector was deeply discussed with data of GuySuCo’s performances over the last five years analyzed.

The dismal performance of the sector, large amounts in subsidies over the years and billions of dollars in pending requests this year were the focus of “intense discussions and decisions” at Cabinet, sources said.

One source said government highlighted an upcoming meeting with representatives from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) to discuss a proposal on the way forward for the sugar industry. “If a feasible, that is a viable, plan is not given to the IDB representatives, that can spell trouble for the borrowing capacity of this country,” the source explained.

“You have to take into context the IDB, because what can we tell them? We have been plugging billions into an industry that is not even breaking even… In January GuySuCo asked for $5 billion and that was given. Now by the end of March another $2 billion has been requested. Last year we were short $38 billion and if you looked at the budget, we had to take out $19 billion to give to the sugar industry. IDB’s lending contributions far outstrips everyone we borrow from and if you can’t satisfy (them) that proposals are viable, how you can ask (them) to furnish additional loans?” another source added.

At that meeting, scheduled to be held in the next two weeks, the APNU+AFC government will hand over a plan that includes diversification at some estates and the privatization of others but will give its long-term over-view for sugar in Guyana.

According to a source, Skeldon will be the first estate to be sold and government is currently looking at “the best deal possible” as it peruses proposals for a buy over from Brazilian and Indian companies among others. “Skeldon is out. That can’t stand at all so that is a definite sell,” a source stated. There are questions about what would become of the debt incurred by the Skeldon estate in any deal.

By the end of 2018, it is anticipated that other estates will be closed: Rose Hall and Enmore. The closure of Enmore would have a severe impact on the community.

Those the government will keep and for which it has development plans are Uitvlugt, Blairmont and Albion.

There is also a plan for some sugar workers to be given land to grow and harvest sugar cane.

One government source said that most Cabinet members were shocked when it was revealed that the average estate worker receives an average of $200,000 per month, which is four times the country’s minimum wage. Cabinet was also informed of manager’s salaries which range from $800,000 to over $1 million.

It is government’s view that the former PPP/Civic administration kept heavily subsidizing the sugar industry because of its longstanding political ties with that sector’s workers.

This week, former long-serving GuySuCo executive, Dr Ian McDonald urged that everything possible be done to save the sugar industry and called for focus on the market in Caricom and other options.

In his column in the Sunday Stabroek, McDonald cited four reasons for saving the industry, which he said carried a weight that was beyond simple profit and loss.

He pointed out that the industry provides direct employment for 16,000 people and therefore a livelihood for as many as 90,000 Guyanese.

He noted that the industry brings in considerable foreign exchange which is very hard to replace and it does so with an ever-renewable resource.

Furthermore, estate operations also generate spin-off economic, social and infrastructure activity without which whole communities would deteriorate into deprivation and disorder.

He added that much of rural Guyana was historically held together by the framework of the sugar industry and if this fabric was abruptly rent, the socio-political consequences would be grave and disruptive.

“Those who manage the economy and the nation should, at the very least, make sure they have a good idea of how these four contributions are to be achieved in a sugar-less economy and society before taking any action which will effectively kill off an industry which still can give the nation so much and which sustains the lives of tens of thousands of Guyanese,” McDonald admonished.

In recent months, concerns have grown that neither the government nor GuySuCo had a viable plan for restructuring the industry. Despite promises by both the Ministry of Agriculture and GuySuCo, workers of the Wales estate which ended sugar cultivation on December 31, last year are still to be told of options in their community. Many have rejected the proposal to travel on a daily basis to the Uitvlugt sugar estate to work.

Meanwhile, the PPP/Civic continues its call for the APNU+AFC coalition government to conduct a social impact assessment (SIA) of the shuttering of sugar estates, warning that any closure could cause displaced workers to organize major protest actions.

In January last year, government announced that it would end sugar cultivation at the Wales estate. Since then, the workers have staged many protests and candlelight vigils in an effort to get the government to keep the estate in operation. It ceased operations on the last day of the year.

The workers have also called repeatedly for President David Granger and Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder to visit the area and listen to their concerns.

These AFC/PNC scumbags are portraying Indos as welfare collectors. Indos pay the biggest share of Income taxes in Guyana.

I just cannot wait for these AFC/PNC scums to be kicked out of office in 2020.

