Time for a radical shift in the sugar belt

January 26, 2014 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

By Moses Nagamootoo AFC Vice-Chairman and Member of Parliament

The shadows of doom seem to be hanging over the sugar industry. Besides continuing mismanagement and political interference, there is the ominous warning from eminent scholar, Dr. Clive Thomas, that the sugar industry has reached a point of no return, “or alternatively, a negative tipping-point”. For the 16,000 sugar workers and an estimated 50,000 persons whose lives depend of the industry, this raises the spectre of “bitter sugar” that historically was the root cause for oppression and despair of slaves and bonded workers on the colonial plantations in Guyana. It is ironic that the PPP, which owes its origin to the sacrifice of sugar workers, who also formed its electoral backbone, has now become the handmaiden of the industry’s feared destruction. Should the worst happen, which would be a national tragedy, sugar workers must make the post-Jagan pseudo-PPP pay the ultimate price for this betrayal. If the Jagdeo-Ramotar cabal did not heed my exhortation in 2010 to “light a candle for sugar workers” when GAWU was threatened with de-recognition, they would now do so literally on their knees. Ramotar cannot run from the sugar industry. He sat on the Board of GuySuCo for several unbroken years before he was elevated to a political advisor of then President Jagdeo, who in turn catapulted him to the presidency after a flawed selection process by the Stalinist gang in the PPP leadership. Nanda Gopaul was GuySuCo’s Board Chairman, but was rewarded for the industry’s failure with a ministerial portfolio, that of Minister of Labour. Nothing could be more anti-labour than the progressive decline of the sugar industry under his watch. Then a New Jersey-resident chairman was periodically flown in on an apparent rescue mission, which turned into Mission Impossible! On his part, Ramotar as President, admitted on June 16, 2013, that the sugar industry was in crisis mode. In fact, he recognized that the industry was in a coma. Stabroek News quoted him as saying at an event to remember the 1948 Enmore Martyrs, that the industry needed “resuscitation”. Finance Minister Singh disclosed that there was a 2013-16 “Turnaround Plan”. It was never laid in Parliament, but Agriculture Minister Ramsammy swore that he had seen aspects of it in the House. All of those antics reminded us of how Nero “fiddled while Rome burned”. Then a brilliant idea struck Ramotar, that if sugar workers were given lands in cooperatives, they could grow canes, as only they know how best to do, which could help solve the low production problem. But, under his very nose, sugar lands were handed out to the elite for construction, mostly of high-priced Miami-type mansions. Lands originally given to sugar workers’ co-ops in places like Port Mourant and Belle Vue, have been seized from legitimate members and their heirs. In the post-Jagan period, it was diagnosed that the sugar industry was ill. Jagdeo, not then a quintuple doctor, had promised a cure: a modern sugar factory at Skeldon. Without the Skeldon factory, he had pronounced, “sugar is dead”. That was in 1999 or thereabout when Navin Chandarpal was the Minister of Agriculture. Instead of putting the Minister in control of negotiation for the modernization of the industry, Jagdeo essentially hijacked the project, and placed his preferred choice in charge. Navin protested that eye-pass. He resigned. King Jagdeo then negotiated a US$200 million loan (G$40 billion) for the factory, but 10 years later he complained that the factory was not working to capacity. In short, the $40 billion was going down the drain. Jagdeo’s brainchild was deformed from birth, and was not responding to an additional $4 billion in post-natal surgeries. He is reported in SN on October 2, 2010 as saying that “This is a US$200 million facility… unfortunately, it’s not delivering the results we expected it to”. “They have too many mistakes going on there and I intend to fix it…it has to change…”If that doesn’t work well, because the European Union cut our sugar prices by 36 percent… if that doesn’t work well the sugar industry is dead,” he stressed. “It’s dead. It’s as simple as that.” The pseudo-PPP knew how important Berbice was to their electoral fortunes. That’s why Jagdeo was to say: “If sugar is not growing in this Corentyne, this place would be a ghost town…” Knowing all of that, our government was expected to come up with a rescue plan. But what we got was platitudes and false hopes instead of authentic leadership on the issue. In 2010, CEO Paul Bhim said that sugar was facing a heavy production deficit which slumped to “some low levels”, but promised that things would “pick up soon”. Ashni Singh promised bumper crops that would have, by now far exceeded 500,000 tonnes and that by mid-2012 the Skeldon factory would be in full production swing. But, production dropped from 325,317 tonnes of sugar in 2004 to 218,070 in 2012 For 2013 production was just over 186,000 tonnes from a target of 260,000 tonnes. We were worried about loss of the European quota, but could not produce enough sugar to meet that quota. Some years ago when, under the PNC government, Guyana imported sugar for domestic use from Guatemala, there was a big hue and a cry, but like a dog chasing its tail, the pseudo-PPP has landed us in a similar situation. It is not only that we can’t meet our export demands, but we are also unable to put the Enmore Packaging Plant to the use for which billions have been spent. We are in even bigger trouble. Parliament has already given the industry massive bailouts, and soon government would come cap in hand, for an estimated $11 billion cash handout from taxpayers’ money. We have only the mis-managers of the PPP to blame for the industry becoming a millstone around the neck of the nation. At the time Jagdeo had said that without Skeldon sugar was dead, I recall Dr, Clive Thomas saying (2010) that the “political moment” was moving in favour of fundamental change. He saw a growing rise in the consciousness of several sections of the people, including even supporters of the PPP/C, that you could not continue to rule in the old way. The situation facing the sugar industry has proven him right. The failure of the pseudo-PPP to manage this industry could lead to massive social dislocation in the sugar belt. The AFC believes that the “moment” is here for radical shift in how sugar workers think, and they would now need no more proof that they have been betrayed.

