Indian bride walks out of wedding when groom fails math test

FILE - In this Feb. 20, 2015 file photo, Indian brides from impoverished families, dressed in wedding finery, wait for their grooms to arrive during a mass marriage ceremony in New Delhi, India when 12 couples tied the knot in a single ceremony organized by a social organization, that would otherwise have cost each family thousands of dollars. An Indian bride has walked out of her wedding ceremony after her groom-to-be failed to solve a simple math problem, police said Friday, March 13, 2015. The question she asked: How much is 15 plus six? His reply: 17. The incident took place late Wednesday, March 11 in Rasoolabad village near the industrial town of Kanpur in northern Uttar Pradesh state. [AP Photo/Saurabh Das, File)         

View photo

FILE - In this Feb. 20, 2015 file photo, Indian brides from impoverished families, dressed in wedding finery, wait for their grooms to arrive during a mass marriage ceremony in New Delhi, India when 12 couples tied the knot in a single ceremony organized by a social organization, that would otherwise have cost each family thousands of dollars. An Indian bride has walked out of her wedding ceremony after her groom-to-be failed to solve a simple math problem, police said Friday, March 13, 2015. The question she asked: How much is 15 plus six? His reply: 17. The incident took place late Wednesday, March 11 in Rasoolabad village near the industrial town of Kanpur in northern Uttar Pradesh state. (AP Photo/Saurabh Das, File)

NEW DELHI (AP) — An Indian bride walked out of her wedding ceremony after the groom failed to solve a simple math problem, police said Friday.

The bride tested the groom on his math skills and when he got the sum wrong, she walked out.

The question she asked: How much is 15 plus six?

His reply: 17.

The incident took place late Wednesday in Rasoolabad village near the industrial town of Kanpur in northern Uttar Pradesh state, local police officer Rakesh Kumar said Friday.

The groom's family tried persuading the bride to return, but she refused. She said the groom had misled them about his education.

"The groom's family kept us in the dark about his poor education," said Mohar Singh, the bride's father. "Even a first grader can answer this."

Local police mediated between the families and both sides returned all the gifts and jewelry that had been exchanged before the wedding, Kumar said.

Last month, another bride in Uttar Pradesh married a wedding guest after the original groom had a seizure and collapsed at the wedding venue.

The groom's family had not revealed that the groom was epileptic. While the groom was rushed to a hospital in Rampur town, the bride asked one of the wedding guests to step in and married him.

Most marriages in India are arranged by the families of the bride and groom. Except for brief meetings, the couple rarely gets to know each other before the nuptials.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Not only Indian women, but our Middle Eastern and other sisters who are subject to this nonsense of arranged marriage.

Ninety percent of arranged Marriages end up with long lasting, loving relations, just saying.

Could be because in arranged marriages, it is expected that you stay together no matter what...don't know about the happiness part.

Not only Indian women, but our Middle Eastern and other sisters who are subject to this nonsense of arranged marriage.

Ninety percent of arranged Marriages end up with long lasting, loving relations, just saying.

Could be because in arranged marriages, it is expected that you stay together no matter what...don't know about the happiness part.

ANd you get the top prize...

these "by hook or crook" stay together drains people...life of misery to please family and tradition

Someone I know took a bold step 6 months ago and is now free from that life of misery.  

Originally Posted by Observer:

Someone I know took a bold step 6 months ago and is now free from that life of misery.  

Is a she an if so, she cute?

I personally arranged all my marriages.

They say in an arranged marriage, you love the man/woman you marry and not marrying the man/woman you love.

I think in an arranged marriage, you love the big dowry first then the woman later.

True...dowries are hard to come by these days so lots of folks are switching to love marriages...

Thankfully I have been married for 20 wonderful years to the smartest, funniest Guyanese gentleman ever.    

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Hope you can arrange one soon that works out.

They all worked out. Some were for a Night, others for a weekend and others for a few months):

You have to get married for a fling? Rass bai ... you can trying swaring lil bit you know.

They all worked out. Some were for a Night, others for a weekend and others for a few months):

You have to get married for a fling? Rass bai ... you can trying swaring lil bit you know.

Bhai, I does feel terrible if I dont marry FIRST.

wah?? You ent want sample fuss?

Bhai, Dem Gals nah Ginnep???

Even mo reason... ginnep cheap.

They say in an arranged marriage, you love the man/woman you marry and not marrying the man/woman you love.

I think in an arranged marriage, you love the big dowry first then the woman later.

True...dowries are hard to come by these days so lots of folks are switching to love marriages...

Thankfully I have been married for 20 wonderful years to the smartest, funniest Guyanese gentleman ever.    

me and you have some thing in common i marry 20 women in 1 wonderful year 

HEHEHE  I dont know where you does Graze????

Top secret info bai ... you touch down in me pasture and all dem women gon start halla fa marrid.

HEHEHE All it takes is a Trip to city Hall and yuh signature. It is not that difficult.

Dah is like movin in a new apartment and find the furniture doan fit.

Originally Posted by Chameli:
[]

HEHEHE All it takes is a Trip to city Hall and yuh signature. It is not that difficult.

and how u does get ur divorce doc fuh marry again?

i was lucky dem ppl at Oshawa and Univ. court house felt sorry fuh me and dem rush through to get divorce docs or else there woulda been one regret...one promise unfulfilled.

Gal, Dat was my Funny side.  But on the serious side, it is nice to see Indian women becoming more Independent.