In my opinion, the fact the government is considering privatizing some estates means they feel those estates can do better in private hands. Which brings up the question, what can private owners do that the government can't? Basically they're admitting their incompetence and if these estates can be salvaged in private hands, maybe GUYSUCO needs to implement those same changes and keep the estates and profit to benefit Guyana.

http://demerarawaves.com/2017/...ld-kill-rum-industy/

The sugar company’s CEO told the committee, what has been known for some time, that GUYSUCO’s debt stands at some $77B.

He said $1.7B was owed to the National Insurance Scheme (NIS); $7.6Billion to the Guyana Revenue Authority; $226Million to the Guyana Agricultural Workers Union (GAWU); $665Million to the Pension Fund; $1Billion to foreign creditors; $2.8Billion to local banks; $829Million for a Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) loan; and $29.3Billion in loans for the Skeldon Sugar Factory. Other figures were quoted.

Guysuco is heavily indebted,they are probably thinking of selling to reduced their debt and also don't have keep on bailing them out.

Sugar and Rice are the backbone of the Indo-Guyanese community. Where are those people going to find work? That's all most of them know. It's not as if they can just go do something else. Of course GUYSUCO is in heavy debt. Their executives are among the fattest of the fat cats. How come other countries in the world can produce sugar at a profit?

THe whole World is dealing with retraining. They can try to join others in the US, Canada. THose who cannot must start to look elsewhere. Humans have very good survival skills. Young sugar workers and their children needs to get skills, the older ones need help to plan and cultivate crops that will be marketable and profitable.

Sugar and Rice are the backbone of the Indo-Guyanese community. Where are those people going to find work? That's all most of them know. It's not as if they can just go do something else. Of course GUYSUCO is in heavy debt. Their executives are among the fattest of the fat cats. How come other countries in the world can produce sugar at a profit?

The structure of the plantation with many water ways increase the cost plus cost of manual labor,take a look at the US it's mechanized which reduced cost.

You want the sugar workers fetch the cane on their heads to the factory??? What happen with a tractor pulling 40-50 pints of cane? What happen with the steers pulling the punts to the factory? Bai, you really know sugar or you are like a man who studied sugar but never saw a sugar cane field or a cane cutter in the field?

The sugar industry in Guyana does have to be upgraded but gradually so the workers can transition into something else. As it is, nothing is being done. Start with one estate.  In 2015 Guyana was 28th in the world with just .5% of the sugar produced worldwide. Poland produced more than we did. From the looks of things, the current government is looking to use Sugar as an excuse to strike a blow against the Indo-Guyanese. By the way, what ever happened to the Amaila Project. Did Motilall ever earn the 20+ Million USD he was paid?

You want the sugar workers fetch the cane on their heads to the factory??? What happen with a tractor pulling 40-50 pints of cane? What happen with the steers pulling the punts to the factory? Bai, you really know sugar or you are like a man who studied sugar but never saw a sugar cane field or a cane cutter in the field?

After finishing school spent a few years working in Georgetown,went back home worked as a casual worker in the industry for a couple years started from fertilizer gang then moved up to separating the juice from the soil used to cut and load 3 tons a day,quit studied Electronics and back to work in GT.I was single and free in those years.

Bhai

Na waste time wid Django, he thinks like a lil boy in terms of economics and politics. Forgive him.

The workers have also called repeatedly for President David Granger and Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder to visit the area and listen to their concerns.

The bannas firing thousands by remote control from Granger office in GT.  Guyana really funny.

Brian Teekah posted:

The bannas firing thousands by remote control from Granger office in GT.  Guyana really funny.

Guyana gone fuh channa. Coolie gun punish again just like Burnham time. Coolie hard ears, they don't learn. Dem truss dem niggroes too much.

The problem with the sugar industry started from the time Burnham nationalize the industry, he kicked the British out, some were given 48hours to leave the country. They started with  the qualified were replaced by the incompetent Black PNC card holders. You had people like Harold Davis took over the head office, he was screwing all the female office staff. Yes, the PPP came into power but they allowed everything to stay the same, playing politics and kept the dunce Blacks in the senior management. Today the PNC will do everything to chase the Indians out of Guyana, thus creating a Black Majority for 2020. Granger and boys are banking heavily on Liquid Gold [OIL} and Exxon plan to pump in 2020.Remember, Burnham ban Dhal to hurt the Indians, today Granger is killing Rice and Sugar to Kill the Indians.