He sat on the Board of GuySuCo for several unbroken years before he was elevated to a political advisor of then President Jagdeo, who in turn catapulted him to the presidency after a flawed selection process by the Stalinist gang in the PPP leadership

BITTERNESS, PASSION AND SELFISHNESS DOES BUSS PIPE!!!

He sat on the Board of GuySuCo for several unbroken years before he was elevated to a political advisor of then President Jagdeo, who in turn catapulted him to the presidency after a flawed selection process by the Stalinist gang in the PPP leadership

Then a New Jersey-resident chairman was periodically flown in on an apparent rescue mission, which turned into Mission Impossible! On his part, Ramotar as President, admitted on June 16, 2013, that the sugar industry was in crisis mode. In fact, he recognized that the industry was in a coma.

What an ignorant old fool you are.

Then a New Jersey-resident chairman was periodically flown in on an apparent rescue mission, which turned into Mission Impossible! On his part, Ramotar as President, admitted on June 16, 2013, that the sugar industry was in crisis mode. In fact, he recognized that the industry was in a

Moses is simply trying to score Points. The Whole World knows the Sugar Industry is in trouble. Why you think TT got rid of theirs. The PPP is trying  it's best to keep the Industry since their support comes from the Sugar Belt. Obviously, they are not doing a good job keeping it afloat. I hope and pry that Pres Ramotar is serious about revamping and not just talk this time. He does not have to be Einstein to know time is running out.

What an ignorant old fool you are.

You sexy thing, I like when you halla laka cat.

I note that the PPP frauds are silent. They would love to wail that they left sugar in a good condition but its the PNC who are making life hard for Indians.

They left a mess and need to own up to this and cease passing blame.

So you believe that sugar is alive and well and no change is needed?

Changes are always needed but a GADAHA will not, cannot make the change. You need GAWU, NACCIE and people with brains. A Namakaram Crabdaag will sell his soul and more to stay relevant and to have power and wealth.

antabanta posted:

What hard question you are asking the bhai.

antabanta posted:

Look who is talkin : Batty washer and ass kisser . Go figure!!!

antabanta posted:

Who said so ? is it you the "empty barrel"

Django don't suck up to no one,can that be said of you ?

antabanta posted:

Batty washing and ass kissing aside, what is your opinion of the state of the sugar industry in Guyana and globally?

That was for Django unless you are one and the same.

Now, with regards to the state of the Sugar Industry, like many industries, it is changing, becoming financially challenging and inefficient. First, Guysuco needs to cut all the FAT, headquarters employees and Estates non production staff must be reduced significantly. Mechanization must be  implemented  and retraining of potential displaced employees must be done. Better management of resources: stop theft and waste. This could be a start.

And then do what with the sugar?

antabanta posted:

Hire him to sell it,seems to have great marketing skills.

antabanta posted:

Throw it in the mighty Essequibo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

antabanta posted:

Throw it in the mighty Essequibo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And how will the sugar workers get paid? Drugs not running as much.

We have only the mis-managers of the PPP to blame for the industry becoming a millstone around the neck of the nation. At the time Jagdeo had said that without Skeldon sugar was dead, I recall Dr, Clive Thomas saying (2010) that the political moment was moving in favour of fundamental change. He saw a growing rise in the consciousness of several sections of the people, including even supporters of the PPP/C, that you could not continue to rule in the old way. The situation facing the sugar industry has proven him right. The failure of the pseudo-PPP to manage this industry could lead to massive social dislocation in the sugar belt. The AFC believes that the moment is here for radical shift in how sugar workers think, and they would now need no more proof that they have been betrayed.

I charge a lot for even simple Lessons. CUNY gat FREE Classes, enroll then come back and gaff about things you want to know.

In other words, you have no idea, completely clueless. You want people to pay you for lessons about rum drinking?