Django,   

After finishing school spent a few years working in Georgetown,went back home worked as a casual worker in the industry for a couple years started from fertilizer gang then moved up to separating the juice from the soil used to cut and load 3 tons a day,quit studied Electronics and back to work in GT.I was single and free in those years.

You should have studied agriculture and then you would have authority to talk about sugar, but to say it cost too much to produce is hogwash,The industry is TOP Heavy, too many Chiefs and less Indians. There need a foreign study to be done, results to be implemented.

()
Take Action

The Sugar Industry survived because of preferential pricing,as soon as that was cut gov't have to dole out money to keep it afloat,the PPP invested in the Chinese junk at Skeldon which didn't produce more than some of the older factories,some folks believed the are Economic maestro.The fat cats got rich and the workers left with the crumbs,new players in town the ugly head of victimization shows up.

Django,   

You should have studied agriculture and then you would have authority to talk about sugar, but to say it cost too much to produce is hogwash,The industry is TOP Heavy, too many Chiefs and less Indians. There need a foreign study to be done, results to be implemented.

()
Take Action

In those days yield was high,what happen with all the brains from F.H,some of my friends and family,who were Managers,Supervisors etc worked in the Industry,me know lil bit me dadee was wan driver plus we had some farm and rice land.

The aFc/PNC claimed that they could save sugar, it was only Granger who while in opposition said that the industry should be closed. The other afc/pnc jackasses said they had the solution once they stopped the pPP thiefing. 

That's what they led me to believe too. And they also promised to pay rice farmers over $8,000 per bag. Truly, I've lost faith in politicians' promises.

This is the beginning of the end of sugar industries in Guyana. Eventually, they will all be closed. I said this many times that the sugar industry will face the same faith in the TATA bus graveyard by a man who follows Burnham ideology. 

That's what they led me to believe too. And they also promised to pay rice farmers over $8,000 per bag. Truly, I've lost faith in politicians' promises.

The fact is that sugar in Guyana has been dead for a long time. The successive governments have just been keeping it on life support with revenue injection. 

Rice and Sugar from Guyana cannot compete on the world market as new technological approaches to agriculture have not been implemented in Guyana to compete with world producers. 

Absolutely right. Given the importance of both in Guyana both as export revenue and local consumption, shouldn't the governments past and present have done something to improve, modernize, upgrade etc. those industries? Even if partially at first. Are we going to have to import rice and sugar eventually? What about the impact on the liquor production? Demerara rum is the best in the world.

An addendum. I was doing some checking on GUYSUCO and it's executives. Can someone please explain who in their right mind would hire an ABSENTEE CEO living in the United States who has to be flown home at GUYSUCO's expense when necessary? If I am correct he wasn't the only overseas based executive. I believe there was a Hanoman living in England who held a high position? The industry is heavily in debt and their only qualifications were they were ardent supporters of the PPP. Seriously, what kind of shit is that? I do believe that with some serious cost cutting, upgrading and maybe reducing the work week temporarily, those Estates could be saved. I am sure given the choice, the workers would choose some work over none.

Sugar and Rice are the backbone of the Indo-Guyanese community. Where are those people going to find work?

Same place that the black bauxite workers found jobs.  

An addendum. I was doing some checking on GUYSUCO and it's executives. Can someone please explain who in their right mind would hire an ABSENTEE CEO living in the United States who has to be flown home at GUYSUCO's expense when necessary? If I am correct he wasn't the only overseas based executive. I believe there was a Hanoman living in England who held a high position? The industry is heavily in debt and their only qualifications were they were ardent supporters of the PPP. Seriously, what kind of shit is that? I do believe that with some serious cost cutting, upgrading and maybe reducing the work week temporarily, those Estates could be saved. I am sure given the choice, the workers would choose some work over none.

Good point.  New Jersey fraudster who was DANALD RUMMY budday.

An addendum. I was doing some checking on GUYSUCO and it's executives. Can someone please explain who in their right mind would hire an ABSENTEE CEO living in the United States who has to be flown home at GUYSUCO's expense when necessary? 

Are you referring to Dr Raj Singh? Conventional wisdom deemed that a bad GuySuCo decision from Day 1. But Dr Raj Singh had powerful friends in the Highest Office at that time.

Don't be a blasted idiot. If you have nothing positive to contribute then shut up.