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

I charge a lot for even simple Lessons. CUNY gat FREE Classes, enroll then come back and gaff about things you want to know.

In other words, you have no idea, completely clueless. You want people to pay you for lessons about rum drinking?

A DUMB ASS like you want to discuss topics you have no clue of hoping to get an education here for free.

antabanta posted:

A DUMB ASS like you want to discuss topics you have no clue of hoping to get an education here for free.

How does your inability to conduct an objective discussion and substantiate your argument make me a dumb ass? I can guarantee I'm more educated, more widely read, and a hell of a lot more knowledgeable than you.

We have only the mis-managers of the PPP to blame for the industry becoming a millstone around the neck of the nation. At the time Jagdeo had said that without Skeldon sugar was dead, I recall Dr, Clive Thomas saying (2010) that the political moment was moving in favour of fundamental change. He saw a growing rise in the consciousness of several sections of the people, including even supporters of the PPP/C, that you could not continue to rule in the old way. The situation facing the sugar industry has proven him right. The failure of the pseudo-PPP to manage this industry could lead to massive social dislocation in the sugar belt. The AFC believes that the moment is here for radical shift in how sugar workers think, and they would now need no more proof that they have been betrayed.

BS, you get a brain fart .

what happen to the promise by WPA - Clive Thomas and AFC Noel Holder - the architects of this distruction .

these men were the ones to say bodly that sugar is too big to fail and that they would give sugar workers a 20% wage increase if elected in 2015

instead they have inflicted unbearable pain on the workers and their families .

Just imagine the PPP tried to reduce the electricity subsidy at Linden and there were riots ... hope the sugar workers take note .

and so stupid and ignorant were there supporters  , they burned down their community school in Linden .

So why ask dumb and stupid questions???????????

Your inability to answer does not make a question dumb and stupid. Your criticism of the article without addressing the issue is dumb and stupid. Your pointless name-calling is dumb and stupid. Your typing in all caps is really dumb and stupid.

what happen to the promise by WPA - Clive Thomas and AFC Noel Holder - the architects of this distruction .

these men were the ones to say bodly that sugar is too big to fail and that they would give sugar workers a 20% wage increase if elected in 2015

Just imagine the PPP tried to reduce the electricity subsidy at Linden and there were riots ... hope the sugar workers take note .

and so stupid and ignorant were there supporters  , they burned down their community school in Linden .

Tell us who close the Diamond Sugar Estate?

Time for a radical shift in the sugar belt

January 26, 2014 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

By Moses Nagamootoo AFC Vice-Chairman and Member of Parliament

The shadows of doom seem to be hanging over the sugar industry. Besides continuing mismanagement and political interference, there is the ominous warning from eminent scholar, Dr. Clive Thomas, that the sugar industry has reached a point of no return, “or alternatively, a negative tipping-point”. For the 16,000 sugar workers and an estimated 50,000 persons whose lives depend of the industry, this raises the spectre of “bitter sugar” that historically was the root cause for oppression and despair of slaves and bonded workers on the colonial plantations in Guyana. It is ironic that the PPP, which owes its origin to the sacrifice of sugar workers, who also formed its electoral backbone, has now become the handmaiden of the industry’s feared destruction. Should the worst happen, which would be a national tragedy, sugar workers must make the post-Jagan pseudo-PPP pay the ultimate price for this betrayal. If the Jagdeo-Ramotar cabal did not heed my exhortation in 2010 to “light a candle for sugar workers” when GAWU was threatened with de-recognition, they would now do so literally on their knees.

Tell us who close the Diamond Sugar Estate?

Why not address the promises .

Nagamootoo pointed out the problems of the industry but did not say how his party would solve them. At least Jagdeo can put the blame on the failure of the factory to operate as planned due to construction defects by Chinese engineers.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

A government that gets into power through illegality will govern by tyranny .

this is a concerted effort to destroy the PPP support base , this is not economic rationality , this is cruelty .

they can readily find $1 billion to cover their overseas jet- set life style that brings no materials benefits to the country .

Let them tell us how much money the government treasury is saving by denying retirees living outside of Guyana their pension benefits. Let them also tell the nation how they are saving from the drop in oil prices for the last couple of years.

A government that gets into power through illegality will govern by tyranny .

this is a concerted effort to destroy the PPP support base , this is not economic rationality , this is cruelty .

they can readily find $1 billion to cover their overseas jet- set life style that brings no materials benefits to the country .

Spoken like a die hard PPPite.

Let them tell us how much money the government treasury is saving by denying retirees living outside of Guyana their pension benefits. Let them also tell the nation how they are saving from the drop in oil prices for the last couple of years.

That's easy to calculate.

$200.00(USD)

All the students who think Anta question should be answered as follow " Mek sugar cake and fudge", raise Al Yuh hand.

You think The Rat should console his supporters with this?