Why.  The PPP sold bauxite and blacks lost their jobs in an area where little other than bauxite was available.

Now displaced sugar workers .might suffer the same fate

They do NOT deserve any more consideration than do the bauxite workers in Region 10.  They will have to survive in the SAME way.

At least this government will offer at least some of them land. Now what did the bauxite workers get? NOTHING!

You are a racist dog if you don't understand this. Indian lives are NOT more important than are blacks.

Don't be a blasted idiot. If you have nothing positive to contribute then shut up.

Don't worry about him he is a token black GNI er. He never has anything meaningful to offer.The racist poster boy.

I never said anything about Indian or Black or consideration of any over the other. I called you an idiot because only an idiot would suggest retraining approximately 16,000 people, a large percentage of which is illiterate, to work in an industry that doesn't have that many jobs available. As for being racist, you are absolutely right. I hate the race of stupid people.

Don't worry about him he is a token black GNI er. He never has anything meaningful to offer.The racist poster boy.

So says a proud member of the Indo KKK.

Kp and company will never admit why I am the "token" black when more than 50% of Guyanese aren't Indian.

The racism which pervades this GNI and the rampant disrespect for Indians (not the racially derogatory remarks directed at D2 and the loud screams about blacks that would make the KKK proud).  Similarly bigotry towards Muslims.

GT Angler don't know whether you are new or not, but just be careful about the company that you keep if you don't want to be seen as being a bigot.

Sugar and Rice are the backbone of the Indo-Guyanese community. Where are those people going to find work?

I see that you are a liar. Here you refer to Indians?  You put this within a race based context.  .

Did you say anything about the fate that black workers suffered when bauxite was sold and 80% of them lost their jobs?  NO! But you seem concerned about Indians.

So given that you care nothing about blacks, why then should others care about Indians?

They will have to survive just as did he displaced bauxite workers. We are bombarded with screams of "black man lazy" and how "hardworking" Indians are.

THAT is why virtually all of the blacks who used to post on GNI left. And in fact I only periodically peep in these days, as I consider this site to be a cesspit of racist bigotry.

I never said anything about Indian or Black or consideration of any over the other. I called you an idiot because only an idiot would suggest retraining approximately 16,000 people, a large percentage of which is illiterate, to work in an industry that doesn't have that many jobs available. As for being racist, you are absolutely right. I hate the race of stupid people.

Still no comments about the fate of the bauxite workers who live in a region where the soils were poor, and they were mainly impoverished.

But they are blacks so they don't matter.  You see in the eyes of racists like you when non Indians have problems they need to shut up, but the whole world must stop when Indians have problems.

well GuySICKO is a mess in the same way as Guymine used to be and one set of the adverserly impacted do NOT need any more consideration than do others.

But a man like who clearly thinks that Indians are the only ones who matter cannot see this.

And please tell me who many people in Guyana make US$1,000 per month as we are hearing that sugar workers make. Clue. Not even many wth college degrees.

I can tell you first hand that GT Angler is not a bigot.  He

Given that you are one you are hardly a credible person. Better you said nothing but now I am convinced that he is.

I have never professed a bias to either race. I challenge anyone here to prove that I have. Everything I have written is what I believe. I have noticed bigotry towards several groups here but I choose to ignore it because I am above perpetuating such nonsense. There are a lot of "undercovers". I am more concerned with the future of Guyana. Not Indian Guyana or Black Guyana or Hindu Guyana or Muslim Guyana but GUYANA.

I see that you are a liar. Here you refer to Indians?  You put this within a race based context.  .

Did you say anything about the fate that black workers suffered when bauxite was sold and 80% of them lost their jobs?  NO! But you seem concerned about Indians.

So given that you care nothing about blacks, why then should others care about Indians?

They will have to survive just as did he displaced bauxite workers. We are bombarded with screams of "black man lazy" and how "hardworking" Indians are.

THAT is why virtually all of the blacks who used to post on GNI left. And in fact I only periodically peep in these days, as I consider this site to be a cesspit of racist bigotry.

Whoa, whoa, whoa ,whoa, cut that out.  That is a personal attack that is completely off mark.  GT Angler is not a racist by any measure of the word, so please don't drag him into your cesspit of racist bigotry.

The people who left GNI did not leave because of race.  They left because the coalition govt that they helped to elect turned out to be a piece of crap so they all went to hide under their beds.